Why Shannon?

I'm just wondering what was his game time? If it wasn't that high, then in consideration of his 20 possessions and 6 tackles, he may have had a reasonable game. Can't call those stats the equal of a shocker, doesn't add up.:confused:

Did you watch the game? Getting out the stats for Shannon is totally useless, the same for a lot of players. He is always able to get the touches, it's what he does with them is what makes them useless. Plus the tackling I saw wasn't that great.

Sorry mate... are saying Shannon is not good enough to be in a side to win a flag... cus i rekon i have a DVD from 2007 you might like to watch.

Shannon was VERY lucky to be a part of the 2007 finals, only got in because of injuries.

I really like Shannon when he's playing well, but when he's not he frustrates the hell out of me and is my most disliked player (excluding Tenace). He deserves to have another game next week though to redeem himself. (Only really because there isn't anyone else that's pushing in the VFL... Unless if they bring in Nathan Djerrkura)

You've got no idea what I do and don't understand.

TBH, I find it no less annoying to find you and eliiiiiiiiiiiza in every Byrnes thread defending him with nothing of more substance than "oh, not another Byrnes thread" than I do with people throwing spurious insults at him.

Both first posts in this thread from you and her were less about addressing the type of criticism, but rather attacking the fact that a thread had been started.

Either defend the substance of criticism, ignore it when you read it and don't agree, or just don't bother opening the thread. Don't come here to a public messageboard and whinge when there's a thread complaining about a player playing a bad game. It's like repeatedly buying the Herald Sun when you don't like reading Mike Sheahan or watching the Footy Show when you don't like Sam Newman.
Alright, you have a point there. But the criticism still outweighs the praise by FAR, and it seems that people are just incapable of giving credit when it's due. Seeing pure drivel like this just pisses me off:
Little Shagz is a passenger plain and simple. The last 2 games that everybody is raving about he was average meaning he didn't completely stuff up every possie he got and put his teammates under pressure. lol Just executing the basics and getting through the game without looking like an utter dill is cause for celebration among some of our supporters. :D Ridiculous doesn't even to describe it, we beat the dees in spite of the shagster. We're so good that we can play 21 against 22 and still come out the victors. Shagga been on the field had nothing to with it.:rolleyes:

Yesterday his true colours came out again, it is inevitable with this kid. As far as I can see there's no upside to playing him again. He's not gonna get any better in fact he seems to regressing and getting worse. :thumbsdown:

It's simple. He had one bad game after proving himself for the past few weeks. He deserves to be given a bit of leeway due to recent past performances especially when you take into account that there were a number of other players who under performed. How come they haven't come under scrutiny too?

I would agree with you if the guy had been hacking his way for the past few weeks but he hasn't. Knowing the GFC and keeping in mind their treatment with West I am sure he'll be dropped this week anyway.

Am I missing something here? Other than the game up in Sydney last year when he actually managed to kick straight, the guy has been a dud. Yes he has pace to burn but if your decision making sucks then it counts for shite. I can't think of another player in the side who consistently performs as bad as this guy. My work mates, friends and family think the same so I aint alone! Hey I'd be the first to put up my hand and say I was wrong if he turns out to be another wojo but at the moment he aint exactly blowing my skirt up!

Byrnes isn't too bad I mean we can't have a team full of AA players and superstars although we aren't far of it. He has improved this out of sight and has been better than Gamble.

Am I missing something here? Other than the game up in Sydney last year when he actually managed to kick straight, the guy has been a dud. Yes he has pace to burn but if your decision making sucks then it counts for shite. I can't think of another player in the side who consistently performs as bad as this guy. My work mates, friends and family think the same so I aint alone! Hey I'd be the first to put up my hand and say I was wrong if he turns out to be another wojo but at the moment he aint exactly blowing my skirt up!

If you can't admit that he's played decent football in the previous weeks then you are so anti-Byrnes that he's never going to be able to do anything that pleases you. As to my own point of view, I am more realistic. It's obvious what his limitations are and incredibly frustrating when he turns the ball over from brain fades but his effort since being back in the side has been excellent(except for last week). Had he been playing as a hack for a few games I would be with you in calling for his head.

Finally saw a replay of Melb game. Burns' game was quite good - certainly better than some other Geelong players and a step up from some of his contributions in 2007. No doubt he's lifted his game this year.

Would still like to see some others tried. If Taylor doesn't lift his game when Harley returns I think a spell in the magoos would be justified.

