Bluemour Season Blast Off Edition XXXIII

No it doesn't. The only thing putting dows value above someone like Lipinski is that he's contracted. Clubs don't tend to play hard ball over players like Dow etc...
The clubs will do their negotiating to achieve a balance between the player's wishes and acquiring the best deals for themselves.
But to have a conversation on a footy forum regarding trade values, applying a rough pick number is far more beneficial and less vague than using the old "player X is only worth a 3rd or 4th rounder" format.
Like many poster's are saying, "let him go for pick 55 and we'll just pick up another Lewy Young".
Why would we not trade player X for pick 35 and use this greater bargaining chip to trade in the next Lewy?

If being better defensively was one of the easier things to fix, it would have happened some time in the last 5 years.

Dow either needs a monumental epiphany on his shortcomings, a spell in a new tagging role where he does nothing but play defensively, or a new environment where he's not expected to work defensively.
He’s worked on other things already, remember he used to be a shocking kick, that looks pretty good these days. Also was fairly weak, looks a lot stronger this year.
Starting to all come together imo.

There just isn't a reality where Dow cuts it as a mid for us. You don't sprout awareness, hunger and improved disposal overnight. SPS lacked one of those things.

He may have potential as a back pocket where his size, acceleration and the limited role may work for him.

I wish him nothing but the best, but I'd swap him for a similar reclamation project.

If Dow couple play in the forward line, he would get more call ups I feel. But he's a pure mid and his skill set doesn't translate to other positions. Cripps, Kennedy, and Walsh can all play in other positions. Hewett and Cerra are both midfielders. And it'd be hard to carry 3 pure mids in the side.

And this is a large part of why I feel he's an AFL grade midfielder who doesn't fit Voss's gameplan.

Voss demands that his mids be versatile and have impact when they're 'resting ' out of the midfield.

Cripps can be a quasi key forward target. Kennedy can also go forward.

Walsh goes onto the wing and has added half forward to his repertoire.

Hewett can literally play everywhere. He can run and carry off half back, he can play as a defensive winger and half forward.

Cerra is always adding forward craft to his game and has real scope as a playmaker there and has always been capable of going on a wing.

Cottrell is another who is learning to play multple roles.

Dow is an inside midfielder who has been unable to add strings to his bow, at least in part because he lost all confidence in his kicking ability in his second year and he has never really recovered from it.

In a gameplan demanding versatility Dow is the odd man out.

Would love to see him add something.

If being better defensively was one of the easier things to fix, it would have happened some time in the last 5 years.

Dow either needs a monumental epiphany on his shortcomings, a spell in a new tagging role where he does nothing but play defensively, or a new environment where he's not expected to work defensively.

With what we've heard from our club this year, our new coaches clearly put an emphasis on defence, contests and helping teammates.

The fact that Dow still doesn't do a lot defensively...frankly i just don't get it. He would have received plenty of feedback on it and it's surely a key KPI for him.

And yeah, can't play any other position, not a great overhead mark and has questionable endurance. Just has too many holes in his game, particularly for a #3 draft pick.

The problem with Dow defensively, and it's quite noticeable because of who our other midfielders are is that he's still got an under developed frame. He almost looks child like compared to our bigger bodied mids.

He gets manhandled and he hasn't got the strength to match what our other mids can do.

This, even more than his lack of versatility, is my biggest concern.

I reckon Ed will retire and Setterfield moved on.

Think Dow stays for depth since we are contending, unless we get a good offer and can turn him into something good like how SPS became Young.
Agree on Ed, Besides Dow we have a very young bunch of inexperienced midfield group coming through, he’s our next best off the rank by a mile, if we’re looking to build some depth then we should continue to develop him for another season…

The reserves midfield looked completely deficient without Dow and Hayes in there, none of our other listed players are anywhere near the caliber of these two..
they both possess wonderful upside so far in a team that has suffered a mass loss of AFL players, miles ahead of anyone else…

The Radovich clearly the other standout player in a class of his own, been brilliant…

The problem with Dow defensively, and it's quite noticeable because of who our other midfielders are is that he's still got an under developed frame. He almost looks child like compared to our bigger bodied mids.

