I Post Big Stuff on the Web.
May 27, 2006
🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈
I'm aware of and love the Miami Dolphins
Wonders Demons.png

The West Coast Wonders. The Mount Buller Demons. The two biggest and oldest club in the land.

In Round 5 of this season, the two face off in what will be the 500th home and away game for both clubs.

It doesn’t get much bigger than this.

Wonders Demons - Wonders.png

The West Coast Wonders entered the competition as a Foundation Club in Season 1, under the name the “Seventh Wonders”. The club was established by league legend and Hall of Famer eagleskickass, after whom the EKA Medal was named.

The Wonders enjoyed immediate success, claiming the Season 1 premiership with a 37 point victory over the now-defunct Team Kournikova.

Since the initial success (and name change to the “West Coast Wonders” in Season 7), the Wonders have undeniably become a powerhouse, with premierships in Season 13, Season 15, Season 17, and Season 21.

In Season 29, the Wonders continue their quest to be the #firsttosix.

Wonders Demons - Demons.png

The Mount Buller Demons also entered the competition as a Foundation Club. Indeed, the Wonders and the Demons are the two last clubs remaining from the league’s first season.

Previously (and until Season 3) “Team Pump”, the Demons were established on the back of work from the club’s first captain, BIG POPPA PUMP.

They have not enjoyed the same success as the Wonders. In fact, their breakthrough premiership didn’t come until Season 18 under the leadership of Eth. They added their second flag in Season 26.

--

In Season 1, there were seven teams in the league, including Team Kournikova, Dragons, Team Timmy, Pagans Ducks, and Dingos. And, of course, the Wonders and Demons. As the two remaining Foundation Clubs, the Wonders and Demons now play for The Foundation Cup, which will again by up for grabs in Round 5. Previous results have been varied:

Code:
Season/Round   Home Team                                  Away Team                         Ground

