Universal Love Wingard

Everyone on our list could care more, be more professional, prepare themselves better. I don't know of too many Kane Cornes' in our current ranks.

Most likely this talk is a result of tall poppy syndrome. There would be personalities around the club at all levels that are jealous of Chad and wish they were as talented, good looking and popular with the fans as he is. Human nature. Move on.

He’s a bit of an aloof unit at times but his socials tend to indicate a fairly down to earth, family oriented dude. I ain’t worried.

A friend of mine who barely follows footy ran into him at a dog park on findon road a while back. Chad and his dog actually were the ones who wandered over and started chatting to my friend and they chatted for a good half hour about things non football. Described Chad as a thorough gentleman who was more interested in talking and asking about my mate than talking about himself.
I guess I’m just saying there’s a public image of Chad and then there’s the reality of Chad. He’s a good guy.

A friend of mine who barely follows footy ran into him at a dog park on findon road a while back. Chad and his dog actually were the ones who wandered over and started chatting to my friend and they chatted for a good half hour about things non football. Described Chad as a thorough gentleman who was more interested in talking and asking about my mate than talking about himself.
I guess I’m just saying there’s a public image of Chad and then there’s the reality of Chad. He’s a good guy.

Your observation would be 100% correct.

I think the “aloofness” that people see in Chad might be more do do with him being one of those people who enjoys his own company, and doesn’t always need to be at the centre of all the action. A good quality in my book.
yep. Nothing wrong with being aloof, a bit shy and or not being overly confident talking to strangers. That was my impression of him when I first chatted to him after his first game against St Kilda in 2012 back at Alberton. You dont want everyone to be the same.

Mate of mine used to play footy with Wingard back in the day. Mentioned that he had a reputation of being cocky, but he said (Note: Not a Port supporter) that he never ever get the vibe from him. I sometimes get the feeling that that aspect of him is far overblown, as he's genuinely never said anything in public (to me) that even insinuates he's arrogant.

True, but this often stems from ignorance.

People see others who can do things easier and more efficiently than they can and think that those others are "coasting".

This happens all the time in workplaces, where the people who can't handle pressure and run around like headless chooks are lauded for having a "sense of urgency", while the people who are calm and collected (and actually get things done) are accused of "coasting".
Work smarter not harder...

I think the “aloofness” that people see in Chad might be more do do with him being one of those people who enjoys his own company, and doesn’t always need to be at the centre of all the action. A good quality in my book.
Like me... but... that comes down to.... I'm just a better person then most...

You've definitely all made your points. I'll be silent regarding anything I'm fed from anyone at the club, but obviously this one is out there now. I probably knew there would be backlash but did it anyway.

I stand by the comments, but I also understand the criticisms and after reading FPs post I felt I'd done wrong.

We're all PAFC supporters here.
He's trying to get away, break his legs!

Chad plays with all the hallmarks of a player with zero faith in the system.
It almost feels like he kicks to the worst position possible just to prove it doesn't work. He used to be the most reliable inside 50 Kicker in the league.

But, we no longer lead, because reasons.