YVMDFL 1991-2011 Best Team of 20 years

Great topic Timmy.
Upwey update for you. Mark Davis finished in 1992 after 3 flags 3 B+F and a Rup in 4 years. Dave Noble and Mick (butch) Noble played in 93 and 94. Dave 2 flags as coach 2 B+F's and 2 BOG's in the GF - Not a bad player at all (super star). Rob Daly 1987+1997and 1998 (120+ goals in 97).
Rohan Atherton - best big game player I have seen at Upwey - 4 flags in the best each one average goals per GF 4 as a ruck rover.

All players memtioned a well up there for sure and would be worthy. Monbulk a great group during that period and all great blokes to boot.

Brotja - as good a back pocket as anyone over the last 6 or so years - very creative, Ricky Clarke only being in the comp for 3 years so I guess misses out. Wraggy always dangerous and underrated

SG, actually had Brotja (The Wizz) in my initial Upwey list, would be happy to have him in my final list as well. Kids walked into a very good side and never missed a beat from the word go.

Will try and have a final list in the next day or so, then will try and have a side in position by this time next week. Should be fun !!!

More names from wandin

Andy coppens / ben Eales

From warby

Walkers / Newing

Looking at the criteria, your team should have a few from Upwey/Monbulk/silvan/wandin/Woori if flags mean anything

More names from wandin

Andy coppens / ben Eales

From warby

Walkers / Newing

Looking at the criteria, your team should have a few from Upwey/Monbulk/silvan/wandin/Woori if flags mean anything
Cant believe no one has mentioned Dallas Spencer,clearly would be in the top 3 defenders

Caggs - understand your initial response. I have 6 guys in from your mob, as much as I wanted to have for 1 club. Means two things, Monny has been shown some real loyalty by a number of stars over a long time, and secondly, its not underating Shan and Timmy, its just how highly I regard the 6 I've listed in front of them.
Oh, and I'm Team Manager !!!

Been thinking bout this one - only 6 is bloody difficult - Hard Call but OUT: I Kidgell, IN: T Wragg. Tims sheer brillance over a longer time & versatility (fwd & bk) gets him over the line.

Nomination Coach: Peter Gittos - changed our club from a bottom feeding cellar dweller in divi 1 to a powerhouse.

If your the TM Im happy to carry the water to this great mob of players.

I will have a crack cant be sure on duration of a few blokes like ODwyer Seville gun and the Nobles both guns so Ive gone for the long termers.

BP - Spencer ( Woori) Quick and strong played on all the guns

FB - Mick Hughson ( Mon) has there been a better spoiler

BP - Chris Howarth ( Mon ) great contested grab and run

HB - Danny Hyndman ( Woor ) the quarter back

CHB - Andy Goodwin (Wan YG ) no explanation req

HB - Jason DeGraff (WM Powell) best big game player youll find

Wing - Adam Newing ( WM Sivan ) all class

Center - Mark Sandilands ( UT ) best clearance player

Wing - Chris Hughson ( Mon ) run and carry was as damaging as youll see

HF - Andrew Shipp (Gem ) almost unstopable on his day

CHF - Don Kitto ( Wan ) big unit big left foot

HF - Danny Ryan ( Woori ) anyone who saw last years GF will understand

FP - Tim Scott ( Olinda ) Play anywhere great grab

FF - Vinnie M ( WM Mon UT) Would be suprised if anyones kicked as many goals

FP - Willoughby ( Olinda ) as skilled and elusive as youll see

Ruck - Ben Aulich ( WY YJ ) no one got near him at his best

RR - Tony Bateman (YG ) would have got over 200 SC points weekly for contested ball

Rover - Mathew Stolly ( WY Heal ) roving at its best

Bench - Craig Clark ( Gem ) dominated the ruck now for years

Bench - Tim Wragg ( Mon ) play either end just as well

Bench - Paul Marshall ( UT Sth Belg ) freak show nothing he couldnt do

Coach- Bumble Woods ( WM ) got us from last to first and theres no one as competive as him

Ass - Mick Scott ( Olinda ) bring his gear in case

Clearly missing heaps Young ( Heal ) King ( Wan )Quiligan Emerg

Geez Humpa, fair outfit, put some pressure on me to come up with a better team. Love the call on Bateman and sooo true. Also loved the call on Aulich; in his prime through the 90s, he was unstoppable.

