Training Training Reports and Updates

Watched the boys go through a long, tough session today in GTown today.
Only observational but Tom Mitch destroyed the running and got a tonne of footy in match sim. Loved seeing him talking to Josh Carmy - unreal role model for him to follow. They were the last 2 to leave the track and will be massive for our midfield this year. N.Daicos was exceptional all day, just does everything all the time.
I like the look of frampton down back, big unit who will play a massive role for us. IQ is huge, could be anything this year. Maynard looks trim as and ready for another huge year.
There were a few who struggled in the running at the end. Magic, Bobby Hill, and Dizee were a mile off it. They would want to be really good with ball in hand. Poor Beggy tried his best but was almost running backwards by the end. Was feeling for him, but he never gave up. Cox and Ginny both surprised me with their running, liked their efforts a lot.
During and afterwards every player was super polite and poses for photos. Fly had a chat to them too. They were so thrilled and just speaks volumes about the culture of the club. Best club in the land, THANKYOU to all the people who make this club an amazing one. 2023 Year of the Pie

Attachments

• B550078E-40A7-4DCD-8EEF-DB7E0A949DE2.jpeg
    B550078E-40A7-4DCD-8EEF-DB7E0A949DE2.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 176
  • 8D080B8F-4926-4048-BDD7-2CC6E70738C6.jpeg
    8D080B8F-4926-4048-BDD7-2CC6E70738C6.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 176
Well we already tried it in 2018. You can’t take too many NQR players into a GF and expect a good outcome.

And instead of treating the deficiencies. We kept on going forward with the like. Eventually costing Buckley his job.

Even last season……We are all ecstatic about the season we had. I won’t take that away from anything. But our finals games showed exactly why we miss out on the big prize. Not from a lack of endeavor. Just from a lack of quality on the park. The new coaching team have seen the problems and have gone a long way to rectify them. Not totally….baby steps.

I have no hatred for WHE. He is just not someone I’d pick on a regular basis. He has his positives. But they are outweighed by his glaring deficiencies for me. Especially coming into this season. I can see guys like Carmichael and Ryan and others, going past him quickly this year. At a rate of knots. And there are only 22/23 spots to play. And with Mitchell, McStay, Frampton and possibly Hill coming in. Someone must give way. And all I see him as is a bit part player this year.

I’m looking forward to the year ahead. My expectations are tempered though. As each new season brings with it it’s own new challenges. The past only serves to learn from and be nostalgic.

I’d gladly eat humble Pie if WHE is walking around the G, late September, carrying the Premiership Cup with a medal around his neck.

I think I'm entirely in agreement with this. Right now WHE is in my personal best 23 for R1 but can very easily see him slipping out by the mid point of the season.

On SM-G981B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Only observational but Tom Mitch destroyed the running and got a tonne of footy in match sim. Loved seeing him talking to Josh Carmy - unreal role model for him to follow. They were the last 2 to leave the track and will be massive for our midfield this year. N.Daicos was exceptional all day, just does everything all the time.
I like the look of frampton down back, big unit who will play a massive role for us. IQ is huge, could be anything this year. Maynard looks trim as and ready for another huge year.
There were a few who struggled in the running at the end. Magic, Bobby Hill, and Dizee were a mile off it. They would want to be really good with ball in hand. Poor Beggy tried his best but was almost running backwards by the end. Was feeling for him, but he never gave up. Cox and Ginny both surprised me with their running, liked their efforts a lot.
During and afterwards every player was super polite and poses for photos. Fly had a chat to them too. They were so thrilled and just speaks volumes about the culture of the club. Best club in the land, THANKYOU to all the people who make this club an amazing one. 2023 Year of the Pie
Love the photos

Thanks you do have a lot of players to rotate in midfield that are similar to him.
Would play in a lot of other clubs I think round 1.

You have Mitchell Pendlebury Adams Sidebottom De Goey all certain to be in the frame. McRae should start to get more games through there as well I would imagine. Also you have alot of guys that can come in for short stints. Elliot Crisp Quaynor.
Has been training well according to track watchers. Has height, speed and agility. If he matches some of the expectation around him will definitely play in 23. Would hope he goes past the likes of Macrae and a few other youngsters pretty quickly. Round 1 too soon probably.

Thanks for the report!! I’m really excited about Mitchell. Did Nick D play through the middle? Who is Dizee?

Has been training well according to track watchers. Has height, speed and agility. If he matches some of the expectation around him will definitely play in 23. Would hope he goes past the likes of Macrae and a few other youngsters pretty quickly. Round 1 too soon probably.

Thanks for the report!! I’m really excited about Mitchell. Did Nick D play through the middle? Who is Dizee?

