• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 4

Finally a shout out to big Dean Hogg from Lavo. Disappointing not to send him out to the paddock on the back of some big finals wins, but the bloke has had a top career in the wrfl and if not for some injuries at key times could have got a run in the vfl. Even though he sprints about as fast as a one legged tortoise and has a receding hairline that makes him look about 80, it was good to have him playing back at Lavo for the last two seasons and his experience and skill down back is going to be missed next season. Could be the sort of bloke that will make a good senior coach one day.

I agree Dean Hogg would make a great coach in my eyes...always giving advice to the younger blokes out on the training track at Laverton.Will be a loss at Laverton...funny character!

The North Footscray Football Club invite coaching applications for season 2010 for under 10’s, 12’s, 14’s, 16’s and 18’s in the 2nd Division Seniors and Reserves.

So i guess this season is already a write off then....... Don't think they can win or if they do they don't want to go up
icon10.gif

Also advertised last year, as it is in the club constitution. Hope that clears things up for you.

Devils are definitely a chance this week.

Also advertised last year, as it is in the club constitution. Hope that clears things up for you.

Devils are definitely a chance this week.

The only chance they have this week is if Jukes takes Patty
L.Wright on Nathan,Mutton on Fluffy and Walgers kicks 10 thats
the last time Nth has won a final:D

1/good call how can patty kick over a100 goals 87 behinds and not finish in the top 3.In one game he kicked 14 and got 4th or 5th best but with nath's best mate [benny fat crook] and the pres dav keanen doing the votes patty never had a chance nath didnt even get a kick in some games but still polled well work it out

2/good call some players were offered $200 a game but cant get a game so thats why they have some depth but will they hang around next year i dont think so

3/bad call its not $900 a game its $1200 and if they did stats on turnovers he would win by a country mile so if always turning the ball over is a good year ive got know idea

Would have to agree Davis should of won there b and f and i think will win the League medal. Thats an absoulte joke he did not finish top 3 as he is by far and away your most important and best peformed played all year. Nathan had a great year but from the 2 games we played Parkside Kruger and Davis where by far the most important and damaging players.

Midfilders seem to always win b and f and most of the time at our level they run around chasing kicks and never paying attention to there direct opponent. Forwards are often underated in best and fairest voting but i can assure you with out Patty you guys are a totally diffrent side and he is your MVP by a mile. Congrat to Nathan on winning the b and f but to win these awards as coach it will create alot of specualtion and rumor and could be detremental to the football club going forward.

Parkside will more than likely win the flag but face a big challange in being competetive in Div 1 (providing they make it) and with alot of players getting on in age or not wanting to play Div 1 footy it will be interetsing to see what happens and how they go with the jump back up.

Good Luck to all in Div 1 and 2 finals this week.

Would have to agree Davis should of won there b and f and i think will win the League medal.

Cain I would say that Davis has NO CHANCE of winning the comp. Last season he also kicked the ton and only got 3 votes from the umpires for the year. YES that is correct 3 votes.

Considering he kicked bags of 10+ 3 or 4 times the voting is staggering. I am not sure what he says or does to the umpires on the field but surely there is something going on. Really interested to see how he polls this season. If he doesnt get at least 10 votes there is something horribly wrong.

Appreciate the comments West Rookie, we obviously played much better than a couple of weeks ago but I've got to say I'm still dissappointed that we went out. Full credit to DP they outplayed us most of the day, especially in the first quarter when they were against the wind, if they had of converted in front of goal they could have put us away quickly. Having said that, I thought all our boys fought on well, and kept our discipline pretty well, until late in the game when a few silly 50's probably cost us 2 goals.

DP are very good runners, and their talls up forward did the job when needed. I thought their backline held up really well too with the big bald headed bloke playing a very good game again. I think we were able to be exploited down back due to us being undersized and DP kicked to their big forwards fairly well. Hopefully our coaching staff are on the job over summer on the look out for some key position players and our defenders like Matty Rocco (who is a gun defender in the competition) won't be required to play on guys about a foot and a half taller than him. Doesn't help when your biggest and best player has a brain cramp the week before and gets himself an early holiday! Moving forward, like every other side in the comp, we need to make sure our top 5 or 6 players come back next season and our young players come on and become the players they have the potential to become.

Good call on the umpires, I thought they did a reasonable job, let play go on, not to many stupid free kicks in tackles were paid which seemed to be something Div 2 umpires gave a lot of this season. They might have been Div 1 umpires, as I've never seen them before but hopefully we get to see them again.

On Deer Park, I believe they can make the prelim, I think their run through the midfield and size up forward might be a bit too much for Albanvale though I'm not willing to put my money on. Is there a story with number 3 in the DP forward line? A couple of years ago that little bloke tore us up through the midfield went forward and probably kicked 5 on us. On the weekend he looked uninterested and didn't really seem to go after the ball or even want to go after the ball?

