WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 2

just to change the topic but its one thing that really sh*ts me..

is it just me or a Ross Faulkners the WORST footys to of ever been made ?

even the burleys that get used in the EDFL are heaps better than the crap we get served up every week... they are like gridiron balls..

does anyone agree ?

Thats a fantatsic post.

The WRFL uses crap footbals which are skinny and u lose up to 10-15 meters in distance when kicking them.

We should start a post getting everyone to get the league to change footballs.

I have played in a few leagues and they are the worst by far Ross Faulkners.

When i played in Sydney they used A.F.L Sherrins and the diffrence is light years. It would imrprove the leauge kicking standard by 10 percent in my opinion.

For example having a set shot with a Ross Faulker from 50 is a hard task but with an A.F.L Sherrin it is very easy to get the purchase required to clear the line at middle of the goal post height.

Also field kicking is probally a bigger factor, whith the Ross Faulkers if they are not hit perfectly they tend to fall short of the target as the leather is quite hard.

Its a disgrace that a leagues uses anything but the best when comes to the footballs and yes the EDFl Burleys are much better than what is used in the WRFL.

Good Post. :thumbsu:

i sent someone down last night to have a look at a few clubs and he said that were about 10 blokes runnin around nth sunshine ground... couldnt tell u if it was the footballers or someone else but for the comp sake i hope it was not the footy boys

Nth Sunshine are struggling but should fill two teams and having played for them i know a couple of guys and they will much worse this season, the only hope for them is probally a merger which is sad but a relaistic approach to Survival.

Yarraville 50-60 at training(not sure how many can atually play tho) which is unbeliavable numbers as this time last year Yarraville where getting 12-15 so its promisiing down Yarraville way.

How are other teams travelling?

Albanvale have recruited well from what i have been told and i still think they will be top 4 no doubt.

Why do people have to personally attack each other on this forum. Its shows nothing but a lack of class and reflects poorly for the league and Div 2 football.

A little bit of banter is fun but people contuniely cross the line and make things personal and that just drives people away from big footy all together.

We all play against each other and its war on the field but once the siren goes all should shake hands and have a beer together and treat each other with respect and should be no diffrent on this forum.

Nth S/Shine have had players playing one's that couldnt get a game in the two about 2-3 years ago. Heard Stoney is a chance to leave now,if numbers dont start to improve.
Evo how's the trainer going down there, heard his one of the best and loves to rub the guys up and down.

Nth Sunshine are struggling but should fill two teams and having played for them i know a couple of guys and they will much worse this season, the only hope for them is probally a merger which is sad but a relaistic approach to Survival.

Yarraville 50-60 at training(not sure how many can atually play tho) which is unbeliavable numbers as this time last year Yarraville where getting 12-15 so its promisiing down Yarraville way.

Albanvale have recruited well from what i have been told and i still think they will be top 4 no doubt.

Why do people have to personally attack each other on this forum. Its shows nothing but a lack of class and reflects poorly for the league and Div 2 football.

A little bit of banter is fun but people contuniely cross the line and make things personal and that just drives people away from big footy all together.

We all play against each other and its war on the field but once the siren goes all should shake hands and have a beer together and treat each other with respect and should be no diffrent on this forum.

I see a clearance for Hani Harb looks like things are looking up for Yarra

mint spot on about the footy's........whilst i only played 2's last season the older balls we use are much better cause they have been used 2 or 3 times so the leather is much softer..........the new pills are terrible hard as cats heads.........

another serious issue is grounds..........i play cricket at williamstown and there is no way vfl footy is going to be played on this ground..........whilst deer park...........mmmmmmmmmm terrible.........cracks the size of the grand canyon..........

cain the dain train mainsbridge............
whilst most of us do know each other as we are bigfooty royalty......meh
its the guys who want to go un-named who have a crack and thats where the riff raff chit chat comes from............and a footy field there is no where to hide on here there is..........so thats where the cowards can come in and play funnybuggers...........but any way people learn to ignore them and all is sweet.........