Will try and get my final list to choose from up later tonight !!

Nice work...

So here's my final list, there'll be blokes who I've missed/left out, its ok though because you don't win anything, and we're not playing anyone !! Remember, 6 from each club is the absolute maximum.

Gembrook - C.Clark, A.Shipp, M.O'Neill, S.Black, C.Cox.
Healesville - D.Collins, A.Peters, E.Louw, M.Stolarcyk, C.Young, L.Barclay.
Monbulk - J.Hellema, M & C.Hughson, V.Dunstan, J.Fraser, T.Wragg.
Mt.Evelyn - C.Haworth, B.Farrugia, J.Dalton.
Olinda - M.Scott, S.Tregoning, A.Greenall, S.Willoughby, S.Rose.
Seville - A.Goldsmith, J.O'Dwyer, P.Quilligan.
Silvan - G.Moorcroft.
Upwey - M.Sandilands, C.Hayes, T.Hedge, R.Atherton, Brotja.
Wandin - L.Brown, A.Goodwin, D.Kitto, D.King, M.Peterson.
Warburton - M.Walker, J.DeGraaf, Barry & Brendan Woods, V.Muccitelli.
Woori - D.Monkhorst, D.Ryan, B.Aulich, D.Spencer, P.Sharp, D.Hyndman.
Belgrave - P.Ferguson, P.Marshall.
Sth Belgrave - D.Apps
Yarra Glen - T.Bateman

Will pick 22 players, so 4 on the bench, but thought I might also select a "Super Sub". Will select players as best I can in position, which means there may end up being 1 or 2 glaring omissions. I'm not going to pick a player in the Back Pocket, when he's played in the middle his whole career, even though he might be better than the 2 blokes I've listed in the Back Pocket (for example) I may choose however to pick a player onthe next line ie: a typical back flanker could be picked on a wing. Will choose a Captain, Coach and an Assistant.

Coaches will be selected from the following list -

Damian Monkhorst, Peter Gittos, Brett Fisher, Chris Hughson.

Was just flicking through quickly, gee there's some tough one's already. Look at the Ruck for starters, how do you split Monkey, Clarkey, Hedgey, Aulich and Fergy. You could have Gooders and M.Hughey in their as well !!!

Stay tuned, should be fun !

So here's my final list, there'll be blokes who I've missed/left out, its ok though because you don't win anything, and we're not playing anyone !! Remember, 6 from each club is the absolute maximum.

Gembrook - C.Clark, A.Shipp, M.O'Neill, S.Black, C.Cox.
Healesville - D.Collins, A.Peters, E.Louw, M.Stolarcyk, C.Young, L.Barclay.
Monbulk - J.Hellema, M & C.Hughson, V.Dunstan, J.Fraser, T.Wragg.
Mt.Evelyn - C.Haworth, B.Farrugia, J.Dalton.
Olinda - M.Scott, S.Tregoning, A.Greenall, S.Willoughby, S.Rose.
Seville - A.Goldsmith, J.O'Dwyer, P.Quilligan.
Silvan - G.Moorcroft.
Upwey - M.Sandilands, C.Hayes, T.Hedge, R.Atherton, Brotja.
Wandin - L.Brown, A.Goodwin, D.Kitto, D.King, M.Peterson.
Warburton - M.Walker, J.DeGraaf, Barry & Brendan Woods, V.Muccitelli.
Woori - D.Monkhorst, D.Ryan, B.Aulich, D.Spencer, P.Sharp, D.Hyndman.
Belgrave - P.Ferguson, P.Marshall.
Sth Belgrave - D.Apps
Yarra Glen - T.Bateman

