Yarra Valley-Mountain District FL Discussion Forum 3

Humpa & his alter ego Nochance have been bagging umpires for years, they just don't get it, without umpires there are no games, how many times has our hero wacked a young bloke behind play, or snuck in a nice little cheap shot in and got away with it? Plenty!! And don't forget the Vets GF a few years ago when we thought the best way to play footy is to belt blokes! I call it karma, Humpchance, and thats God giving you a nice little wack back!! Oh and you'll be sooking on Sat arvo after the Pies do a demolition job on the team that plays the worst style of non scoreing football in history!!!!Yuk

[/b]

Humpa, you are so predictable. Biased beyond belief!
The Burras get done and you bleat that the umpires are biased and/or that Warby keep getting the rough end of the stick. Warby were physical in the first half and paid the penalty. Too many of your posts are pushing the same line and you are sounding like a spoilt brat. Grow up and open the other eye ......or take up draughts!

First thing Monnie you call me biased and predictable but you yourself are the most biased predictable poster on here. You do realise you can have an opinion that doesnt conform with what the league says or that goes against Monbulk? A head wobbler of the highest order.

Where did I say the umpires were biased?
Where did I say they cost us the game?

We got the rough end of the stick in a poor decision that has a damaging precedent if its repeated. Even someone as biased as yourself can see no good can come from it.

Cagga by the way excellent post regarding the Sunday Grand Final. Just hope you ran it past MonnieHawk first as it doesnt conform to the league.

You've sooked all year - trying to hide behind No Chance to take cheap shots and pretending to be an "impartial observer". Exposed as lies. May as well finish on the same sooky, deluded note.
No credibility, old chum!

You've sooked all year - trying to hide behind No Chance to take cheap shots and pretending to be an "impartial observer". Exposed as lies. May as well finish on the same sooky, deluded note.

Touched a nerve there did I old head wobbler? Get off your pedastal for a change.

On the subject of sooking up, that's exactly what I've been doing since about 5pm last Sunday. :(

Seriously though, now that the disappointment has begun to subside and as I contemplate the next 6 months without footy (1. Clean up yard 2. Mow lawns 3. Clean out shed 4. Fix fence 5.......bloody hell, when does footy start again?), I would like to congratulate Woori on their premiership win.

I'm proud of our boys and what they were able to achieve under Travis this year. Seventh in 2009 to runners up in 2010 is a mighty achievement and should be recognised as such. Hopefully the disappointment of this year will spark the extra improvement needed to go the extra step next year.

All kudos to Monkey and his boys though. They were too good for us on the day and thoroughly deserved their win and the glory. They were undoubtedly the best team in the Valley during 2010.

Enjoy your celebrations boys, but watch out because we're still coming. :D

Very interesting to read the different opinions on the incident that occured on Sunday. As I was there to watch all three games on Sun (great games to watch) I was able to witness the incident. Clearly the Warburton player was provoked by the Monbulk waterboy. However i dont feel there was a lot in it and the player in question should have had more discipline than to respond. Also having said that the waterboys job is to run out water, then get straight off NOT intereact with any players! I dont know if the umpires made a mistake or if it is the ruling, but clearly the umpire's felt both people were in the wrong and sent them both off. Much to my surprise! Which raises the question how is sending off a player from one team and a waterboy form another equal punishment? I think it is something the league has to investigate as it could set a dangerous precendent for future matches.

Having said all that I did not feel as though it affected the outcome of the game. Monbulk came out more switched on and got off to a flyer which Warburton could not peg back.

I am not saying that the player should NOT be sent off MIW. Alternatively what is to stop a team from having waterboys going onto the field starting altercations with opposition players in an attempt to get them sent off? What would happen if two waterboys were sent off and two players from the other team sent off? How would that be fair IF the waterboys started it? I think it needs to be looked at as it has opened a can of worms which could be exploited. Is the alternative if a waterboy is sent off the same team has to play one short? That would make sure trainers, runners and waterboys would do their job and not interact with the players at all

Why get in a fight with a WATERBOY anyway? Unless he rooted ya missus before the game or king hit ya how can you justify wasting time and energy on bloke who has basically no impact on the game. Especially in a grand final.