50-60 is that 18's as well im sure it is...........

ive been here a long time flag favs this year is nth foots in my opinion........improvers to be lavo with parkside.........sliders to be deer park and coburg.........

mint spot on about the footy's........whilst i only played 2's last season the older balls we use are much better cause they have been used 2 or 3 times so the leather is much softer..........the new pills are terrible hard as cats heads.........

another serious issue is grounds..........i play cricket at williamstown and there is no way vfl footy is going to be played on this ground..........whilst deer park...........mmmmmmmmmm terrible.........cracks the size of the grand canyon..........

its the guys who want to go un-named who have a crack and thats where the riff raff chit chat comes from............and a footy field there is no where to hide on here there is..........so thats where the cowards can come in and play funnybuggers...........but any way people learn to ignore them and all is sweet.........

ive been here a long time flag favs this year is nth foots in my opinion........improvers to be lavo with parkside.........sliders to be deer park and coburg.........

Weapons are you feeling ok ? that was the most serious and best post that you have ever come up with! haha

its true the footys are a disgrace and despite the fact that they are hard - pointy and float in the air like a plastic bag i dont think we will ever have much choice as the WRFL never listen to any of the clubs..

speaking of those grounds weapons i went past Central Altona's old ground the other day and that still looks in great nic !

Not a bad post weapons although i cant see coburg being sliders we have being consistently getting 40 at training and with just the 2 sides thats a fair turn out better than the past few years i reckon mint can vouch for that we have picked up pretty good so that should see us around the same mark as last year!!:thumbsu:

Granted we haven't picked up any notable names but a club with no juniors coming through needs to look at youth first and try and build a foundation and thats the direction we have taken in saying that the young blokes will be more than handy!!

speaking of those grounds weapons i went past Central Altona's old ground the other day and that still looks in great nic ![/quote]

The Western jets are using the ground as there training facilities.

One of the best grounds going around and the facilities are right up there with DIV 1 clubs, a shame Centals has folded as there were great memories at that club.

just to change the topic but its one thing that really sh*ts me..

is it just me or a Ross Faulkners the WORST footys to of ever been made ?

even the burleys that get used in the EDFL are heaps better than the crap we get served up every week... they are like gridiron balls..

does anyone agree ?

absolutly disgusting when grown men cant kick the ball 30 metres , yet when you have a joke with them about it after the game, the answer is always the same, the brick we are using

in this case and most cases with the wrfl it quantity not quality and quantity = larger rebate

weapons i know alot depends on the weather but do you see d/p ground bein ready for round 1

Interesting discussion on SEN today with Tery O'Donnell from the Umpires Association talking with Tony Schibecci.

Basically Umpires meeting with WRFL Exec tonight to sort out their problems in regards to Terry Gunn appointment as Umpire's boss and the fact that they are being directed to wear orange uniforms from this season ( like most othe rmetro Leagues ?).

Looks like the Umpires Association are jacking up big time and threatening to withdraw their services this season - my god Club Umpires everywhere ...lol

absolutly disgusting when grown men cant kick the ball 30 metres , yet when you have a joke with them about it after the game, the answer is always the same, the brick we are using

in this case and most cases with the wrfl it quantity not quality and quantity = larger rebate

your right on the money there, they would have us kicking around the plastic ones from kmart if they could make enough coin out of them!!

I can vouch for what Hells is saying. 40 is a unbelievable turn out at Districts. The days i was there as a player/captain we were lucky to have 20 with an average of 8 - Well done on getting some youth down there:thumbsu:

Interesting discussion on SEN today with Tery O'Donnell from the Umpires Association talking with Tony Schibecci.

Basically Umpires meeting with WRFL Exec tonight to sort out their problems in regards to Terry Gunn appointment as Umpire's boss and the fact that they are being directed to wear orange uniforms from this season ( like most othe rmetro Leagues ?).

Looks like the Umpires Association are jacking up big time and threatening to withdraw their services this season - my god Club Umpires everywhere ...lol

so what are the umpires after ? do they want terry gunn ? do they want the WRFL to be taking over ? do they want to run their own show ?

I wrote about this a week or so back. The general gist from the umpires was they want a coach appointed who will improve the standard of umpiring, attract new umpires and provide better coaching, inturn improving the standard. They have had Terry Gunn there for a few years now and feel like thta have gone backwards. The number of new umpires recruit has decreased signifcantly, hence why we need club umpires the last few years. 5-10 years ago Divvy 2 reserves had official umpires, not great ones, but still neutral.

