Toast Your memories of 1996

Just found the 96 Club Yearbook.

Fact...you could have bought the team photo framed and behind glass for .....

$80.
That was $80 I was only too happy to spend.

One of the most hungover looking bunches of blokes you'll ever see. When Denis said in one of his post match interviews that the players should "hit the town for a couple of weeks", they obviously took this to heart. But then again, none of them had the guts to question the coach. The good old days ...

That was $80 I was only too happy to spend.

One of the most hungover looking bunches of blokes you'll ever see. When Denis said in one of his post match interviews that the players should "hit the town for a couple of weeks", they obviously took this to heart. But then again, none of them had the guts to question the coach. The good old days ...

These days $500 for Premiership pics post game

Was in second year of Uni up on the Gold Coast. A mate and I decided on the Monday night to catch the bus down, didn't have tickets but what the hell. Had to scramble to finish an assignment in a day because the bus was leaving on Wednesday morning, it was due Friday and I hadn't started.

On the bus Wednesday morning, we slept across the aisle, took shifts sleeping in the drivers bed until we got sprung, basically owned that Greyhound. There was a kid on the bus who said his old man was a North board member, was an arrogant little flog, so I didn't doubt it. We hung shit on this bloke from Dubbo, and when we got to Dubbo and he departed, we asked him where Macca's was and he told us a few minutes walk around the corner. We had a 30 minute stopover, the ****ing Maccas was about 15 minute walk away, he stitched us up good. Had to run all the way back to the bus terminal, lest we would be watching the Grand Final from the Western Plains Zoo.

Rolled into Melbourne around lunchtime on Thursday lunchtime. Out to the grandparents at Doncaster to drop off our gear and get out to Arden Street to watch training. Shit, everyone else beat us there, couldn't see a thing from the back. Stuff this, we didn't sit on a bus for 24 hours to look at the back of heads. Up the race we walk, straight out onto the ground and stand with the media, next to Nicole Livingstone. Best seats in her house for the final training.

Back into the city of Friday to watch the parade and try and somehow secure tickets to the game. During the parade, stood behind an old Swans supporter with silver hair and a shrill voice. Could have been that old bloke who sings the song with them. Anyway, he's wearing one of those 90's style Bomber jackets, like a satin material, bright red, and he's had Sydney Swans embroidered on the back. Pity was, it was spelled "Sidney Swans". And of course, it was our duty to point it out to him.

Unable to find tickets for the game, we ended up watching it at my grandparents, nervous as ****. Got that really bad feeling that we all got, then enter Freeborn. I'd just changed sitting positions when he arrived, and superstitious me wouldn't move for the rest of the game. I had third degree pins and needles by the final siren.

Siren goes, watch the post game presentations and straight into the Arden Street to run amok. Walk down Fogarty Street right at the team bus pulls up and opens its doors in front of us. High fives with all in Sunbury, touching the cup, what a feeling. Then some random bloke walking down the street with a carton of Melbourne Bitter gives a six pack each, what a legend. Long night with very little sleep and no voice the next morning.

Back to Arden Street the next morning, we want to get closer to the action. We notice the fire escape at the side of the old social club, and the door at the top is open. Seizing the opportunity, up we go, straight in with players and family. And open bar. Keeping our heads down, not trying to be noticed, get photos and autographs with all players. Corey trying to pull his 'injured hand' stunt to avoid it, but got him in the end. Then we see the kid from the bus, clearly he is the son of someone important, and he calls us out, knowing we shouldn't be there. We clear out and back with the heaving masses on the ground.

What a weekend, didn't get to go to the game but didn't give a shit. Couldn't wipe the smile off my face for months.

I remember the medal presentation. The AFL's hatred of NMFC was probably at its peak and a North premiership was the last thing they wanted. The medals were handed out quicker than frangas in a knock shop and the TV cut the presentation - didn't even show the lap of honour. Complete insult.

I'm pretty sure that was 99. The AFL had an illogical ( :eek: ) process of shifting the GF back about 15 minutes each year, which resulted in Channel 7's news coverage at 6pm being compromised.