Were his team mates livid with him?

SUNDAY GF

For me I am still going to agree to disagree with the League folks, for me & the people I know the reasons dont stack up
1. 7 day break - only Upwey really cried about this because they had lost a couple granny's off this. If players at this level need 7 day break move the 2nd Divi Granny to Sunday
2. People I have spoken to: Football followers, supporters , friends, family, work colleagues all dont undertsand it. This is from Balwyn to Bendigo. They were coming to watch Monbulk, Warby, Gembrook, a specific player etc. Saturday is when they would prefer to do this.
3. Clubs have noted because it takes away from Bar Takings being a sunday night. No matter how much the league does not want to be scene to promote drinking - alcohol, food, softdrink etc is the life blood of these clubs. The good sports program is there to help control/ monitor this situation, have trust. More important for us at Monbulk I believe is that we have used the Sunday as an unOfficial Family Day in the past. Many supporters would pop in. We Would have a BBQ with partners, wives, kids. It was a relaxing day shared with many different generations of our club. That has been lost the last 2 years.
4. Extra Day for Ground Preparation: Line Marking, PA, DVD etc This may suit but how is it organised for 2nd Div? We somehow do it. Find other companies, find other ways - Are they changing a higher rate cos its on a Sunday??
5. Umpires what do they prefer - the players hate it?
6. Admission Numbers on the increase because on Sunday. Not sure on this. 9 teams competing is good for the gate. How accurate were the figures in the past? Poor weather conditions etc.
I would feel it has more to do with our professionalism of the league, better standard football, competiting teams & Netball than it has to do with Sunday.

Before we go onto next year now most clubs have been involved (9) I think it should be put back to the club presidents to give there clubs verdict - Yes or No
Much of this maybe taken as hearsay. But on the weekend It would have been good if somebody at each gate was quickly doing a survey asking "Saturday or Sunday GF what do you prefer?" would be interesting what the results would have been.

Cagga interesting comments which I dont necessarily agree with but to give some balance to the discussion. The last 3 years Div 1 GF gates 2008 Sat $20,774 2009 Sun $28,306 2010 Sun $27,946. At $12 per head equates to 1,731 , 2,359 and 2,328 respectively. That is a big difference in numbers not just 10 or 20. This increase in revenues goes in to the continued improvement of our league such as big screen and valley vision and is serious money in anyone's terms. Other issue, we couldnt get the big screen on the Saturday and everyone has given it the thumbs up . We took a chance but it really added something to the day. Not sure what you may be implying about accuracy of past figures. Control of finals is paramount and we have a strict control on it. Personally having played in 3 winning GF and having coached u18 premiership in 2006 I couldn't have cared if it was played on a wednesday such is the joy winning the premiership brings. We will have a review of the season with the clubs to get their feedback. Enjoy the celebrations and thanks for taking the time to share your comments and thoughts. Doesnt mean I will always agree but we have to have frank and honest communication if we want to continue to improve our competition.

Graeme Tuplin

Cagga interesting comments which I dont necessarily agree with but to give some balance to the discussion. The last 3 years Div 1 GF gates 2008 Sat $20,774 2009 Sun $28,306 2010 Sun $27,946. At $12 per head equates to 1,731 , 2,359 and 2,328 respectively.
I would like to see the figures over a longer period 2008 is not a great year to compare to in my books as Silvan were one of the teams competing with a lot smaller supporter base that year. The teams the last 2 yrs have definately a higher support base you must agree.
Conversely what has happen to the numbers in 2nd Div?

That is a big difference in numbers not just 10 or 20. No its not small I agree but it has more to do with the competing teams & you have introduced another division of netball in this time. approx 24 players plus support staff, brothers, sisters, mothers, grandparents in support - you could be close to extra 100-150people. Do not under estimate the drawing power of the netball. More & more people are talking about it in our area as they do with our footy.