Mitchell looked the consummate professional. Some tough running for the group at the end and he kept leading the charge. Rekon he’ll be the recruit if the year. ND played a lot in the middle but even when he was on HB be was constantly streaming through the middle getting HB receives like no tomorrow. He just draws the football. MCInness is indeed dizzee. Played at FF a fair bit but didn’t set the world on fire. I love him as a player so hope he finds his groove.
Big year coming up ✊🏾

Mitchell looked the consummate professional. Some tough running for the group at the end and he kept leading the charge. Rekon he’ll be the recruit if the year. ND played a lot in the middle but even when he was on HB be was constantly streaming through the middle getting HB receives like no tomorrow. He just draws the football. MCInness is indeed dizzee. Played at FF a fair bit but didn’t set the world on fire. I love him as a player so hope he finds his groove.
Big year coming up

How did the train on players go?

My mate who umpired the match sim wasn’t impressed with Markov at all.
Did you have a different view?

On iPhone using BigFooty.com mobile a
None really stood out. Didn’t think markov did anything wrong, but just blended in. The big ruckman kid struggled in the 2v1 marking drills and didn’t get much run in the ruck in the match sim… that being said I think we’ll need a backup ruckman. If Darcy goes down it would make life pretty tough.
Your mate may have copped a bit from Elliot over a non decision for holding the ball. Jimmy was not happy 😂 Competitive juices are defo starting to flow with the boys which is great. O’Bree who is a geelong oppo scout was also there watching training… I may have reminded him where his loyalties should lie 😉
Well earned mini break for the boys 😎🥳

None really stood out. Didn’t think markov did anything wrong, but just blended in. The big ruckman kid struggled in the 2v1 marking drills and didn’t get much run in the ruck in the match sim… that being said I think we’ll need a backup ruckman. If Darcy goes down it would make life pretty tough.
Your mate may have copped a bit from Elliot over a non decision for holding the ball. Jimmy was not happy Competitive juices are defo starting to flow with the boys which is great. O’Bree who is a geelong oppo scout was also there watching training… I may have reminded him where his loyalties should lie
Well earned mini break for the boys 🥳

Yeah my mate said something similar, either did anything too impressive but that Steene has potential and uncapped talent on his side.

Ooh naughty O bree lol

O’Bree who is a geelong oppo scout was also there watching training… I may have reminded him where his loyalties should lie 😉

Shane O’Bree? How could he?

misha get well we love you GIF

AFL BEST 22
BMAYNARDDEANHOWE
HBCRISPMOOREQUAYNOR
CTRN. DAICOSCARMICHAELJ. DAICOS
HFDE GOEYMCSTAYMcCREERY
FGINNIVANMIHOCEKELLIOTT
FOLLCAMERONADAMSMITCHELL
Substitute
INTSIDEBOTTOMLIPINSKIPENDLEBURYNOBLECOX
Good one Juan Ide: really like the balance of this side. Carmichael in the guts is a big call and I really like it. Can't see Adams and Mitchell on the ground at the same time very often, reckon Adams interchanges with Titch initially and once his fitness is up and the coaches are confident in his body he might spend some time on the HBF. Really like Crisp off HB - That's up there with the best backlines going around - especially if Pendles runs through there. Cox as the sub is nice too, provides some coverage for the loss of Cameron and ensures that we can maintain a strong marking presence around the ground - reckon this is the best I've see - go Pies

Big year coming up ✊🏾
At the moment, Reef is Elliott back up.

No he wouldn’t. And it’s that type of thinking that I hope is long gone from our footy department.

Thankfully it’s been evident in the past year as to what the current list manager and coaching staff value.

Maybe not today.
My point is Thomas was not "cut' or let go.

Your comment "Just as Thomas and Mayne were sent on their way"
is disrespectful to both players. Mayne retired after a very substantial career and in the case of Thomas you're simply wrong.
Had he been fit would have been on the list until age or form actually took it's course as with any player.
The implication of the post was that Thomas was in poor form which is not the case, only injury ended his career.
At the time he was very much best 22.

Maybe not today.
My point is Thomas was not "cut' or let go.

Your comment "Just as Thomas and Mayne were sent on their way"
is disrespectful to both players. Mayne retired after a very substantial career and in the case of Thomas you're simply wrong.
Had he been fit would have been on the list until age or form actually took it's course as with any player.
The implication of the post was that Thomas was in poor form which is not the case, only injury ended his career.
At the time he was very much best 22.
Thomas retired of his own volition though? He was playing every game week in, week out?

Had a sense he was ready to move into the next stage of his life. He had a good job lined up, was moving overseas for a year.

Really appreciate the report, great read, thanks for sharing.

What I always look for at this time of year, is how the new recruits are settling in and going on the track, and who on the entire list is standing out. What you want to see is the new blokes coming on in leaps and bounds and starting to put genuine, mounting pressure on some of the blokes at the other end of their careers. Hopefully through the season a couple of them break through and excel when they get their chance.

Training Training Reports and Updates