The main thing I remember is an ominous roar just before Crocker's goal last in the 3rd. Almost as if everyone knew something was about to happen.

I'm pretty sure that was 99. The AFL had an illogical ( :eek: ) process of shifting the GF back about 15 minutes each year, which resulted in Channel 7's news coverage at 6pm being compromised.

The main thing I remember is an ominous roar just before Crocker's goal last in the 3rd. Almost as if everyone knew something was about to happen.

Yep it was 99.

96 Ch 7 played.....'these boots are made for walking..'....wtf

Second grand final. Over from Perth. On top level behind goals at the end we kicked to in the first term. Stood in a line behind Rob Sitch to buy merch before the game. He bought a Sydney cap!
Stressed early, started celebrating when the Fridge plucked a last quarter mark from behind a Sydney bloke, played on and goaled.
Got onto the ground at the final siren with a media pass, and am on the video, standing on the boundary line in a North Canterbury top as they do their lap.
Then into the rooms, took in an away jumper and got the signatures of every player except McKernan (got him later).
Interviewed Fairley first, and then a few other blokes, including Freeborn.
Pagan saw me getting autographs and asked if I was really a North supporter...lol
Back to Arden St after the game, but didn't get to hang around as other half wanted to leave. What was I thinking?
What a magical day. Felt like I had been waiting forever to experience a flag and it lived up to my hopes.

Yep i think i remember it! Was on a footy trip so memory pretty hazy at best. Saddled up at the Barooga sportys club with another 3 Roos supporters amongst a lot club mates going for Sydney just to piss us off i think.

The first half was a bit nervy thinking we're gunna click into gear soon, surely. The more schooners I had the less nervous I was and the louder us roo boys became. The Freeborn goals, Glenn Archer being Glenn Archer, and almost had a tear in the eye when Fairley kicked the goal! Standing up at the front of the TV singing the song to one and all at the club was as sweet as! I'd squeezed into my North jumper that i got when i was 12 i think. Wasn't a pretty sight but i didnt care!!

Celebrated hard and only left when the bouncer came up to me and asked if i could get my drunk mate to leave! 6 foot 8 and built like a brick shit house the bouncer was too chicken to try and ask himself. Went elsewhere and kept on celebrating!!

Do regret not being there but a footy trips a footy trip. Lasting memory and I garauntee I'll be live at the next one! 2017 bring it on!

96... Pre game. The big inflato Carey and Lockett things, and the Carey would not stay erect.

Couldn't believe how many pple came down from Sydney, seeing how there were only about 200 in the scg crowd when we were there earlier in the year. Strange that...

Game on. The first half hurt. Then freeborne, then crocs, then floss - the floss goal was it for me.

Not sure if it is a memory from the game or from watching the vhs but how the **** did Kelly miss that big nail in the coffin?

Best thing other than a gold cup for north was dunkley - he played a poor game and for one very short couple of hours, the footy gods smiled on north.

When opposition players get injunctions, we win flags.

What a great thread! Don't tell my wife and kids but easily the best day ever. Knew I would be nervous and that the morning would drag so volunteered to scrape mould off the walls of a spare room at my nanas. This kept me busy and got me through to the start of the seconds. At half time in that game my regular footy mate who was too sick to leave the house and I got on the bus to the city,he fell asleep on the way in which had me thinking it was a bad omen. We then went to our usual seats at maccas in Elizabeth st then onto a tram and into the ground. Met another mate and took our seats.We were in the pocket at ground level in the Olympic stand. I nearly cried during up there Cazaly because I was so excited and nervous. Actually sung which is not something I would normally do! During the 1st part of 2nd quarter my sick mate said he regretted being out of bed, I told him to pull his head in even though I remember nearly barfing as I think mooney kicked a goal? Then freeborn went nuts as did the 3 of us and when fridge kicked the goal on the run in the last I did cry a little. Afterwards Arden st for an amazing amount of singing and drinking, seem to remember a beer truck turning up real late after we ran out and a nap on the ground post 2am. Back at ground by 930 or so for another day of celebrating. A couple days later there was a presentation type thing in errol st which I left work to go to. What a time! Mostly remember thinking how part of me never thought it would happen and because it had -/@&/ you all!

