WRFL Division 3 2018

if thats true the worlds gone mad..
If I was a football club and to avoid such speculation on players contracts (and I'm sure it would probably not stand up in court if challenged) but I would try and make the contract 'confidential' between player and president/treasurer and make the amount agreed on an abstract number that would therefore make it known from the players perspective if that figure out and it wasn't from him that the club as not to be trusted and vice versa if the club didn't say anything then clearly the player has bandied about his figure. So in effect you sign for say $353 a game or $153 a game... May be a small thing but then we may establish a club or players character and also avoid rubbish figures thrown out there of what players are on... Just food for thought that I've had for years...
(Sure to be paid out on here by many a nuffy so go ahead)

I know for a fact that Julian storey is getting $450 a game to play there
righto there is way to much crap written on this thread.. I can tell you fact that julian storey is not getting paid anywhere near 450 a game... I seriously dont know where or how blokes get that info...

I actually think every year with the inflated match payment figures posted on here are caused by

1: players telling their mates they are on much more than they actually are "seen it a million times from blokes big noting themselves"

2: some blokes somewhere hears and incorrect rumour from somewhere and takes it as gospel even though there's no basis for it

3: Chinese whispers altering the original figure as it passes from source to source

Every year at this time the exact same discussion occur eg:

Poster 1: bloke A is not on x amount

Poster 2: I know for a fact bloke A is on xx amount take it to the bank

Poster 1: I'm involved at club A and I know for a fact we aren't paying that much

Happens on every league board in every division at this time of year....just the club changes depending on who's got an influx of players

If I was a football club and to avoid such speculation on players contracts (and I'm sure it would probably not stand up in court if challenged) but I would try and make the contract 'confidential' between player and president/treasurer and make the amount agreed on an abstract number that would therefore make it known from the players perspective if that figure out and it wasn't from him that the club as not to be trusted and vice versa if the club didn't say anything then clearly the player has bandied about his figure. So in effect you sign for say $353 a game or $153 a game... May be a small thing but then we may establish a club or players character and also avoid rubbish figures thrown out there of what players are on... Just food for thought that I've had for years...
(Sure to be paid out on here by many a nuffy so go ahead)

G'day mate,
I'm sure they are supposed to be confidental but sometimes get out. Also when players leave a club they often go to the new club and tell them what they were getting..
You know the story- I'm on $300 a game but will come over for $400 as there is more travel involved etc, etc. Then if the player decides not to change clubs it can get out in conversation..

I also agree with Grassbag in that what's said on here with regards to mentioning people's payments, are often guesses but some might be correct. We will never know I suppose as its all 3rd hand talk..

One more thing is a players should not be judged on people watching them for a few games as payments are based on the year. Players can have bad days and then good days..
Example 1 - A club might need a big ruckman to balance them up so they offer them more than their worth maybe. Someone might think his over paid but does he crash & bash and make a contest for the mids??
Example 2 - a midfielder might be bagged cause his an outside player and doesn't get the hard ball. But if you have the hard inside mids already you need an outside mid to run and carry.
I could go on & on with examples..and its a very subjective topic that will always provide plenty of different opinions.

I actually think every year with the inflated match payment figures posted on here are caused by

1: players telling their mates they are on much more than they actually are "seen it a million times from blokes big noting themselves"

2: some blokes somewhere hears and incorrect rumour from somewhere and takes it as gospel even though there's no basis for it

3: Chinese whispers altering the original figure as it passes from source to source

Every year at this time the exact same discussion occur eg:

Poster 1: bloke A is not on x amount

Poster 2: I know for a fact bloke A is on xx amount take it to the bank

Poster 1: I'm involved at club A and I know for a fact we aren't paying that much

Happens on every league board in every division at this time of year....just the club changes depending on who's got an influx of players
Point in case above... Someone states that some bloke Storey is on $450 a game and everyone now believes it as fact... Are we really that simple to believe all that is written on here?
The power of social media is embarrassing... A chef named Pete Evans from MKR tells everyone through his TV celebrity status that Paleo is the way to diet/eat/lose weight/etc and everyone believes it? He's not a dietician! He's a chef!
Give someone a stage and a mike and they have the power... Give them a faceless and nameless account on Big Footy and they are credible?

