WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part III

I know i may sound like a dill on here saying i kicked more than the offical records state but i am telling the truth.

Ask Weapons he watched the Game against Deer Park i snaged 4 and recored 2.

Alos note i played with Swine Flu and a crook left leg on the weekend....lol:thumbsu:

I think Nth footscray are very beatable if they are getting beaten by Deer Park. Deer Park are a good team but they still are most likley either going to finish 4-5 or may just miss finals.

It shows that in this league injuries are the biggest concern to clubs as depth is shallow in Div 2 football. Parkside with out Davis are a diffrent side. Nth boast about having the best depth but then say they had 6 out agianst Deer Park.

All clubs will suffer from Injuires throughout the year at some stage and injuries will play a massive part in deciding who actually wins the flag. If the top teams losse a heap to injuries then teams like Deer Park and Yarra have a real shot at winning the flag.

As much as i think Albanvale are beatable, they have probally been hit hardest by injuire and will be interesting to see how the perform if the get a fit squad on the park.

looking at this weeks matches there are a couple of big matches.

Yarra v Lavo-Massive match season difining for both. Yarra win put them in a great position to finsih top 3. A loss for Lavo makes finals asperations very hard.

Albanvale v Deer Park- We will see for real how good Deer Park are. A win and the whole comp is on notice that Deer Park are a genuine threat.

Nth v Braybrook- Braybrook where much improved last week and have some of there better players back and will push Nth Footscray. There will be some pressure on Nth to win this one and a loss would be a big harm to there top 3 chances.

Parkside v Vales- parkside should take care of the vales, but with there tales up and the return of Angiwin and No Davis, could this be the upset of the year. Unlikely but football is a funny game.

Coburg v Nth- Battale for wodden Spoon. After Nth Sunshine performance last week Couburg should win this by plenty.

tbh cain i watched the game and not you......you did stand out in the last 1/4 cause you had plenty of the ball...........ive worked it out......cain you have 1 of those peter daicos stat counters that the kids can get from k-mart to record all their stats.....now is it the missus sitting in the car doing them or your old man.........

who cares what you kick......no need to come on here and explain some 1 mucked up......the team won....get on with the job.......:thumbsu:

tbh cain i watched the game and not you......you did stand out in the last 1/4 cause you had plenty of the ball...........ive worked it out......cain you have 1 of those peter daicos stat counters that the kids can get from k-mart to record all their stats.....now is it the missus sitting in the car doing them or your old man.........

who cares what you kick......no need to come on here and explain some 1 mucked up......the team won....get on with the job.......:thumbsu:

Haha but remember he doesnt care how he plays as long as the team wins

Dont record all my own stats at all only go on what club provides me, but always know how many goals i kick, tho i did losse count last Saturday.

Point taken, the main thing is we are winning at Yarraville and thats all that matters to me and the football club is winning football matches.

Dont record all my own stats at all only go on what club provides me, but always know how many goals i kick, tho i did losse count last Saturday.

Point taken, the main thing is we are winning at Yarraville and thats all that matters to me and the football club is winning football matches.

so the club says you kicked 2 goals 4 but you say you kicked 4 goals 2.......

also on the w/e the paper has you down with 12 but you say you kicked 14........wtf........

i believe the club;)

Hey Bud, im confused.

In a previous post this afternoon you stated that out of the sides you have played thus far, Parkside are number 1 then Deer Park and then Albanvale.

Now you are saying Deer Park 4th - 5th or even miss finals and that if they beat Albanvale then the comp is on notice........

If you rate Deer Park higher than Albanvale then surely Deer Park have to go in a fav this week against the cobras.... ;):thumbsu:

Parkside where by far the best team we have played. Deer Park and Albanvale where very simalar qualty wise but i belive that Albanvale have a lot more upside and had a lot of injuries against us.

Plus i think Deer Park may struggle with Consitenancy and a team like Albanvale will not drop games they shouldnt and Deer Park will most likely loose a couple to teams below them.

