• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 4

Besides coaching in a higher division what has Tocka done as a coach that the current coach of Nth Footscray hasn't? I also think that calling Sunshine a TOP CLUB is a bit of a stretch. Even Sunshine people would have to agree with that.

Just because a team does not make it all the way it does not always mean that the coach is no good.

Supercoach - You should not be getting on here, questioning the credibility of any coach after seeing how your team conducted itself this year is unacceptable. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Reality is as Rock stated you are only as good as the cattle you have, Tocka has never used injury as an excuse, but we have had serious injuries the last couple of years to the best players on our list. Plus I guarantee we would be the lowest paying club that finished top five

Just out of curiosity, what in your opinion makes a top club???

Supercoach - You should not be getting on here, questioning the credibility of any coach after seeing how your team conducted itself this year is unacceptable. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Reality is as Rock stated you are only as good as the cattle you have, Tocka has never used injury as an excuse, but we have had serious injuries the last couple of years to the best players on our list. Plus I guarantee we would be the lowest paying club that finished top five

Just out of curiosity, what in your opinion makes a top club???

Read my post again mate and tell me where I questioned Tockas credibility? I simply asked the question "what has he acheived that the Nth Footscray coach hasn't"? Maybe you could answer the question?

In terms of being considered a TOP CLUB as a bare minimum I would suggest that you would need to at least make it to a GF and play finals regularly o be consider a top club. (but in reality winning the big one is all that counts).

If you were to ask me who the top clubs are in Div 1 I would say Spotty, Colts and Hoppers. No other clubs could be considered to be TOP CLUBS.

Maybe the word 'TOP' club was the wrong chose and I was only referring to Tocka as I had heard that he was not coaching Sunshine next year. (could be wrong). Mind you Tocka has taken his side to 2 finals series although no GF appearances in the alst 3 years is still alot more then the Devils coach has. The Devils coach has done a good job in consistently getting his side into the finals but you have to draw a line sometime and make a decision on whether the club is happy to just play finals or win the GF.

I also agree with ROCK07 comments on the coach is only as good as his cattle but the fact is the coach is the person who recruits the players and the devils have not recruited DIV1 type players for some years so how do you expect to get to the next level. I guess what I am trying to say is with budgets a side, I think the Devils need to hire a coach who has good contacts within the footy arena to draw the type of players to get them to the desired level. At least I got a discussion going anyway.

Read my post again mate and tell me where I questioned Tockas credibility? I simply asked the question "what has he acheived that the Nth Footscray coach hasn't"? Maybe you could answer the question?

In terms of being considered a TOP CLUB as a bare minimum I would suggest that you would need to at least make it to a GF and play finals regularly o be consider a top club. (but in reality winning the big one is all that counts).

He has taken Sunshine to a preliminary final and as stated, had a full list of our best talent been available, who knows??? (No excuse, he never used it)

Don't know Nth Footscay coach and mean no disrespect too him, just making the point that Tock should not be being compared IMO. Also think he has done a great job as a coach in all aspects that make a good coach on/off the field.

TOP CLUBS - Is a year by year proposition for yourself, St Albans finished 3rd last year:thumbsu:

Lets get onto this weeks Granny, Big game for both Clubs. Deer Park have come from know where to make the granny. Had a feeling they played there granny last week. Parkside will be all set for this game, after 2 years in DIV 2 they will be looking to go straight back to DIV 1. Parkside look to have more winners all over the park. Hope the crowd gets there moneys worth.

I think the Parkers will win.

Firstly congratulations to Parkside and Deer Park for making the DIV 2 GF. From an outsiders perspective seemed like a fairly even year across the board except for Parkside with most of the top teams beating each other once during the year. I think Deer Park will be a big chance this week, they appear to have a few seasoned body players who like the ruff and tumble game of finals footy and also have many forward options each capable of kicking a few goals each. Whereas Parkside rely mostly on big Patty with maybe one or two others.

No doubt the game will be won out of the middle and the team who limits clearances to the opposition will have advantage and if Deer Park can capitalize with pressure on turnovers then Parkside will get caught going forward of the ball which they love doing. Parkside will need to use its pace to break the lines as Deer Park are not that quick but somehow did limit the devils who are probably the quickest side in the league so they may be able to use the same game plan against Parkside. Nothing like two former DIV1 sides going at it to restore each club back to where they belong.