Will pick 22 players, so 4 on the bench, but thought I might also select a "Super Sub". Will select players as best I can in position, which means there may end up being 1 or 2 glaring omissions. I'm not going to pick a player in the Back Pocket, when he's played in the middle his whole career, even though he might be better than the 2 blokes I've listed in the Back Pocket (for example) I may choose however to pick a player onthe next line ie: a typical back flanker could be picked on a wing. Will choose a Captain, Coach and an Assistant.

Coaches will be selected from the following list -

Damian Monkhorst, Peter Gittos, Brett Fisher, Chris Hughson.

Was just flicking through quickly, gee there's some tough one's already. Look at the Ruck for starters, how do you split Monkey, Clarkey, Hedgey, Aulich and Fergy. You could have Gooders and M.Hughey in their as well !!!

Stay tuned, should be fun !

absolutely loved pee wee was and is my all time favourite player in the valley and a ripping bloke

Have 99% completed my side, bloody hard work. Keeping me awake at night !!! Will have it up in the next 1-2 days. Each player with a few lines about them !!! Tick Tick Tick

So here we go, my best team 1991-2011. Apologies at the end to 6-7 guns, sorry but not enough spaces. As I said the other day, I've selected 23. Four on the bench and a sub. Also listed a Coach, Assistant Coach and a skipper. Looking forward to everyone's opinion. Don't forget, this is just my opinion. Enjoy !

BP - Dallas Spencer (WY) - without doubt, in the best 2-3 defenders of the last 20 years. Defensively brilliant, strong body and spoiler, and an absolute searing kick of the footy. In my 1st 3-4 selected (2 flags)

FB - Josh Hellema (MBK) - absolute freak defender with the longest arms imagineable. Couldn't put him off his game, absolutely focused for 100 minutes. Probably the best spoiler I've seen (along with the CHB) (2 flags)

BP - Vinny Dunstan (MBK) - in recent years has been in defence, but in his prime was an absolute crack midfielder. Brilliant body work on the ground, very creative and terrific voice. Four B&Fs (and a YV), all in premiership years.

HBF - Scott Tregoning (OFC) - for me, the perfect HBF. Strong in the air, explosive running through the lines, and gains 70-80mtrs almost every running kick. Dual Premiership player and Dual League B&F.

CHB - Mick Hughson (MBK) - probably the easiest position for me to choose. As with Hellema, absolutely brilliant spoiler and one on one player. Runs and creates as well as any defender. Four flags and a few B&Fs, awesome.

HBF - Danny Ryan (WY) - as good as we've seen in this period. Dual Premiership Captain, I'league Capt, YV B&F, Norm Smith in 2010, do I need to keep writing ? Supremely skilled, brilliant vision, hard as nails.

W - Barry Woods (WM) - would like to have gotten Butch onto the ball, but could play Wing no problems. Extremely fit, strong, skilled and tough. Was a really good inside player, but also pure class on the end of it (2 Flags)

C - Jason DeGraaf (WM/PWTN)- who better to run the show ? Absolutely flawless kicking, won contested ball as well as finding space. Loved to niggle and upset a few. Couple of flags and a League B&F; genuine gun !

W - Chris Haworth (MtE) - extremely underated player. Terrific HBF or on the Wing. Deceptively strong in the air, creative and hard running forward with penetrating kick. No flags with the Mounters yet, not his fault though !

HFF - Andrew Shipp (GBK) - freak goalkicker who is capable of just about anything. Genuine matchwinner with extremely good goal sense, and makes the most of any chances. 1 Flag with maybe another one coming ??

