Review Winners and losers - trade week 2024

Was a very busy trade minute this year

Congrats to Carlton on grabbing pick 3. Their fans should be happy.

Melbourne get an F.

- CEO trying to override the list manager and do his own wheeling and dealing

- Lost ANB (3rd in our BnF, came within a whisker of winning) and picking up two plodders to bolster our lineup at Casey

- Got some chump from GWS (who is yet to debut) to request a trade to Melbourne but couldn't close the deal, leaving him with blue balls

- Our two highest paid players still want to leave.

Richmond channelling Brando won the trade period to get top draft picks to rebuild before Tassie... but now monty for the spoon.

But probably more about the teams who are going to play finals who have strengthened their teams for next year.

Pies have brought in 2 quality players in Houston & Perryman which put them very much in flag mix.

Cats needed Smith to boost their midfield.

Hawks have brought in 2 key position defenders which they badly needed & allows Sicily to play forward more.

Freo happy to get Bolton, but paid overs.

No excuses for Crows missing finals strengthening midfield/flanks with Cumming, Peatling & ANB.

Good
Richmond still have to convert the picks into something, but they extracted full value and then some..
GCS' overall balance was a lot better than they've been given credit for.
Carlton shrewd trading.

Bad
Port didn't get enough value for what went out the door
My mob has gone all-in on questionable short term boosts, cupboard very bare on the draft front.
WCE bit of a head scratcher, but I guess you have to factor in 2025

Shout-out:
Dogs ended up being very reasonable facilitators, I reckon, and Sydney did the right thing, too.

• North traded their draft hand except pick 2 for has-beens and a spud. We might need to rebuild again after a couple of years finishing 11th
  • Port and Suns (yet again) got pilfered
  • Melbourne doesn't seem to have a strategy that aligns with their current list reality

• Pies, Freo and Cats picked up difference makers
  • Richmond on track for the fastest rebuild ever. Next year will be pain but from there who knows
  • Carlton with plenty of little wins
  • Essendon actual winners for once showing patience
  • Brisbane rorted the system well

The fans are the biggest losers. What a mess of a period.
If your palate isn't cultured enough to recognize the fine wine that is an Adam Cooney Megatrade Marathon, that is 100% on you, not Coondog.
Like Christmas and Groundhog Day combined, only even saucier.
Be better, mate

Not sure if we're winners but it's the best off season I can remember us having

Every single player who openly nominated a club, contracted or not, got to their destination. Do away with "trade week", it's the most artificial, manipulated trade period of any sport. Utterly pointless, just let players nominate and compensate clubs, why lie about it being trades. Baffles me fans stress about this, nuffies. Once a player nominates, it's over. Why stress about picks and shit, doesn't matter

Collingwood Getting Perryman and Houston when we Started before trade period we had not much Currency and only Losing Noble and Richards frr it again om Playing List
How many years now without a first round pick not sure your a winner Fly banking on this group to go for it again.

Dees have Brand Petraccas re-recommit and hold Clayton Oliver under duress. Massive wins 💪 💪 💪

Scored Harry Sharp who could be a generation talent (could also not be).

Go Dees.

Winners:
Cats - Smith a steal
Blues - Pick 3 in and Owies Out
Pies - Cleaned house and picked up a 2 x AA for good value
Edit: Tigers also got full value for their players traded

Losers:
WCE - Paid Pick 14 for Baker and lost Pick 3 when they could have gotten pick 14 from the Hawks - diabolical
Port - Lost a 2 x AA and a F1 for a mish mash.

Depends how you look at this, really.

Only about half a dozen teams improved their best 22.

A few tread water aka did **** all.

And a few lost best 22 players and got much, much worse short-term for draft picks, in particular Richmond.
Not sure I follow the logic on Richmond.
It was a calculated choice, recognizing that they were going to slide (or already had) and electing to be marginally worse in the short term but with the prospect of putting together some good young players in what is reportedly a deep first round.
The value they extracted for the departures was nothing short of sensational.

Richmond channelling Brando won the trade period to get top draft picks to rebuild before Tassie... but now monty for the spoon.

But probably more about the teams who are going to play finals who have strengthened their teams for next year.

Pies have brought in 2 quality players in Houston & Perryman which put them very much in flag mix

Cats needed Smith to boost their midfield.

Hawks have brought in 2 key position defenders which they badly needed & allows Sicily to play forward more.

Freo happy to get Bolton, but paid overs.

No excuses for Crows missing finals strengthening midfield/flanks with Cumming, Peatling & ANB.
Couple of flankers lmao.

Crows ordinary list even more ordinary coach be shocked if they make it.

Couple of flankers lmao.

Crows ordinary list even more ordinary coach be shocked if they make it.
Nearly every club was chasing Peatling & many chasing Cumming.

We have brought in 3 quality players who are part of our best 22 & most importantly fill positions where we are the weakest.

Meanwhile the Saints have weakened their best 22...

Nearly every Crows supporter is very happy with this trade FA period.... not so last year when we lost 2 best 22 players.

Review Winners and losers - trade week 2024