My top 4 is pretty much set in concrete for mine.

Parkside top clearly. Only loose 1 or 2 games and may go undefeated.
Albanvale
Nth Footscray/Yarraville
Deer Park
Braybrook
Lavo
Vales
Coburg
Nth Sunshine

I am going to put my balls on the line and say the top 5 stays the same for the rest of the year. Just in what order is the key. Braybrook may challange for 5 spot if they can string a few wins together and keep Perace on the park. I think Albanvale finish 2nd and Yarra, Nth, Deer Park fight out order from 3 to 5.

Dont mean any disrepect to Laverton, Vales as they season is still young but after 5 games we are nearly 1/3 of the way through and if your below %500 win ratio at this stage it makes it so hard playing catch up football.

deer park had players out aswell and probly one of the best in blyth. i thought nth footscray had plenty of depth? in tight games hardness plays a big part so i guess we know why nth lost. maybe youse should trade a couple of those club of the year awards for some hearts
Hey knob jockey you say hardness plays a big part in tight games nth have had 2 tight games this year and won. Why when they lose do people say they're soft? Every team loses, players out or not(both sides had players out) They only lost to Hieghts last year who were more detemine than Nth(my opinion). Geelong finished ontop last year and lost to Hawthorn, are they soft? Deer park were a better side on the day.

And mate you could only ever dream about kicking 1 goal in an A grade game let alone 14. unless you can play the game you should have a little more respect. :thumbsdown:

Dont mean any disrepect to Laverton, Vales as they season is still young but after 5 games we are nearly 3 quaters of the way through and if your below %500 win ratio at this stage it makes it so hard playing catch up football.

As Pauline Hanson would say, PLEASE EXPLAIN?? Nearly 3qtrs of the way through what?:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Mate, wait to you play every team and then make a judgement. For a bloke that has played at nearly every club in Victoria, you really have little idea.

As Pauline Hanson would say, PLEASE EXPLAIN?? Nearly 3qtrs of the way through what?:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Mate, wait to you play every team and then make a judgement. For a bloke that has played at nearly every club in Victoria, you really have little idea.

I can play for who ever i like thats my choice. There is no shame in playing for diffrent clubs over the years, its park footy.

I made a mistake not 3 quaters i ment one third. My mistake. I think Lav and Braybrook still have an outside chance but its a hard road when your behind the eight ball.

I have played 11 years of A grade football in WRFL, EDFL, Country Victoria, Sydney TAC Cup and VFL resreves so i think i know the game very well and i am well qulaified to make judgement.

Parkside where by far the best team we have played. Deer Park and Albanvale where very simalar qualty wise but i belive that Albanvale have a lot more upside and had a lot of injuries against us.

Plus i think Deer Park may struggle with Consitenancy and a team like Albanvale will not drop games they shouldnt and Deer Park will most likely loose a couple to teams below them.

My top 4 is pretty much set in concrete for mine.

Parkside top clearly. Only loose 1 or 2 games and may go undefeated.
Albanvale
Nth Footscray/Yarraville
Deer Park
Braybrook
Lavo
Vales
Coburg
Nth Sunshine

I am going to put my balls on the line and say the top 5 stays the same for the rest of the year. Just in what order is the key. Braybrook may challange for 5 spot if they can string a few wins together and keep Perace on the park. I think Albanvale finish 2nd and Yarra, Nth, Deer Park fight out order from 3 to 5.

Dont mean any disrepect to Laverton, Vales as they season is still young but after 5 games we are nearly 3 quaters of the way through and if your below %500 win ratio at this stage it makes it so hard playing catch up football.

If Lavo knock you guys off this week, you are both 3 and 3. 8 point game this week

solid on baller i would say only played a 1/4 on w/e and im sure he is ready for this week end against the arch rival.........we could have anywhere between 6 to 10 changes this week........and all are quality div 2 players.......skinny is back picked up a couple of talls from st bedes mentone so the side is comming along nicely.......when all fit.........

now if lukey summers isnt winning the comp b and f at this stage of the years id go he..........he is fit and getting plenty of it but also uses it efficiently.......

