WRFL Division 2 - 2012

I dont agree with you there Karim

We have lost two pretty good players in Kenna & Wellsy. Dont know Kennas reasons for going to Werribee Centrals but I have personally spoken with Wellsy and I am absolutely fine with his reasons for leaving and I wish him the best of luck at YSE.

I havent been down to training too much but I have heard that we have had quite a few new senior quality blokes decide to come down and want to play, so you will find out come Round 1 vs Braybrook. We expect to finish in the Top 5 come the end of the Home & Away Matches and give it a decent crack and im looking forward to it.

Everyone goes on about who they have picked up and that, and thats good, but were not going to go down that line just yet. Just keep an eye on the clearances as we get closer to round 1 and make your own judgement from there.

Go Lavo :)

I heard a whisper that Lavo were fairing well.

I also heard a whisper that Chris Bone has been sniffing around and Lavo are keen to sign him up. Apparently he did an impressive job against them last year and they believe he could be a key to their chances deep into September!!

Can this whisper be confirmed??

I also heard a whisper that Chris Bone has been sniffing around and Lavo are keen to sign him up. Apparently he did an impressive job against them last year and they believe he could be a key to their chances deep into September!!

Firstly Lavo are doing ok from what im told, did lose 2 of there keys players that were the driving force i believe but have been told they have picked up a few players also. Wether or not these players will fill the holes that have been left by departing players is unsure. IMO Lavo wont play finals. But if the players coming can play and they stick around in years to come Lavo can build to finals but it wont just happen espicially with players coming and going but they are on there way.

Secondly i dont know this Chris Bone never met him and never heard of him until i was told of the couple of players that may not play for Coburg this season. From what i was told he was either playing with Coburg or not playing at all the same as the only other player that may not be there at Coburg this season.

Thirdly i can not confirm the whisper you are bringing to the forum, But if Lavo believe that a 39 something year old will be the key to their success this season come finals then there are questions marks hanging over them already...

I can confirm that as senior coach, I have no idea who Chis Bone is... The way you keep mentioning him gives me the impression you may know or be him...

Can't say I have ever heard of Chris Bone. The way his name keeps getting dropped makes me a little suspicious Whispera...!

How are numbers at Laverton Justin?

Can't say I have ever heard of Chris Bone. The way his name keeps getting dropped makes me a little suspicious Whispera...!

How are numbers at Laverton Justin?

Very good thanks... We are now in a very fortunate position where in recent weeks we have had to let players know that ability-wise they either will or may struggle for a reserves game and others have left/retired as they themselves can see they will struggle to get a game... We are in a very healthy situation that all coaches aspire to and it's exciting!

I keep getting calls from players pro-actively from other clubs around our area realising or hearing positive things about our club and wanting to join or to come down through word of mouth and I/we expect this trend to continue up until round 5-6....

Very good thanks... We are now in a very fortunate position where in recent weeks we have had to let players know that ability-wise they either will or may struggle for a reserves game and others have left/retired as they themselves can see they will struggle to get a game... We are in a very healthy situation that all coaches aspire to and it's exciting!

I keep getting calls from players pro-actively from other clubs around our area realising or hearing positive things about our club and wanting to join or to come down through word of mouth and I/we expect this trend to continue up until round 5-6....

Keep up the great work mate :)

I can confirm that as senior coach, I have no idea who Chis Bone is... The way you keep mentioning him gives me the impression you may know or be him...

I heard a whisper...thats all i can say. Obviously the source of my whisperings is shit going on what you blokes have to say.

I'm glad I joined now Ive the real good oil on the league. Thanks for clearing the point up.

Can't wait for the season to start, I'll be getting to tulla games for sure but by the sounds of things Lavo games might be worth the watch too.

Any blokes I should keep an eye on??

Haha, where are you hearing al this??

You may want to go back and have a look at the results of the Lavo V Coburg game from last year... Couldn't have been that impressive considering Jacobs kicked 5 on him.

And from what I saw, they only had short, fat, slow blokes filling their backline...

I hear the whispers joelcoreyenright. That's all. You guys are def setting me straight now though,

As previously stated I;ve been out of the local scene for a little while and just trying to find my feet again. Obviously I need to shoot my source!!

What's the problem with Bone? I havent seen him. IS he short, football challenged, fat?? Whats his go?? It's obvious that he can't play football from what you blokes say.

Having 5 kicked on you is a disgrace

I heard a whisper...thats all i can say. Obviously the source of my whisperings is shit going on what you blokes have to say.

I'm glad I joined now Ive the real good oil on the league. Thanks for clearing the point up.

Can't wait for the season to start, I'll be getting to tulla games for sure but by the sounds of things Lavo games might be worth the watch too.

Any blokes I should keep an eye on??

Maybe to put all this talk to rest, people in the know on this thread could post some players from their team you should look out for, or even the top 5 from the BnFs at each club from last season. That would give you a heap of guys to keep your eye on, and then all this talk about this unknown Bone bloke will be put to rest.

What are peoples predicted top 5? I'll have a go...

Wyndamvale
Yarraville Seddon
Parkside
Coburg
Laverton

That is a big plus for the Club.

Maybe to put all this talk to rest, people in the know on this thread could post some players from their team you should look out for, or even the top 5 from the BnFs at each club from last season. That would give you a heap of guys to keep your eye on, and then all this talk about this unknown Bone bloke will be put to rest.

What are peoples predicted top 5? I'll have a go...

Wyndamvale
Yarraville Seddon
Parkside
Coburg
Laverton

I'll go with:

Wyndamvale
Parkside
Yarraville Seddon
Coburg Or West Footscray

Laverton

Would it be a fair call to say that if you are still getting players down at round 5/6, then 'some' of these players aren't/can't get a game at the club they are with?

