News Why don't we have a pub already?

The only thing I want to say about the pokies, is that it is needed for the financial success of the pub. More importantly there is a fair chance that Powa supporters would refuse to enter. Win/win ;)

I watched the 2007 Grand Final at the Hyde Park tavern (owned by, I believe, Tredrea plus various other Power players). My mate and I got some pretty dirty looks as we were the only 2 people in there cheering for Geelong that day :D

Treders, Primus and CCornes guessing his father picked his middle name... there is some non pear people too.

A bit like the Alma situation, the Hyde Park is mostly owned by Tony Franzon with a few Port ambassadors already mentioned. I think Josh Francou is/was another.

I reckon we should have been a bit more speculative when the Adelaide Oval thing was first being proposed. Could have picked up the Cathedral for peanuts. Or is that insider trading?

Only if they wanted to sell and it would not have been 'peanuts' as you say.

IIRC they have just finished a maor renovation.

Only if they wanted to sell and it would not have been 'peanuts' as you say.

IIRC they have just finished a maor renovation.
I don't think anyone would seriously be suggesting you could buy the cathedral...

The Cathedral was actually on the market for 'peanuts' before the oval redevelopment was announced. A pub opposite a children's hospital wasn't really working for anyone. The renovation of the pub came after the new Adelaide Oval announcement.

How much is peanuts?

Ball park figure

so not only are we better recruiters, we now believe we are better business people?

People are seriously underestimating the management required to run a sucessful operating hotel - not to mention the capital.

Hotels nearly cost Port Magpies their existance and have had huge impacts to the clubs in Victoria (both negative and positve of course)

I'm not saying, don't get into it, I'm just suggesting it isn't the saviour that some here would think it to be.

People also need to understand, of the local pub barons many are only here becuase they were handed pokies licences ( a mistake iMO) which made them millions at the expense of others, Pokies are now a matured, highly regulated industry meaning getting in now isn't going to make you zillions over night.

If the Crows were serious about putting huge wads of capital into commercial property, I wouldn't think Pubs are the best option.

so not only are we better recruiters, we now believe we are better business people?

People are seriously underestimating the management required to run a sucessful operating hotel - not to mention the capital.

Hotels nearly cost Port Magpies their existance and have had huge impacts to the clubs in Victoria (both negative and positve of course)

I'm not saying, don't get into it, I'm just suggesting it isn't the saviour that some here would think it to be.

People also need to understand, of the local pub barons many are only here becuase they were handed pokies licences ( a mistake iMO) which made them millions at the expense of others, Pokies are now a matured, highly regulated industry meaning getting in now isn't going to make you zillions over night.

If the Crows were serious about putting huge wads of capital into commercial property, I wouldn't think Pubs are the best option.

From my perspective and the reason for the opening post wasn't ever economical. It was more social and then marketing, branding and geographical presence in the city.

Not nearly, the PoW did kill off the Port Magpies. Well left em open for a hostile takeover and turned into an AFL Reserves team.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

From my perspective and the reason for the opening post wasn't ever economical. It was more social and then marketing, branding and geographical presence in the city.
I'd rather lease a space - less capital

even then, I wouldn't lease a existing pub location either.

Maybe should look involved with the casino re-development and see about having a "sports bar" or something? Could potentially get the Adelaide 36ers, Bite, United, Redbacks whoever else pin too and make it an Adelaide one, so it's got potential for all year.

News Why don't we have a pub already?