Why Hall when you can do better?

If you need evidence of the dramatic difference between VFL and AFL level, see Peter Street this year, carved it up at VFL yet when he came in to Bulldogs side was woeful.

Instead of Barry Hall, who is over the hill and cost a fortune, when you could draft someone like James Podsiadly who is a ready made forward that you would get 5 years out of.
He can mark, Kick it 60m, and is a genuine star of the VFL. He is a class above, and should be able to cope at the highest level.

He would be a perfect fit for the doggies. They can still draft a young forward, however if they think theyre window is open, he would be a perfect proposition.

Thoughts?
Bit of a difference between VFL and the SHOW. Peter Street kills them in VFL. I have watched Pods also for a few years and he is a long way from AFL standard.

Instead of Barry Hall, who is over the hill and cost a fortune, when you could draft someone like James Podsiadly who is a ready made forward that you would get 5 years out of.
He can mark, Kick it 60m, and is a genuine star of the VFL. He is a class above, and should be able to cope at the highest level.

He would be a perfect fit for the doggies. They can still draft a young forward, however if they think theyre window is open, he would be a perfect proposition.

Thoughts?

My opinion of Ess supporters has once again been validated.

if you read the posts properly you will find that table tennis isnt saying podsiadly is a better footballer than hall, he is saying that with pods costing 50k a year and a late draft pick is a better option than trading big for hall and him costing 500k a year.

to question his knowledge on football is a disgrace when he is only expressing an opinion and did back up his opinion with more than accurate reasons why pods could be a success.

Pods could do a troy Wilson, he debuted at age 28. Had a good two years before injury. I'd like to see how he'd go but I think that ship has sailed.

Essendon supporters' obsession with Sydney continues. You should see our board, it's littered with Bomber fans and their words of advice about recruiting etc.

I notice in one of the weekend papers Bulldogs were advertising for a national recruiting manager.It seems Table Tennis would fit the bill perfectly with his astute judgement of prospective recruits.Podsiadly better value than Hall !!!!! Give it a spell mate.Next you will be suggesting the doggies go and recruit Mark Crackers Keenan from Spotswood and he would be more value than Hall. :eek::eek::eek:

James Podsiadl

i have been calling this out at home that we should of signed pods up when we had the chance to with werribee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
now hes gone on to win the equivalent to a brownlow in the vfl!

can someone explain to me, why we never signed him up?

Thats why you never trust VFL form...unless of course its insanely good week in and week out.

I just wanted to point out that Pods won the award for the Best and Fairest in the VFL, and was one goal off being leading goalkicker.

Not a bad effort for someone who is unable to perform consistently.

Thoughts?

LOL!!!! Every year, and I mean every year someone starts up a thread about getting Pods!!
IT AIN'T GOING TO HAPPEN!! WE ARE NOT FITZROY!!

I just wanted to point out that Pods won the award for the Best and Fairest in the VFL, and was one goal off being leading goalkicker.

Not a bad effort for someone who is unable to perform consistently.

Also played in defence when Leigh Brown and Nathan Thompson played at Werribee too. So to finish only a goal behind Sautner was a pretty damn good effort.

He kicked 8 on Alex Silvangni, who has been touted as a mature age defender who might get drafted this year with being double teamed by Leigh Fisher and a few others.

He would be handy. There is enough pace in the doggies line up to cover his lack of it. he aint as slow as people reckon either.

Might not be the solution now. just throwing up the suggestion after watching him dominate for years and been overlooked.

Go and watch him and you will leave like i do..... shaking my head.

Pods is a good player. However I don't think I have seen him take a pack mark or break open packs off players in the VFL. Could not see him do much in the AFL. Most off his stuff is on the lead or opportunists goals. Hardly the big guy we need. May as well recruit Boyle if your going to recruit him.

Ask yourself if Geelong and Hawthorn would look at him?

Rhetorical questions not welcome here TBFB.

If the Bulldogs are letting go of Scott West and pushing youth with one hand, and picking up 28 year old speculative forwards from the VFL with the other, then we support an organisation that is completely full of crap. It's just not going to happen.

Rhetorical questions not welcome here TBFB.

If the Bulldogs are letting go of Scott West and pushing youth with one hand, and picking up 28 year old speculative forwards from the VFL with the other, then we support an organisation that is completely full of crap. It's just not going to happen.

Well, bit of egg on my face regarding the Geelong not picking up Pods comments.

Happy for Pods, but I'm still not sold on him long term. If he proves me wrong then it's not like I'm the only one. Good luck to him.

Maybe i wasnt as dumb as you all thought! Although the scenario changes when you get Hall for nothing...

Nice calling there table tennis, wonder if i can have the Powerball numbers for next week?

Mind you, the Dogs probably are a side that could entertain the idea of picking up a mature big-bodied player as a forward, as they have a well-established midfield and are really close to finding the final piece of the premiership puzzle. Admittedly they haven't got Pods, but Hall is probably as good for what the Dogs are wanting him to be.

It does show though that perhaps with big blokes especially, maybe a punt on a bloke who has had 5-6 pre-seasons in state footy, maybe one or two at a league club already that they could be a likely option as a quick fix, rather than spending 3-4 years developing an 18 y/o rake.

One for the future depending on where he is now, is Cleve Hughes of Richmond. Kicked 6 against Port one day, and 3 against Geelong in the massacre game of 2007, and maybe a year or two to get his head right could see him a chance to be mature rookied in the future. With the new sides claiming much of what is in the draft for the next few years, mature-aged players might be a source of productivity in the right teams.

Thoughts?

Barry Hall isn't over the hill yet. He can kick outstanding goals, applies plenty of defensive pressure and tackles hard. He looks super fit for a so called player over the hill and I hope he plays for the dogs for many years to come, at least until he's 35. He wanted to play for the Bulldogs and he got his wish and he has helped us win top games. The fans love him. :thumbsu:

The Dogs said they wanted 30 goals out of Barry this year, and he is up to 19. They must have factored in a 10 week suspension or something. He is killing it at the moment. Good work Dogs.

Why Hall when you can do better?