Your Clubs Trade/Draft Predictions

You're kidding aren't you

Originally posted by marcuz
Yeah right....He was a first round draft pick. Plenty of speed which we dont have. You will need to do better than street to get harvey

Why didn't Essendon win two flags? Didn't have anything to do with their ruck division did it?

I'm not knocking Hille here, but he's not what you call a ruck 'division'. He could use some ruck help, as could St Kilda, as could the Kangaroos. How many rucks do you think there are out there? And how many Shane Harvey's?:confused:

#13: Ricky Dyson - Northern
#29: Jay Nash - Central Districts
#45: Rowan Bonson - NT
#61: Joel Campbell - Alice Springs

Will promote Ben Haynes & Courtney Johns

#13: Ricky Dyson - Northern
#29: Jay Nash - Central Districts
#45: Rowan Bonson - NT
#61: Joel Campbell - Alice Springs

Will promote Ben Haynes & Courtney Johns
that sounds pretty good but i would change campbell (who is he by the way?) for James Ezard at Calder.

Originally posted by Hosko
that sounds pretty good but i would change campbell (who is he by the way?) for James Ezard at Calder.

22 Joel Campbell Pioneers – Alice Springs Dec 21, 85 187 cm 73 kg

Medium, inside forward who has pace and loves a contest. Is courageous and a strong mark. Can play back, midfield or forward and was an NT U/18 representative this year.

Ezard will struggle to get drafted from all reports

Originally posted by alstar562
TRADE - Wirrapunda to Carlton for pick no 2

DRAFT -

Pick 2 - Keppler Braderly

pick 11 - Callum Burges/ Moody

pick 2? - Jacob Surjan/ Beau Waters

pick 3? - Matthew Pettigrew/ Michael Johnson/ Spencer

Moody in the first round isn't looking likely anymore due to his recent form. Topical on whether Surjan and Waters would be around for the early 2nd round either too. My personal opinion is Spencer and Johnson wont be around for the 3rd round.

I'll leave out trades coz who knows who we will get or give up but I'm almost 100% sure we'll trade pick 22 if we keep pick 7 like bomber promises. I think we will also trade our fourth pick for an experienced player which the club has also hinted at.

Pick 7: Troy Chaplin. Just the player we need. Strong, tall and can play at either end. A natural footballer and I think he might just last until pick 7 given the need for onballers by the clubs with picks ahead of us.

Pick 22: We will trade this pick anyway but I'd be looking at Luke Peel or Surjan if we kept it. However in the last few drafts a highly fancied player always seems to slip down this far as clubs go for needs instead of best available talent so it really is a lottery. IMO the second rd is the most open round of any draft. Its hard to plan for. Clubs know who they want with their first selection and they have their later smokies picked out but the middle rounds are hard.

Pick 38: Mark Blake. F/S. By all reports the best ruckman in the TAC cup.

Pick 54: Traded

Pick 70: A player like Ben Clifton. Played a lot of school footy so has been hidden a bit. Is playing on Sat for Calder in the Grand Final. Is KP height, very athletic and has a great footy brain but he is pretty skinny. A project player and a good smokie. Is as good a player as Tom Lonegan was at school.

Originally posted by scooter600x
Seriously overrating Davey.

The quickest thing I've ever seen - exciting as hell - but unfortunately he's not very good.

Think a poor man's Leon Davis (and Davis isn't much chop to start with).
yeah agree he is not worthy of a top 10 pick, but to say "he's not very good" is very unfair. has all the tools, but just needs some work to bring out the best of these tools. must bulk up and work on his defensive side (esp tackling), but i think he is worth a gamble for our 3rd round pick at 40. could prove to be an absolute bargain, or could join the presitigious 'dud' group of players with enormous ablility who never made it.

Originally posted by pazza
Why just recruit 17 year olds?I'm quietly confident that Essendon will use 2 of its picks to ensure that Haynes and Johns are on the full senior list. From there who knows.

Dyson is 18, Campbell & Nash will be 18 by the time 2004 rolls around. Not sure of Bonson's age. Essendon don't need to use picks to secure Haynes & Johns as we have first dip at them.

Predictions:

I'll exclude trades for now.

DRAFT -

Pick 12: Jacob Surjan (South Fremantle)

Pick 27: Matthew Spencer (Swan Districts)

Pick 43: Brett Peake (East Fremantle) - father/son

Pick 69: Lukas Teague (South Fremantle)

DELIST -

Ben Cunningham

Andrew Siegert

RETIRE -

Anthony Jones

Luke Toia

davey will be brilliant one week and non existant the next, exactly like leon davis. drafting him with a top 10 pick could prove a masterstroke, but on the flip side there's just as much chance a club could pass on a very good player and have davey languishing in the VFL cos he's not tough enough to make it at AFL level

watch this space anyhow, will be interesting to see where he does go...

Originally posted by alstar562
TRADE - Wirrapunda to Carlton for pick no 2

DRAFT -

Pick 2 - Keppler Braderly

pick 11 - Callum Burges/ Moody

pick 2? - Jacob Surjan/ Beau Waters

pick 3? - Matthew Pettigrew/ Michael Johnson/ Spencer

wirra wont go - he said so on national tv

Originally posted by scooter600x
Seriously overrating Davey.

The quickest thing I've ever seen - exciting as hell - but unfortunately he's not very good.

Think a poor man's Leon Davis (and Davis isn't much chop to start with).

I was bored and thought i'd have a look at the rumours that circulated last spring...

This is the funniest - ''a poor man's leon davis''.... HAHAHA!!!

How wrong were you!

Originally posted by MOJOE
I was bored and thought i'd have a look at the rumours that circulated last spring...

This is the funniest - ''a poor man's leon davis''.... HAHAHA!!!

How wrong were you!

I reckon Davis has more all tools than Davey.

Better kick, better opposite foot and so far a better mark it's funny.

It's just that Davey is so good at his strengths, he can get away with it.

For now.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
I reckon Davis has more all tools than Davey.

Better kick, better opposite foot and so far a better mark it's funny.

It's just that Davey is so good at his strengths, he can get away with it.

For now.

That's the thing. Davis was actually good two years ago.

Small forwards rarely last more than a couple of seasons at the top unless they can add another string to their bow. See Ronnie Burns, Jeff Farmer, Robbie Ahmat, David Rodan etc as examples.

Phil Matera can lead, mark and rove packs. That is why he has lasted.

Will be interesting to see how Davey's going in 4 or 5 years.

Originally posted by superstar
That's the thing. Davis was actually good two years ago.

Small forwards rarely last more than a couple of seasons at the top unless they can add another string to their bow. See Ronnie Burns, Jeff Farmer, Robbie Ahmat, David Rodan etc as examples.

Phil Matera can lead, mark and rove packs. That is why he has lasted.

Will be interesting to see how Davey's going in 4 or 5 years.

I have copyright on that speil champ!!!

Also, see Cupido, Adrian McAdam, Leigh Harding, Didak etc etc.

Kraka has progressed to the middle because he has real footy ability. Harding and Didak I rate, but they will have to improve heaps of deficiences before any prediction of long term quality can be made.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
I have copyright on that speil champ!!!

Also, see Cupido, Adrian McAdam, Leigh Harding, Didak etc etc.

Kraka has progressed to the middle because he has real footy ability. Harding and Didak I rate, but they will have to improve heaps of deficiences before any prediction of long term quality can be made.

Oh....I thought that was Northboi's speil!;)

Your Clubs Trade/Draft Predictions