Finally a shout out to big Dean Hogg from Lavo. Disappointing not to send him out to the paddock on the back of some big finals wins, but the bloke has had a top career in the wrfl and if not for some injuries at key times could have got a run in the vfl. Even though he sprints about as fast as a one legged tortoise and has a receding hairline that makes him look about 80, it was good to have him playing back at Lavo for the last two seasons and his experience and skill down back is going to be missed next season. Could be the sort of bloke that will make a good senior coach one day.

yeah just on no 3 i think he had a broken foot or something along those lines did it round 3 or 4............played the last 2 home and away rounds still with a crook foot hence the reason why he has not played in the midfield.........whilst still getting some match fitness over the last 3 weeks he is 1 bloke who can turn it on on his day.....lets hope its this week ay.......plus lots of options to go through the midfield has him as a sneaky f/ward pocket who can take a grab/f/ward line pressure........

deer park v albanvale........gee what a cracker.......d/p by 20 points
parkside v nth foots.........another cracker.....if parkside are to get beaten this is the week.........nth foots by a point........

good to see the top 4 still involved and all teams deserve to be playing this week.........lavo well........my opinion had a great season but lack the 3 or 4 snr players who can take the game by the scruff and get them accross the line..........will be better for it next year;)

Cain I would say that Davis has NO CHANCE of winning the comp. Last season he also kicked the ton and only got 3 votes from the umpires for the year. YES that is correct 3 votes.

Considering he kicked bags of 10+ 3 or 4 times the voting is staggering. I am not sure what he says or does to the umpires on the field but surely there is something going on. Really interested to see how he polls this season. If he doesnt get at least 10 votes there is something horribly wrong.

If thats the case then that is a joke. A hundred goals in 15 matches would = at least 10-15 votes if not more in my opinion. He may suffer from marking alot in the goal square and not having silky skills but he sure as hell gets the job done week in week out will be interesting to see how the forwards poll not very well by the sounds of things.

3 votes last year???????????What.T.Fuc*k?????..... just goes to show that some umpires dont have a clue how has done what on the field during a match.:thumbsdown:

Would have to agree Davis should of won there b and f and i think will win the League medal. Thats an absoulte joke he did not finish top 3 as he is by far and away your most important and best peformed played all year. Nathan had a great year but from the 2 games we played Parkside Kruger and Davis where by far the most important and damaging players.

Midfilders seem to always win b and f and most of the time at our level they run around chasing kicks and never paying attention to there direct opponent. Forwards are often underated in best and fairest voting but i can assure you with out Patty you guys are a totally diffrent side and he is your MVP by a mile. Congrat to Nathan on winning the b and f but to win these awards as coach it will create alot of specualtion and rumor and could be detremental to the football club going forward.

Parkside will more than likely win the flag but face a big challange in being competetive in Div 1 (providing they make it) and with alot of players getting on in age or not wanting to play Div 1 footy it will be interetsing to see what happens and how they go with the jump back up.

Good Luck to all in Div 1 and 2 finals this week.[/QUOTE

Ask yourself how would parkside preform in the finals without pattie davis ?
im sure they would still win it easily if nathan juegan didn't play & thats no disrespect to nathan but to kick 100 goals in 15 games and not get in the top 3 in the b & f please i wonder who's doing the votes down there ?

im sure they would still win it easily if nathan juegan didn't play & thats no disrespect to nathan but to kick 100 goals in 15 games and not get in the top 3 in the b & f please i wonder who's doing the votes down there ?[/quote]

it wouldnt of mattered if patty had of kicked 200 goals benny crook went out at the start of the year and bought a best and fairest trophy with nath juegans name on it.

im sure they would still win it easily if nathan juegan didn't play & thats no disrespect to nathan but to kick 100 goals in 15 games and not get in the top 3 in the b & f please i wonder who's doing the votes down there ?

it wouldnt of mattered if patty had of kicked 200 goals benny crook went out at the start of the year and bought a best and fairest trophy with nath juegans name on it.[/quote]

Hahahaha that means he bought the flag aswell.......

This Weekends Finals:
Sat:
Parkside V Nth Footscray:
Nth footscray need to test Parkside which is easier said then done they tested them in the first qtr in the last rnd but apart from thatwere pretty convincingly smashed all round the ground and are better than that can play some really good footy conditions didn't suit but still got the job done. Parkside if they start well it may get ugly if not they could be tested all game anything can happen in finals. Parkside to win by 40 points devils can't stop the best forward in the comp patty kicks 8.

