Your path to being a modern Lions fan...

(Amazing how few stories start with 'well our family were fans'. Goes to show how we start behind the bigger clubs.)

WA born and bred. Supported Swan Districts in the WAFL but watched The Winners VFL wrap each Sunday and pretty much liked whoever was usually winning (I was around 6 or 7). I only really remember liking North Melbourne when the Krakouer brothers were running amok - and that was for a year or two.

Around then the ABC started screening a weekly NBA game replay (hosted by Don Lane), and between that and the NBL I lost interest in (then) VFL for a while. The Eagles arrived and saw success and my Dad jumped on board, but while I watched and sympathised I never really cared (despite pretty much growing up with Phil Matera and catching up with him periodically during his Eagles tenure).

I can't recall the exact year (93 or 94) but the Dockers were announced. My Dad was pretty gung-ho, and he was saying that no longer could people 'just want the best for both teams (Dockers and Eagles)'. You were either one or the other. Ever the fan of the road less travelled, I remember watching the burgeoning career of a young bull named M. Voss, who played for the struggling Brisbane Bears. I informed my Dad that rather than be a Docker or Eagle I would choose Option BBFC: AKA None of the above.

Even then my loyalty wasn't 'cemented', and being in WA I only got to watch a Bears game every now and then, which didn't even bother me much at the time. This changed when is started working and office banter turned a little more passionate. I made a $100 bet with my boss - a Sydney Swans fan - that the Bears would win the flag before the Swans. I was about 20, he was about 40, and he thought he had sucked me in and taunted me every chance he got. When we 'won' the spoon in 1998 he and the rest of the office bought me a birthday card with a voucher for a free 'out' as a Bears fan with the chance to start anew with either the Dockers or Eagles without fear of being labelled a 'bandwagon jumper'. (Pretty creative idea in retrospect)

Not happening. I signed up as a Lions member for the first time ahead of the 1999 season, keeping the little plastic membership card on my desk for all to see, and have been a member ever year since.

Since then I have crossed the country every year to see the Lions play in 4 states (so far). I've attended amazing wins; the first Heritage round match vs the Pies at the MCG! the POLKINGHORNE torp vs the Eagles, Leigh Matthews going nuts on Subi after we won as $13 underdogs. I've attended a one point loss, a one point win, Browny win the game in the last minute, two draws, two 15+ goal floggings and scads of others. I've seen Milne kick 11 against us, Medhurst 9 and the Eagles almost laugh us off the park we were so uncompetitive.

I've seen players at their breathtaking peak, potential talents squandered, nice guys finishing both last (Todd Banfield's career RIP) and first (Shaun Hart), and the exhilaration that comes every year when a young bloke shows a spark (Rischitelli's first two tackles v Adelaide).

I have held up banners, been in the rooms for warm-ups (always awesome) had beers with players active and retired, sponsored 6 players (so far), my son has been onfield mascot on each side of the country (and was a member before he was born - we knew the date he was to be induced and sent the app in).

All because of a friendly ultimatum and a dumb office bet (that I never collected on as the guy transferred well before we won the flags).

What we are going through at the minute is nothing - very reminiscent of 1998 actually. Longevity and loyalty aren't the answer to everything, but without them we have nothing.

Sorry for the ramble. For well over a decade I tell clients who ask about my Premiership Cup replicas and signed Leuey sponsor photo on the wall and ask 'Why Lions?' the same thing; "It's a long story but essentially it was to shit my Dad."

You guys got the long story...

Sport fubking rules.

There's something about being the underdog and struggling to make your way back up the ladder that appeals to me. It'd be great to win almost every weekend but being in the position we are now is not so horrendously bad that it takes away from the entertainment and enjoyment of the game. The only time I will be upset is if our team doesn't show commitment and a 'fighting spirit' (the game that comes to mind was round 1 last year).

Trouble is and I can't blame them, a lot of people find it entertaining to see their team win and that keeps them coming back. In tough economic times if the money you spend on entertainment can't get you a bang for your buck then for a lot of people its simply not worth it. I think sometimes we have a warped view on this forum of the average lions supporter.

