Why do North, Melbourne and Port have shit attendance?

Hawthorn had the entire eastern corridor to themselves, were gifted a prime recruiting zone and are a downright ****ing disgrace for ending up on the brink of extinction in 1996 in the first place.

We were surrounded on all fronts by Carlton to the north east, Essendon to the north and Footscray on the other side of the Maribyrnong, and we were denied our own fricken territory for 40 years.

You would need to be a complete moron to view North and Hawthorns inception in the same light...............and guess what? You're over qualified.

Poor Little Norf

Don't sign a contract that you don't like the conditions of is my advice.

Norf have a long history of signing contracts and then trying to blame others for their continued misfortune.

You forgot shit brand, poor management and an unexciting list and playing style :eek:
Much like Richmond since 1980 to date. Apart from Dids, Martin, Cotchin and Riewoldt, your list is utter shit. Seriously there are so many talentless list cloggers, spuds and no-names that wouldn't even get a game with Port, yet Richmond hold on to them in the hope that they'll come good. :eek:

Vickery being the possible exception.

No wonder you haven't made the finals since 2001, haven't made a Grand Final since 1982 and haven't won a premiership since 1980, leaving too much to too few, its the way of Tiger Landddd.

Carlton are going to bring you back to earth then its down to the microwave with a flood of memberships

Much like Richmond since 1980 to date. Apart from Dids, Martin, Cotchin and Riewoldt, your list is utter shit. Seriously there are so many talentless list cloggers, spuds and no-names that wouldn't even get a game with Port, yet Richmond hold on to them in the hope that they'll come good. :eek:

Vickery being the possible exception.

No wonder you haven't made the finals since 2001, haven't made a Grand Final since 1982 and haven't won a premiership since 1980, leaving too much to too few, its the way of Tiger Landddd.

Carlton are going to bring you back to earth then its down to the microwave with a flood of memberships

Haha goose.

34k members and rising.
Eat that!

Norf has a shit ground that was surrounded by gasometers(no longer there)
Port has a shit ground near Woodville(still there)

Norf has a shit ground that was surrounded by gasometers(no longer there)

A "shit ground" that Essendon were prepared to trade their name, colors, jumper and club song for in 1921.

when are ninthmond ever going to win a national flag against national competition?

what a loser of a depressing club to follow

how many more years of nothingness

I wouldn't worry about other clubs attendance if I was you..

A bloke at work told me today that Melbourne only have 25000supporters. Is this true? I thought they would have had 40k plus....
Avg Attendance 2011
Melbourne-33,231
Adelaide-30,559
Fremantle-30,108
Sydney-29013
Bulldogs-28,705
Norf-28,074
Brisbane-25,190
Port-23,065
Gold Coast-22,075

So Quensland club avg 6,000 less punters than you're joke of a state. I hope you're ready to drop out of the big 3 footy states, shouldn't be long now before a rugby state passes you by. You better hope GWS fail or you lot will be just above Tassie in terms of relevance within a decade.

And Bullflogs fans sniping our attendance, the only reason you weren't included is because the o.p forgot you exist, it's a common mistake.

Avg Attendance 2011
Melbourne-33,231
Adelaide-30,559
Fremantle-30,108
Sydney-29013
Bulldogs-28,705
Norf-28,074
Brisbane-25,190
Port-23,065
Gold Coast-22,075

So Quensland club avg 6,000 less punters than you're joke of a state. I hope you're ready to drop out of the big 3 footy states, shouldn't be long now before a rugby state passes you by. You better hope GWS fail or you lot will be just above Tassie in terms of relevance within a decade.

And Bullflogs fans sniping our attendance, the only reason you weren't included is because the o.p forgot you exist, it's a common mistake.

Wow, so defensive! Oh dear. I wasn't even trolling Melbourne, just asking a question. Pardon me all over the place!

Attendance not so shit, as has been proven above.

Small supporter base (relatively speaking) cos we've won **** all since '64.

Mind you, we have the grandest history of any club, so will always have that over the VFA/interstate league johnny-come-latelys.

U mad?

I think you just trolled your own club. So you're saying that you have a small supporter base because you have won SFA since the Beatles played in Australia? I guess the grand history of the MFC doesn't count for much then?

If your history doesn't mean much in terms of attracting members, why should it mean anything to the non-Victorian johnny-come-latelys?

In their formative years the majority of kids (who aren't steered in a certain direction by parents) pick a winning team. Absent premierships for decades, you have generational atrophy. Simple as that.

Their loss.

47 years without a flag.

They just don't know what they're missing.

Wow, so defensive! Oh dear. I wasn't even trolling Melbourne, just asking a question. Pardon me all over the place!
I didn't start this shit thread but I'll point out it's failings.

Our attendance is pretty good, our membership is similar, both mid table. That's not too bad for a club with a small supporter base. The Bullflogs and Norf both have more fickle fans than us, but we are all competing in the crowded Melbourne market.

9 clubs in a market of 4 million, under 450,000 per club. Adelaide has 2 clubs and 1.2 million people, yet the combined attendance of the 2 S.A clubs is less than the Bulldogs and Norf combined.

The question needs to be asked, where are the croweaters? Why are South Australians shunning our great game?

The O.P is a typically ignorant shitmond flog with no grasp of the facts, but that's to be expected, you can't shut them up in February.

The real question is how long has SA got as one of the big 3 footy states based on it's indifference to the game?

EFA :thumbsu:

The Bullflogs have been an irrelevant laughing stock since 1961 (when they last made an actual Grand Final.) Its no wonder some people forget about them all together.

1 premiership in 1954, what a piss weak club :eek:

In Norths case:

1) Exclusion from the VFL at conception
2) Being effectively nobbled for our first two decades in the VFL.
3) The urban sprawl
4) Being an Irish, catholic, working class club, in pre 60's protestant, empire loyalist, masonic Melbourne.

I'd imagine the Crows getting a march on Port as the main reason for their skewed growth.

Tissue?

harden up cupcake, or just fold as will happen shortly.

Why do North, Melbourne and Port have shit attendance?