Portfolio WLD's AFL Ice Hockey Jerseys (Now with more leagues!)

Very good Suns one. Bit of creative expression in the home and away templates there. :thumbsu:

Thanks! Though I can only wish I could take credit for the creative template; I borrowed it (as I do many things) from the Paint User's Paradise over at sportslogos.net, specifically from the Niagara IceDogs (there's probably other teams with that template too, I'm positive I remember having seen them at some point, but that's the one I used).

Anyways, Freo's ready to share, and then it's just University and the Pies. After that I'll just keep moving on as long as people keep coming back! I've seen SANFL, WAFL, and VFL mentioned, and even the NRL, which to be honest would be the easiest to do from my point of view, since the lower you go with footy leagues, the harder it is to find high-quality, workable logos on the internet (either that, or the names and logos tend to just keep getting repeated), and hockey puts a little bit more of an emphasis on logos than football does. But I'd like to make doing those 4 leagues my goal, order yet to be determined, and then maybe I'll even keep going with Tasmania, NEAFL, Northern Territory, etc.; we'll see, don't want to get too far ahead of myself.

Just a bit of commentary on the Dockers jerseys. The home is meant to be evocative of the anchor logo plunging down into water, something I've always thought would be perfect with their chevron design, and now I've gotten a chance to execute it myself. The away switches to a wordmark paaaartly because I'm certifiably terrible at Photoshop and had issues swapping the color of the anchor :oops:, but also because I thought it was something different for a '90s team, and more importantly, something that did in fact work aesthetically, with the chest number fitting inside the chevrons as nicely as the anchor does. With the alternate, I wondered at first if I went a bit too far (or should I say... went overboard?!? :cool:) with the port-and-starboard theme, but then decided absolutely not, it was exactly what I wanted and nothing less.

FremantleHome_zps2c176671.png

FremantleAway_zpsf23c7ab3.png

FremantleAlt_zpsbdc582a2.png

Next team: Collingwood or University?

Honestly, the hardest part of designing Collingwood's jerseys (especially the home) was coming up with something for a historically black-and-white stripes team that wouldn't clash with the referees! What I ended up with here might be a bit unique and "modern" for such a storied club, especially considering that the alternate isn't a heritage-style jersey to balance it out, but I liked how it looked, so I went with it. The alternate, by the way, is a bit of a mash-up of two old preseason jumpers, the one from '01-'04 and the (what I gather to be infamous) barcode jumper.

CollingwoodHome_zpsd6b40cc1.png

CollingwoodAway_zps31a0e21f.png

CollingwoodAlt_zps08591166.png

Next team: University

I think you've done really well, they still I pretty traditional as that logo has been around for a while and you've incorporated the stripes. However, with the alternate I reckon you could incorporate the actual "barcode" and come up with a really nice jersey.

North Adelaide and Subiaco can definitely happen! I'm thinking that once I finish up the AFL, I'll do teams as requested, regardless of league, and just keep it organized by league with the links in the original post.

First, though, I'm putting the final touches on University, so I'll post that tonight for me, tomorrow morning for you. And in the meantime, I've finally got that second draft of Melbourne! I created an entirely new home and away set, and then decided to modify the original home jersey I'd made into a 70s/80s throwback. (You can all blame chibimatty for getting that idea in my head!) I think it's a whole lot better than my first attempt: clean, crisp, and aggressive. Hope you all agree!

Melbournev2Home_zpsfc9fd098.png

Melbournev2Away_zps88b62156.png

Melbournev2Alt_zps9f35378d.png

And last but not least, University! Without any real logo to speak of, I just looked to traditional American universities and their wordmarks for design cues.

UniversityHome_zpse32752bc.png

UniversityAway_zpsf0c853a5.png

UniversityAlt_zps48b05193.png

Coming soon: North Adelaide and Subiaco. No guarantees that I'll be able to do teams in the exact order that they're requested from here on out; a big factor for me is finding high-ish quality logos that can go on both a colored and a white background, so that can delay some and make others super easy. But I'll never let a team languish for too long after it's first mentioned!

These have all really impressed me.

Thank you.

And thank you for the kind words, not to mention indulging me and my silly hobby! It's been a lot of fun thinking these up and putting them together, and it's been even better to have gotten the response that I have, so thanks to everyone who's been following the portfolio.

North Adelaide and Subiaco can definitely happen! I'm thinking that once I finish up the AFL, I'll do teams as requested, regardless of league, and just keep it organized by league with the links in the original post.

First, though, I'm putting the final touches on University, so I'll post that tonight for me, tomorrow morning for you. And in the meantime, I've finally got that second draft of Melbourne! I created an entirely new home and away set, and then decided to modify the original home jersey I'd made into a 70s/80s throwback. (You can all blame chibimatty for getting that idea in my head!) I think it's a whole lot better than my first attempt: clean, crisp, and aggressive. Hope you all agree!

Melbournev2Home_zpsfc9fd098.png

Melbournev2Away_zps88b62156.png

Melbournev2Alt_zps9f35378d.png
I really like them, but I reckon they'd look pretty awesome with a trident instead of the Demon head.