S01 R02        Team Pump           26.18 (174) defeated  Seventh Wonders     18.19 (127)   Snow Dome
S01 R09        Seventh Wonders     11.9   (75) lost to    Team Pump           18.15 (123)  Wonder Land
S01 1SF        Team Pump           11.16  (82) lost to    Seventh Wonders     19.12 (126)   Snow Dome
S02 R06        Team Pump           15.9   (99) lost to    Seventh Wonders     21.11 (137)   Snow Dome
S02 R13        Seventh Wonders     14.7   (91) defeated  Team Pump           10.10  (70)  Wonder Land
S03 R07        Seventh Wonders     12.10  (82) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 23.10 (148)   Wonder Land
S03 R16        Mount Buller Demons 17.6  (108) defeated   Seventh Wonders     13.15  (93)   Snow Dome
S04 R10        Seventh Wonders     15.17 (107) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 18.17 (125)   Wonder Land
S04 R23        Mount Buller Demons 12.13  (85) lost to    Seventh Wonders     14.13  (97)   Snow Dome
S05 R11        Mount Buller Demons 24.13 (157) defeated   Seventh Wonders     16.9  (105)   RR Snow Dome
S05 R22        Seventh Wonders      9.13  (67) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 13.11  (89)   Wonder Land
S06 R01        Mount Buller Demons 12.9   (81) lost to    Seventh Wonders     15.11 (101)   Snow Dome
S06 R13        Seventh Wonders     15.7   (97) defeated  Mount Buller Demons 13.17  (95)   Wonder Land
S07 R05        West Coast Wonders  11.4   (70) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 15.11 (101)   Subiaco Oval
S07 R17        Mount Buller Demons 12.6   (78) defeated   West Coast Wonders   6.7   (43)   Snow Dome
S08 R07        West Coast Wonders  15.13 (103) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 18.14 (122)   Subiaco Oval
S08 R13        Mount Buller Demons 12.9   (81) lost to    West Coast Wonders  13.12  (90)   Snow Dome
S08 R21        West Coast Wonders  13.8   (86) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 13.9   (87)   Subiaco Oval
S09 R02        Mount Buller Demons 10.7   (67) lost to    West Coast Wonders  13.6   (84)   Snow Dome
S09 R11        West Coast Wonders  14.5   (89) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 18.16 (124)   Subiaco Oval
S10 R03        West Coast Wonders  18.13 (121) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 13.9   (87)   Subiaco Oval
S10 R10        Mount Buller Demons 18.16 (114) defeated   West Coast Wonders  14.11  (95)   Snow Dome
S10 R17        West Coast Wonders  18.12 (120) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 14.17 (101)   Subiaco Oval
S11 R01        West Coast Wonders  11.12  (78) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 10.11  (71)   Subiaco Oval
S11 R08        Mount Buller Demons 10.11  (71) lost to    West Coast Wonders  11.9   (75)   Snow Dome
S11 R15        West Coast Wonders  15.13 (103) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 12.15  (87)   Subiaco Oval
S12 R02        West Coast Wonders  14.11  (95) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 24.18 (162)   Subiaco Oval
S12 R09        Mount Buller Demons  6.10  (46) lost to    West Coast Wonders  11.6   (72)   Snow Dome
S12 1SF        West Coast Wonders  14.17 (101) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 11.13  (79)   Subiaco Oval
S13 R01        Mount Buller Demons 11.7   (73) defeated   West Coast Wonders   8.13  (61)   Snow Dome
S13 R08        West Coast Wonders  14.7   (91) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 12.10  (82)   Subiaco Oval
S13 R15        Mount Buller Demons  7.9   (51) lost to    West Coast Wonders  14.5   (89)   Snow Dome
S14 R02        West Coast Wonders   9.9   (63) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 17.15 (117)   Subiaco Oval
S14 R09        Mount Buller Demons 13.19  (97) lost to    West Coast Wonders  14.19 (103)   Snow Dome
S15 R07        Mount Buller Demons 12.13  (85) defeated   West Coast Wonders  12.9   (81)   Snow Dome
S15 R14        West Coast Wonders  12.7   (79) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 11.3   (69)   The Colosseum
S16 R07        West Coast Wonders  17.10 (112) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 14.8   (92)   The Colosseum
S16 R16        Mount Buller Demons 13.7   (85) lost to    West Coast Wonders  18.8  (116)   The Snow Dome
S17 R09        Mount Buller Demons 12.13  (85) defeated   West Coast Wonders  11.15  (81)   Snow Dome
S17 R18        West Coast Wonders  16.4  (100) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 12.8   (80)   The Colosseum
S17 PF         Mount Buller Demons 10.4   (64) lost to    West Coast Wonders  11.12  (78)   Snow Dome
S18 R06        West Coast Wonders  18.6  (114) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 24.11 (155)   The Colosseum
S18 R12        Mount Buller Demons 13.17  (95) defeated   West Coast Wonders   7.6   (48)   The Snow Dome
S19 R08        Mount Buller Demons 16.9  (105) defeated   West Coast Wonders   7.3   (45)   Snow Dome
S19 R15        West Coast Wonders  17.12 (114) defeated   Mount Buller Demons  8.7   (55)   The Colosseum
S20 R11        Mount Buller Demons 16.23 (119) defeated   West Coast Wonders  10.4   (64)   Snow Dome
S20 R16        Mount Buller Demons 14.9   (93) defeated   West Coast Wonders  12.2   (74)   Snow Dome
S21 R11        West Coast Wonders  16.7  (103) defeated   Mount Buller Demons 11.14  (80)   The Colosseum
S22 R06        Mount Buller Demons 18.4  (112) defeated   West Coast Wonders  13.6   (84)   Snow Dome
S22 R17        West Coast Wonders  14.7   (91) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 14.9   (93)   The Colosseum
S22 2EF        Mount Buller Demons 15.10 (100) lost to    West Coast Wonders  18.14 (122)   Snow Dome
S23 R06        Mount Buller Demons 18.10 (118) lost to    West Coast Wonders  20.10 (130)   Snow Dome
S23 R12        West Coast Wonders  16.15 (111) defeated   Mount Buller Demons  8.12  (60)   The Colosseum
S24 R06        West Coast Wonders  12.7   (79) lost to    Mount Buller Demons  21.5 (131)   The Colosseum
S25 R01        Mount Buller Demons  9.12  (66) lost to    West Coast Wonders   20.6 (126)   Snow Dome
S25 R12        West Coast Wonders  14.13  (97) defeated   Mount Buller Demons  8.9   (57)   The Colosseum
S26 R08        West Coast Wonders  13.8   (86) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 18.15 (123)   The Colosseum
S26 QF         Mount Buller Demons  10.8  (68) defeated   West Coast Wonders   8.6   (54)   Snow Dome
S27 R04        West Coast Wonders  20.8  (128) lost to    Mount Buller Demons 21.9  (135)   The Colosseum
S27 R12        Mount Buller Demons  18.7 (115) defeated   West Coast Wonders   9.7   (61)   Snow Dome
S28 R07        Mount Buller Demons 21.14 (140) defeated   West Coast Wonders 18.8   (116)   Snow Dome
S28 R13        West Coast Wonders  13.18  (96) defeated   Mount Buller Demons   9.5  (59)   The Colosseum

Which leaves us at a count of WONDERS 31 - 31 DEMONS.

Collectively notching up home and away game #1,000, you can see the influence the two clubs have had on the league. Here is the all-time home and away ladder as of the end of Season 28, with thanks to Ljp86.

