Why do people think the Pies are so far ahead?

dream on mate, if you think you guys are even close to us your a, well i wont say it, but you get the point, possibly one of the funniest posts ive read on here, GET A CLUE!!

And a warm welcome to India it is.

you want a name, i will give you a name......................jeff kennett.
i think its safe to the majority of people are vastly superior to that.;)

Really? Majority of people serve their country overseas in the Army and receive our highest civilian honour, Companion of the Order of Australia?

Your kidding yourself mate vastly superior organisation? LOL apparently mcguire thinks so and probably tried to remind hawks committee member david king about it as well, apart from more supporters which other area are you vastly superior to the hawks? last time i checked we have investments in a crap load of hotels which will rake in millions not to forget the tassie deal.
Not to forget since 1958 you have won 2 flags while we have won 10 again explain to me how you guys are vastly superior? lexus centre compared to waverley park= on a par, financially situation= arguably we are doing better. Playing list= yours a 5-8 ours 1-2 in the comp if we play to potential. Cant see any vastly superior in tha lot keep dreaming champ. On a sidenote are you forgetting we were the only side to beat u guys over the last 3 months of the season? you can use the "we werent fair dinkum" excuse if you like but at the end of the day we exposed the deficiencies you guys have which no one else was able to over the last half of the season (except for the 1st GF). If we get the game plan right this yr at the start of the year instead of halfway through and we play to our potential the pies will fear us and that is a fact.
I'm not sure what winning only 2 flags since 1958 or Hawthorn winning 10 in that time has to do with how well the Pies or Hawks will go next season. The 2010 flag has some relevance as it means that we go into the season as reigning premier. You may not agree, as many Geelong supporters didn't agree after the 2008 GF, but winning the GF means that we will go into next season as the best team, with a young list that has yet to realise its full potential. I don't see how you can rate the current premiership team, who also played in a prelim in 2009, as only a 5-8 team.

Yes the Hawks have given us a lot of trouble over the last few years but it is true also that Hawthorn has underperformed in 2009 & 10. However this will all mean nothing when the ball is bounced for the first time in round 1.

Really? Majority of people serve their country overseas in the Army and receive our highest civilian honour, Companion of the Order of Australia?

We know Jeff is the number one global target for assasins, but I wasn't aware he served overseas.

In what capacity?

EDIT: Saw he was posted to SE Asia. Amazing he wasn't fragged, but it rarely happens in officers bars, especially when those bars are in Malaysia and Singapore and the soldiers are in Vietnam.

No doubt though Jeff was the big banana that had to be taken out by the Viet Cong. Had their sites set on him, taking pot shots from the Gulf of Tonkin.

Not to forget since 1958 you have won 2 flags while we have won 10 again explain to me how you guys are vastly superior?
Well if you wonna look at the history of our clubs, why stop at 58? We've won 4 premierships in a row. How many have you won in a row? Here's a clue. Only 4 clubs have won 3+ consecutive flags, and yours isn't one of them. The best you've done is 2 consecutive flags, and you've only done than once. Most teams have done at least that, so that's nothing special.

Then there's overall premiership, we're been in the league for 33% longer than you, and have 50% more premierships.

Finals matches won, we beat you. Head to head, we beat you. Lets face it, over the history of our 2 clubs, the pies have been vastly superior to hawthorn.

name where you are vastly superior? you still havent

well, for starters, you lost your only final this year to an injury ravaged team that wasnt a top 4 side, we won all our finals (except for the draw) by around 10 goals and the teams we played we far superiour to fremantle, and BTW we blew freo out of the water when they were at full strengh in their own backyard!!

we have a much better ruck division.

we have a much better backline. (best in the league)

we have a much better midfield. (best in the league)

we have much better depth.

you guys take the cake in the fwd line, but thats all and you arnt the only team to have a better fwd line than us

Riewoldt argubly best player in the AFL misses 13 games

Gram Equal BOG in last years GF misses 8 games and is never close to 100%

Kosi Key Forward misses four games plus carries injured ankle into finals plus broken sternum into GF

Geary plays most of the season injured round 19 plays no finals.

Dal Santo Dual AA misses games during H&A with back injury re injures in PF

Fisher AA Injured halftime GF2

Gram injured in PF

Steven best small forward BOG v Geelong gets OP no finals

Armitage does medial ligament twice no finals

King AA ruckmen out for most of season

Raph Clarke St Kildas 2nd best finals player last year no finals.

Gardiner Saints number 1 RUCK injured GF 1

Dawson has illness over summer losess 6kg struggles for fitness all season

I dont barrack for StKilda but thats a fair list of injuries.

If you're going to add stuff like the bolded, then Collingwood's list gets even longer again.

Not to forget since 1958 you have won 2 flags while we have won 10 again explain to me how you guys are vastly superior?
What do flags one in the 80s have anything to do with the present??
Collingwood and Hawthorn both have 2 AFL premierships.

If adding in VFL Collingwood clearly ahead.

lexus centre compared to waverley park= on a par
Our facilities are within walking distance of our home ground...

Playing list= yours a 5-8 ours 1-2 in the comp if we play to potential.
WOW.