As someone who at the time didn't know many Victorians and had two overseas-born parents, I never knew the game even existed before 2001. I started watching some games in 2003 on TV, liked what I saw and chose the Lions because they were my local team (Being born in Brisbane I would've supported the Lions anyway even if the Suns were around). It does the AFL a world of good having the local team on FTA.

We may have been successful when I started out but I missed the most of the good years and I'm still here after all the bad. I didn't get my own membership until 2011 because before then my parents wouldn't let me go to games without them so I could only go to games when I could convince my dad to come along (well I did convince my dad to get a 3 game membership in 2009 but that was under my mum's name). Did get to go to some memorable games before being a member, such as the 80 point drubbing of St Kilda in that QF, Aker's two goals v Geelong (was right behind the goals that day, got sick afterwards but it was worth it), Browny kicking 10 goals v Carlton, beating the scum by 2 points in 2008 after being 3 goals down, Vossy's first game as coach and that Semi v Carlton. Then some memorable games after being a member, such as that win over the Eagles and those comebacks against the Crows and Cats. Went on my first Lions trip outside Queensland this year and got to see us win in another country and then an unforgettable post match function, will make the trip down for our game against the scum later this year so hoping for more good memories there.

At least looking at my join year no-one can accuse me of bandwagoning seeing everyone knew we would finish near the bottom that year.

Really looking forward to my first season as a Silver member and a member of our team in our proper jumper next year (plus getting a 15% discount instead of just 10%, but hopefully this time next year I have a good job with my uni degree and therefore can drop my cheap-skateish tendencies).

I never knew the game even existed before 2001.

Really looking forward to my first season as a Silver member and a member of our team in our proper jumper next year (plus getting a 15% discount instead of just 10%, but hopefully this time next year I have a good job with my uni degree and therefore can drop my cheap-skateish tendencies).

I wonder before the premiership years how many people up here barely knew what AFL was.

2011 membership krew checking in. Silver members next year represent!

Grew up in country SA - if you didn't play footy you were a **** - be4 the AFL. Used to get black & white VFL replays on Sunday arvo & always had a soft spot for Fitzroy. No emotional attachment to the SA clubs - was in the Territory then. Moved to Brissie in 1992 & went to Carrara for a few Bears games, just 4 the footy fix.

Then the Bears mover to the Gabba & got a real footy jumper. Started following the Bears, & when they said with out members we will fold I joined. 95 IIRC.
Have missed 2 or 3 years, but basically have been a member since.

Gotta say, was deadset agin when we merged with the 'Roys, but have come the full circle & now love our heritage, & Victorian in-laws.

My parents moved to country Victoria from MElbourne when i was young, Bears came in when I was 4. Randomly picked them much to the disgust of my mainly COllingwood family.
Moved back to Melbourne in 1988. My Mum usually took me to Bears Melbourne games while Dad went to Collingwood. First game I went to was v Footscray at the Western Oval in 1988, lost by 10 goals. Went with my Dad to Vic Park that season and got spat at by a COllingwood supporter ( I was 5!!) causing my Dad to go berserk at said 'supporter.'
Pretty much went to every Melbourne game between about 1989 and 1996 (as part of the cheersquad for some of that time), including watching nothing but losses between 89 and 92 (both wins were incidentally against Fitzroy, including a16 year old Voss playing in the 92 game at PRinces Park.)
Was at the 91 reserves premiership at Waverley, got all the jumpers going back to 88 (Mike Richardon no 8, David Bain 22 and Adrian Fletcher 6) and a heap of signed footies, shirts etc from all the old great Bears.
Obviously stuck right through the premiership years, I don't know if every kid felt this, but I was always certain when the BEars were copping some smashings that the payoff for that would one day arrive. Which it did.
Since 2003, have not been to the footy as much. Still watch every game on TV and support just as passionately but the game day 'experience' at the AFL does not really do it for me so much anymore.

