• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum

agree with ya there spy. not sure how its run or if they just throw it together but they should allocate someone to do it and jazz it up to make it a bit more appealing.

Have to agree the state of the YVMDFL site is a disgrace. When Lori Woodcock was working at the league she was tireless in updating the site and compiling the footy record. All her hard work was rewarded with a major award from the VCFL but this is certainly faded into the distance in recent times since her departure.

Surely the league can fire up and update the site more regularly and provide some more footy related news.

How about some of the results in Division 1 last week - the points system cannot come in quickly enough going by the results. There is a huge gulf between the top and bottom sides at the moment and this is completely the opposite in Division 2 where things are so even and all the interest is.

How about Gembrook reserves forfeiting - whats going on there??

2007 Team of Year

BACKS Luke Barclay (HV) Rhett Newell (SV) Dallas Spencer (WY)
HALF BACKS Danny Ryan (WY) Michael Hughson (MB) Danny Hyndman (WY)
CENTRES David Van Hoorn (UT) Ryan Creed (MB) Brendon Murphy (HV)
HALF FORWARDS Chris Haworth (MV) Aaron Henneman (SV) Chris Goodlet (SV)
FORWARDS Gary Moorcroft (SV) Jye Conrau (HV) Tom Hedge (UT)
RUCKS Craig Clarke (GC Vin Dunstan (MB) Matt Stolarczyk (WY)

INTERCHANGE Jason Fraser (MB), Daniel King (WD),
Dean Selkrig (YG), Scott Tregoning (OFC)

Captain: Danny Ryan
Vice Captain: Craig Clarke
Coach: Damian Monkhorst (WY)

This is a joke!

What do you think about Yea coming back into your league next season ?.

Yea have been in our league (the Kyabram DFL) for two seasons after their other competition (the Central Goulburn) folded, and it hasn't been a happy stay for the Tigers in the KDFL since then, and seeing that both Alexandra & Thornton/Eildon have done pretty well in their new league, I think that they have made the right decision in going back to their old comp.

I know that both Alexandra & Thornton/Eildon used to play in your league years ago, with moderate to good success, I was wondering if there is anybody here that's involved in Division Two that has any opinions about having Yea (and potentially, Kinglake if the rumours are true) back next season.

P.S
My dad and I used to be involved with Panton Hill several years ago, when they were still in the YVMDFL, so I have a bit of an interest there.

Yes, hello Wayde

I feel that in some ways, the addition of Yea would be positive. Their ground is as good as any in the YVMDFL, and their proximity to Alexandra and Thornton would obviously be an advantage to all concerned. Kinglake may find it more comfortable in our league – not necessarily regarding the standard of play, but more particularly the culture of the league, which is very different from that of the Northern FL. I do recall watching Kinglake play Seville in the 1995 YVMDFL Div 2 Grand Final, which may have been their last game with us.

On the other hand, the League’s drift northwards will inevitably cause major difficulties for Emerald and Belgrave, while South Belgrave have already indicated their desire to leave. One solution to the travel problem could be to draw up the division 2 fixture on geographical lines. Another could be for the affected southern clubs to gain promotion to first division and to stay there. Most likely, though, is that the EFL will gain a couple of clubs at our expense.

Have to agree the addition of Yea is a positive and to be honest some of the Southern based teams (namely South Belgrave) should realistically accept it - the southern based clubs only will travel 3 times per year where as the Northern counterparts do it every second week.

Like you said Derby, South will probably leave the league but in all honesty is it really a major loss. The club is struggling to have an impact onfield and i think we as a league pick up a better club in Yea with a far better ground too.

The addition of Yea will certainly benefit clubs like Alexandra and Thornton and will further improve the standard of football in division 2 which in my opinion has come ahead in leaps and bounds this year. Hopefully Powelltown will survive and improve too in 2008.

Its not that long ago that division 2 was somewhat struggling due to lack of clubs so credit must go to the league executive in rebuilding the league and making it one of the few country leagues that is expanding and not reducing in member clubs.

One of the best players in the Yarra Valley has decided to call it a day. Congratulations to Andy Greenall - a tough opponent to say the least and certainly "talked the talk and walked the walk". Olinda FC will certainly miss your on field presence.