CHF - Andy Goodwin (WDN) - when the big man came back to the YV, he spent the 1st few years at CHF and just smashed anyone in his way. Pivotal in the Wandin 2001/02 Premierships. Also a Dual League B&F (pre 1991 though) Come follow me was his attitude. Also said he would drive the bus as he doesn't drink !

HFF - Chris Hughson (MBK) - pretty hard to fault this bloke. Supremely fit, skilled and super hard at the contest. Set a terrific example on the field and off. I think has 5 flags (2 as coach 2005/06) Another absolute gun !

FP - Jason Fraser (MBK) - a similar type to Shipp, incredible goal sense and really strong in the air. Kicked mega goals in the late 90s, and became a quality defender in later years. Also has 4 danglers around his neck !

FF - Vinnie Muccitelli (UT/MBK/WM) - thought long and hard about this, but I guess FF's about getting the job done. This bloke did it as well as anyone. Terrific mark, read the play well and kicked beautifully. Think he played in 2 flags.

FP - Gary Moorcoft (SIL) - best kick for goal I've seen, best mark out in front I've seen, etc etc. Could be standing on top of a pack, and be the first to pick it up when it landed. 2 Flags, just an unbelievable player.

Ruck - Damian Monkhorst (WY) - toughest spot to pick but went with the big guy. Took Woori from cellar dwellars to the best football side over 10 years. Impossible to beat 9/10 times. Has obviously slowed up in recent times, but don't let it spoil your memory. Best tap Ruck of all !

RR - Mark Sandilands (UT) - 6 Flags (?) and the ultimate competitor. Was super smart, a brilliant clearance player, and also was a brilliant shot for goal on the run. Picks himself for mine, probably my all-time favourite !

R - Mick Scott (OFC) - bad luck if you think I'm biased, 350 plus games, 3 Flags, 8 B&Fs and a YV B&F. Supremely fit, brilliant in close and took the ball from Ruck contests better than anyone I've seen. Merry Xmas mate !

IC - Leigh Brown (WDN) - could've had the Roving spot. Super smart player, extremely elusive at clearances, deceptively tough and had great goal sense. Stopping him went along way to stopping Wandin. Really good !

IC - Pat Sharp (WY) - have really come to admire him in recent years. No-one runs harder in the comp than he does. Extremely tough and skilled. Duds don't win League B&Fs, let alone 3 of them. Also has a dangler from 2010.

IC - Tony Bateman (YG) - I had to get him in. He was one tough hombre in the 90s. Dual YV B&F and I think dual premiership player. Tough as nails in clearances, virtually carried his teams by himself. Would be disrespective of me not to pick him. Think of a shorter A.Goodwin ruck roving; nasty !!!!

IC - Craig Clarke (GBK) - hardest spot to pick. Went with the big fella. Just a gun Ruckman, I think dual flags (maybe another coming ?) as well as a YV B&F. Dual selection for Aust Country doesn't look to bad either. Awesome Ruckman, gets around the ground beautifully, can kick goals (Flipped a coin between he and Hedgey - still cant believe I couldn't get him in)

SUB - Paul Marshall (UT/BEL/SthBEL) - couldn't leave him out. With Moorcroft, the 2 greatest talents I've seen. Don't think we ever saw the best of him. Imagine injecting this bloke into a game late in the 3rd when everyone else is tired, he'd take 15 hangers and kick 8 goals for fun god love him.

COACH - Brett Fisher (SEV) - masterminded 2 flags at Seville, 1995 in Div 2 and 1996 in Div 1, incredible history. Was a brilliant tactician and was a brilliant I'league Coach for the YV over a number of years. I think he's as good as I've come across personally.

ASS/COACH - Damian Monkhorst (WY) - for 10 years, has been setting trends across the comp with his innovative game plans and structures. Woori have been a very smart football side for 10 years. With the big fella directing on the ground, and Mullet on the side in the box, think we're pretty well covered there.