Point in case above... Someone states that some bloke Storey is on $450 a game and everyone now believes it as fact... Are we really that simple to believe all that is written on here?
The power of social media is embarrassing... A chef named Pete Evans from MKR tells everyone through his TV celebrity status that Paleo is the way to diet/eat/lose weight/etc and everyone believes it? He's not a dietician! He's a chef!
Give someone a stage and a mike and they have the power... Give them a faceless and nameless account on Big Footy and they are credible?
I'd like your detailed opinion on crossfit Justin??

Players can have bad days and then good days..

This is where the onus is on clubs to do their due diligence in regards to a players worth and then once a number has been agreed then the player needs to perform regularly and justify what the club is investing in them

If a player has a been under performing and gets a bath by his tagger or defender should he take the money?? I've played with blokes who were great clubmen that have refused their match payments when under performing.... They are the sort of honest blokes you want at a club

Best example to use is a bloke called Levi Wallace.. Come from a club where no one at braybrook had seen him play, they asked him how much and his reply was you watch me for 4,5,6 games or whatever it was and you make the call... And is a bloke who will never mention what he is on... I think that shows great character in a person and look how that recruit turned out.. Team of the year at every season he has played in the wrfl... Need more blokes like this in our comp! But not wearing the number 72! Haaha

Pretty admirable attitude there but braybrook's recruiting methods have been pretty questionable in my experience. Approached a mate of mine before he was actually out of the change room door after playing against them! Lol... He'd had a shocker too that day and they were still throwing money at him but was a pretty handy player

This is where the onus is on clubs to do their due diligence in regards to a players worth and then once a number has been agreed then the player needs to perform regularly and justify what the club is investing in them

If a player has a been under performing and gets a bath by his tagger or defender should he take the money?? I've played with blokes who were great clubmen that have refused their match payments when under performing.... They are the sort of honest blokes you want at a club

G'day Grassbag,
Not many of these players around anymore and if so where are they.. Haha

This is a great attitude but what if they have a blinder the next week does the club pay them more than agreed? Footy has become a business now so they should be paid what was agreed no matter how they preform, unless they are complete duds but then is that the players fault or the club for recruiting them?

I can recall a time when players would play practices matches before they agree on a payment per game. But now you really need to get someone to go a watch other leagues and recruit the right players.. Not sure people might like this but div1 club recruiters should also watch div2 under 18s and see if any kids have the ability to play div1 seniors the next year.. If they have ability they should play the best standard possible when young. If your junior club goes up to div1 in the coming years you can always go back.. Or at the minimum stay 1 year and try and help your junior club go up, but if not successful then move as your given them your best..

What's your thoughts mate!!

Guys should always play to the highest level that they can of course but I don't really love the idea of higher div clubs picking out any talent that the lower div clubs have fostered and those battling clubs would be hoping these guys become senior players of that club for years to come

When higher div clubs recruit talent from the lower dibs it's also reinforces the absolute dominance of stronger clubs while weakening the lower clubs even further

I've been privy to conversations of senior club people pulling guys aside that wanted to leave to play higher div footy and say... This is your club take us to the next level and play in the higher division at the club

Guys should always play to the highest level that they can of course but I don't really love the idea of higher div clubs picking out any talent that the lower div clubs have fostered and those clubs like jacana roxy etc would be hoping these guys become senior players of that club for years to come

When higher div clubs recruit talent from the lower dibs it's also reinforces the absolute dominance of stronger clubs while weakening the lower clubs even further

I've been privy to conversations of senior club people pulling guys aside that wanted to leave to play higher div footy and say... This is your club take us to the next level and play in the higher division at the club

Don't disagree with any of this.. I'm not talking about a lot of players just the really talented ones.. But fully agree stay for a year or two to try to get them up (as long as they want to go up) but if they can't then maybe time to make a move if you have done all you can.
Always remember where you came from and go back one day and finish your career there..