Divy 1 too hard for Skinny??:confused:

I have played 11 years of A grade football in WRFL, EDFL, Country Victoria, Sydney TAC Cup and VFL resreves so i think i know the game very well and i am well qulaified to make judgement.

Cain, thanks again for telling us how good you WERE!

this all means jack until you get to see each team first hand! how do you know that Braybrook, Laverton or Wyndhamvale might not come out and win 10 or 11 games for the year and make it into the finals.

All i am saying is wait and watch, then make a judgement!

And mate you could only ever dream about kicking 1 goal in an A grade game let alone 14. unless you can play the game you should have a little more respect. :thumbsdown:

i know i can play the game a have a pretty good footy brain.......well thats what people tell me...im a backline player we stop goals dont kick them.....250 plus says i can play the game....who did you guys play........? was it nth sunshine.....im sorry they are a great team.....even with 2 or 3 extra's playing in defence any 1 with a good kick and a midfield that deliveres the ball well can kick 14 or was it 12 on their day.... respect for some bloke who says he is the best thing since sliced bread and has played for 10 different clubs i think not......you should respect our comp and our thread a little more and stop talking about yourself......id be shattered if id played in the granny(nth sunshine) with the great CAINTRAIN and he after the game on a computer comes out and bags the club........disgracefull

get your head out of your arse super-woman....

i know i can play the game a have a pretty good footy brain.......well thats what people tell me...im a backline player we stop goals dont kick them.....250 plus says i can play the game....who did you guys play........? was it nth sunshine.....im sorry they are a great team.....even with 2 or 3 extra's playing in defence any 1 with a good kick and a midfield that deliveres the ball well can kick 14 or was it 12 on their day.... respect for some bloke who says he is the best thing since sliced bread and has played for 10 different clubs i think not......you should respect our comp and our thread a little more and stop talking about yourself......id be shattered if id played in the granny(nth sunshine) with the great CAINTRAIN and he after the game on a computer comes out and bags the club........disgracefull

get your head out of your arse super-woman....

No need to rag up mate.

You can give it but cant take it. :D I look forward to playing you guys again, when i can actually run so i can witness first hand the damage i can do as a player.

Mate we at Yarra where always going to take a while to warm up and we are slowly warming up week by week and you guys witnessed first hand what we can do in a quater of football 6.12.

For the record there is not 1 single player playing there anymore from the premeirship year. The Clubs Adminsitration is a discrage and the people running Nth Sunshine need to get a grip of there club because they are the laughing stock of the league and there attitude and behaviour is a discgrace onfield and off field and they are an embarshment to the league.

same old story north footscray are happy were they are in division 2 and are way to soft for division 1

No one takes you seriously. Your the good bloke who tried to rip Parkside apart earlier in the year on BFooty. Made a real concerted effort to do the club harm. Real team man.

Am tipping you have played either played at about six clubs and / or you are an 18 year old loser who can't get a game in the Parkside magoos.

No need to rag up mate.

You can give it but cant take it. :D I look forward to playing you guys again, when i can actually run so i can witness first hand the damage i can do as a player.

Mate we at Yarra where always going to take a while to warm up and we are slowly warming up week by week and you guys witnessed first hand what we can do in a quater of football 6.12.

For the record there is not 1 single player playing there anymore from the premeirship year. The Clubs Adminsitration is a discrage and the people running Nth Sunshine need to get a grip of there club because they are the laughing stock of the league and there attitude and behaviour is a discgrace onfield and off field and they are an embarshment to the league.

well if id played in a premiership and had left the club in no way would i bag that club...the clubs admin is a disgrace.....? people have been there longer than you have been around and i know that for a fact....maybe thats why you have played at so many clubs........?

still you talk yourself up........i can give it and take it all night long and by no means was i ragging up.......i just think you should think before you post........6.12 and we allowed you guys to have that many shots on goal....... you forgot we kicked 8.4 in the second term.......you guys are 5th team at best......and thats my opinion......