Maybe the word 'TOP' club was the wrong chose and I was only referring to Tocka as I had heard that he was not coaching Sunshine next year. (could be wrong). Mind you Tocka has taken his side to 2 finals series although no GF appearances in the alst 3 years is still alot more then the Devils coach has. The Devils coach has done a good job in consistently getting his side into the finals but you have to draw a line sometime and make a decision on whether the club is happy to just play finals or win the GF.

I also agree with ROCK07 comments on the coach is only as good as his cattle but the fact is the coach is the person who recruits the players and the devils have not recruited DIV1 type players for some years so how do you expect to get to the next level. I guess what I am trying to say is with budgets a side, I think the Devils need to hire a coach who has good contacts within the footy arena to draw the type of players to get them to the desired level. At least I got a discussion going anyway.

Is that confirmed that he is not coaching Sunshine anymore. I have heard a rumour that the coach of the cobras is going there and a few players from cobras are leaving too.

If any coach at any level has not got the cattle, he will not have any success.
In saying that if you have a list that finish in the top 5 and have talent close to the top sides, then the coaches ability comes in to play!!
Covered all bases.

Hope the rumours of Tocka leaving Sunny isnt true coz he is not only a good coach but a great bloke as well, massive loss to Sunshine IMO. As previously mentioned would be pretty hard to judge Tock on this year with the amount of injuries they have had.
Having played under Tocka last year and played in D2 this year, I think any D2 club would be lucky to have him, not only North. I think the difference between D1 and D2 is not only talent but also professionalism in the way you go about your footy. Tocka would certainly bring this to any team he coached.

Covered all bases.

Dont underestimate the point of "good cattle", I am far from a fan of North Footscray but the cattle in this case ( parkside ) are a very good second division team. The experience of there senior group is second to none and as in other years that experience should be enough to win their club the flag in this division.

Their longer term prospects will depend on how they replace their ageing legs in first division.

Hope the rumours of Tocka leaving Sunny isnt true coz he is not only a good coach but a great bloke as well, massive loss to Sunshine IMO. As previously mentioned would be pretty hard to judge Rock on this year with the amount of injuries they have had.
Having played under Tocka last year and played in D2 this year, I think any D2 club would be lucky to have him, not only North. I think the difference between D1 and D2 is not only talent but also professionalism in the way you go about your footy. Tocka would certainly bring this to any team he coached.

Do you think he would leave the club as mentioned? Dosen't he have a son playing in their juniors? and from what I am told both he and his wife are entrenched in what is a healthy club both on and off the field.

It goes back to the cattle I guess, have heard the club had booked its mad monday venue for the monday after its first final, dont get the impression they were all that confident of going any further, not much a coach can do up against that mentality.

The North Footscray Football Club invite coaching applications for season 2010 for under 10’s, 12’s, 14’s, 16’s and 18’s in the 2nd Division Seniors and Reserves.

So i guess this season is already a write off then....... Don't think they can win or if they do they don't want to go up
icon10.gif

They Tanked again,or is that Choked?Got some pea hearts
playing that will not take the club any further .Also heard on
the hill on sunday that D.Brown will coach them next year.

They Tanked again,or is that Choked?Got some pea hearts
playing that will not take the club any further .Also heard on
the hill on sunday that D.Brown will coach them next year.

If that's the case with D. Brown bud, then wouldn't be surprised to see Steve Zavalis (prob wrong spelling) and a few other albion older heads. Maybe Dicko, Haldane. Who knows.

I think deer park are a sneaky chance on sunday, after watching the game yesterday i beleave deer park will be the best team to match up against parkside in the grand final with a great mix of speed and bigger bodies round the ground to go aginst parkside who have size and speed throughout their side, still beleave parkside will win and they deserve to win after the season they have had but think D/P will give them a run for there money
PARKSIDE-15pts

PARKSIDE 12.20-92
def.
DEER PARK 11.8-74

thats the score from the only other game played between the two sides this year.

scoring shots: Parkside: 32
Deer Park: 20

If Parkside can play the way they have played all year and convert there chances better than last time i think Parkside will get up by 30+ points.