Please!!!!! Tell me you're joking! Polly.

That assessment doesn't surprise me in the slightest. Shannon supporters are known for saying the craziest things. :D Further proof that their judgement is questionable at best. ;)

172144910_358ccadfb0.jpg

Don’t know whether I have been insulted or complimented. lol :D Probably the former but what’s the go with the pigeon with a cat’s head? If there’s an underlying message I’m not getting it polly. :confused:

Shannon v Swans, 20 disposals, same again.
Really would like to know his game time, his count might be pretty good.

There are two kinds of supporters...those who want the 22 who line up to provide their best every week and understand that this is never going to happen - and those who crucify individuals for mistakes that all players make, but for some are easily forgiven. In a perfect world, Gaz would have had 46 possies for 25 games last year. Byrnes has shown marked improvement in all areas of his game over the past 18 months. Field kicking, tackling, decision making. overhead marking (which is above average for a player his size). Goal kicking is still a work in progress, but I have been pleased with his output this year. He has been working with and learning from arguably the best midfield to ever strap on boots...the way he has been keeping his feet and staying in the contest, taking on opponents ("byrned" Goodes today on the wing and delivered a pass that resulted in a goal) and keeping arms free and getting the quick handball on to runners has been markedly improved this season. To my mind he is still the 22nd best player in our lineup today. But what more can I ask but to continue to improve and do what the coach and his team mates expect. Depth is a wonderful thing.

I'm very happy with Shannon's performance yesterday! 2nd highest contested possessions for any player in the game with 11 contested and 70% ball use efficiency (whilst not up to this year's usual for him of about 80%, was up there with the better performers for the Cats) - according to Herald Sun stats. Getting harder at it in my view and continues to cover so much ground. Was on the bottom of the ruck regularly and fighting hard for the pill. Deserves his spot without doubt at the moment.

Byrnes has been good lately, definitely deserves his spot in the team. If we have no injuries he is realistically fighting with Varcoe for a position. It is close at the moment, but I have more confidence in Byrnes now than ever before.

I don't think Byrnes and Varcoe are competing for a spot any more - Varcoe is firmly entrenched in the best 22.

Byrnes will most likely remain a fringe player with Geelong, which speaks volumes about our depth. He really isn't half as bad as people make out.

he was terrific yesterrday i thought

goes in hard for the ball tht is for sure

Trade bait at the end of the year if u ask me

Was good again against the Swans. Had me and some others in the Southern Terrace tearing our hair out a few times but did enough good things to outweigh the bad. Some of his pressuring/tackling directly lead to goals and other scoring shots and his link up play while not great was just good enough.

Barely doing what's required is enough for Byrnes to earn a pat on the back from some supporters. Hmmmm... Lucky bastard I wished I was playing 'cos I reckon I'd have my groupies sticking up me too after a so so performance. :D

At least Byrnesy's showing effort. It kills me watching Mackie who has such an opportunity to be great but seems happy to be a passenger at times (eg Saturday). He has twice the natural talent of Byrnes but puts in quarter of the effort.

Others would kill to be in the position he's in, would work way harder in the weight room and wouldn't stand flat-footed 10 metres behind their man, pointing at teammates to do the running for them as #4 seems to do a bit too often.

Despite his size, Shannon at least tries his guts out more often then not which to me means he's worth keeping around - at least until that changes (or he costs us a game with a silly turnover I guess ;) )

At least Byrnesy's showing effort. It kills me watching Mackie who has such an opportunity to be great but seems happy to be a passenger at times (eg Saturday). He has twice the natural talent of Byrnes but puts in quarter of the effort.

Others would kill to be in the position he's in, would work way harder in the weight room and wouldn't stand flat-footed 10 metres behind their man, pointing at teammates to do the running for them as #4 seems to do a bit too often.

Despite his size, Shannon at least tries his guts out more often then not which to me means he's worth keeping around - at least until that changes (or he costs us a game with a silly turnover I guess ;) )

I have to disagree, sorry. I have no problem with Mackie's efforts. I think he's just one of those skinny laconic players that makes the very difficult look effortless. Reminds me a little of Ken Hinkley. Very important to us IMO.

I'd be the first to agree/say Mackie was hopeless against the Swans and had a very ordinary year but not sure it's lack of effort. I agree with the above that Mackie may seem like he is not trying but he most certainly is. Have heard many commentators and experts say they believe he is one of the hardest runners in the game. Does need to lift a bit though but he will.

Why Shannon?