Your favourite Collingwood grandfinal loss

Ah Mick, do you still the pain as badly as FIGJAM feltit.

But alas it doesn't matter what Collingwood do mid season because we all know if they made the GF next year they would still lose.

Mick get a nice comfy pillow as there's plenty of pain still.

Learn how to construct a sentence loser:eek:

Go to bed you Norf flog and rub one out dreaming about you're team doing anything next year apart from stinking up AFL football again:eek:

Mick here's some more memories of losing GFs.

Here is a collage of the scoreboard from the 1970 GF.

Note the half time score, note the full time score.

Oh the premiership's a cakewalk.

show_image.php

Mick here's some more memories of losing GFs.

Here is a collage of the scoreboard from the 1970 GF.

Note the half time score, note the full time score.

show_image.php
What royals1922? You support CarLOLton now?
When was the last time Norf beat Collingwood?Or were even in a GF?

I'll tell you the last time you're ****stain beat us minnow.....2008 LMFAO:eek:
Last 4 games we have flogged you spud's.Rnd 16 2011 117 points:eek:Rnd 2 2011 87 points:eek:Rnd 7 2010 66 points:eek:Rnd 6 2009 52 points:eek:

So going by that trend minnow next year we will beat you by 150 points.........U MAD???

And here is a picture of some players in richmond guernseys and Collingwood running around the MCG with the 1980 premiership cup.

1980gf19_small.jpg

One problem - the players wearing Collingwood guernseys aren't Collingwood players.

Last 4 games we have flogged you spud's.Rnd 16 2011 117 points:eek:Rnd 2 2011 87 points:eek:Rnd 7 2010 66 points:eek:Rnd 6 2009 52 points:eek:

So going by that trend minnow next year we will beat you by 150 points.........U MAD???

This thread is not about NM nor richmond nor Carlton nor Melbourne nor any other particular club that has beaten Collingwood but about the memories that Collingwood's GF fail have given other supporters.

Other team's supporters are truly grateful that they play Collingwood in the GF because they know their chances are very good. Thank you for reminded about the last 4 home and away games.

I only need remind you of the Grand final replay where NM gave the Woods a kicking making NM's records in GFs against Collingwood 1 win and 1 draw and while collingwood's record is 1 draw and 1 loss.

Oh the pain that must be being felt.

This thread is not about NM nor richmond nor Carlton nor Melbourne nor any other particular club that has beaten Collingwood but about the memories that Collingwood's GF fail have given other supporters.

Other team's supporters are truly grateful that they play Collingwood in the GF because they know their chances are very good. Thank you for reminded about the last 4 home and away games.

I only need remind you of the Grand final replay where NM gave the Woods a kicking making NM's records in GFs against Collingwood 1 win and 1 draw and while collingwood's record is 1 draw and 1 loss.

Oh the pain that must be being felt.
You wouldn't have even been alive in 1977.Just floating around in you're Daddy's ball bag....or were you shot up against a wall and the sun hatched you?
Collingwood v Norf played 152.....Collingwood 102 wins>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Norf 48 wins
Collingwood 15 flag's>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Norf 4 flag's:eek::eek::eek::eek:

You wouldn't have even been alive in 1977.Just floating around in you're Daddy's ball bag....or were you shot up against a wall and the sun hatched you?
Collingwood v Norf played 152.....Collingwood 102 wins>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Norf 48 wins
Collingwood 15 flag's>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Norf 4 flag's:eek::eek::eek::eek:

No Mick I remember the GF as if it was yesterday - it was beautiful and the players for NM that day were premiership players as against the Collingwood players who were not.

Mick have you ever wondered why the MCG turf is reasonable. The answer lies with the generations of crushed magpies buried in the turf - it has become a graveyard for Collingwood.

And Collingwood won their first 5 premierships when there were 9 teams in the comp and since 1987 when the comp went from 12-14 teams, they have only won 2 premierships. Righto Mick.

It's called pain Mick, suck it up,accept it because it's going to hurt.

That's pain flog and embarrassing:eek:

Get used to it:eek:

Wow, is it really only 4 wins & 2 draws from 23 appearances in GF's for the last 74 years..??? :eek:
17 losses, lol.

What a rabble. :eek:

So what's the consensus here, are they dramatically over or under achieving..?

Wow, is it really only 4 wins & 2 draws from 23 appearances in GF's for the last 74 years..??? :eek:
17 losses, lol.

What a rabble. :eek:

So what's the consensus here, are they dramatically over or under achieving..?
Welcome Chef:thumbsu:
You have the right to bag Collingwood.......But Norf flog's have no right:thumbsdown:

42 GF appearances for 15 win's is unacceptable,if we had a 50% strike rate in GF's we would be way out in front.But alas we haven't:thumbsdown:
Well done Geelong Fantastic team deserve their accolade's:thumbsu:

Welcome Chef:thumbsu:
42 GF appearances for 15 win's is unacceptable,if we had a 50% strike rate in GF's we would be way out in frontquote]

Mick here's a book that I recommend Collingwood and their supporters buy in bulk to help them relieve that GF pain.

book_sm.png

And we can add Josh Fraser after the 2003 GL loss.

wbAFLjosh_gallery__470x379-420x0.jpg

Note the pain but no tears as he realises that even he cannot escape the fate of Collingwood GF players.

Is it just me or are the Collingwood supporters resorting to aliases.

Yes the pain is hurting.