The only bloke crazy enough, that he needs to be held back from fighting Plugger.

And who the hell knew what was on the horizon for these two?

Have both of these pictures signed by the respective parties. Good times.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

1996 was the first grand final that I had attended and one that ended up being very enjoyable! :rainbow: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: We got tickets after queuing up overnight at the MCG, which we were entitled to due to our membership (Pagan's Patrons). Following the game, we attended the official team dinner later on that night and also got up early the next morning to head into Arden Street for the celebrations. Great memories!

Do people remember when they showed Ross Oakley up on the big screen after the game during the medal presentations? The look on his face was one of utter disgust!!! :D:D

Also, there was a lot of red and white in the crowd so the commentators kept going on and on about the huge number of Swans supporters that were there. The fact that Coca-Cola were handing out free red and white Coke merchandise outside the ground may well have contributed to that! :rolleyes:

Thanks for all of the above.

I remember the giant inflatos. As posted, our's was doubled over. Their's was "fully erect" and proud. People were saying "it's a bad omen."

The flying start they got with a lot of help from the umpires. It was as if the Swans were on speed.;) Fortunately, whatever they were on, wore off just before half time.

Kingy taking out O'Brien sliding in boots first. Loved Kingy back then. Now he's a media flog (unlike scottywiper).

Carey running Dunkley all over the forward line, taking him out of his comfort zone close to goal. Doing the little things for the team - a forerunner of some of Drew's performances this year.

Freeborn's 5 minutes of fame and glory. Kelly's BIG miss. Stuart Anderson - could play. Pagan going berserk in the box about the blokes who were supposed to be making Paul Roos accountable (Crocker, Sholl, maybe Roberts).

The joy when Floss went forward and with his last kick, kicked a goal. He was a very good forward when he came over to us from Willy.

In those days there were three games on at the MCG, beginning around 8.30. It's a long time ago but I think we may have won something else that day, besides the Gold Cup.

Went to the Parade on the Friday. It was OK. My main memory was walking behind Roo Ruckle post-parade when he got into his parked car in Spring Street. I was in counselling for months (for shock) at seeing him remove his Roo head so he could drive off still wearing the rest of his suit. I didn't expect Roo Ruckle to be driving a car.

I remember the medal presentation. The AFL's hatred of NMFC was probably at its peak and a North premiership was the last thing they wanted. The medals were handed out quicker than frangas in a knock shop and the TV cut the presentation - didn't even show the lap of honour. Complete insult. I wrote to the AFL and Seven and complained. The AFL CEO replied with a hand written note on my letter saying he did not respond to conspiracy theories. I wrote back and told him it wasn't a theory - it was fact. I then got a letter explaining it was all rushed and cut short to meet TV timelines and would not happen like that again. I wrote to Seven telling them how they had insulted us and they replied saying they were working to the timing directions of the AFL. I gave up then. We had the gold cup, the AFL was pissed and I was happy.

Did the AFL CEO appreciate the ironing of refusing to respond to a conspiracy theory by responding to a conspiracy theory?

Straight after beating Brisbane headed to Highpoint and was second in line for tickets. The guy who was first in line was a cocky Essendon supporter who couldn't stop telling me how they'd beat us in the GF. After Lockett kicked that famous point, he got up and smashed his portable TV and it broke into many pieces. Loved it, was then first in line.
Got great seats front row level 2 on wing in the old Northern Stand.
Loved the match especially at the end when they played we are the champions!
I was 19 at the time, the 90's was a great era for me.

Just found the 96 Club Yearbook.

Fact...you could have bought the team photo framed and behind glass for .....

$80.

After the 99 GF I bought a bottle of limited edition Premiership Port, think it cost $20 and an extra $20 for it to be signed by the King.

Toast Your memories of 1996