From the Olinda FC website;

One of the best players to represent the OFCFC in the modern era has today decided to hang up his boots and retire from Senior Football.After 150 plus games for the bloods and over 350 firsts games of Footy Andy Greenall has conceded that time has caught up with his body.

Andy was a product of our junior club and was a member of both the 1988 and 2005 senior premiership teams.He has also played at Carlton in the under 19s and at Port Melbourne. He was captain coach of both Coolangatta and Upper Ferntree Gully and has played with Port Colts and Beaufort.

Andy said he may have the occassional run in the reserves if required next season. Unfortunately Andy tore his calf muscle in round 11 and won't get the chance for a fairwell game.The Club would like to congratulate Andy on his Football career and service to the club and wish him all the best for the future.

2007 Team of Year

This is a joke!

From what I saw today Ben Haynes is one of the most skillfull footballers ive seen in this league in the last 20 years. I think he'd make this team and possibly win the league B&F.

Have to agree the addition of Yea is a positive and to be honest some of the Southern based teams (namely South Belgrave) should realistically accept it - the southern based clubs only will travel 3 times per year where as the Northern counterparts do it every second week.

Like you said Derby, South will probably leave the league but in all honesty is it really a major loss. The club is struggling to have an impact onfield and i think we as a league pick up a better club in Yea with a far better ground too.

The addition of Yea will certainly benefit clubs like Alexandra and Thornton and will further improve the standard of football in division 2 which in my opinion has come ahead in leaps and bounds this year. Hopefully Powelltown will survive and improve too in 2008.

Its not that long ago that division 2 was somewhat struggling due to lack of clubs so credit must go to the league executive in rebuilding the league and making it one of the few country leagues that is expanding and not reducing in member clubs.

EFL voted on their inclusion at the end of last season. Yea coming in has nothing to do with it. For most clubs its a battle to get 18s and reserves players to make a 4 hour round trip and when the league schedules them to play away to the northern clubs 2 weeks in a row, which happened last season, you can understand the stance they've taken. To say that they aren't a loss to the league is ridiculous. They've been one of the more powerful clubs in 2nd division for a long time now and are still competitve with the top sides each week. Club rivalries are what makes the league and i will be disappointed to see them leave because they were always top blokes on and off the field.

2007 Team of Year

This is a joke only one div 2 player in it what about ryan hall from thornton kicked 100 last year another 70 this year in the div 2's best side and you put selkrig in instead obviously havent seen any div 2 games because even though the standard isn't as good as 1st their are some players that would stand out up there.

2007 Team of Year

This is a joke only one div 2 player in it what about ryan hall from thornton kicked 100 last year another 70 this year in the div 2's best side and you put selkrig in instead obviously havent seen any div 2 games because even though the standard isn't as good as 1st their are some players that would stand out up there.
Hey Pupsta, just curious to how Luke Sharps been going this year?

Pupsta, thats actually the team picked by the radio commentating guys. Probably makes it less worse coz when you listen to them its clear they have no idea about football. Their actually presenting awards to these players in this team on league B&F night. Some of these guys must be embarrased with some of the names that have missed.

MOC, Sharpy did a good pre season and played the first five games very well but then has only played 3 since because of work.
But he is now right for finals and after a sub par performance in the 2nd semi he is primed and pumped for the GF.

VS, i was there and what a joke it was. Good mates with Leo and Foo but it was pretty much saying that 2nd div doesn't matter or doesn't exist. Like i said in the other one there are a few in div 2 that could hold their own with them and like you said about ben haynes too they need to do it properly if they want people to take it seriously.

I thought this was an interesting article from the Free Press. Isn't this typical of Belgrave - always blaming someone else. Lets face it they werent good enough and hopefully Alexandra knocks them out this weekend.

Late decisions costly
Eliza Sewell

04Sep07

BELGRAVE coach Gary Connolly believes the standard of umpiring in Sunday's YVMDFL Division 2 second semi-final cost his Magpies' a Grand Final berth.

Connolly was still seething after the Magpies' 14.6 (90) to 11.13 (79) loss to Thornton Eildon.

The result means the Magpies play Alexandra in a cut-throat preliminary final this weekend.

