Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

The thing with the hawks is that their 2 high picks were DGB (delisted) and Ward (not doing much). The high picks have made no difference to them, though could argue for Newcombe in the mid season draft
Newcombe another great example of a beast just bollocking through packs like a tank. Intimidating unit, hard to play against.

Wouldn't happen at our club. Would be told to lose 5kg immediately if he was at the Saints.

And just for what it’s worth.

The crows have gone 7 seasons without making finals.

That side we played today was the culmination of 7 seasons of shit.

The Lions went 9 seasons.

Hawks went 5 straight seasons without making finals. (Before last season)

North have done 8 and this will be year 9.

West coast is up to 4 and this will be 5.

We have made finals 2 x in the last 5 years.

It’s a long way back if we just gut the place. I guess I’m just posting my thoughts trying to work out this entire dual narrative thing.

Mate it just takes 1-2 kids to take the leap and everything changes. That’s what I’m hoping for.

Feels like we've been waiting for that for a while now.
And when it looks like one of our gems could be headed elsewhere shit it's hard to remain positive!

Hope Goddard puts a VFL writeup out this week as need something to give us some light and look for some changes.
Still cant believe the idea of playing 4 blokes with bugger all preseason was deemed a better option than Box who was fantastic in pre season games and Keeler who showed a bit with the little he time he got.

You could be in line for a call up for us next week, we could do with someone that can take a mark even it is over a 10 year old.
My phone is always on, Ross. Can confirm that I kicked the ball back to the ball girl through the goals. If I can win a one on one against Zaine Cordy, I reckon I should get a contract

Hey Broski, did you find the amount of adults wearing Crows footy jumpers a bit wierd. I’ve never seen so many in my life. Maybe it was just in the Eastern Stand where I was. Freaked me out.
Now that you mentioned it, I thought I may have smelt autism in the air haha

Newcombe another great example of a beast just bollocking through packs like a tank. Intimidating unit, hard to play against.

Wouldn't happen at our club. Would be told to lose 5kg immediately if he was at the Saints.

Was thinking the same thing watching Rowell bashing through tackles and then when he tackled, it stuck. Big fatso he is.
Adelaide completely outran us though.

No one seems to be potting him as a player. Just wishing that we'd picked different types.
My point is it is silly. Like how many times have we said you don’t judge the draft after one year let alone one game.

Like seriously

Lewis Taylor vs Bont
Reece Palmer vs Cyril

Like making draft judgements is just silly this early.

Trac didn’t even play in his first year.

“We have a young list and that’s the path we chose. But we have to be better than that. Players and coaches.”

“There is probably a few of our senior players that will say they could have been a bit better”

“Owens hopefully back next week, Sharman the week after. Liam Henry will be available. Alex Tauru will play seconds in a few weeks”

“Phillipou and Howard would have been handy. You know phillipou - South Australian”

“Good to have a look at caminiti there (defence) we are a little bit thin there”
- Ross

Was thinking the same thing watching Rowell bashing through tackles and then when he tackled, it stuck. Big fatso he is.
Adelaide completely outran us though.
Ross was very articulate and put the blame at the feet of us allowing easy forward 50 exits and the level of pressure we applied. Very critical about this - probably why Garcia went forward.

Spoke about Geelong and collingwoods tackle count and how that was the basis for their dominations.

Mate it just takes 1-2 kids to take the leap and everything changes. That’s what I’m hoping for.
With Owens , Phillipou , Wilson , Henry we have 4 young guys with untapped ability.
If only 2 of these kids become the the playmakers we need we will be a force and the new draftees I wouldn't be putting any expectations on them for a at least a couple years - very few kids produce there first year - Diacos is one of the few.

Anyone this is the year this young potential needs to produce and really this is the year of reckoning for a hell of a lot of them.
Nas has proved he is more than average player
King
Owens
Sharman
Phillipou
Henry
Keeler (has a massive year ahead of him , it will be his 3rd year at the club and contract up at end of year) hopefully he takes the next step because he has the natural talent and if he leaves he might take his mate Nas with him back home.

