Oppo Camp Regular Non Eagles Discussion V2

It's almost like there is a correlation with mental health issues and drug use.

Charlie and the Tuesday blues.
Lol. Eccy Tuesday or Charlie Choosday.

"I have a mental health issue" always seems to precede an impending media release of a player being snapped with a baggy or lines.

Reach out, folks.

This may be contentious but I find it hard to care about players fishing for sympathy for "mental health issues" when they are complete campaigners on the field - Dixon and Smith being the obvious 2.

Charlie Dixon the footy player is a flog who I’ve never particularly liked but it takes guts to speak up, and in such detail, about mental health demons.

They don’t discriminate, whether or not you have a ‘cool’ job or earn lots of money or whatever the usual pushback says. Yeah he’s a flog on field but plenty of players have been in the past, and I’m sure not all of them are actually bad people off field. Opening up about mental health struggles is crucial to breaking down a stigma that is too prevalent.

I’m sure there are mental health elements at play to some degree, but it’s why it annoys me when people immediately discuss mental health leave when they get caught doing drugs. It has pivoted the stigma in a wholly unhelpful way.

I don’t know a thing about UFC so this bloke might also be chief flog, but it’s always good to see more athletes open up. It’s not tough to suffer in silence.

Charlie Dixon the footy player is a flog who I’ve never particularly liked but it takes guts to speak up, and in such detail, about mental health demons.

They don’t discriminate, whether or not you have a ‘cool’ job or earn lots of money or whatever the usual pushback says. Yeah he’s a flog on field but plenty of players have been in the past, and I’m sure not all of them are actually bad people off field. Opening up about mental health struggles is crucial to breaking down a stigma that is too prevalent.

I’m sure there are mental health elements at play to some degree, but it’s why it annoys me when people immediately discuss mental health leave when they get caught doing drugs. It has pivoted the stigma in a wholly unhelpful way.

I don’t know a thing about UFC so this bloke might also be chief flog, but it’s always good to see more athletes open up. It’s not tough to suffer in silence.

Don't get me wrong, what he's going through is no doubt very real and he deserves treatment just like everyone else. And you are 100% correct in that it is very hard for people to speak up about how they feel and ask for help, especially men. However in my experience with depression and recovery is that you tend to reach a point of introspection and humility and recognise that treating others the way you wish to be treated. I just find it hard when you see the way he plays footy and his attitude to give him the sympathy in that regards.

I'm not saying I'm right or that I know the guy, I just think "well mate, you're a bit of a dickhead, it's hard for me to feel sorry for you."

I used to think it was a load of sh!t until I saw first hand on 2 different occasions guys just break down and start crying uncontrollably, once when we where on the chopper heading out to work and another a few months later halfway through a rather complicated swing off sakhalin island, the 1st guy was a Norwegian, a very focused and normal guy, the 2nd fella was a Newfie, a real joker, great worker.
Both out of nowhere broke down and couldn't control the tears.
Stress of the job, stuff going on in their personal lives etc, just floored them.
The following rotation we had a Brit specialist come out and spend 6 weeks onboard talking with anyone who wanted to talk about it and they're own feelings.
Was bizarre at 1st in such a "macho" environment seeing all this go on, I had a few chats myself and can definitely say it helped.
Hard to explain but definitely understand it and you'd be very surprised at the people it can affect the most, those you'd least expect!

Good on him and all but does he time travel to 1976 to get his hair cut?

Mental health stigma around guys is still well and truly alive, not in a good way.
When I actually opened up at the my last job I got told to basically suck it up during work hours and deal with it outside of my shift times. Work hours and for work face and whatever.
One of the most toxic work environments you could ever be stuck it, fair to say I celebrated when I got out of there.

Pardon the intrusion but how’d you guys go with orders for retro round gear?

4D7007C8-4DA0-4F38-A465-B6EB93B328A4.jpeg

Cool jacket that one. I tried to order Freo’s retro jacket but they sold out within 2 minutes. Actually wrote them an email asking them to please make more than 6 for each size.

Hard to explain but definitely understand it and you'd be very surprised at the people it can affect the most, those you'd least expect!

So true. I’ve lost two friends to suicide and I never saw it coming. Two of the nicest guys around that seemed to have it together.

Hardest thing for me was telling the doctor I needed help, it was like finally admitting I was broken. My only regret was I didn’t do it sooner.

Pardon the intrusion but how’d you guys go with orders for retro round gear?

View attachment 1457889

Cool jacket that one. I tried to order Freo’s retro jacket but they sold out within 2 minutes. Actually wrote them an email asking them to please make more than 6 for each size.

It's close but...

Behold! The one true jacket:

1658904271743.jpeg