``The thing is I don't normally talk about umpires but it was disappointing,'' Connolly said.

``The crowd was getting frustrated, it was just one of those games, it was tough.''

Connolly said two 50m penalties awarded to Thornton Eildon in the final quarter resulted in game-breaking goals.

``It hurt us,'' he said.

``There was no doubt we should have won that game. And that's why, at five o'clock on Monday, we're still angry and disappointed. Anything can happen this week.''

The Magpies defeated Alexandra in Round 18, by nine points, and Connolly said his side would implement the same strategy to try to combat it on Sunday.

``I think it's just a case of getting the match-ups right,'' he said.

``Footy's a game of match-ups and making sure, on the day, things fall into place.''

He said his side was desperate to play Thornton Eildon again in the premiership-decider on September 15 after Saturday's results, and two other close matches during the season.

``I'm dying to have another crack at them,'' he said.

``I just want to get there, I'm confident.

``I just feel other things have influenced the results (in the past).

``It's not that they're better than us, I just feel there's still a little bit left in us and, if we can win this weekend, I'm pretty confident they fear us.''

I cant believe the so called team of the year. Why werent guys like Senior, Hall, Oakley and Hin considered as well as a number of other players from the Division 2 competition. There are some top players in the division and to be honest the team selected by the Radio guys was based on the games they saw throughout the year.

Also, have to agree on why was Ben Haynes not selected, one of the best players I have seen in this league in a long time.

Congratulations to all the league best and fairest winners. All winners are very deserving especially Oakley from Alexandra who has now one two Division 2 best and fairests in successive years - he is a gun. Well done to Bob Allen from the Yarra Ranges Umpires on his award, a better guy you would not meet.

Have to say a good night was held and enjoyed by all. Lets just hope the league can start updating their website more regularly and return to the state when Lori Woodcock was running it - the league certainly misses her.

Top Three Claim Ramage Medal

The 2007 Ramage Medal Night was an historic occasion, with three joint winners of the first division football award. Entering the final round, Vin Dunstan (Monbulk) and Paddy Sharp (Woori) were locked on 17 votes, with three other players three or less votes behind. In Rd 18, neither Dunstan nor Sharp could manage a vote, while Upwey's Tom Hedge claimed the three votes against Olinda to join them on 17 votes to create the 3-way tie.
The Jim Wandin Medal was won, for the second consecutive year, by Alexandra's Neil Oakley, who polled 27 votes to win by six votes from Seville�s Shane Senior. The Jodi Chandler Medal for Div 1 A-Grade netball was won by Woori Yallock's Ashleigh Hardy (24 votes), three votes clear of her teammate, Kristy Maloney, while A-grade in Second Division was won by Thornton-Eildon's Kath Brown (26 votes).

The night also saw counts simulcast on 3MDR 97.1 FM and the presentation of B&Fs in reserve and U18 grades, along with the team of the year and club championship honours. It was hosted by Sandy Roberts, who put in a polished performance behind the microphone, but was upstaged by an hilarious Andrew Startin, whose invited guests including Sam Newman, Gary Ayres, Ian Thorpe, Richie Benaud, Tony Greig and the always clever Bruce McAvaney, made for a highly entertaining evening.

Harold Ramage Medal
Vin Dunstan (Monbulk) � 17 votes
Paddy Sharp (Woori) � 17 votes
Tom Hedge (Upwey) � 17 votes

Jim Wandin Medal
Neil Oakley (Alexandra) - 27 votes

Jodi Chandler Medal
Ashleigh Hardy (Woori) � 24 votes

Div 2 A-Grade Medal
Kath Brown (T/Eildon) � 26 votes

Ron Hunter Medal (Div 1 U18s)
Chris Tones-Erickson (Healesville) � 32 votes

Arthur Cowley Medal (Div 2 U18s)
Nat Fage (Belgrave) � 27 votes

Div 1 B-Grade
Beth Stubbs (Monbulk) � 23 votes
Emma Paternoster (Mt Evelyn) � 23 votes

Div 2 B-Grade
Camille Ridd (Y/Junction) � 15 votes

Mark Darcy Medal (Vets)
Justin McLean (Warb-Mill) - 11 votes

John Edwards Medal (Umpires)
Bob Allen

I thought this was an interesting article from the Free Press. Isn't this typical of Belgrave - always blaming someone else. Lets face it they werent good enough and hopefully Alexandra knocks them out this weekend.

