Expansion Why don't Sydney NRL fans go to games?

Despite being brought up on Rugby league I still follow Aussie Rules. I'm not sure why you nut cases keep saying stupid things like that

Because you are in the minority .

Even after reading it again, you still come out as a liar.

Shame on you . I thought at least you could distinguish between
"in the minority" and "no rl fan" .

:thumbsdown:

Shame on you . I thought at least you could distinguish between
"in the minority" and "no rl fan" .

:thumbsdown:

Actually, shame on you. Maybe you have Stevie Wonder's problem and can't see either.

In his original statement he wrote, and I quote, "People brought up on RL, don't follow AFL. Simple as that"

That is a lie, cos.

Just put your apology somewhere here. TIA.

Any accusations that Victoria is insular with their sports is garbage.

Have you ever listened to SEN? Everything not relating to AFL has to be compared to AFL so the broad minded Victorians can understand.

What about when the wsoccer world cup was on and there was two weeks of "soccer's crap AFL's the best...blah..blah...blah"

This is a state who's main newspaper carried more pages on Wayne Carey's disgraceful fall from grace at the Kangaroos then 9/11!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ANZAC Day

Melbourne ESS v Coll at the MCG 90,000 (Cap 100,000)

Sydney ANZ Stadium Dragons v Roosters 21.500 ( Cap 83,000)

Say no more!

Is almost the same as
"The majority of people brought up on RL, don't follow AFL. Simple as that" , which is a lot closer than what you were trying to imply .
:eek:

You're both right.

Until about 10 years ago, if you lived in a certain state/region/town you followed a certain brand of football and couldnt care less about the other one because it just wasnt relevant.

In the past 10 years, its become the case that the majority still dont care but more and more are expanding their sporting interests by embracing the enjoyment that can be provided by alternative brands of football now competing at the elite level in your home town.

The same applies to Melbourne/Victoria, but not Adelaide/SA and Perth/WA.

Is almost the same as

"The majority of people brought up on RL, don't follow AFL. Simple as that" , which is a lot closer than what you were trying to imply .
:eek:

ROFL. The implying was done by our mate, Stevie, not me.

So, once again for the blind amongst us, this is what Stevie said. "People brought up on RL, don't follow AFL simple as that" That is a lie, cos.

Now be a man for a change and apologise.

Right here will do. TIA

He also forgot to mention that the Swans crowds for Homebush have steadily grown over the years, with 3x 50,000 plus crowds last season.
Roy said even Swans crowds have shown rises and falls based on onfield performance, even at Homebush.

Soccer crowds are up for SFS games. Somehow the "tyranny of distance" doesnt apply to other codes.
:rolleyes:
Clearly it does in Sydney says Roy.

But the regional ratings are not mentioned! The crowds are down but the regionals are sky high, thats what we all play for.

I don't remember the 80k watching football at Waverly ever complaining about the travel, does Roy? The transport there must have been a dream and the weather always perfect.

The difference in attendances is clearly all because in the early 1900's "Marvelous Melbourne", the city built on gold, had nothing but football. :confused:. Maybe if the Harbour city wasn't as vibrant back then, :D, then South Sydney would be averaging 60k a game just like Collingwood.

Maybe Super-league is still hurting the attendances. Its always that dam super-league, when will it end.

Roy speaks a load of Rubbish.

How long would it take Bulldogs or Parra fans to get to ANZ? 30 mins?

AFL fans love their sport more. Simple as that. 25,000 Cats fans drive up the highway every time they play in Melbourne, and an average 3000 Hawk supporters travel to Tassie for each of our games there.
That's a little further than Banksown to Homebush.

Also, Huntos, Sydneysiders are far too busy climbing the Bridge or visting the Opera House on weekends and going to the beach.

Who has time for footy?

Also, Huntos, Sydneysiders are far too busy climbing the Bridge or visting the Opera House on weekends and going to the beach.

Who has time for footy?

Exactly. Thats the real reason for the attendance discrepancy, an extra 20k are present on the Harbor Bridge at the same time as every NRL game.

Roy speaks a load of Rubbish.

How long would it take Bulldogs or Parra fans to get to ANZ? 30 mins?

AFL fans love their sport more. Simple as that. 25,000 Cats fans drive up the highway every time they play in Melbourne, and an average 3000 Hawk supporters travel to Tassie for each of our games there.
That's a little further than Banksown to Homebush.

25,000 St Kilda Fans travel the hr from Frankston and Dandenong too.

The concept of club membership (as it's understood in the AFL) is pretty new in Sydney too.

Up until recently it was almost impossible to be a true club member (at Manly I think you had to be an ex player and had to be voted in - there were only a matter of a few hundred).

People rarely bought season tickets when I was growlng up and it is still pretty rare at many clubs. The lack of a financial comitment means that fans tend to be more fickle in going to games - often deciding a couple of hours before the game to go. Is the weather OK, have I got anything else on, is the game on TV???

The way the fixturing is done doesn't help either. You can't plan your year, as you don't know at what time or on what day your team will be playing until a few weeks from the game.

I live a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk from Brookvale Oval and still only go to 2 or 3 games a year.

I used to go to Swans games but an hour plus each way is too much hassle now.

Its strange that fan dont turn up roosters people are fairweather fans without a doubt, others well ANZ is crap to get too, and crap for viewing. Suburb grounds ie: brookvale are run down and families dont want to sit on hills as well. The new stadium in erskinville will help.

Expansion Why don't Sydney NRL fans go to games?