That would be more than a fair call.... BUT, these players in question may or will be coming from a higher standard/level and as such be more than handy additions...
We believe we have more than ample 'talent' at Laverton and in fact 'many' very good players... What we need is as many top 18 senior quality players to ensure that some of these talented players take the next step in terms of training attendance, training intensity, communication and all round just increase the pressure for positions so that no player is irreplaceable...
Wyndhamvale is a perfect example of this where their culture is 'team first' and they are now looming as flag favourites and a very good on them for getting to be in that 'percieved' position.
We are trying very hard to follow suit and the 'team first' menatlity has been building over the past 2 seasons and will I strongly believe take further steps in this direction...
Having talented individuals at your side/club is VERY important, don't get me wrong but if they are not there to be a part of the collective 'team first' mentality then they are more of a hindrance than a help in going all the way- which is ultimately what we are going for, not just to get to finals...
Wyndhamvale in my opinion doesn't have the strongest player for player list BUT they are easily the best drilled and will do ANYTHING for the team, the coach, the club, the game plan, stick to structure and for each other... They are very strong off-field too. This is what our club is building towards too... So look out!

Wyndhamvale
Yarraville
Coburg
Parkside
Glenorden/West Foots

wow all 3 posts have left albanvale out of the top 5, they did play off in a granny last year ppl, have lost a few but surely will finish top 5

my tips

whndhamvale
parkside
coburg
albanvale
caroline springs/west foots/yarra (goal diffrence to determine 5th spot)

dont rate yarra never have...:eek:

wow all 3 posts have left albanvale out of the top 5, they did play off in a granny last year ppl, have lost a few but surely will finish top 5

my tips

whndhamvale
parkside
coburg
albanvale
caroline springs/west foots/yarra (goal diffrence to determine 5th spot)

dont rate yarra never have...:eek:

To say that Caroline Springs will go within a goal of Yarra and West Foots for 5th spot is a BIG CALL!!

Fair enough, there will be some natural improvments in the players you already have, but to be fighting for finals, there would need to be a massive improvment in your current stocks, as well as a big influx of quality players...

Sorry mate, I just can't see that much of an improvment inside 10 months... And I'm sure there are others out there who will agree?

To say that Caroline Springs will go within a goal of Yarra and West Foots for 5th spot is a BIG CALL!!

Fair enough, there will be some natural improvments in the players you already have, but to be fighting for finals, there would need to be a massive improvment in your current stocks, as well as a big influx of quality players...

Sorry mate, I just can't see that much of an improvment inside 10 months... And I'm sure there are others out there who will agree?

It's my team I can't say we are not going to make finals lol
That's our goal this year and who knows what can happen.. Yarra are going to be a force I am just taking the p I s s, they should finish top 3

How can you have Albanvale in your top 5 for this season?

outs include: Mohamed, Barry, Ashman, Bligh, Docherty, Growcott, Kormozci, Montrose, and the Coach.

And i dont see many if any players coming in.

Not saying Albanvale will struggle i just think teams around them are going to improve out of sight this year and they wont see finals action this season which might not be a bad thing it might be time to rebuild after having numerous chances over the past few years :thumbsu:

How can you have Albanvale in your top 5 for this season?

outs include: Mohamed, Barry, Ashman, Bligh, Docherty, Growcott, Kormozci, Montrose, and the Coach.

And i dont see many if any players coming in.

Not saying Albanvale will struggle i just think teams around them are going to improve out of sight this year and they wont see finals action this season which might not be a bad thing it might be time to rebuild after having numerous chances over the past few years :thumbsu:

Growcot kormozi monty all 3 didn't play 1sts, ashman got dropped for granny, biggest loss is Atik and docks the rest are not game breakers.. still got a bunch of quality players good enough to finish top 5 I reckon..

I like you optimism about the Cobs Karim :thumbsu:

i think we worked out about half of the GF side will be gone or not playing which we definately give opportunites to others. Lets not forget that the reserves have been in the top 3 for probably the last 7 years so alot of those guys deserve opportunites.

As a player that has been in and around the comp for a while i would be interested in your early prediction of a ladder Karim ( a serious one ) leaving out CS . And who you think may play off this year. :)

Fair call i was more talking about the number of players leaving compared to the players coming in not so much the quality of players guess we will have to see where the cobras finish up :thumbsu:

Also where has Atik gone? Is he playing at Yarra with the other couple?

That is a big plus for the Club.

Thanks, it really is and is testament to the committee and their hardworking, support and a shared vision. Combine that with the majority of the playing list and supporters that have embraced the changes and are thriving on listening, learning and then applying themselves to improving... It is very exciting to watch it unfold...

All we need now to top it off is a senior ruckman that is getting limited opportunity and/or game time from a Div 1 WRFL side or an A or B grade EDFL club to join us and assume the role of first ruckman and we will be all set... Anyone keen or know someone that might be? If so, get in touch with me...

I like you optimism about the Cobs Karim :thumbsu:

i think we worked out about half of the GF side will be gone or not playing which we definately give opportunites to others. Lets not forget that the reserves have been in the top 3 for probably the last 7 years so alot of those guys deserve opportunites.

As a player that has been in and around the comp for a while i would be interested in your early prediction of a ladder Karim ( a serious one ) leaving out CS . And who you think may play off this year. :)

Have no idea mate but going on last year I think falcons parkside will be top 2 yarra with all there pickups should be up there as well, apparently coburg has picked up a few so they should improve.. I think it will be a close season in div2 it's what the league needs.. End of the day footy is a funny game and anyone can win on there day.. Good luck to all