CAPTAIN - Mark Sandilands (UT) - terrific example on-field, fierce at the contest and terrific with constructive and directive talk on the ground. Always been a terrific leader, and felt this was a pretty easy choice.

Team Mgr - Tim Scott Water Boy - Guy Calcagno Stats - Sid Snott

So there you have it. Tough job and has taken quite a few hours to put together (and type up).

Apologies to the following - Tom Hedge (UT), Colin Young (HV/WY), Steve Willoughby (OFC), Rohan Atherton (UT), Mickey Walker (WM), Benny Aulich (WY/YJ), Dustin Apps (SthBel)

Thankyou and good night :D:D:D

TS

R - Mick Scott (OFC) - bad luck if you think I'm biased, 350 plus games, 3 Flags, 8 B&Fs and a YV B&F. Supremely fit, brilliant in close and took the ball from Ruck contests better than anyone I've seen. Merry Xmas mate !

Ha ha - classic. Biggest build up to a post ever.... Well done Tees, tough job and i am sure everyone will have a different view on it. For mine can't argue with Woori selections - All guns - particulary Spencer.

Think Derby was a bit stiff not to get the stats job...

Have you chosen a ground that this wonder team should be based at? And for the sake of not starting another bunfight, please consider Gembrook in the pine tree days.

We need umpires to go with the ground....

Super effort Cocko - Spot on with the Monny boys included - J Hellema also won 2 B&F at Monny.
Really balance side with many of the flankers being super onballers that would kick a bag of goals. Just had a thought we dont have a tagger / run with player - maybe you could use Craig Findlay...

1. Yeah good call, chose Sid though as I know he has a thing for clipboards (private joke) Maybe Derby could be our Fwd scout ??

2. A ground, I've always loved Woori, I think it should be the GF/I'league ground each year no questions asked. I'd still like to see the YV invest in it ala the EFL and Bayswater. Make it the unconditional headquarters !

Just my humble opinion.....

We need umpires to go with the ground....

Super effort Cocko - Spot on with the Monny boys included - J Hellema also won 2 B&F at Monny.
Really balance side with many of the flankers being super onballers that would kick a bag of goals. Just had a thought we dont have a tagger / run with player - maybe you could use Craig Findlay...

Yeah I thought of that last night when I re-read the team. Been some good ones (and not so good), the one that sprang to mind was Browny from the early to mid 90s (cannot remember his first name) was a stocky little bloke who was a terrific umpire. More impressively though, a ripper character on the ground, cheeky prick who developed really good relationships with all players. Would leave the rooms blind each Saturday (not driving of course), he was a gem. He rocked up to watch us play cricket at Olinda one day, had a chick on his arm and he was maggoted. within 15 minutes, he had her up on the fence and was up to his eye balls in it lol Now you have to admire that !!!

Hadn't thought of taggers, we are an offensive unit !!! Finners would be ideal though !

He was the best tagger bar none Mirror. Always good to see him chasing you, JD and Bowater around.

Maybe for you. Did a great job though.
He must be one of the better ones.
I did get tagged in a few games and I'm struggling to remember who they were, Tim sprung to mind pretty much straight away.

Silvan....Peter Pumpkin:D

LOL. My first footy trip was when Peter was discovered, turned out to be a popular fella.

Im about 90% sure Charlie Richards played in the '92 Grand Final.

Hellema an absolute lock for FB

Andy Coppens before going to vermont was as good a half back as anybody.

My only memories of Bateman was a ordinary kick who went around whacking blokes.

Yeah, I barely remember anyone who stood near me too. Jumping up and down divisions like that all the players become a blur I suppose!

Yeh, it's a blur for sure.
I had to ask the local historian to check it out.
For the record
1988 2nd Div
1989 1st Div
2005 2nd Div
2006 up to first Div
2009 2nd Div
2010 up to first Div

That's huge, bit like riding an elevator all day except it's over 23 years!!

YVMDFL 1991-2011 Best Team of 20 years