Turn it up yourself Banana. No idea about Ryan Smith, although I have no doubt he'd be welcomed. Seniors went down by 8 goals today against a clearly better and much faster side. There will be lots of eyes on Tarneit when they meet Anakie in a couple of weeks.

Bush man, the scoreboard was being demonstrated by the guys trying to sell it. Looked impressive from up near the canteen. May be less cost effective than numbers hung up by U13s in return for a hot dog and coke after the game.
Very impressive looking scoreboard could see it clearly from across the ground and also shows your sponsors name. Definetly look into acquiring one for our club

Sorry guys but in my opinion no one in Div 3 should get paid unless it's performance based
i.e. $200 for BOG
$150 for 2nd best
$100 for 3rd

Paying blokes upwards of $300 a game guaranteed in this league is ridiculous.

Also I can't believe the club hopping that happens in this comp. where's the loyalty?
Agree but there is no more loyalty in local footy most of these div 3 clubs have no juniors and if they don't get them soon they will have to buy sides

Buying flags your kidding yourself!
No teams expecially braybrook Albanvale and sharks want to be in div three but they are there so why not try and win it?
im guessing your From a shit club who thinks paying peanuts will win you games/flags

No mate I'm actually from altona as my name states but perhaps that was too obvious. And don't comment on Div 1 as I'm a part of because I can't be impartial and tend to get banned. :)

People assume others have grudges with clubs cost they disagree with the spending habits.

But let's look at the players in div 3

Everyone knows braybrook paid a lot of money last year and are doing the same this year. So that's a fact not assumption and I personally know several guys they have thrown ridiculous amounts at this off season.

The sharks have recruited many players and all are being paid a certain amount now even if that's $100 per game average and I think that it is more than that personally that's $2000 a game and over $30000 a year in third div to a luv that everyone knows has huge debt. Again a fact not assumption

Will all these guys stay at these clubs or jump ship if they go up next year or will they be hand out for more $$$$$ ?

I just think clubs in their infancy and at this level need to get a proper budget behind them before they start chucking cash out with nothing behind them. No one wants to be in this div but no point throwing eveything at it when u have nothing left if you make div 2 they will be straight back down and in massive debt and stuck here for years

Mate just got home and read this. You can't be serious. Are you saying that no one at Albanvale is getting paid. I might accept some players are loyal and play for the club, but your saying no one is getting paid. You have no idea and this is a stupid comment. Get real banana or stay away from big footy .,

3 years ago our player payments for the year were under 5k and I can assure u we are well under 20k this year..

Last year I was the highest payed player at the club was on $450 a senior game :p
Last year I didn't make a cent lol

3 years ago our player payments for the year were under 5k and I can assure u we are well under 20k this year..

Last year I was the highest payed player at the club was on $450 a senior game :p
Last year I didn't make a cent lol

I agree the budget would be small but surely not under 5k or 20k but I'm an outsider so just my opinion. If your comment is true what have Albanvale done with the money as surely the turnover from functions, sponsors, bar, canteen etc would be more than the figures quoted. Have they put it back into club somewhere or saving up for something..

Was that because the club almost went under a few years back

I remember on the albanvale website the notice that the club was in dire financial trouble

The social rooms at albanvale were a disgrace the last time I went in there... Dirty and missing half the ceiling joint looked like it hadn't been cleaned in 5 years

Was that because the club almost went under a few years back

I remember on the albanvale website the notice that the club was in dire financial trouble

The social rooms at albanvale were a disgrace the last time I went in there... Dirty and missing half the ceiling joint looked like it hadn't been cleaned in 5 years
what club u from or follow grassbag?