I really dont care too much for umpires - but i do want to see good umpiring and inturn good matches. In a football club sense - how long would a club keep a coach if your number of players / recruits feel and your overall standard of football was poor???

orange uniforms,etc etc is not important. (besides fact some are kids and have to spend money on new uniforms) it more about coaching and gettin an effective coach that will fix the umpire league and WRFl in general

SIDE NOTE - Heard it is the AFL behind the push and once they have control over WRFL umpires they will work on other leagues. We will then inturn have the same rules applied to our leagues. This is a SAD thing as i would love to see the Nick MAxwell shirtfront stay in local footy - even if on the recieving end - i think most wold agree it is somehting we love about local footy - not as quick and skillful as the elite - but just as tough!!!!!!!!!!!

yeah agree with u cain i remember only a few years ago having some great battles with nth sunshine and lets hope they can field some good sides and turn it around. i hear that most clubs have actually done very well over the summer with both recruiting and with numbers on the track, which i am very pleased with because it is only going to benefit the legue and standard of footy and also keep the preasure on every other club to focus on players so thumbs up to all div2 clubs from what i am hearing.
about the falcons...we will be stronger this year and alot more competitive but as far as predictions go i will not give one because it is way to early but i do feel we will be much improved and a very disciplined side.
cain i heard good things sbout what u are puttin ur boys thru at training my yarraville contact says that there is a good feel about it and they enjoy the proffessionism of ur sessions so good work, u may have a few good offers on the training front if yarra do well this year.
my opinion on the footies is simple...use te best and the best is the sherrin. it will only cost the league $3 extra per footy to change to the TW Sherrin. which i feel they would not have many complaints even if they passed that on to clubs. do the right thing wrfl if u promote urself as the best then why not outlay and provide the best i all aspects of our comp.
also for all that do not know who i am in case i happen to insult someone on here i am nathan evans and i am coach of wyndhamvale. i have never taken a backward step on the field but i will be the first bloke to buy the opposition a beer after the game and this gesture alone will help and improve our comp 10 fold if other clubs and players take that time and effort to get to know there opponents....what happens on the field stays on the field boys.... now i do feel thats my 2 cents worth haha

and paul3232??? yeah taz is back doin the trainin this year and yeah i think he does love gettinout the oil,,, he tries not to smile but he just cant help it hahahahaha

weapons i know alot depends on the weather but do you see d/p ground bein ready for round 1

nope i dont think so..........whilst i havnt seen it or actually been on it tomorrow will tell the tale.........im talking about the field in general here......

i was invited to play in the deer park f.c vs the deer park/ardeer cricket club match tomorrow which is a 20/20 match to raise money for the bushfire apeal which i thought was a fantastic idea and a great cause........so yer will no more tmozz.......

i saw it 4 or 5 weeks ago and the cntr square area was terrible you could fit a can or a stubby down the cracks....so think of it what u like.......rolled ankles come to mind first.......

played on the ground tonight.........center terrible out field rough but not that bad of nick.......bunny holes are a concern on the scoreboard side wing........

Not a bad post weapons although i cant see coburg being sliders we have being consistently getting 40 at training and with just the 2 sides thats a fair turn out better than the past few years i reckon mint can vouch for that we have picked up pretty good so that should see us around the same mark as last year!!:thumbsu:

Granted we haven't picked up any notable names but a club with no juniors coming through needs to look at youth first and try and build a foundation and thats the direction we have taken in saying that the young blokes will be more than handy!!

as i said it was my opinion.......good reply back though.......

speaking of those grounds weapons i went past Central Altona's old ground the other day and that still looks in great nic !

The Western jets are using the ground as there training facilities.

One of the best grounds going around and the facilities are right up there with DIV 1 clubs, a shame Centals has folded as there were great memories at that club.[/quote]

correct.......west jets have moved from carroline springs to central altona's ground.........new lights.......ground in joseph gutnic........i dont miss playing against c/a........

i have never taken a backward step on the field but i will be the first bloke to buy the opposition a beer after the game and this gesture alone will help and improve our comp 10 fold [/quote]

Lovely gesture - sounds like you provding a slab after every game :) good work:) will have to spread word to just ask you for a beer :)

As for grounds - Albanvale ground has grass coverage just dry and dead look - prob average for most grounds.
Deer Park has started being watered again 3 weeks ago and starting to get green tinge again. Pitch area id dry and but grass starting to cover up again
St.Albans (for those who care) - very patchy. Looks like over use.

Think most grounds clinging onto dry dormant grass - most just need good downpour for few days or ongoing watering. If only one game is played before easter they might as well push it back a week (which in essence will be two weeks)