Worst player to play in a grand final??

keating by a mile. Played 3 games for the crows, one regular game, and then in 2 weeks played in a prelim win and a GF win followed up by a SANFL GF win.

Gee 93 Bombers amazed they haven't got a mention Paul Hills Ricky Olarenshaw, Somerville David Calthorpe god help us

Has to be be the second worst GF team ever,only beaten by the Carlton side they beat,an appaling team

I like Cam but his position is "Angry man". He wouldn't make it as a forward in any other side, he is just there to bring the ball to ground so Johnno, Chapman and others can kick the vast majority of Geelong's score. He is a glorified brick wall.

Good luck to him but he is a seriously average player made to look passable by an awesome midfield.

Played better than any of the other tall forwards on the weekend including Riewoldt and Kosi.

Also best tall forward in the 2007 GF where he kicked 5 goals.

Find it hard to believe a player can have 3 premierships, be the best tall forward in 2 GFs, and be considered one of the worst ever to play in a GF.

Maybe Kosi or Riewoldt should get a nomination on this basis.

That Collingwood team has been harshly judged I reckon. They won more games then they lost in 02 and 03 so they couldn't have been as made out to be here. Shown up on the big stage though.

Agree with the above poster. Mooney was great on Saturday. Some idiots on this board probably never kicked an oval ball in their lives.

Mario Bortolotto - 30 Games for the blues over three seasons - dual premiership player 81/82 and night premiership 1983. Mind you his performance in 1982 was probably the best game of his life playing on David Cloke at full back and keeping him to three goals.

Only player in the history of the game to have more premierships than possessions :D

Gee 93 Bombers amazed they haven't got a mention Paul Hills Ricky Olarenshaw, Somerville David Calthorpe god help us

Has to be be the second worst GF team ever,only beaten by the Carlton side they beat,an appaling team

hills was good that year. olarenshaw had 11 disposals in the first quarter. i think that's more than dempster got in 2 entire grand finals? he would have had an excellent career if not cut down by injury.

somerville has doyle/jolly covered, in GF performance at least. calthorpe had 18 disposals in the 93 grand final, and kicked the sealer in the 3rd quarter.

the 93 bombers team included: long, wanganeen, harvey, hird, mercuri, misiti, odonnell, salmon, watson and fletcher. the side was younger than the hawks last year, so was always going to be inconsistent after that.

terrible call.

hills was good that year. olarenshaw had 11 disposals in the first quarter. i think that's more than dempster got in 2 entire grand finals? he would have had an excellent career if not cut down by injury.

somerville has doyle/jolly covered, in GF performance at least. calthorpe had 18 disposals in the 93 grand final, and kicked the sealer in the 3rd quarter.

the 93 bombers team included: long, wanganeen, harvey, hird, mercuri, misiti, odonnell, salmon, watson and fletcher. the side was younger than the hawks last year, so was always going to be inconsistent after that.

terrible call.

Worst premiership side ever. Easily

Raph Clarke.

And two other factors make this even more bemusing.

Not only is he one of the worst players in the comp, but:

1. There were several far superior players left out of the Saints team, including Eddy, Armitage and Hudgton.

2. He was under an injury cloud with a strained calf and was effectively lame after half time, leaving the saints a man down.

I can live with a dud player making the Grand final when there are no better options, but Lyon has made a truly terrible call here and due to the result it should be rightly criticised.

You are a dill mate - he played well in the prelim and thats why he got a game in the grand final - simple as that. Eddy had 4 touches. Who would you have played??

from my team : Stakers 2005 G/F was a lowlight reel in itself
2007 : westhoff ( then again if it wasnt for the Burgoyne's and the cornes' brothers-the margin would be 200 points +)

Easy to calculate. Just take the 2003 Collingwood GF side, deduct the top 10 players and take your pick out of the rest.

I choose Ben Kinnear, but my God Tristan Walker is stiff. It's just that Walker did more with his 1 possesssion than Kinnear did with his 4.

Other challengers- Derek Shaw(Coll) 1979- 0.0.0. were his stats and that was before interchange IIRC, and no, he wasn't on the bench.

Worst player to ever play well in a GF- Ted Hopkins(1970)- how that spud kicked 4 goals is a massive mystery. He should have also bought a Lotto ticket that day. He would have won. Would have also won Super 66 at the same time without an entry.

beat this one!

Richmond's Bill James played only one game of league football and won a premiership. The story goes that James was a star forward with country club Kyabram and was picked by the Tigers for the 1920 decider when regular full-forward George Bayliss fell ill on the eve of the game. James, in fact, kicked the sealing goal but never played again after accidentally shooting himself in the foot while hunting rabbits.:D:thumbsu:

Mick Nolan was the fattest to play in a GF.

It's one thing for us all to share our opinions on footy,and we have all crossed the line at times but when making personal attacks bear it in mind that we are discussing REAL people,not fictional characters.
I was reading this tripe at work today,and who is sitting at the computer next to me...Mick Nolans son,the late Mick Nolan mind you(and a very fine player he was). Classy

Its Athorn by the length of Lygon St.

In a close checking role by Athorn, Long got leather poising and a sore foot from that many kicks and kicked 5 from a bloody wing.
You won't get a worse performance - I still have nightmares.

It's one thing for us all to share our opinions on footy,and we have all crossed the line at times but when making personal attacks bear it in mind that we are discussing REAL people,not fictional characters.
I was reading this tripe at work today,and who is sitting at the computer next to me...Mick Nolans son,the late Mick Nolan mind you(and a very fine player he was). Classy

This is a thread bagging players for being the worst player to play in a grand final, isn't that considered a personal attack as well? Heck if it wasn't for 'personal attacks' on players then most of this forum wouldn't exist

Worst player to play in a grand final??