Dont underestimate the point of "good cattle", I am far from a fan of North Footscray but the cattle in this case ( parkside ) are a very good second division team. The experience of there senior group is second to none and as in other years that experience should be enough to win their club the flag in this division.

Their longer term prospects will depend on how they replace their ageing legs in first division.

and ive heard on the grapevine that all the older heads will leave ''if'' they win the granny...........

those experianced heads have also been on the recieving end of gf losses..........as will be the case this weekend...........:eek:

rumors are out from nth footscray is that the coach got the leadership group into selection when minty got dropped (for whatever reason) and the coach said to them that he wants the leadership group to tell the assistant coach(minty) he is dropped.......the leadership group stood up and said your the coach you do it.......mmmmmmmmm

oh well suck it up gf not that far away..........

cant wait for all the parkside riff raff to get on here and tell us all how they are going to lose on the w/e.........

any key matchups people wanna discuss.........?

duggan/grogan on davis stop him we are 1/2 way home........
who will get robbo??
who will play on the big q???
juegan.....mmmmm robbo and him to go head to head......
deer park rucks are better than parksides........
i cant see parkside beating deer park to be honest.......

last time we played parkside d/p had 5 or 6 out including blyth(rocky) the 2 summers boys prior willmont.......

and ive heard on the grapevine that all the older heads will leave ''if'' they win the granny...........

those experianced heads have also been on the recieving end of gf losses..........as will be the case this weekend...........:eek:

rumors are out from nth footscray is that the coach got the leadership group into selection when minty got dropped (for whatever reason) and the coach said to them that he wants the leadership group to tell the assistant coach(minty) he is dropped.......the leadership group stood up and said your the coach you do it.......mmmmmmmmm

cant wait for all the parkside riff raff to get on here and tell us all how they are going to lose on the w/e.........

who will get robbo??

last time we played parkside d/p had 5 or 6 out including blyth(rocky) the 2 summers boys prior willmont.......

Skinny (No. 5) was also out
This is also pre Fenton days

I don't buy into who was out who was in to be honest though, it all counts on the day. May the best team win this week i think we will all get our moneys worth (fingers crossed), also pray to the footy gods for a still day for F***ks sake, so we can see a good showcase of what WRFL DIV 2 has to offer. All things considered i think the standard has been quite good this year for DIV 2 footy, been entertaining to watch.

who will get robbo??

Good luck on the weekend weapons.

Duggan has to play on Davis as you don't have any other decent tall key backs. Parkside don't tag, so no one will get Robbo.

Parkside are a better side so I think you need to try and dicate match ups. Not sure Robbo can be defensive (won the game for you yesterday in the final quarter) but perhaps he should go to Jeugan. Muratore (6) has to be watched on the wing - and no Rizzo needs to play on the opposite wing. Perhaps Buttigieg Clarke can have a crack.

Mate Rocky is not a shadow of the player he was. Perhaps he can get it back, but injuries seems to have taken their toll.
Fenton is also struggling and overweight. Wilmont is smart player, but Harrison (22) and Skinny were probably your best on the weekend.

Be a massive upset if you win, but you are in with a chance. What if Davis was hurt early? Anything can happen.

quote]

Not true weapons. I was put in front of the leadership group however i pt my hand up from the start and said that i f**ked up on the ground and did something i shouldnt of.. they gave me what they think my punishment should be and i copped it on the chin.

a dissapointing finish to the year for north. i dont know what else to say about it really... i have lost grannies and lost games but nothing hurt as much as that and also to spend the last 5 mins of my last game of footy on the pine wasnt much fun either. all in all must congratulate DP on a great fight... any team that can dig that deep and get over the line the way they did deserve to play in a GF..

Congrats to Parkside on a great year too. great unit on the ground and some pretty good blokes off it too. jugga been the best in the leauge this year and with the coaching duties on top of it (only a few people know what that is like on bigfooty) put up an awesome effort.

good luck to all playing this sunday. my tips are

Seniors - Parkside by 5 goals
Reserves - North by 15 points

:thumbsu: Cheers guys and thanks for the entertainment this year. especially from you cain you big flog! haha