Like a few, i grew up following the NRL and the Broncos. My Dad is a Tassie boy so grew up with AFL and played for Sandgate after moving up here. I still remember being dragged to his games to watch him play this sport i had no interest in. I was pretty young back then, maybe 5 or so. I still remember the smell of the deep heat from the change rooms before and after games. Only part of the game i liked was that i got a packet of salt and vinegar chips and a pot of coke in the club house to keep me occupied while Dad played. I also remember getting dragged to a bears game at cararra once, but i only remember being interested in the rides they had going behind the stands.

All throughout school, AFL never got a mention. In high school we did have one guy who was pretty good, and i think played in a few rep teams, but the school still barely fielded and AFL team. For the record i finished high school in 2000, so still pre-premiership years. Dad had a couple of memberships for the Lions by 2001, think he joined as a member about 99. I went to 1 or 2 games in 2000, when dad ended up with a spare ticket and i had nothing better to do. I remember i was ten pin bowling for the 2001 grand final, still having 0 interest in the sport and that the Lions were playing in the GF. I think by this time my step mum had got sick of dad yelling at the footy when they went together, so from 2002 onwards i went to games more often, maybe 4 or 5 during 02. I had a slight interest in the sport by then, and remember watching the GF at dad's house.

By the end of the 2003 season i was really enjoying going to games. The atmosphere and view of the game was great, i loved the 360 degree aspect compared to NRL. Somewhere late in 2003 i went to a Broncos game, first time in several years. Whilst i was still very much a Broncs fan and NRL supporter, it was mainly on tv. I remember going to that game and being completely underwhelmed and bored, the atmosphere was flat and we were on the way home before i knew it. I had now become accustomed to the length of AFL and actually going out to the footy, having a drink and making a night of it. It was then i knew that AFL had become my sport of choice. I was completely converted by the time the finals came around, and enjoying the 2003 GF. I think it was the 2004 season which i totally took over Dad's other membership and went to every game. From about 2006 i've had my own membership and the Broncs along with NRL was a distant memory. Whilst the majority of my time following the Lions has been in lean years, i do feel lucky that i got in just in time to remember the great players we had during that period. Whilst i didn't get to fully experience and appreciate the build up and emotional high of the grand finals, i count myself lucky i got a taste. Whilst a grew up with (1/2) an AFL family, and it was a part of my childhood, it was something i didn't like at the time, and i regret that to this day. I've never played a full proper game of AFL footy and wonder how different life might be had i got onto AFL younger and played it as a kid.

However, i am still thankful that i got on when i did. It was because of following the Lions that i met my wife. A random email via myspace (that's what we had before facebook for all you young ones) from this girl asking if i knew someone that went to my high school. She was trying to get in contact with someone who went to my school, thought it might have been my year level and asked a stranger a random question. I responded and said no i didn't know of them, however i noticed that she was a avid Lions fan. Having no one in my life outside of my dad follow footy, i was happy to talk footy with someone else. We kept talking from there until we wound up where we are now, married and a daughter together. If not for following the Lions we never would have met, so we both feel like the footy club plays a big part in our lives now.

Fantastic thread.
We are never so eloquent as when we are detailing our history with this club.

The memories, the legends, the pathos. It really is moving, eclectic and wonderfully whimsical. I love the fact that our winters turn variously upon, who we knew, or where we lived, or pissing off our family, or wanting to be different or wanting to fit in. These sliding door decisions that dictate our passions for the rest of our lives.

This, more than anything else, more than sponsors or peptides, or springfield or retention allowances, this is football.

Grew up in Melbourne. Was the only kid in Kindergarten who didn't follow a team. Had no idea what kids meant when they said 'Who do you go for?'. Parents didn't like footy, but they told me to just pick a team to fit in. Chose the Brisbane Lions (No idea why, colours maybe? All my relatives lived in Queensland at the time? Absolutely no idea why). Went along to Auskick. Sucked. But I liked the game. Apparently Brisbane had just started going very well (2001, or maybe it was 2000 or 2002). Yay Go Brisbane. Started getting very into AFL in 2005, started playing proper games of footy instead of Auskick with a move to Canberra. Here I am today.

