Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Wilson - when a second year player stands up in an environment like that it’s very exciting.

Max Hall - tick tick tick.

Boyd doesn’t look like an AFL ruckman to me. He’s already undersized and he can barely move.

Windhager quietly with 14 contested possessions and not much midfield time.

Might be worth Steele going back to a run with role. Hasn’t been the same player for almost 4 years and gets run off on too much.

Why was Hastie subbed out?

Hard to take a lot out of that game, we couldn’t do a thing right from the get go.

Wilson's execution wasn't great though.

Disposals in the game.
Macrae 34.
Crouch 31.
Solego 29.
Laird 29
Rankine 28
Wananeen-Milera 27
Dawson 27
Worrell 25
Wilson 23
Sinclair 22

Rachele 21
Neal-Bullen 21
Keane 21
Windhager 19
Wilkie 19
Steele 19

Peatling 19
Hinge 19
Shoenmaker 18
Keays 18
Garcia 18.

Effective disposals in the game.
Laird 24
Crouch 22
Worrell 21
Macrae 21 , Yep more than 10 useless disposals.
Soligo 19
Rankine 19
Sholl 18
Dawson 17
Rachele 16
Neale-Bullen 16
Steele 15 Paints him in a slightly better light.
Keane 15
Hinge 15
Windhager 14 Still think he's under-rated
Wanganeen-Milera 14 Disappointing .
Sinclair 14
Wilkie 13
Shoenmaker 13

Murray 13
Keays 13
Wilson and Garcia 12 each.

I reckon Steele was better under Ratten when he was given a completely free license.

Either way, he's a shadow of his former self now.

He'll probably respond, but the issue is that he has to—and he's had to multiple times over the last couple of seasons.
He had a very good two years but hasn’t been anywhere near that level since, and now that we’ve got Macrae who is a far superior player I’m thinking maybe a Josh Dunkley type run with role could help him find his best form again because he’s clearly not the AA Steele anymore. I’m staggered that Lyon is putting up with his poor defensive efforts but that’s a conversation for another day.

A lot of Macrae's disposals were ineffective. I hope he can do better , otherwise he's just a turnover machine.

I don't understand this sentiment. It's not the 80s, young players aren't getting whacked behind play. Is long being used as a human shield at the suns? Is throwing himself in between oppo players when they lay a bump on Lombard? It's nice sentiment but it just doesn't really make sense
I agree with Molten here.
Long wasn’t that good from what I saw. His attitude thing hurt us in frees against more than helped us in goals. I wrote this in another post. We didn’t get the most out of him to be sure, and when he was tamed down, we was only getting the odd goal from tackles after being second to the ball. Now at GC,they are getting it right for him. Perhaps, you are right, perhaps Lyon could have gotten that out of him, but we didn’t know. And he played a lot of seconds up there too, before he broke in to the firsts. And as a forward. (As a backman he gave away frees for us, and now that physical game is even more strictly policed) I liked Long and am glad to see him getting his due now, but he wasn’t much chop at Moorabbin and Seaford apart form the flashes and explosiveness on occasional display. Lyon says you want players who are 7/10 every week before the occasional star.

But it does hurt when I think of the players Lyon might have saved. Paddy Ryder should not have retired, and wanted to play on and would have had a couple of good years under Lyon I believe. We were an immensely better team with him. Eventuall6 he voluntarily retired but that July he was keen to go on. I think the Ratts thing wasn’t working for him. Can’t keep everyone happy, I appreciate.

As for Bruce, I never saw a star there. Maybe he could have become a Hogan? I kind of doubt it.

Wilson's execution wasn't great though.

Disposals in the game.
Macrae 34.
Crouch 31.
Solego 29.
Laird 29
Rankine 28
Wananeen-Milera 27
Dawson 27
Worrell 25
Wilson 23
Sinclair 22

Rachele 21
Neal-Bullen 21
Keane 21
Windhager 19
Wilkie 19
Steele 19

Peatling 19
Hinge 19
Shoenmaker 18
Keays 18
Garcia 18.

