Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

He's got exceptional talent no doubt. That only gets you so far. His ceiling is unlimited, we need to keep him fit and maximise it. His highlight reels make him look unbelievable, looks like Trevor Barker or prime Jeremy Howe.
Apparently they had some stats about the scores against Gippsland with him in the backline vs without him and then broke it down to ground ball or a goal via aerial contest.

They were creaming themselves about how dominant he was with little pre seasons and injuries in the last few years.

I was abit shocked at how pumped this person was.

Coming into round 1, I thought 2-5 and a percentage of 85 after 7 would've been a reasonable start, and then build into 9-11 wins for the season.

10-13 would be 8-8 after 2-5 start.

Ultimately there will be ups and downs, but I thought that was a fair expectation.

What I didn't anticipate was the value Macrae would add. If he keeps playing anything like this, and the team has a good injury run, with some improvement from the younger crew, then beating my estimate and getting 12 or 13 wins- even sneaking into the 8- is possible.

But it's early days and "anything could happen". There's always lots of "ifs", that's the nature of predictions. I'll stick with 9-11 wins for now.
If we want to play finals and that should be the aim.

We can’t be worse than 4-6 at round 10.

Crazy what a bit of effort can do for a side
This is the key point

But I think what we've seen for a number of years from this group- under both Ratts and Lyon, more pronounced under Ratts but still there under Lyon to a lesser extent- that effort can't be maintained every week. It ebbs and flows.

I don't really expect last night to be the norm for this season.

Nor should we expect last week to be the norm either.

I think the first two weeks are a great example of the old saying "when things are going well, things are never as good as they seem and when things are going badly, they're never as bad as they seem"

Higgins looks alright. No secondary motion. Just took him to ground. Free kick but not a suspension.
Wasn't even a free kick, head did not hit the ground.
How that cross eyed **** Ralph can say an elbow is fine and a perfect tackle is bad just shows that he is missing a chromosome.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

It would be standard if Danger gets off elbowing Ronnie's face but Higgins lays a tackle and goes for weeks

Remember the time Snake was under a pack on a hard ball get, Fyfe walks by, knees him in the side of the head to KO him, and Snake gets HTB against him cause you know KO'd.

Then he made Marc have a sooky lala and there comes the pitchforks?

Good times, good times...

Is to say, WGAF about the wider AFL media in such things, we all know Danger is a dog, not the first time he's come into a contest seen the ball cleared and gone "I'll just shoulder someone in the face" as mans a shittruck that can't arrest momentum and has far too much shame than to emulate an Ebert and fly to have humility, it's the reason he's AFLPA pres these days. Follow me boys we'll demo these walls of bureaucracy, shoulders out...

I’m not going to say who it was.

But pre game yesterday. A very prominent person at the club called him a bigger talent than both Pou & King.

How’s that for a wrap on Tauru.
Everything I saw of him last year was exceptional. Beyond what I’ve seen from a kid for a very long time. A lot of young keys dominate because of their size, but his game is built on his apparently to read the play, the flight of the ball and then launch.

We have a dozen young players who if they reach their potential will make us contenders for a long time. I can’t recall a period with this much potential at St Kilda.

Everything I saw of him last year was exceptional. Beyond what I’ve seen from a kid for a very long time. A lot of young keys dominate because of their size, but his game is built on his apparently to read the play, the flight of the ball and then launch.

We have a dozen young players who if they reach their potential will make us contenders for a long time. I can’t recall a period with this much potential at St Kilda.
This is not a go at you as I agree with your post, but a week is a long time in footy.

We had a bunch of posters, surprisingly missing after yesterday ( headed by wannabew***er the Flamingo burner account) bagging the crap out of our kids especially Travaglia and Tauru who haven't even played a game for us.
It is never as good or as bad as it seems. We have recruited well in the past 4 to 6 years and the senior players we picked up in 2019 and Higgins in 2020 are now showing leadership, although Doogs and Butts are injured.
But it is the kids who are the exciting prospects.
The underrated ones like Garcia, Hammer, Keeler, and Lanceyboy all showed something.
Reckon we have a good bunch. There will be more games like Adelaide where a young team drops off, but consistently will come.
We have to be patient.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

We have a lot to come back Phillipou, Sharman, King, Butler and our two high draft picks to watch develop. Hope this year gives a real platform for sustained success.
And our not so high draft picks.
Boxshall looking very likely.
Haven’t seen much of Barrat, Dodson or Said but sounds like they could be pretty promising too.

Keebler and Collard both showing something.
And when the likes of Irish, where you never know how a pick like that’s going to work out, is also looking extremely likely, it’s a whole lot to look forward to.

Love the way they played in the first half. Geelong were always going to come and did really well to hang on.

I hope they try and play the season like they did in first half. Take the game on and focus on scoring. They’ll likely lose quite a few and some by big margins but it will set them up for future seasons when team is more developed.

Season goal - learn an attacking game plan, sign up NAS and Pou, get Wilson on a long termer (he will be a tassie target), persevere with Hammer in the back half.

Love the way they played in the first half. Geelong were always going to come and did really well to hang on.

I hope they try and play the season like they did in first half. Take the game on and focus on scoring. They’ll likely lose quite a few and some by big margins but it will set them up for future seasons when team is more developed.

Season goal - learn an attacking game plan, sign up NAS and Pou, get Wilson on a long termer (he will be a tassie target), persevere with Hammer in the back half.
In our last 10 or so games last year. If you take out Adelaide in the wet and Brisbane tearing us apart.

We averaged 14 goals a game on the run home.

15 last night.

Not sure this a sour defensive stuff is appropriate. We are good to watch when playing competitively.

Decided to play in a golf comp yesterday here in Dubai as the match was being played. Kept an eye on the score which didn’t do my golf much good. Raced home afterwards and watched it all on my Watch AFL app.

I was realistic during the week that we were going to find it very tough, but always in the back of my mind was that we might do the ‘St Kilda thing’ and bounce up out of nowhere. I did say in the preview that ‘you never know’. Not a ringing endorsement but an acknowledgment that we are known for this.

What a joy to see the young guys respond to the senior players really putting their best foot forward. As opposed to last week. Mitch back made a huge difference, and Windy I think had his best game for us. The 1-2 year players may not have had a standout 4 quarter performance. But they sure had standout moments. Some big. All contributed little team things and did their role when called upon.

Ro was immense, Macrae turned the clock back, Steele a very good Captain’s game. Wilkie, Sincs, Wood, Higgins and Jones were excellent. NWM great. Interesting that Ross said Hill was getting a lot of attention and played a sacrificial game. You probably had to be at the game to see that.

All the negativity of the past three weeks leaves us. Tough weeks ahead, but the future is brighter for sure.

I avoided all media last week. Hardly watched a thing. Going to lap it all up this week. Even though we will still get negativity from the usual suspects. Stuff ‘em.

Blow this up and tape it to every ****ing wall in the rooms… absolute guts.

Real “you want this ball you’re gonna have to ****ing kill me” areas.

c0d6fea9-8f39-42ef-9163-8a38427954af.jpeg

Autopsy Saints roll the Cats.

Write your reply...