Cant see any vastly superior in tha lot keep dreaming champ. On a sidenote are you forgetting we were the only side to beat u guys over the last 3 months of the season? you can use the "we werent fair dinkum" excuse if you like but at the end of the day we exposed the deficiencies you guys have which no one else was able to over the last half of the season (except for the 1st GF). If we get the game plan right this yr at the start of the year instead of halfway through and we play to our potential the pies will fear us and that is a fact.
WOW:eek:

well, for starters, you lost your only final this year to an injury ravaged team that wasnt a top 4 side, we won all our finals (except for the draw) by around 10 goals and the teams we played we far superiour to fremantle, and BTW we blew freo out of the water when they were at full strengh in their own backyard!!

we have a much better ruck division.

we have a much better backline. (best in the league)

we have a much better midfield. (best in the league)

we have much better depth.

you guys take the cake in the fwd line, but thats all and you arnt the only team to have a better fwd line than us
and all that makes you guys far superior does it? because we couldnt beat freo over there? You guys were superior this year based on ladder positions not actual ability.

we have a much better ruck division. you have jolly and who else? leigh brown? ours will be the most improved in the comp next yr.

we have a much better backline. The same backline that got mauled by buddy in rd 22 when they got isolated 1 on 1? yeah there a really great bunch of players do any of them actually play on their men? free wheeling down hill skiiers would be a more accurate description.

we have a much better midfield. LOL surely your taking the you know what with this statement, ours is clearly a better midfield and only a delusional pies supporter blinded by winning the flag would say otherwise.

we have much better depth. Didnt you delist all your depth a few weeks ago? last time i checked you guys had barely any injuries this yr as well so theres your depth. See how you go when u get decimated like we did in 09.

All I know is the pies aren't going to have the same luck with injury in future years like they did this year...that will always take its toll on a list and its corresponding performance on field.

Hawthorn are overall a more talented side. In terms of pure talent, they are the closest to top of their game Geelong that we've seen over the past few years, particularly in regards to matchwinners.

They have a much more gifted forward line, and I also rate player for player, their midfield as more talented than ours (though I think we have younger players with much more scope for improvement than the Hawks).

However they have had a bad run with injuries, and their gameplan is average/poor.

IF they can turn around their gameplan, and get all their players on the park, they are IMO, set to be our main challengers.

Well if you wonna look at the history of our clubs, why stop at 58? We've won 4 premierships in a row. How many have you won in a row? Here's a clue. Only 4 clubs have won 3+ consecutive flags, and yours isn't one of them. The best you've done is 2 consecutive flags, and you've only done than once. Most teams have done at least that, so that's nothing special.

Then there's overall premiership, we're been in the league for 33% longer than you, and have 50% more premierships.

Finals matches won, we beat you. Head to head, we beat you. Lets face it, over the history of our 2 clubs, the pies have been vastly superior to hawthorn.
The pies were vastly superior in the 1st 50 yrs of the comp ill give you that, pity it doesnt count till after 1925 when we entered, pretty sure you guys won at least 3 or 4 before that, since than we are miles ahead of you guys. No team has ever achieved 13 finals series in a row and only melb has achieved 7 consecutive grand finals in a row, on a par with winning 4 flags in a row if not better. You won 4 flags in a row when we just entered the comp so that doesnt mean a whole lot to the hawks. Established vfl team vs a team of rookies of course your going to be better at that time. The finals match your talking about (and its been only 1 suprisingly) you won by 2 points, hardly superior. Basing it on the last 50 yrs were superior by a long long way onfield without a doubt and now recently off field we are closing the gap significantly.

we have a much better ruck division. you have jolly and who else? leigh brown? ours will be the most improved in the comp next yr.

we have a much better backline. The same backline that got mauled by buddy in rd 22 when they got isolated 1 on 1? yeah there a really great bunch of players do any of them actually play on their men? free wheeling down hill skiiers would be a more accurate description.

we have a much better midfield. LOL surely your taking the you know what with this statement, ours is clearly a better midfield and only a delusional pies supporter blinded by winning the flag would say otherwise.

we have much better depth. Didnt you delist all your depth a few weeks ago? last time i checked you guys had barely any injuries this yr as well so theres your depth. See how you go when u get decimated like we did in 09.

*******************BREAKING NEWS***********************
Hawthorn has a better backline, midfield, forward line and depth than the reigning premiers. That's right folks, Hawthorn, the team that hasn't won a final since 2008 and finished 9th and 7th in the past two seasons.

You heard it first here on BigFooty.

Hawthorn are overall a more talented side. In terms of pure talent, they are the closest to top of their game Geelong that we've seen over the past few years, particularly in regards to matchwinners.
They have TWO superstars

Franklin and Hodge..apart from that they are nothing special.

Guys like Sewell, Mitchell are good but not out and out stars.

Rioli is the most over-hyped bloke going around.....Sidebottom has had a better start to his career.....and is a big game player (could/should have a NS medal!).

They have a much more gifted forward line, and I also rate player for player, their midfield as more talented than ours (though I think we have younger players with much more scope for improvement than the Hawks).