I am a Queenslander born and bred. Rugby League was the football of choice among my sports mad family and friends, although due to a variety of reasons including being involved in Athletics, I wasn't allowed to play. I did get to play a few games of 9 a side AFL at school and really enjoyed it. I continued to support the Broncos fairly closely into my late teens but kept a casual interest in the newly formed Brisbane Lions.

Once I left school and headed out into the real world I was desperate to play more team sport. After a season of playing soccer a workmate invited me down to play AFL at Redlands and I didn't look back. My casual interest in the Lions soon became my number one sporting passion and I started to attend games regularly. It certainly helped that the Lions were winding up towards their three peat.

Now although I still take an interest in the Broncos and go crazy for The Mighty Queensland Maroons, I am first and foremost a Lions / AFL fan. Financial and family health issues don't allow me to be a full member at the moment, but Im sure I will be in the future.

This is essentially the blue print thread as to why the Brisbane Lions will also be the most unique club in sport, let alone the AFL, and something that thus should be embraced with pride.

Let's face it - the likelihood of a merger within the the AFL, featuring a foundation club of smaller support base, which batted above its average for a large portion of its existence, and a young club in an AFL frontier zone, is very minimal. (those thinking North and GC as potential merger partners in the future should think again - North weren't a foundation AFL club and QLD is not the complete AFL-free frontier it was in 1987).

We are a unique club. And the stories on here prove it. We should be proud of our heritage mix, and it makes the club what it is. What a mixtape of reasons to follow the Lions.

What a great read - I've enjoyed them all.

Gwah
giphy.gif

But enough about you lot......

I was born a Roy. It only dated back one generation - my grandparents owned a Milk Bar in Brunswick in the 50s and weren't into Footy at all. My Dad was taken to the Brunswick St ground to a game as a kid by some neighbours, and became hooked on the Roys. Keeping in mind this was a era of limited success (a brief finals foray in the early 60s, followed by very lean years), I'm forever indebted to my Dad for keeping the faith in the Roy Maroon and Blue - its delivered to me much heartache, and conversely much pride and happiness.

My Dad converted my Mum from Carlton to the Roys. She wasn't a footy addict, so went along for the ride, and has stuck with the Lions.

I went to my first game as a 3-4 yr old in about 76. At the Junction. What a great place. A family place. Lean years - I went to a number of games before I saw the Roys win live, and after the final siren and the stand was rocking with joy, I asked my parents "so what happens now?".

The great thing about the Roys in particular at that time was that EVERY win was savoured. I don't think people get that from footy now. We're comfortable with losing, because the lower we finish, the better the draft pick. Back then, every win was awesome. Finals wins were pure joy. We were not used to winning Finals like the "big" clubs. In addition - not everyone barracked for us. While a lot of people looked on at the Roys as their second team, everyone wondered why the hell you followed them.

The Junction was an asoundingly good place to be a kid following the Roys. Kids playing kick to kick with other kids on the ground before the Ressies and after the Seniors. Sneaking into the change roooms to hear the song. Families seemed to look after others families there. I often refer to the Junction Oval as the place where I grew up.

The 90s meant weekend work as a teenager, and so I was less affiliated in terms of going to games. The last win I saw was actually in 93 over the Pies.

The last year was gut wrenchingly horrible. It was like losing family.

Faced with the choice in 97.... no AFL, support a Melbourne club, or have a look at what the mob up north were doing.....

I watched a pre-season game at the old Waverley in 1997, and "We" lost. I realised I'd said we. I couldn't barrack for any other mob from Victoria, and I'm a sports fan and believe that Aussie Rules is the great game so wasn't willing to let it go. So I followed the colours, the song and a handful of players over. I guess in my own way it was the continued faith in Maroon and Blue that my Father had shown as a kid. It was going to be tough barracking for an interstate team and certainly not fashionable, but to me the way of keeping the Roys alive in some way at the elite level, was to barrack for the Brisbane Lions.