your an emarrasment to your club........;)

Hey knob jockey you say hardness plays a big part in tight games nth have had 2 tight games this year and won. Why when they lose do people say they're soft? Every team loses, players out or not(both sides had players out) They only lost to Hieghts last year who were more detemine than Nth(my opinion). Geelong finished ontop last year and lost to Hawthorn, are they soft? Deer park were a better side on the day.

hey squeeky the only thing thats squeeky is ur brain mate. so just beating a winless coburg was a tight game, more like (SOFT) 2 reasons you didnt beat heights last year (SOFT) and didnt want to go up to division 1. dont worry cause the main thing is youse will win club of the year.

Don't panic about the Devils fellas. Lost to the premiers twice last year, but first time we have lost to another team in Div2 since 2007.

We had enough ball to build a good lead against DP in the 1st half, but poor use and some woeful turnovers hurt us. DP were great in the 2nd half and in the end deserved to win.

I see Cain has already dropped us down to 3rd. We have beaten the Cobras the last 5 times we have played them, but the comp. is a lot more even this year and if you don't play at your best you can get beaten.

I know DP have some out (namely Rizzo and Rocky), but IMO we were missing 8 players from our best side (admittedly how you would fit them all in I have no idea)

And to respond to another comment, we have lost 3 very good players from last year, but all sides lose players and you have to cover them.

Don't panic about the Devils fellas. Lost to the premiers twice last year, but first time we have lost to another team in Div2 since 2007.

We had enough ball to build a good lead against DP in the 1st half, but poor use and some woeful turnovers hurt us. DP were great in the 2nd half and in the end deserved to win.

I see Cain has already dropped us down to 3rd. We have beaten the Cobras the last 5 times we have played them, but the comp. is a lot more even this year and if you don't play at your best you can get beaten.

I know DP have some out (namely Rizzo and Rocky), but IMO we were missing 8 players from our best side (admittedly how you would fit them all in I have no idea)

And to respond to another comment, we have lost 3 very good players from last year, but all sides lose players and you have to cover them.

well said....not doubting you guys will bounce back bats said at 1/4 time if your not switched on and come to the game thinking its going to be easy opposition teams get a sniff and its hard to get that killer edge which you guys lacked when the game was there to b won.....

I mean no disrespect but it was a big shock to see Deer Park beat you guys. maybe you guys just had a bad day or maybe you guys are not as good as we all thought.

Think Parkside finish clear top and Nth, D Park, Cobras, Yarra fight out the rest of the five in what order i dont know. Would be not a bad thing finsihsing 3rd mate you guys may finish 2nd you may finsish 5th i think its going to be a tight finish from 2nd to 5th as the gap between those teams is not that big.

On that note Parkside are not that far ahead of everyone, they are clear favourites at this stage but like anyone on there day they are beatable.

Weapons, good to see Deer Park playing well but for mine i would be suprised if your club can mantain the level you have been playing at. Dont forget u have only played Yarra(lost) and Nth (who had a lot out and had an off day) and nearly got rolled by Whdyhamvale round 1. Beat Nth Sunshine but concedded 7.12 (most Nth Sunshine has kicked against any team) and beat Braybrook who had 6 missing including Pearce.

No doubt Deer park are a much improved team but maybe there ladder position is a little more flattering than it suggest. Still to play Albanvale(loss), Coburg(should win but there not as bad as ladder shows)Parkside(loss), Laverton(?).

You have a real hard run over the next 4 games and could win 1 and loss 3 or at best win 2-2 which would make you either 5-4 or at best 6-3. So big test for Deer Park over the next month.

If you guys are 5-4 your in a dog fight for 5th spot if your 6-3 you have a good chance of a top 3 finsish. Never the less you guys have had the luck of a good early draw and have set yourselfs up to play finals football this year, but i can see you guys dropping a couple of games you should win for some reason.