All Time Home and Away Ladder after Season 28

Code:
Team                    P    W    L    D   Pen  Bon   For    Agnst      %     Win%    Pts   Change  Prem  Spoon

Mount Buller Demons   495  258  235    2   12    2   49030   48243   101.63   52.12  1026      -     2      4
West Coast Wonders    495  256  237    2   13    -   47790   48563    98.41   51.77  1015      -     5      1
Fighting Furies       469  243  222    4    9    -   45483   44521   102.16   51.81   971      -     5      3
Gumbies FFC           451  226  220    5   33    -   43452   43492    99.91   50.11   881      -     1      3
Baghdad Bombers       451  213  233    6   13    -   42232   43991    96.00   47.23   851      -     5      2
East Side Hawks       405  214  187    4   21    -   38688   37921   102.02   52.84   843      -     1      2
Dragons FFC           361  194  162    5    9    -   34957   34310   101.89   53.74   777      -     2      -
Roys FFC              430  194  233    3   14    -   40696   41584    97.86   45.12   768      -     2      3
Sin City Swamprats    323  158  159    6    1    -   31789   31081   102.28   48.91   643      -     2      2
Las Vegas Bears       245  111  132    2   10    -   24881   24252   102.59   45.31   438      -     1      1
Gold City Royals      215   97  115    3    1    -   20814   21411    97.21   45.12   393      -     -      2
Coney Island Warriors 179   92   84    3    2    -   18088   17584   102.87   51.40   372      -     -      -
Titans FC             112   57   54    1    1    -   11420   11189   102.06   50.89   229      -     -      -
Razors                 78   36   42    -    1    -    7949    8170    97.29   46.15   143      -     -      -
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dragons FC             66   32   34    -    1    -    6276    6398    98.09   48.48   127      -     -      1
Junkyard Dogs          68   23   44    1    1    -    6535    6990    93.49   33.82    93      -     -      1
Fremantle Dockers      46   22   24    -    -    -    4191    4306    97.33   47.83    88      -     -      -
Hurricanes             32   21   10    1    -    -    3319    3018   109.97   65.63    86      -     1      -
The Mod Squad          39   16   22    1    -    -    3571    3878    92.08   41.03    66      -     -      1
West Coast Magic       42   17   25    -    4    -    3656    4043    90.28   40.48    64      -     1      1
Blues Brothers         24   16    8    -    2    -    2530    2265   111.69   66.67    62      -     -      -
Darkness Eternal       32   14   17    1    -    -    3020    3153    95.78   43.75    58      -     -      -
AFL AllStars           40   14   25    1    2    -    3526    3792    92.99   35.00    56      -     -      -
BigFooty Dragons       26   13   12    1    -    -    2776    2685   103.39   50.00    54      -     -      -
Southern Sharks        22   14    8    -    3    -    1936    1757   110.18   63.64    53      -     -      -
Koalas                 22   10   12    -    -    -    2160    2042   105.77   45.45    40      -     -      -
Team Timmy             12    6    6    -    -    -    1166    1252    93.13   50.00    24      -     -      -
Dingos                 12    3    9    -    -    -    1277    1536    83.13   25.00    12      -     -      -

In the lead-up to Round 5, co-captain of the Wonders Dingster and captain of the Demons manangatang were kind enough to answer some questions.

Open Mike.png

HEADLESS:
Ding, mang, thanks for joining me. We've made it to Season 29, and we're fast approaching what is always the biggest game of the season: Wonders v. Demons. What does The Foundation Cup mean to the both of you?

MANANGATANG:

In relative terms, I’m a whippersnapper around the league, so my personal experience with the rivalry is limited.

However, I am well aware of what our proud club’s rivalry with the Wonders means to my more experienced teammates.

People say that ‘hate’ is a strong word. Well, I’ve seen our guys use stronger against this bunch of arrogant turds.

I’d like to go with the ‘yeah nah it’s just another game hey?’ trope, but it’s not true. They are our natural enemy and we’ll claim that goddamn cup if it means killing every single last one of them (on the Qooty field).

DINGSTER:
Coming into the Wonders there was plenty of experienced player like SSwans2011, ClarkeM and BallaratBulldog who pass down the rivalry between the two clubs and there's no doubt there's an extra pep during the week. Ex Wonder and Demon okeydoke7 was another who was really passionate about this match up.

So as captain I want every Wonder to hit that week hard and make a presence. Get involved, fly the flag and keep the Foundation Cup.

HEADLESS:
Over the years, both teams have enjoyed success, but the Wonders more so. What do you put that down to?

MANANGATANG:
Simple. Cheating.

That and the fact that we don’t really care as much about winning as we do being insular.

DINGSTER:
We're simply better. We respect the Dees as an opponent but we want it more.

