Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

No I don’t have a right to be concerned with last years drafting strategy. The guys who have played in rd 1 have played rd 1.

Tom Mitchell spent three years dominating neafl.

Most of the people saying we should’ve drafted someone else or are concerned have never watched Trav play a game.

Anyways. Would it kill you guys to at least wait for him to play a game.

No one seems to be potting him as a player. Just wishing that we'd picked different types.

RTB is starting to remind me of "Chance the Gardener", or as the media nicknamed him, Chauncey Gardiner, from the film, Being There. The character was played by Peter Sellers who won the Oscar for Best Actor.

If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favour and look it up. For those who've seen it, what do you think? Is RTB our version of Chauncey Gardiner?

Actually a good movie.

No one's potting Trav he hasn't gotten a game however, as a saints fan you have a right to be concerned with our drafting and development strategy.
We dont have A grade midfield talent it has been evident for the best part of 10 years.
Let's hope he makes it as an A grade mid because the club needs him to.
Agreed.

Few draftees make it for Round 1.

Let him learn the game plan and the craft from the development coaches and senior players plus build his body (he is very slight).

Let’s be patient - the young guy looks like he has some talent but isn’t ready just yet. Same with Tarau. Maybe Boxshall next off the rank.

I know it’s irrational as there was so many things going against us today but very flat after that. Yes we have a better off field set up and have drafted a little bit of talent over he last few years but after 15 years of utter irrelevancy I somehow feel as far away from a flag now as any point over that span. How are we still in such a talent deficiency after so long being shit??

Other clubs improving and the continued increase in inequalities baked into the system makes any marginal gains we make seem like pushing shit uphill. Would have been much better to pull the Band-Aid off and go the scorched earth rebuild from Lyons first year back. We won’t improve unless the likes of Pou, King and Owens actually become consistent high level contributors and we can’t even get them on the park. Genuinely depressing, I think we are in serious trouble. Only West Coast and possibly Nth will be worse then us this year with the most compromised draft in history coming up and then Tassie coming in. We’ve taken a huge risk in betting on free agents to come to us and it doesn’t look good.

Was one of the lucky few to attend the game. Despite our awful performance, I got to live out a bucket list item and take a mark on the hill after Soligo’s out on the full. Took it one grab over some 10yo Crows supporter in front of that “knock, knock” Saints lady from TikTok. At least I was flying the flag for us.
Hey Broski, did you find the amount of adults wearing Crows footy jumpers a bit wierd. I’ve never seen so many in my life. Maybe it was just in the Eastern Stand where I was. Freaked me out.

No one seems to be potting him as a player. Just wishing that we'd picked different types.
There were two or three bagging him before you joined the conversation.

It was pretty poor from them. The kid hasn't even played a game for us and they were putting the boots in.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Agreed.

Few draftees make it for Round 1.

Let him learn the game plan and the craft from the development coaches and senior players plus build his body (he is very slight).

Let’s patient - the young guy looks like he has some talent but isn’t ready just yet. Same with Tarau. Maybe Boxshall next of the rank.
Correct give them time , let them adjust to professional football and don't just throw them in the deep end just to shatter there confidence.

Even if we managed to draft - say Langford and Draper.
They don’t necessarily change today’s outcome. They don’t guarantee Nas stays either.
Instead of hypothetically a top 3 pick this year. We could be picking at 7 and still losing Nas.
Just think this also needs to be mentioned.
Aswell as I think that whilst today was shit. We didn’t have either our best side playing or our best side for the future.

OK so apart from Phillipou who else will we have to make a difference playing through the midfield today. It was blatantly obvious how poor our midfield was and how easily they scored from clearances. McRae, Steele, Jones, Garcia were putrid when it mattered and the Crows just burst away from contest after contest. McRae battled manfully and did end up with a few clearances himself, but the Crows midfield speed showed exactly why the Dogs had moved past him.

Even with a complete list today the midfield outcome would remain the same. We have needed elite clearance mids for over a decade and nothing has changed to address it. Today's result was not that unexpected and it would be palatable if we had unearthed some talent with a clear midfield future. But we didn't and we haven't for decades....its disgraceful how poor our midfield identification has been.

Garcia & Boxshall may have a future as clearance mids but they are kids and there is nothing in between.

Even if we managed to draft - say Langford and Draper.

They don’t necessarily change today’s outcome. They don’t guarantee Nas stays either.

Instead of hypothetically a top 3 pick this year. We could be picking at 7 and still losing Nas.

Just think this also needs to be mentioned.

Aswell as I think that whilst today was shit. We didn’t have either our best side playing or our best side for the future.

No they don't. But I just feel as though we been here before a few times in the last 10 years. The second half of the season papers over cracks, we finish only a win or two out of the finals. Pat ourselves on the back for not being North, Hawthorn etc but all we do is make it harder for ourselves.