I mean no disrespect but it was a big shock to see Deer Park beat you guys. maybe you guys just had a bad day or maybe you guys are not as good as we all thought.

Think Parkside finish clear top and Nth, D Park, Cobras, Yarra fight out the rest of the five in what order i dont know. Would be not a bad thing finsihsing 3rd mate you guys may finish 2nd you may finsish 5th i think its going to be a tight finish from 2nd to 5th as the gap between those teams is not that big.

On that note Parkside are not that far ahead of everyone, they are clear favourites at this stage but like anyone on there day they are beatable.

Weapons, good to see Deer Park playing well but for mine i would be suprised if your club can mantain the level you have been playing at. Dont forget u have only played Yarra(lost) and Nth (who had a lot out and had an off day) and nearly got rolled by Whdyhamvale round 1. Beat Nth Sunshine but concedded 7.12 (most Nth Sunshine has kicked against any team) and beat Braybrook who had 6 missing including Pearce.

No doubt Deer park are a much improved team but maybe there ladder position is a little more flattering than it suggest. Still to play Albanvale(loss), Coburg(should win but there not as bad as ladder shows)Parkside(loss), Laverton(?).

You have a real hard run over the next 4 games and could win 1 and loss 3 or at best win 2-2 which would make you either 5-4 or at best 6-3. So big test for Deer Park over the next month.

If you guys are 5-4 your in a dog fight for 5th spot if your 6-3 you have a good chance of a top 3 finsish. Never the less you guys have had the luck of a good early draw and have set yourselfs up to play finals football this year, but i can see you guys dropping a couple of games you should win for some reason.

in all seriousness cain we should be 5 zip.........i recon we can beat albanvale/parkside..........as we did last year with half the team we have now.....i also said the win last week means nothing if the cobra's beat us this week.......win some respect back last week and its all about the statement to the whole comp this week......no doubt its a big month and i have stated that before......last season we were 5 and zip on top of ladder but fell in a big heap.......so im not getting ahead of where we are at.......maybe you and yarra are......ill be just happy to make the finals no matter where top 3 a bonus no doubt....

in all seriousness cain we should be 5 zip.........i recon we can beat albanvale/parkside..........as we did last year with half the team we have now.........no doubt its a big month and i have stated that before......last season we were 5 and zip on top of ladder but fell in a big heap.......so im not getting ahead of where we are at.......maybe you and yarra are......ill be just happy to make the finals no matter where top 3 a bonus no doubt....

Its easy to say you should be 5-0. Your first game could of gone either way and from all reports you where lucky to win round 1. Braybrook had you on toast early until the lost a few to injury...

Yarra are not getting to far ahead of ourseleves but we have played parkside and Albanvale and Parkside are by far and away the best team at present.

You have your work out beating them, Albanvale will be equally as tough though you do have a chance in that one as i think Albanvale weakness is there backline. If your forwards can get good service you have enough fire power at Deer Park to roll Albanvale but i would back Albanvale in to beat you.

I think Deer Parks problem is going to be weather they can contiue to play at this level, if you can then your in for a great season and will push for a top 3 spot.

Yarra have always been the unknown quanity of the comp. Some very good recruits and a new team, underdone and very young we where always going to take a while to get it together. Since the last quater of Deer Park game we have played with run and carry and we are starting to deliver the ball well into the forward 50.

We have a couple of new recruits that will come into the side in the next few weeks that will further increase our chances of playing finals football. Mark my words we will be a very hard team to beat in the second half of the season and we will only get better.

The start of the season was always going to be our issue. We have recoverd to be 3-2 with Lavo, Vales, Braybrook. I stated 3 weeks ago that we should be 6-2 by round 8 and i belive we will...

Call me coky, arroagant, i dont care i expect to beat Lavo, Vales and the Brookers. Those games will be no doubt no walk in the park but i have the upmost confidence in my teammates and the style of football we are starting to play is very positive. With also 5 senior players to return we are only going to get stronger as a unit.