Late decisions costly
Eliza Sewell

04Sep07

BELGRAVE coach Gary Connolly believes the standard of umpiring in Sunday's YVMDFL Division 2 second semi-final cost his Magpies' a Grand Final berth.

Connolly was still seething after the Magpies' 14.6 (90) to 11.13 (79) loss to Thornton Eildon.

The result means the Magpies play Alexandra in a cut-throat preliminary final this weekend.

``The thing is I don't normally talk about umpires but it was disappointing,'' Connolly said.

``The crowd was getting frustrated, it was just one of those games, it was tough.''

Connolly said two 50m penalties awarded to Thornton Eildon in the final quarter resulted in game-breaking goals.

``It hurt us,'' he said.

``There was no doubt we should have won that game. And that's why, at five o'clock on Monday, we're still angry and disappointed. Anything can happen this week.''

The Magpies defeated Alexandra in Round 18, by nine points, and Connolly said his side would implement the same strategy to try to combat it on Sunday.

``Footy's a game of match-ups and making sure, on the day, things fall into place.''

He said his side was desperate to play Thornton Eildon again in the premiership-decider on September 15 after Saturday's results, and two other close matches during the season.

``It's not that they're better than us, I just feel there's still a little bit left in us and, if we can win this weekend, I'm pretty confident they fear us.''

Oh dear. He's forgotten to mention the 50m penalty that resulted in a goal for Belgrave in the last qtr. As a neutral spectator the umpiring was equally as bad for both sides. Poor excuse. He should be teaching some of his forwards how to kick for goal.

What a load of it for Gary Connolly to say the Boners fear them. :D

Instead of having a go at the umpires and the quality of the opposition he should be concerned at his players abuse of the umpires. A very undisclipined side. It was a close game with a few dodgy decisions both ways, ie the incorrect out of bounds on the full decision against Thornton on the wing, but both teams had their chance to win and it's very ungratious to blame the umpiring for the fitting end result. The Boners stood up when it counted...end of story.

I suspect a lot of neutral supporters will get behind Thornton in the granny if Belgrave make it and I reckon Thornton will do them proud. Go Boners.

Late decisions costly
Eliza Sewell

04Sep07

``It hurt us,'' he said.

What the :confused:

Fair dinkum why not put the heat on ya players. Surely a defender went to ground at a critical time, allowed an uncontested mark inside 50m or flew to spoil and the ball ended up over the back. Was his forwards defensive pressure at their maximum - 2,3,4 efforts every time the ball turned over. Did they dominate clearances, clear after every kick-in, have the zone work 100% after every opposition kick-in???

A lot of things can happen over 100 odd minutes of footy to determine an outcome, to put the blame onto the umps and not your charges seems a bit iffy to me. Find an area that was costly and say if we improve on that next time we're a show . . . . . so the umps may have a couple of blue's thats footy, Im sure over the course of the match the players at times may have 30- 40 errors that could swung momentum, created a goal etc etc.

Anyways to an old rival coach I say good luck to Brad and the club in general. Was at Yea for 3-4 years and that 2005 season in the CGFL one could really sense they weren't far away and I truly hope ya's get the reward . . . . . and if ya's don't well I just hope its the other old CGFL club in Alexandra for a couple of lads like Corey and Hilly (not Belgrave).

Good Luck :thumbsu:

Think that Alex will get over belgrabe this weekend. Can understand other comments about Belgrave and their lack of discipline, considering a number of their players come from Parkmore which was not well know for discipline it doesnt surprise me at all. Guys like Millane and co. certainly are not angels and hopefully will be playing their last game on Sunday.

Pretty pathetic stuff by Connolly looking for a scapegoat instead of looking in his own backyard. Umpires always make a few errors and teams need to just get on with things and worry about their own performances, discipline, maintaining focus and concentration are three things that win premierships and Belgrave has none of them.

They are a bunch of sooks and have always been the same.

Go Rebels.