This increase in revenues goes in to the continued improvement of our league such as big screen and valley vision (Are we not paying for this)and is serious money in anyone's terms. Other issue, we couldnt get the big screen on the Saturday (Sunday?? can we get it on a Saturday next year - if so book it now!) and everyone has given it the thumbs up . We took a chance but it really added something to the day. Not sure what you may be implying about accuracy of past figures (Over the years We have had player passes, official passes etc) Im certain this may have made things harder to work out crowd numbers unless you had a counter like Glen James. Control of finals is paramount and we have a strict control on it. Personally having played in 3 winning GF and having coached u18 premiership in 2006 I couldn't have cared if it was played on a wednesday such is the joy winning the premiership brings. Coach & Player I personally agree. If you read I am pointing this out from spectators, family, friends, support staff & the affect post game at clubs. Approx $7.5K extra divided over 18 clubs (im certain its not all returned) I'd be happy to put my small backside on the line that most clubs would give you guys the $400 back each if we didnt see similar numbers to this year on a Saturday with 9 teams competing
We will have a review of the season with the clubs to get their feedback. Enjoy the celebrations and thanks for taking the time to share your comments and thoughts. Doesnt mean I will always agree but we have to have frank and honest communication if we want to continue to improve our competition. Thats great, please continue to consult

Graeme Tuplin

Understand if you look at a previous post I think a huge amount of things that are being done right & better each season. I know its no small feat or miracle that we get the things the way see them. But the league clearly needs to understand the affect this has at a club level. This is what I am trying to point out.

Cheers Cagga

Whether the water boy is a club legend or not thats not the point. I don't think Humpa is saying it was a pre-meditated incident, it's not even an attack at the water boy or monbulk in that case. It is the way the situation was handeled sending off a player. A very severe penalty.

Got me wrong mate didnt mean if the water boy was a legend or not just using it as an example from a monbulk players point of view and how quickly the incident could of escalated if the umpire hadn't of dealt with it the way he did.

On another note off topic now, why oh why do we play sunday grand finals. I know the EFL div 1 granny is on saturday but this is the biggest day of the year for the league and the teams involved. I didnt have a problem with it initially but now i have been involved on the day I don't like it nor all other players and spectators that i have spoken to. Needs to be changed back to Saturday even at the sacrifice of a few spectators going to watch EFL.

Agree totally mate sunday terrible cant have a drink with the boys properly in a few hours then off to work the next day no good at all.

Great Post Cagga. Totally agree with everything your saying. To compare this years Sundays figures with 2008 Saturday's figures is a long bow. For one every club was represented this year (except Silvan) and also there was no C grade netball in 2008. Its easy for the league to give us figures to support their view of a Sunday final however I dont know one person who thinks it is a good idea. Makes it hard to have a family day and enjoy a successful year (win or loose) with your supporters on a MONDAY. I really hope that the powers to be not only listen to the clubs, but also act on what they are told.

Don't forget 08 was at Gembrook and the 09 & 10 have been at woori which is much closer for neautral supporters

Just an ordinary day at Gembrook :D:D

Yep...the 08 GF at Gembrook. Cold, wet and windy at Gembrook that day, but 28 degrees and gloriously calm and sunny every where else in Victoria.
(Unfortunately they don't have a sarcasm "smilie", otherwise I'd insert that in this space).

Watching the game. I though there was next to nothing in it. The way Warby tried to impact the game early with rough physical play caused the decision. Like the Vets grandfinal as well!

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
We were playing footy weren't we? a sport known for its physicality? besides the waterboy incident the game was a good spirit with two teams trying to win the big one, even caga would agree. I don't understand how you can link the game with the vets gf.

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
We were playing footy weren't we? a sport known for its physicality? besides the waterboy incident the game was a good spirit with two teams trying to win the big one, even caga would agree. I don't understand how you can link the game with the vets gf.

After reading the above post I am taking Cagga played for Monbulk and rip it up played for Warby on Sunday. As for Yankydoodle's comments on physical play he must have been watching a different game. How dare a team come out fired up in a football Grand Final? I have a feeling Yankydoodle could be one of two things; an umpire or a netballer. He could even be the umpire involved in the waterboy incident. If he thinks that game was physical i know why he would have sent the players off. What a joke!