Sun:
Albanvale v Deer Park:
Had 2 cliffhangers througout the season should be a great game not much separates these to and nth foots. Albanvale won after the siren last game with cavanagh playing extreamly well in defense he is crucial in stopping the forwardline of deer park. For Deer Park simply must draw on the pain of losing last two games and must stop Endres cut them to peices in the last with 40+ touches and 5 shots on goal if this happens they are certain to lose. Deer Park have started to get a lot more run through the likes of the harrison brothers and others on the flanks and wings which they lacked earlier on. For me Albanvale again thrive on being first to the footy and 2 from 2 through the season gives them the slight edge really could go either way but tipping Albanvale by 4 points.

good to see parkside (nath) looking after thier juniors. 2 boys 1st year up from u/18's dropped for the finals. 1 of them was eason-jones who has played the last 2 years in the seniors, came 4th in the b&f last year, choose to play senior footy last year and miss out on an u/18 flag, it sends a great message to the up and coming juniors at the club.

I don’t know why I bother but it’s just too easy as you keep showing how stupid you are. Parkside has shown a great youth policy: 9 players who were u18 last year were rotated and played senior football for a total of 45 senior games in 2009.

As for selection, who knows what the team will look like on Saturday. But in a strong club there's always some blokes who are going to be stiff missing out on finals (1s or 2s). If good players are dropped then it only gives an indication on how strong the club is going. Half the Parkside 2s team this season are all 1s players from last year who helped the club get to the semifinals. No shame there. Of those who get dropped, most cop it on the chin and do everything they can to get back in the next week. Only weak dogs sook it up on the internet.... but hey, you sisters would know all about that :D

This Weekends Finals:
Sat:
Parkside V Nth Footscray:
Nth footscray need to test Parkside which is easier said then done they tested them in the first qtr in the last rnd but apart from thatwere pretty convincingly smashed all round the ground and are better than that can play some really good footy conditions didn't suit but still got the job done. Parkside if they start well it may get ugly if not they could be tested all game anything can happen in finals. Parkside to win by 40 points devils can't stop the best forward in the comp patty kicks 8.

Sun:
Albanvale v Deer Park:
Had 2 cliffhangers througout the season should be a great game not much separates these to and nth foots. Albanvale won after the siren last game with cavanagh playing extreamly well in defense he is crucial in stopping the forwardline of deer park. For Deer Park simply must draw on the pain of losing last two games and must stop Endres cut them to peices in the last with 40+ touches and 5 shots on goal if this happens they are certain to lose. Deer Park have started to get a lot more run through the likes of the harrison brothers and others on the flanks and wings which they lacked earlier on. For me Albanvale again thrive on being first to the footy and 2 from 2 through the season gives them the slight edge really could go either way but tipping Albanvale by 4 points.

Parkside to win by 10points

Deer Park to win by 4goals

Does anyone have any tips for the medal?

Davis Parkside should be a good chance and Cain M will poll well, i think a forward will take it out this year.

So what your suggesting is that because he played seniors the last two years, did well in the best and fairest in 2008 and he is young he should be in the seniors regardless of form and team balance.

Good to have you back bomber, you thinking of re-entering the coaching ranks again? Which club appeals to you at the moment? Glenorden are close to you and looking for a coach.

So what your suggesting is that because he played seniors the last two years, did well in the best and fairest in 2008 and he is young he should be in the seniors regardless of form and team balance.

well as for team balance he has played forward pocket all year kicking goals and lets be honest parkside are miles ahead of everyone else. form wise he was probly in the same boat as 5 - 6 other players that are borderline but he would be the last bloke out of them to drop. point is his a home grown parkside player young and future of the club. his 1 person you think would of stuck around next year now thats in jeopardy. whos going to be left after all the older players and money/flag chasers leave next year if go up to div 1. got to be smart and think of the future as well. its got west footscray written all over it.

my mail is the parkside coach juegen hasnt had any sleep over night its finals time and the quib has never got a kick in a big game or a finals series so the pressure is on if nth footscray were smart they would sit someone on him and when parks have the ball dont let him get the easy one around the back and he will struggle big time and the best thing is he wont move himself out of the middle because he thinks he is to good to be moved which will play right into nth footscray hands so if anyone from nth foots can get there hands on the song by johnny farnham-TAKE THE PRESSURE DOWN play it as loud as you can so they can here it and you will smell the sweat pouring out of there rooms with the coach hyperventilating.

Whats wrong mate? Did Juegen sleep with your misses, or your mother, or both?
Whats with the constant attacks on the bloke? He's obviously a good player in this league, your pretty much the only person that thinks otherwise.

Hopefully good games today, and both sides batter the crap out of each other in a real good finals slog! Parkside by 5 goals, tomorrow Deer Park by 2 goals.