Player Watch #30: Charlie Comben - defender or forward? CC T5 in the AFL for avg.intercept marks p/game - re-signed until end of 2027

yes we *en do and this chatter about needing another KPF, if we drafted another KPF we'll be waiting four more years anyway to see if he's any good.

The plan Stan will be to improve and look at either a trade or FA for a KPF ready to go. That is if we require one.

CCJ, Comben, Larkey and Edwards, love to see who other clubs have plying their trade at VFL level, awaiting their chance in the AFL. Not much I'd suggest.
Van Roo Yen.... reckon might have had something to do with trading out Weideman.

Dare I dream?
lets hope the only hurdle to that is the number of votes, TT, Phillips, and Cunners are taking off LDU......hell there is some upside right there in terms of availability before you even consider the development of kids, and having an actual coach who can coach.

I would love to hear David King next year say "Who need Charlie Curnow when you have Charlie Comben!"

Or James Brayshaw to remain silent during a patch of 4 Charlie Comben goals only to erupt into his pants when Charlie Curnow next appears on screen.

Or a Sydney player hand balling, Bradshaw is mad for a Sydney hand ball

"Orhh let me tell you, they just do things so professionally up at that football club! The bloods culture has just been amazing since Roosy turned that joint right around!"

Fun/annoying fact, Blakey & Longmire copied the Shinboner culture from their time at North and got Sydney to do the same with the whole bloods culture thing.

Or James Brayshaw to remain silent during a patch of 4 Charlie Comben goals only to erupt into his pants when Charlie Curnow next appears on screen.
Freaking hate that about JB.

It's almost like he's trying too hard to not get too excited when commentating our games. In the Port massacre 3 years ago he talked up Port players like no tomorrow and we barely got anything. It was actually so obvious it ruined the joyous 2hrs of demolition on a bad night for SA.

Anyway, he has done massive things for our club and it outweighs what he does as a commentator.

Hope your right but I have doubts I see him as Eric Lissendon mark 2 heaps of potential and that was it

I think Wayne Carey had Eric's spot in the side.
Also I think Eric had some off-field issues.

Comben is driven to succeed. He is one of those types that will get the best out of himself. His body was made of chalk and he still fronted up and threw himself into any contest.

Reckon the sanest folk would have retired.

I liked the bit where they say he marks the ball at its highest point. You see Xerri is a perfect example of doing the exact opposite, hence why at AFL level Xerri doesn't take many marks. Is easily spoilt.

Marking the ball at its highest point is the silliest cliche in football. It's clearly not true as the highest point is when it is in the middle of its trajectory about 20-30 metres above the ground. Presumably they mean that he marks the ball when he is at his highest point, leaping and with arms at maximum extension.

Not sure it's the biggest cliché in footy, I think folks using a play on words in their profiles is more prevalent.

Well Gary Dempsey use to kick the ball 50 metres in the air and about 15 metres fwd. So suppose it does depend on who's the kicker.

oh well indeed

Huge statement. Would be profoundly impactful if he did.

I'd be happy if he plays 15+ games and kicks 25+. Anything more is a bonus and I'd absolutely love to see it!

I agree 100% but he does average the 2+ goals so if he plays 23 games - its a dreamy possibility.

Certainly, a game changer for us.

Player Watch #30: Charlie Comben - defender or forward? CC T5 in the AFL for avg.intercept marks p/game - re-signed until end of 2027