Effective disposals in the game.
Laird 24
Crouch 22
Worrell 21
Macrae 21 , Yep more than 10 useless disposals.
Soligo 19
Rankine 19
Sholl 18
Dawson 17
Rachele 16
Neale-Bullen 16
Steele 15 Paints him in a slightly better light.
Keane 15
Hinge 15
Windhager 14 Still think he's under-rated
Wanganeen-Milera 14 Disappointing .
Sinclair 14
Wilkie 13
Shoenmaker 13

Murray 13
Keays 13
Wilson and Garcia 12 each.

Guys that get the ball moving first get some let off. They are often working in a phone booth under pressure. I thought a huge part of our poor disposal and skill errors were a lack of workmate to provide option ahead of the player with the ball. The opposite was true for them. Barely any pressure on them when they had the ball back.

Was going to write the exact same thing. Like Crouch who seemed to have ineffective disposal, Macrae's job is to first contest, then win the ball then get it to runners. As you say, the options weren't there. I didn't pay attention but I would bet he was on the bench in the third when the Crows walked it out with no pressure about half a dozen times. Only seemed to stop when he and Clark were in the guts. It evened out.
Still was weird having a stopper inside mid like Clark as sub. yeah it stopped the bleeding but is that where we are at?

Was going to write the exact same thing. Like Crouch who seemed to have ineffective disposal, Macrae's job is to first contest, then win the ball then get it to runners. As you say, the options weren't there. I didn't pay attention but I would bet he was on the bench in the third when the Crows walked it out with no pressure about half a dozen times. Only seemed to stop when he and Clark were in the guts. It evened out.
Still was weird having a stopper inside mid like Clark as sub. yeah it stopped the bleeding but is that where we are at?
Went back and watched these yesterday (sad I know) - it was Steele/Macrae/Sinclair for those consecutive centre bounces where they walked it out (no need for rotations) but Macrae wasn't the issue.

ROB was basically doing as he liked vs Boyd, who had no strength or size advantage. So Crows would set up with two mids (Crouch/Dawson) attacking side and we had to stand Steele/Macrae goal side of them. Soligo as their sweeper and Sinclair on him. ROB just shallow taps it to Crouch, Steele is already trailing him by a step or two so zero impact, Sinclair comes off Soligo but also doesn't impact, Crouch flicks it to Soligo who is now all by himself and voila easy clean clearance. Once is okay but the fact they were able to rinse and repeat this time and again was unforgivable.

Once Windy got back in there he at least was able to keep the sweeper accountable which stopped the rot but the damage had been done. Either he or Clark (or both) should be at most/all centre bounces IMO. Stocker an option too, did a job in the Cats/Blues games last year with Windy injured but appears to be out of favour.

Sinclair had 8 CBAs and got a lucky free for one, I reckon we may well have lost all the others - been said time and again but he shouldn't be in there. Unfortunately we named about 6 half backs and couldn't fit them all on the bench at once so he had to go somewhere. Steele could not have looked more reactive and disinterested if he tried.

Different challenge for Boyd with SDK this week and we will have to dominate clearance to justify his selection, he should be able to win his fair share of taps but will be murdered around the ground on Sunday's evidence. Tempting not to play him but if Marshall isn't fully fit I'm not sure what the alternative is.

Steele was excellent at the start of last year before being injured in the Adelaide game, wouldn’t write him off as inherently flawed just yet. Don’t know if we’ll ever see him at his best again though, just doesn’t look big enough

Steele looks like he thinks it's not cool to try really hard.
He became an a-grade midfielder because he worked so hard and tirelessly. Now he looks like he doesn't want to break a sweat and that he's looking good doing it.

Went back and watched these yesterday (sad I know) - it was Steele/Macrae/Sinclair for those consecutive centre bounces where they walked it out (no need for rotations) but Macrae wasn't the issue.

ROB was basically doing as he liked vs Boyd, who had no strength or size advantage. So Crows would set up with two mids (Crouch/Dawson) attacking side and we had to stand Steele/Macrae goal side of them. Soligo as their sweeper and Sinclair on him. ROB just shallow taps it to Crouch, Steele is already trailing him by a step or two so zero impact, Sinclair comes off Soligo but also doesn't impact, Crouch flicks it to Soligo who is now all by himself and voila easy clean clearance. Once is okay but the fact they were able to rinse and repeat this time and again was unforgivable.