I hope TnT go huge. And i hope that they have amazing careers at the club.

But it's hard not to be a little bit disappointed. Especially when Battle is at the Hawks and we've let Membrey go for list management reasons. And both have great weeks. Shit we could do with that.
I'm worried Dow may be a loss. At least for this year. Out of our control but thats 2 years lost. Crouch we get one good year out of if that and then we lose him to injury. We had to sign him as a rookie just so he could retire.
We potentially have to get used to seeing NAS in different colours for next year. And I really struggle to see us getting an LDU. We would have to have the greatest seasons of all. And from what we've seen preseason and today. That's unlikely.

And lets not get started on injuries.

I keep being told to have faith in the club. But shit they make it tough.

No they don't. But I just feel as though we been here before a few times in the last 10 years. The second half of the season papers over cracks, we finish only a win or two out of the finals. Pat ourselves on the back for not being North, Hawthorn etc but all we do is make it harder for ourselves.

But it's hard not to be a little bit disappointed. Especially when Battle is at the Hawks and we've let Membrey go for list management reasons. And both have great weeks. Shit we could do with that.
I'm worried Dow may be a loss. At least for this year. Out of our control but thats 2 years lost. Crouch we get one good year out of if that and then we lose him to injury. We had to sign him as a rookie just so he could retire.
We potentially have to get used to seeing NAS in different colours for next year. And I really struggle to see us getting an LDU. We would have to have the greatest seasons of all. And from what we've seen preseason and today. That's unlikely.

The thing with the hawks is that their 2 high picks were DGB (delisted) and Ward (not doing much). The high picks have made no difference to them, though could argue for Newcombe in the mid season draft

OK so apart from Phillipou who else will we have to make a difference playing through the midfield today. It was blatantly obvious how poor our midfield was and how easily they scored from clearances. McRae, Steele, Jones, Garcia were putrid when it mattered and the Crows just burst away from contest after contest. McRae battled manfully and did end up with a few clearances himself, but the Crows midfield speed showed exactly why the Dogs had moved past him.

Even with a complete list today the midfield outcome would remain the same. We have needed elite clearance mids for over a decade and nothing has changed to address it. Today's result was not that unexpected and it would be palatable if we had unearthed some talent with a clear midfield future. But we didn't and we haven't for decades....its disgraceful how poor our midfield identification has been.

Garcia & Boxshall may have a future as clearance mids but they are kids and there is nothing in between.
I’m not saying we have those midfielders. We need them.

But to get both means we still don’t have battle and then you don’t have Tauru.

Mate it just takes 1-2 kids to take the leap and everything changes. That’s what I’m hoping for.

Strange that in 3 yrs Lyon been at the club (preseasons) every start of the season we have had massive injury problems - one or twice yeah ,but 3yrs in a row.
No one's potting Trav he hasn't gotten a game however, as a saints fan you have a right to be concerned with our drafting and development strategy.
We dont have A grade midfield talent it has been evident for the best part of 10 years.
Let's hope he makes it as an A grade mid because the club needs him to.
A believe Phillipou is going to be a ripper - just a pity he is out injured - to me if he was fit he would be way better than any one we have in there atm.

I’d only buy early Picasso, his later stuff sucks

I prefer Van Gogh who was a dead ringer for James Sicily.

pasted-image-0-3.png

Is LDU paying attention?

He must be so chuffed to leave a club that wins 4 games a year to a club that wins about 10.

I didn't expect this to be honest. Im not sure if its because im always optimistic to start the season.
But I thought 6 of 7 or 7 of 8 to end last season? And 2 massive wins... adding to that we are a young list that can only get better. But geez we are no good. Im always hopeful but our list is so far off it. We are never going anywhere without a star mid.
Let's just play Keeler and every other kid we have at every opportunity and finish bottom 3 and beg for a priority pick.

Sent from my SM-S938B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah I didn't mind the look of Windy when he went in. I'd be using him as a tagger each week, chuck him on Smith next game and see how he goes. He's got some burst.

A huge difference in this game was their ability to spread around the stoppage and then get a clean clearance. Was a huge issue first half of last year. The mids got destroyed.

We also need to find a way to make Wilkie more effective. He couldn't take intercept marks. Id like to get another look at McLennan soon because he's a guy that intercepts. Arie was ok but he isn't a smart defensive player yet. The defence looked like a bloody mess and it's frustrating because we've had all summer to sort it and then we move Hammer back. I'm miffed as to what we're doing there.

Still a week is a long time in footy, if we can get our shit together we can beat Geelong but we will need to improve fast.

Arie won't make it..

Too slow, can't jump, not physical enough.

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1