He gets manhandled and he hasn't got the strength to match what our other mids can do.

This, even more than his lack of versatility, is my biggest concern.
Still lacking the hunger to to chase and compete Wick, looks like he has definitely improved his overall cardio in running but still refuses to chase and hunt down his opponents..

I like the old saying, distance makes the heart grow fonder and it looks like many here have fallen for, the idea of David Cuningham and not the output of David Cuningham.

Posters are saying, Cunners is the missing link to our midfield, Cunners can go on to a wing and still hit a lace out pass wrong footed.

David Cuningham averages 6 kicks per game and 6 games per season, that’s the reality.
Another player with a heap of ability, but continually missing because of injury during his early years…

Looked like he was about to go up another level until the unfortunate knee, Teague and co imo seriously under-utilised him throughout the midfield..

If he somehow comes back from the knee with no problems, will be the type of silky player with the touch of speed and class that will be a point of difference… 🤞

Still lacking the hunger to to chase and compete Wick, looks like he has definitely improved his overall cardio in running but still refuses to chase and hunt down his opponents..

As important as high levels of cardio are, good on him for addressing and improving on it, it still requires strength to carry out the remainder of the task.

I do wonder whether it's ability (or lack thereof) or want. If it's the former then I hope Russell and co have him on a program that will benefit him hut if its the latter then... you can lead a horse to water...

He is def improving. Def. Prior poster is spot on in my view - they need to keep working with him like they did Kennedy. It may seem odd but actually chasing Noble hard and putting an impact on him is the r first time I’ve seen him do that in 5 years. It’s been a frustratingly slow process but he is still improving. If he had flat lined we could justifiably give up him.

But he hasn’t. Push on. Keep at it. Play the long game.

Actually, I've always liked Cuningham. I always like players whose possessions do more damage than the others. Cuningham doesn't get much of the ball but his possessions stand out because he is either in a middle of a pack inside 50, and a quick swivel of the hips and flick out handball ends up being a goal or his ability to kick skilful goals.

We don't need him to be an accumulator and he never will be. He is a burst footballer. And now our midfield has the depth to not need a player like him to get twenty touches.

I see Cuningham as the type of player in a high pressure final that had the ability to cut through congestion and set up a goal, because that it his natural game style or bend through a goal through skill. There are players who can back break the opposition in finals, think Jarman, Rioli and Dew whose pure skill put teams to the sword with minimal touches.

He might flop, who knows, but he has qualities that no one else on our list has and is worth persisting with.
Yep, Cunners is the gold leaf on top of the maraschino!

I know a few like yourself have mentioned that he gets given a defensive role to try and educate or teach him, not sure this helps him at all, he is a instinctive ball winner who needs to just hunt the ball along with being accountable for his opponent…
The problem with him atm besides him not giving a stuff about defensively chasing down opposition, the lack of any improvement in five years by him at all is incredibly disappointing…
As important as high levels of cardio are, good on him for addressing and improving on it, it still requires strength to carry out the remainder of the task.

I do wonder whether it's ability (or lack thereof) or want. If it's the former then I hope Russell and co have him on a program that will benefit him hut if its the latter then... you can lead a horse to water...
It looks like it may be simply the want, which is a shame because it’s an area of his game that can help his own game as well as being really beneficial to the team itself…
Just my opinion but it would certainly get him more involved within games and help round his game out with a better balance of pressure & the contested and non contested side to his game…
This should be for all footballers, some just do it better than others for a variety of reasons…

I know a few like yourself have mentioned that he gets given a defensive role to try and educate or teach him, not sure this helps him at all, he is a instinctive ball winner who needs to just hunt the ball along with being accountable for his opponent…
The problem with him atm besides him not giving a stuff about defensively chasing down opposition, the lack of any improvement in five years by him at all is incredibly disappointing…

Yeah, I don't see a logical reason he can't build on his defensive efforts while also playing his ball-winning game - but I wonder sometimes if playing him as a tagger for a few games might just be a bit of an eye-opening experience for him.

"You think you're spent after your occasional burst from the centre? Here you go mate, try running with the opposition's best mid for 4 quarters."