Also having Macrae in our starting lineup is a big upgrade to what we have had in there , we just need Steele to at least produce some form - if he plays like he did today again he will need to be dropped - for one of the kids.
A lot of these senior players like Hill , Steele seem to be coasting - it seems that way anyway.
I'd be replacing Hill with Wilson and putting Windhager in Steeles position until Steele gets his mojo back.

Expect to see a few few changes next week with King , Owens , Henry , Butler and Sharman all back.

I can’t blame Arie or Camaniti. Cama was asked to play as out number one forward.

It’s guys like Steele, cordy , hill, etc.

Also imo we were essentially playing with three men down

Marshal
Hill
Clark

Hill was god awful and the other two were so underprepared. I get why Ross played them but jeez.

With Owens , Phillipou , Wilson , Henry we have 4 young guys with untapped ability.
If only 2 of these kids become the the playmakers we need we will be a force and the new draftees I wouldn't be putting any expectations on them for a at least a couple years - very few kids produce there first year - Diacos is one of the few.

Anyone this is the year this young potential needs to produce and really this is the year of reckoning for a hell of a lot of them.
Nas has proved he is more than average player
King
Owens
Sharman
Phillipou
Henry
Keeler (has a massive year ahead of him , it will be his 3rd year at the club and contract up at end of year) hopefully he takes the next step because he has the natural talent and if he leaves he might take his mate Nas with him back home.

Also having Macrae in our starting lineup is a big upgrade to what we have had in there , we just need Steele to at least produce some form - if he plays like he did today again he will need to be dropped - for one of the kids.
A lot of these senior players like Hill , Steele seem to be coasting - it seems that way anyway.
I'd be replacing Hill with Wilson and putting Windhager in Steeles position until Steele gets his mojo back.

Expect to see a few few changes next week with King , Owens , Henry , Butler and Sharman all back.
Ross was bullish on Owens. Henry is available. But said Sharman is round 3.

Butler close but wasn’t confident.

No mention of king.

Pou and dougal still awhile off.

Tauru VFL in a few weeks.

Nearly tore a reporter in half for asking about Dow

“We have a young list and that’s the path we chose. But we have to be better than that. Players and coaches.”

“There is probably a few of our senior players that will say they could have been a bit better”

“Owens hopefully back next week, Sharman the week after. Liam Henry will be available. Alex Tauru will play seconds in a few weeks”

“Phillipou and Howard would have been handy. You know phillipou - South Australian”

“Good to have a look at caminiti there (defence) we are a little bit thin there”
- Ross
Is that from our last practise match or this week?

I completely understand everyone’s anger, we have been too **** for too long and it’s incredibly frustrating - not going to tell anyone they should feel otherwise.

However, whilst I can be a doom and gloom supporter I actually took quite a few positives from the game today. Yes, effort was pathetic for large chunks of the game - especially from the senior players. That needs work asap. In saying that, we are an incredibly young and inexperienced team so I honestly expected to get thumped even with great effort.

Positives:
  • Darcy Wilson made a massive step to avoiding second year blues, thought that was a really telling game that he will cement himself as an A grader in the not so distant future.
  • Garcia has played 10 career games, most as sub. Yet today he got 18 touches and a goal, and got more comfortable as the game went on. Nothing negative there, really promising signs - oh did I mention he’s only played 10 games?
  • I genuinely thought Windhager showed great signs of cementing a future best 23 spot. Still a great clearance player, we just need him to perhaps reach Seb Ross/David Armitage levels whilst Poo/Wilson/NAS etc become the proper A graders.
  • Hall a bit similar to Windy above. Showed enough today to really like how he fits into this team moving forward. Same with Arie, has some serious weapons that when given a string of games I’m confident will go from strength to strength.
  • We will be getting Henry, Owens, Sharman, King, TT and Alix integrating back into the team shortly, along with Poo. All (hopefully) best 23 players that are also very young.