Once Windy got back in there he at least was able to keep the sweeper accountable which stopped the rot but the damage had been done. Either he or Clark (or both) should be at most/all centre bounces IMO. Stocker an option too, did a job in the Cats/Blues games last year with Windy injured but appears to be out of favour.

Sinclair had 8 CBAs and got a lucky free for one, I reckon we may well have lost all the others - been said time and again but he shouldn't be in there. Unfortunately we named about 6 half backs and couldn't fit them all on the bench at once so he had to go somewhere. Steele could not have looked more reactive and disinterested if he tried.

Different challenge for Boyd with SDK this week and we will have to dominate clearance to justify his selection, he should be able to win his fair share of taps but will be murdered around the ground on Sunday's evidence. Tempting not to play him but if Marshall isn't fully fit I'm not sure what the alternative is.
That’s the problem when you have an uncompetitive ruck, the opposition ruckman can basically do as he pleases. I know it’s only one game but Boyd is already undersized and has no leap I’m not really sure what we were thinking going for him. It’s not his fault but he just can’t compete.

I’m a jumper wearer.

Have been since I’ve been a kid.

Love it. One of the best parts about going to the footy.
Last match i attended was the final that got GT sacked, but back in the day I also wore a jumper. When else do you get the opportunity to wear em?!

Funnily enough, I just read a post on a Liverpool fan site imploring match goers to wear red and stop acting like it's a kids thing or a plastic fan thing or whatever.

I don't get why you would criticise supporters wearing a club shirt. It's not full kit or getting make up like Catman or anything, just a top.

Second oldest list last week, only Collingwood older. I'm still so depressed by that match.
You're forgetting Carlton, Geelong, Brisbane, Sydney and GWS

Saints fielded 7th oldest 23

But as I mentioned in an earlier post, our distribution is unusual. Lots of old guys and lots of young guys and inexperienced guys. More than the competition average in those.

We need all of our kids to be guns or things could be very dire over the next decade.

A little fact to put things into perspective is that our best 5 players of the past decade weren't expected to be stars, and St Kilda got them all for a steal:

Wilkie - SANFL, rookie draft

Marshall- VFL, rookie draft

Steele - GWS, future draft pick (pick 27)

Sinclair - Rookie draft

Membrey- Technically a delisted free agent. Requested trade to St Kilda and couldn't agree on trade terms. Sydney agreed to delist him.

Meanwhile most top draft picks were flops, or not what we hoped. McCartin, Billings, Clark, Coffield.

Who knows who our next star will be? Could be Tauru or Travaglia. Could be Max Hall.

Could spend 5 years in bottom 2 like North. Could never drop into the bottom 2, then bounce back to premiership favouritism like Hawthorn.

Who knows!

A little fact to put things into perspective is that our best 4 players of the past decade weren't expected to be stars, and St Kilda got them all for a steal:

Sinclair - Rookie draft

Membrey- Technically a delisted free agent. Requested trade to St Kilda and couldn't agree on trade terms. Sydney agreed to delist him.

Meanwhile most top draft picks were flops, or not what we hoped. McCartin, Billings, Clark, Coffield.

Who knows who our next star will be? Could be Tauru or Travaglia. Could be Max Hall.

Could spend 5 years in bottom 2 like North. Could never drop into the bottom 2, then bounce back to premiership favouritism like Hawthorn.

Who knows!
Well you’re never gonna be able to sit there and sook it up with that attitude! 🙄

A little fact to put things into perspective is that our best 4 players of the past decade weren't expected to be stars, and St Kilda got them all for a steal:

Sinclair - Rookie draft

Who knows!
I think Naz is already if he stays, Wilson definetly and Pou to follow.

Last match i attended was the final that got GT sacked, but back in the day I also wore a jumper.
I have a specific jumper story about that final (Melbourne v St K). We led all night, and they gradually pegged us back. When they hit the front, the guy in front of me stood up, took off his normal jumper to reveal a Dees jumper underneath and then started pointing to it. Amazing.

Autopsy Crows hammer Saints by 63 in round 1

Write your reply...