The heartache was the end of 96. And 98. The pride and happiness was 2001, 2002 and 2003. And smatterings of bits of both since.

In hindsight, I also had an affinity for what the Bears were trying to do in the lead up to the merger. They were always on the telly on the weekend, I can't say I hated them at all like the pasionate hate for some of the other Vic Clubs that we have down here. BUT it was certainly an US against THEM attitude that the Bears had to have (them being League followers, or more specifically, anti Aussie Rules followers up north) in order to survive. There was an element of familiarity about that. The little guys batting above their average, having a crack and getting somewhere.

I'm still satisfied with the decision, even though the club has tested my nerves a few times - mostly at Board level involving the jumper.

I'm very proud to support the Brisbane Lions.

Actually footy never really rated a mention in our house, and if it did it was usually a passing reference to the league... all my mates were league mad and to be honest it bored sh*t out of me. But as the Broncos success came along you sort of begrudgingly followed along... although growing up in Central Queensland meant we didnt have to be welded to any one team as much. Then the ARL/Superleague thing drove the remaining little interest I had from me and footy fell completly off the radar.

Until one wet Saturday afternoon in '97 I turned the tv on and there were the Lions - getting well and truly flogged as was the norm it seemed back then. I sat there watching that game thinking what the hell is this?? The rules seemed non existent and the game itself was a complete mystery. I didnt know a mark from a handball and it honestly made no sense to someone who knew footy as league. But the one thing it had was speed.

Over the next few days I asked the people I worked with, the people I bought lunch from, my clients and friends... no one had a clue about the game. And no one actually wanted to know. So me being me that made me more determined to figure the stupid thing out myself. Seriously, it felt like curing cancer with no one around who knew how it was played. Marks had me baffled the most... the umpiring inconsistencies were as bad then as they are now.

I forced myself to watch and learn every time Brisbane played. By the end of 97 we had sacked Northey and I was convinced Merrett was our saviour. Imagine my dismay when some bloke called Leigh Matthews was to be coach. Who the hell was he??

Then, in July '99, we were in Brisbane for the V8 Supercars at Ipswich of which I had purchased life membership (thats another story) and I was with a group of friends that I literally forced, dragged and coerced into going to a Saturday night game - it was Rnd 15 against Hawthorn. At half time I was wondering what I had done. It was a god awful game, Hawthorn were flogging us, the boys hated it, the food sucked, the beer was expensive, and it was bloody freezing. Worse still was that we were sitting so far up in the grandstand we were all joking about it being row www.faraway.com. I was truly sorry I had used all my favours up to get them there. I was at least interested in the Lions, but they hated it.

Then in the third quarter we kicked 9.4. The crowd was unbelievable. I still get goosebumps thinking about it. 4 complete AFL novices went from hating it to standing up and screaming our lungs out in 30 minutes.

I was sold.

Anything that could get you so hyped up and suck you in so quickly had to be good. I was in awe of Stevie Lawrence (I never thought I'd admit that) but what a maniac. He didnt care if he broke limbs he was just hell for leather. Some other guy Voss seemed ok too but he was no Stevie!!

Slowly I found others who had a passing interest in the game... and more and more of my clients kept asking about it as I kept sneaking off for the games over the next few years. Soon I was the "expert" (god help them) explaining the rules to people. By 2001 when we started looking ok for the finals, people were coming out of the woodwork wanting to know things.

In 2001 4 of us (2 Lions supporters and 2 Bombers) sold our souls for grand final tickets. It was my first trip to Melbourne, and I just couldn't get over how AFL mad the place was. We went to the parade and I had on a members shirt and random people just stopped me in the street, in shops and shopping centers to wish us luck. Complete and utter strangers who typically supported other teams but thought it would be great for us to win. I was dumfounded. Why would anyone be that interested to stop you??

It was to be a bloody awesome trip. We saw some of the Lions at the Casino the Friday night wandering around, and at quarter time on Grand Final day I was dragged out onto the ground in front of 95000 people and interviewed on the big screens as a Lions supporter. I was so bloody nervous it was ridiculous. I still have photos the boys took of that. We had pub crawled our way to the game stopping for a drink at every one since we left the city and the bladder really wasn't prepared for an interview!!!