You know, I actually looked at some of the Melbourne logos from the "Europeanisation" comp and even considered asking permission to use them, but ultimately I decided that I would stick with official team logos only, as I'd done with all the other teams.

The first non-AFL team is ready, and you'll notice that I've upgraded to a slightly different template. I found it while poking around the internet looking for inspiration, and I realized that it's more realistic, it's still just as easy (if not easier) to work with in Paint, and I think allows for easier visualization of all the various uniform elements. Plus it encourages player safety by putting a visor on the helmet! If I had no other responsibilities in life, I'd go back and update all the previous teams onto this new template, but as it stands, I'll just wait to do that until I decide to pitch my designs to the AFL. :p

You'll also notice that I've added sponsor patches to the jerseys. That's just my way of equating these teams to those of North America's various minor leagues, many of which have such patches. There are no jersey ads in the NHL, so I didn't use any sponsors on the AFL jerseys, but now that I've moved on to the lower-level leagues, it seemed realistic to start including them.

Anyways, without further ado, the North Adelaide Roosters! I'm sure there'll be some raised eyebrows about the alternate, so I'll briefly explain my thinking. I couldn't really come up with anything unique enough for a third jersey with just the red and white, so even though North Adelaide has never used a third color, I took some creative liberties and introduced black. Third jerseys will often introduce a new color or colors to a team's palette, and a couple of popular trends at the moment (for better or for worse) are black jerseys and roundel logos, so I decided to run with that for the Roosters and just hope to put your skepticism at ease by making it look really good!

NorthAdelaideHome_zpsccb75a0f.png

NorthAdelaideAway_zpsdcd8973f.png

NorthAdelaideAlt_zps243c9b36.png

Coming Soon: Subiaco Lions

You know, I actually looked at some of the Melbourne logos from the "Europeanisation" comp and even considered asking permission to use them, but ultimately I decided that I would stick with official team logos only, as I'd done with all the other teams.

The first non-AFL team is ready, and you'll notice that I've upgraded to a slightly different template. I found it while poking around the internet looking for inspiration, and I realized that it's more realistic, it's still just as easy (if not easier) to work with in Paint, and I think allows for easier visualization of all the various uniform elements. Plus it encourages player safety by putting a visor on the helmet! If I had no other responsibilities in life, I'd go back and update all the previous teams onto this new template, but as it stands, I'll just wait to do that until I decide to pitch my designs to the AFL. :p

You'll also notice that I've added sponsor patches to the jerseys. That's just my way of equating these teams to those of North America's various minor leagues, many of which have such patches. There are no jersey ads in the NHL, so I didn't use any sponsors on the AFL jerseys, but now that I've moved on to the lower-level leagues, it seemed realistic to start including them.

Anyways, without further ado, the North Adelaide Roosters! I'm sure there'll be some raised eyebrows about the alternate, so I'll briefly explain my thinking. I couldn't really come up with anything unique enough for a third jersey with just the red and white, so even though North Adelaide has never used a third color, I took some creative liberties and introduced black. Third jerseys will often introduce a new color or colors to a team's palette, and a couple of popular trends at the moment (for better or for worse) are black jerseys and roundel logos, so I decided to run with that for the Roosters and just hope to put your skepticism at ease by making it look really good!

NorthAdelaideHome_zpsccb75a0f.png

NorthAdelaideAway_zpsdcd8973f.png

NorthAdelaideAlt_zps243c9b36.png

Coming Soon: Subiaco Lions

Mate, even though you havn't used our V, i still love these. We actualy did wear black shorts way back in the day, so the thirs kit is not completely wrong. Would buy and wear the white kite, especially with Milesy's name n it!! Great stuff!!

I'm a bit surprised I didn't use the V either, to be honest, but I got on a roll with this design, which I really liked, and when I finished I realized there wasn't really any room for it. I suppose I viewed it as more of a design element than a logo, so once I decided on the dual-width stripes, I wanted to stick with that and not clutter it up with anything extra. Luckily, it sounds like that was still a good decision even if it meant leaving out the V!

Here's Subi! Even more than with the Roosters, this alternate is an example of the "ultra-modernism" that I seem to notice more in the minors than in the NHL these days. (Although it seems to be that the NHL clubs develop the new and unique templates since they've got the resources to, then they abandon them amid fan backlash and minor league teams scoop up the new templates for themselves.) For the Subiaco third jersey, I started with the template of the recent Buffalo third, then modified it to suit my purposes. I'm guessing that the '97-'99 jumper wasn't terribly well-received, considering how short-lived it was, and I can certainly see why, but I thought it lent itself fairly well to an alternate jersey even if it was a terrible home-and-away.

SubiacoHome_zps22495735.png

SubiacoAway_zps38d9c7a6.png

SubiacoAlt_zps0b9a744a.png

I'm happy to queue up a few requests for the next teams, or I'll just go ahead and pick ones that I feel like doing if nothing's mentioned.

Again, looks great.

Could you do a Sturt or Modbury one? If you can't find the resources for Modbury then that's fine however.

Portfolio WLD's AFL Ice Hockey Jerseys (Now with more leagues!)