As mentioned apart from Hodge nothing special in the middle.....and bl00dy slow too, Sewell, Mitchell, Lewis all same type of players.

Give me Swan, Pendles, Didak, Thomas, Ball anyday.

IF they can turn around their gameplan, and get all their players on the park, they are IMO, set to be our main challengers.

Their game plan switched in the 2nd half of the year to a mass rotations, they were rotating heavier than we were! They will be caught out more than any other club by the reduction on the bench.

In the last two years Hawthorn have won 21 of 45 games.......they are mediocre.

and all that makes you guys far superior does it? because we couldnt beat freo over there? You guys were superior this year based on ladder positions not actual ability.

i like this line best: "pies supporter blinded by winning the flag" :D

clearly the flag has gone to the heads of some pies supporters, thinking winning the flag means we are a half-decent side!

Our ruck division is superior. Arguing otherwise is ridiculous. Jolly is one of the top 3 ruckmen in the comp. Leigh Brown as average a player as he is talent wise, produces a much greater output in our system than his talent dictates. They make for an extremely dangerous combination to match up on, to dismiss Brown because of lack of talent would be foolish.

Are you seriously calling our backline downhill skiers? We won the flag with that backline. We had the second best defense statistically in the comp. We have a great attacking defense, and one on one, they are all pretty damn good. Franklin mauled a 21 year old key back in his first year playing the position at AFL level. So basically each and every player Franklin mauls is a dud? Clownish comment.

Your midfield is currently superior, but we have better young mids, and more scope for development. Your midfield being better may not last very long, if they can all get on the park, and your club may not get their act together in time to make use of it.

We haven't been decimated by injuries in a long time. Don't be praying and hoping for injuries so you can have a better time of it against us.

However they have had a bad run with injuries, and their gameplan is average/poor.

an itelligent post from a pies supporter who would have thought. The game plan changed in the 2nd half of the season and we were up there with the pies as the form team of the comp taking out 2 bad losses. The pace we picked up in the draft should see a more attacking game plan revolving around getting the ball to buddy as quick as possible, if we do this it will be a 2 horse race for the flag.

The game plan changed in the 2nd half of the season and we were up there with the pies as the form team of the comp taking out 2 bad losses. .

The form gap b/w Collingwood & Hawthorn was like the difference b/w Collingwood & St. Kilda in the replay GF.

You struggled to beat the likes of Richmond, Essendon & were taken to the cleaners by mediocre sides such as Port Adelaide.

They have TWO superstars

Franklin and Hodge..apart from that they are nothing special.

Guys like Sewell, Mitchell are good but not out and out stars.

Rioli is the most over-hyped bloke going around.....Sidebottom has had a better start to his career.....and is a big game player (could/should have a NS medal!).

As mentioned apart from Hodge nothing special in the middle.....and bl00dy slow too, Sewell, Mitchell, Lewis all same type of players.

Give me Swan, Pendles, Didak, Thomas, Ball anyday.

Their game plan switched in the 2nd half of the year to a mass rotations, they were rotating heavier than we were! They will be caught out more than any other club by the reduction on the bench.

In the last two years Hawthorn have won 21 of 45 games.......they are mediocre.
Keep thinking that buddy, you can have show pony didak who goes to water in finals doesnt worry me. Your calling thomas a star off 1 good season? dont jump the gun or anything mate. ball isnt that great compared to a mitchell or a lewis, hes not as good as mitchell and marginally better than lewis, hes a bit part player in your midfield. Swan and pendles are the hawks burgoyne and hodge, id still pick those 2 in a big time finals game. The pies won a flag based on a great game plan that caught everyone off guard, doesnt mean they have better players all over the park thats just utter crap. The same thing happened with the hawks 2 yrs ago and when teams caught on what happened? a few teams started doing the same thing just more revolutionary ways of doing it. The clubs will have woken up by next year how to nullify it (actually more simple than it looks). Once they do we will find out how good the pies are.

The form gap b/w Collingwood & Hawthorn was like the difference b/w Collingwood & St. Kilda in the replay GF.

You struggled to beat the likes of Richmond, Essendon & were taken to the cleaners by mediocre sides such as Port Adelaide.

Nah Hawthorn flogged Fremantle by 100+, a show of dominance....who else could beat a fellow finals contender by that much?! ;)

Hawthorn also beat the pies at their own game in rd 22....the Premiers had everything to play for too, despite top spot being wrapped up they had to show the Hawthorn supporters that they didn't fear Hawthorn....unfortunately they failed and Collingwood clearly fears Hawthorn now!

We have the best midfield in the comp, undoubtedly.

Buddy and Hodge are class but Hawks more talented? Nope. Their backline is shocking and their 6th-22nd players are average.

taken to the cleaners by sydney thats it. should have beat port and we threw that game away, should have beat the saints and the cats. Had we beat freo we would have played off for the flag, we didnt that happens but im vey confident were going to take the frustrations of a missed opportunity and to prove a point we are a force of the competition by taking it out on every side next yr the pies included.

Why do people think the Pies are so far ahead?