Of course we won and I remember standing there singing the song so much after the game even I was sick of it.

Made it to the 2002 and 2004 granny's as well... but those are other stories.

Now, my brother is as mad about the Lions as I am, and my parents who disliked footy really, now watch the boys too. My partner does, my friends do. They really don't have much choice.

Its the strategy, the coaching, the dynamics, the atmosphere and the history that sucks you into AFL. But its the loyalty, the tradition and the future that makes you a Lions fan.

Sorry for the novel... but geez this has brought back memories. What an awesome thread!!!

I think the Super League/ARL stuff put a lot of people off of Rugby League. Amazing that the Broncos still came out the other side smelling like roses.

Responsible for the demise of the Crushers also...

Great thread with interesting insights into everyone's background.

My old man grew up in North Fitzroy when he first came to Australia, so he'd walk to Brunswick Street oval and watch the Roys. I guess my fate was sealed. Grew up in Bulleen in Melbourne which was a Fitzroy zone, so played fitzroy little league and had the players coming to my primary school to do clinics.

My first game was at Junction Oval early in 1981. We smashed South Melbourne. All the stars were there, Conlan kicked 4, Rendell 7 and Quinlan 5. There was a strong local connection with the Fitzroy players, Osbourne and Roos grew up down the road and my old man used to fix Gary Wilson's car, so we'd always have plenty of signed footys and posters.

I missed much of the mid nineties, distracted in my early twenties. I was overseas when Fitzroy ended missing most of their last few years. I was broken for a few years, but was never going to follow anyone other than the Brisbane lions. Growing up with utter contempt for the other Melbourne clubs it was a natural progression to keep following the lions. Plus there was also the Lynchy connection. Was there when he played his first game, remember when he took mark of the year and remember plugger throwing him into the fence at Moorabin because he held him goalless. And then Brown came along. And I fell in love with football again. It was pure delight to watch them in the early 2000s smash teams like Richmond, Essendon and of course Collingwood.

Whilst I can look back to when I was a kid with nostalgia. It's the more recent memories and players from the premiership era that have tied me to the lions. The one player in particular who embodies everything I love about footy and the lions is Simon Black. Heart and soul Brisbane Lions through and through.

Living in Melbourne it's been harder to get to many games. But in the next few seasons I intend it get out of the armchair as the three young lion supporters at home are starting to take an interest. Have a feeling that their intro into the game is going to coincide with a few exciting years ahead.

:thumbsu:Reckon these should be sent to our boys.
Just to let them know there are people who stick by them through thick and thin.
Have enjoyed the reads.
I am an old Bears/Lions fan .Think some of us have told our stories a long time ago.
Keep them coming .:hearts:

Responsible for the demise of the Crushers also...
Ahh the poor old Crushers. I though of them as I wrote that. I was in the process of switching what remained of my League allegiance to them. Never saw them play though.

Born in England to a soccer mad father, as soon as I could stand I was on the terraces . I spent the next few years following Halifax Town around the country, and all of that time they were languishing in the lower leagues. So I suppose, I am well equipped to cope with a team that loses more than the occasional game. I have witnessed many a seat being tossed through a train window, I have traveled on buses with no windows because they were broken by opposition supporters, I have seen cars overturned and shop windows smashed.

After moving to Australia at age 12 I played and supported the Brisbane Lions, who at the time were playing in the Phillips soccer league. I met my Partner in 1982, she is from Tasmania and was a mad Carlton fan, this was my introduction to the then VFL. I soon became hooked, and couldn't believe it when it was announced that Brisbane and Perth were to have their own teams. I will never forget the first game against North Melbourne, a win by 33 I think with a thrown together team made up mostly from other teams discards. From that day on I can safely say I have hardly missed a game, either on TV, at Carrara or the Gabba. I have missed or left many a party or function early because of the footy.
S**t happens

Your path to being a modern Lions fan...