All in all it was a crap performance, but we were very up against it and our senior players let us down. There are a number of them that I don’t think should be anywhere near this team by mid year. BUT the young kids continue to show promise, which is what we’re building around for the coming years - nothing from today changed my view on that.

Ross was very articulate and put the blame at the feet of us allowing easy forward 50 exits and the level of pressure we applied. Very critical about this - probably why Garcia went forward.
We were the wrong side of a lot of contests and they seemed to have numbers in the right spots.
In terms of the forwardline, we were short a pressure forward for sure. Not sure how Collard has done this offseason, but clearly says a lot if they won't play him when we only have one other fit small forward.

I completely understand everyone’s anger, we have been too **** for too long and it’s incredibly frustrating - not going to tell anyone they should feel otherwise.

However, whilst I can be a doom and gloom supporter I actually took quite a few positives from the game today. Yes, effort was pathetic for large chunks of the game - especially from the senior players. That needs work asap. In saying that, we are an incredibly young and inexperienced team so I honestly expected to get thumped even with great effort.

Positives:
  • Darcy Wilson made a massive step to avoiding second year blues, thought that was a really telling game that he will cement himself as an A grader in the not so distant future.
  • Garcia has played 10 career games, most as sub. Yet today he got 18 touches and a goal, and got more comfortable as the game went on. Nothing negative there, really promising signs - oh did I mention he’s only played 10 games?
  • I genuinely thought Windhager showed great signs of cementing a future best 23 spot. Still a great clearance player, we just need him to perhaps reach Seb Ross/David Armitage levels whilst Poo/Wilson/NAS etc become the proper A graders.
  • Hall a bit similar to Windy above. Showed enough today to really like how he fits into this team moving forward. Same with Arie, has some serious weapons that when given a string of games I’m confident will go from strength to strength.
  • We will be getting Henry, Owens, Sharman, King, TT and Alix integrating back into the team shortly, along with Poo. All (hopefully) best 23 players that are also very young.

All in all it was a crap performance, but we were very up against it and our senior players let us down. There are a number of them that I don’t think should be anywhere near this team by mid year. BUT the young kids continue to show promise, which is what we’re building around for the coming years - nothing from today changed my view on that.
Great post

There's not a lot we can do about that, what irks me about today is that we knew we were undersized. Ross said in his presser we have to "embrace the chaos", but we played slow, long down the line footy.
I just don't get the logic, is it the players not knowing the game plan? is it mixed messaging from the coaches? or is Ross saying one thing to the players and another to the media?
Ross also said in his presser he was frustrated at the non implementation of the game plan and that “pressure does funny things to players”
Think you’ll find that’s not the game plan he was after ….it looks nice in Bibs at training….very different in heat of an AFL game interstate on their home deck after they’ve been building for 6 years …
Hird on TV said it well - “men against boys out there which just shows we have a bit to go” I think that’s fair
Even Bassat said in media today - we’d like to play finals , we’ll surprise some teams but in reality we are 1-2 years way ..probably explains the Lyon extension too

- Ross
Bit of Hamill 2-3 weeks about King at the moment. Not even a mention of him by Ross.

Meanwhile his brother kicks 6 and takes Mark of the Year. As if today wasn't painful enough.

Bit of Hamill 2-3 weeks about King at the moment. Not even a mention of him by Ross.

Meanwhile his brother kicks 6 and takes Mark of the Year. As if today wasn't painful enough.

Plus Membrey & Reid kicking 4.

IMHO Trav made sense for us to draft.

The intercept defender who played a dozen games and had stress fractures in his back was my question mark ?

Hey Broski, did you find the amount of adults wearing Crows footy jumpers a bit wierd. I’ve never seen so many in my life. Maybe it was just in the Eastern Stand where I was. Freaked me out.
What was even more weird was how many of their supporters left midway through the last. At the end we were sitting almost alone. Who leaves when your team is on such a roll? Was very odd.

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Write your reply...