HEADLESS:
Speaking of respect, that's something I've noticed in my time in the league. Both teams want to win, but I feel there's a mutual respect that comes with being a Foundation Club. Is that something you agree with and, if so, are there any players from the opposition you particularly enjoy engaging with?

DINGSTER:

Without question. Both teams come to play so the quality is always there. The experienced players really step up such as yourself, Tarkyn_24, DemonJim, cats2rise and sausageroll. Mang as captain always brings it and Callums_Guns looks to really embrace the occasion.

MANANGATANG:
Well I guess we respect them to a degree. We respect them enough to hate them.

I love bantering with Ding and Elton and laughing with/at Bono. I’d love to see Cactus_ back and posting more - he has a great mix of wit and aggression. B52 is verbose but engaging.

The rest of them are campaigners.

HEADLESS:
Ding, you mentioned
okeydoke7, who has played for both teams. In your view, how important are players like okey who focus on league lore?

DINGSTER:

Massive. Even as someone who has been around a few seasons, I fed off Okey's passion in these games. There is a responsibility for the experienced players and leaders like Elton Johns Wig and U2tigers to keep that flame burning to keep it special.

HEADLESS:
manangatang, from your end, how does the Wonders v. Demons match-up feel in comparison to other rivalries you've encountered in your time?

MANANGATANG:

It definitely has an extra intensity.

When I moved over here from the Furies, I really hadn’t noticed the Wonders all that much. The Furies hate everyone equally, so there’s nothing particularly special about any opponent.

When I arrived at Mt. Buller, all was convivial until we hit the Wonders. It was instantly identifiable what the matchup means in the history of the league. The big boys from both sides come out to play.

I hope to keep the fire burning.

HEADLESS:
Great perspectives, friends. Just lastly, do you think
ClarkeM's record is more impressive at the Wonders or the Demons?

DINGSTER:

Clarkey is pure Wonder. Don't be stupid Headless.

MANANGATANG:
I don’t even know who that is. So I’ll say the Demons.

Fantastic write up Headless and undoubtedly a rich source of history for the new comers to the league to absorb. Yes it’s amazing that Mt Buller only have 2 premierships. Season 18 under Eth was without a doubt a watershed season for the Dees. Ummm.... who, pray tell, led the Demons to that record breaking victory in S26? (multiple records in fact that cats2rise no doubt could list???)

Again, great stuff from a league legend who never lets the success go to his head!

Fantastic write up Headless and undoubtedly a rich source of history for the new comers to the league to absorb. Yes it’s amazing that Mt Buller only have 2 premierships. Season 18 under Eth was without a doubt a watershed season for the Dees. Ummm.... who, pray tell, led the Demons to that record breaking victory in S26? (multiple records in fact that cats2rise no doubt could list???)

Again, great stuff from a league legend who never lets the success go to his head!

No probs, Ant Bear! :)

I did CTRL+F 'Bombers' but only found 1 mention of us in the Season 28 table.

Bit disappointed till it said we'd won 5 Premierships.

I did CTRL+F 'Bombers' but only found 1 mention of us in the Season 28 table.

Bit disappointed till it said we'd won 5 Premierships.

Delete this. Why must you tarnish my thread?

The foundation cup was a huge thing for me during my time at the Wonders, I think people forget the importance of rivalries so I tried to continue tradition by hating on the Demons. Unfortunately, the foundation cup is barely celebrated these days so I am very happy to see this thread. Thanks Headless

Should be a corker, will be tuning in.

To think they booted me out of committee when I dish up ideas like this stellar fixturing. End of a era.

The foundation cup was a huge thing for me during my time at the Wonders, I think people forget the importance of rivalries so I tried to continue tradition by hating on the Demons. Unfortunately, the foundation cup is barely celebrated these days so I am very happy to see this thread. Thanks Headless

The best, biggest and longest rivalry in the league!

Fantastic thread Headless, no suspense needed like your coon dog kick 500 goals thread ;)
It's just bang on perfect :thumbsu:

Might want to let Ant Bear know your size for All-SFA INT#2 S29 blazer so he can get it ordered now

Great write up!

I always get up and about for the Wonders games - Theres been some classic banter with haydo and ClarkeM over the years.

Sourest bunch of flogs I have ever met.

You are on fire with your content Headless.

I ******* hate the Demons...Really looking forward to this match.

And the milestones, it just doesn't get any bigger then this.

You like us deep down. :)

Confused a bit by one of the interview responses by manangatang

Are you dropping a hint (and to me in particular) that murdering every single one of the Wonders in sort of real terms isn’t an acceptable strategy?
I merely set guidelines, PG. Not hard and fast rules.

Media Wonders + Demons = 1,000 collective games in Round 5