Ray Byrne

Pictured right:

COLLINGWOOD-172x115.jpg

Ray Byrne was recruited by Carlton in 1972 from Golden Square in Bendigo.
At Carlton he was a talented and courageous defender and well liked by teammates.
Byrne played in the losing 1973 Grand Final against Richmond. This was the first sign that Byrne was destined to be a perennial Grand Final loser.
Byrne played 81 games and 13 goals for the Blues in the years 1973 to '78.

By 1978 Carlton had struggled in finals with teams that should have done better. At this stage the Blues realised that it was actually the karma of Byrne that was the problem and Byrne was sent to Collingwood from 1979.

Carlton gained instant success from this masterstroke and played Collingwood in the Grand Final of 1979.
Byrne was in Collingwoods team against the Blues that day and destiny prevailed where Byrne and Collingwood were the perfect fit for another Grand Final loss.
Byrne went on to play in the losing 1980 and 1981 Grand Finals.
Fittingly the 1981 GF was also against the Blues who knew the game was won when Byrne lined up for the Pies.

Ray Byrne - a great bloke but a perfect fit for the Collingwood failure machine :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Definitely 1980, I remember all the Collingwood flogs went missing off the Bay that year for quite a while, was a great time to be a Richmond supporter on Bigfooty! :thumbsu:

Big footy was so much fun then.:D

The greatest Collingwood GF fail team of all time.

Let's forget prelim losses, that is so Western Bulldogsish.

Let's go to the apex, which Collingwood GF losing team suffered the greatest amount of GF losing pain.

Well the answer would haveto be the 1979 GF losing Collingwood team to Carlton.

The Collingwood team of that day was:

Coach: T Hafey ( 4 cups for Richmond and 5 GF losses and 1 draw)

Backline
Magro- 3 losses and 1 draw
MCCormack - 3 losses
Worthington - 2 losses and a draw

HB line
Byrne - 4 losses
Picken - 4 losses and a draw
Ireland -3 losses and a draw

Centre line
Barham -4 losses and a draw
K Morris - 2 wins (for Richmond) and 3 losses
Anderson -3 losses

HF line

Kink - 5 losses and a draw
Edwards - 1 loss
Brewer -2 losses

Forward line
D Shaw - 1 loss
C Davis - 4 losses
R Shaw (Captain) - 4 losses and a draw

Ruck
P Moore - 4 losses and a draw
R Ohlsen - 2 losses
R Wearmouth -3 losses and a draw

Interchange

D Banks - 1 win (for Collingwood in 1990) and 1 loss
L Carlson - 2 losses

So in total, the 20 that played for Collingwood in 1979 and the coach of collingwood played in or coached 63 losses and 9 draws and only 7 wins( only one of which was ever for Collingwood).

And to top it off one them, Ray shaw felt so great about it his two sons Rhyce and Heath joined the Woods only for the GF fail gene to be handed down to them.

Those reunions must be special.

So in total, the 20 that played for Collingwood in 1979 and the coach of collingwood played in or coached 63 losses and 9 draws and only 7 wins( only one of which was ever for Collingwood).

Some scary stats if you're a Collingwould supporter being exposed by royals1922 here.

Talk about a culture of GF fail. Sheeeeesh...
649d1254790901-2009-nlds-rockies-phillies-facepalm.gif

Some scary stats if you're a Collingwould supporter being exposed by royals1922 here.

Talk about a culture of GF fail. Sheeeeesh...
649d1254790901-2009-nlds-rockies-phillies-facepalm.gif

If Collingwood can lose 2 more GFs and bring in a few Saints players to help them lose, I reckon they can rival the GF team fail of 1979.

At present, the record of the team that lost in this years GF to Geelong is 19 wins in GF (including one for SS), 32 losses in GF and 20 draws.

Now for a side still relatively young the prospects of a record GF fail are pretty damn good.

If Collingwood can lose 2 more GFs and bring in a few Saints players to help them lose, I reckon they can rival the GF team fail of 1979.

At present, the record of the team that lost in this years GF to Geelong is 19 wins in GF (including one for SS), 32 losses in GF and 20 draws.

Now for a side still relatively young the prospects of a record GF fail are pretty damn good.

You do realise we love being hated yeh? This thread is evidence that it is very healthy at the moment ;)

One question though, are you going to start a thread soon about how good North are? Or are you just going to wait until the thread can be about how good North were when they were still around?

You do realise we love being hated yeh? This thread is evidence that it is very healthy at the moment ;)

One question though, are you going to start a thread soon about how good North are? Or are you just going to wait until the thread can be about how good North were when they were still around?

When you beat NM in a GF prattle on...

In fact, Coll should be happy beating NM in any final.

In Collingwood vs NM finals, Collingwood have one prelim and drawn one grand final and lost 2 eliminations /qualifying finals and 2 prelims and 1 GF.

It's not only in GF's that Collingwood can't beat NM.

In fact, Coll should be happy beating NM in any final.

In Collingwood vs NM finals, Collingwood have one prelim and drawn one grand final and lost 2 eliminations /qualifying finals and 2 prelims and 1 GF.

It's not only in GF's that Collingwood can't beat NM.

I'm not surprised you're so obsessed with the past, considering the lack of a future that your club has.

Nero Black here's a book that I recommend you buy to help you relieve that GF pain.

book_sm.png

And keep on thinking to yourself, all those bad things don't happen to Collingwood but wait they have and will continue to happen.

And here's number that will warm your heart.

Collingwood have drawn 2 GFs, lost 24 GFs and ALSO lost 15 prelims and ALSO lost 12 elimination/qualifying finals.

All that GF fail, all that final's fail, it's got to hurt, admit it......

Your favourite Collingwood grandfinal loss