Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

Alright *******.

34 year old nephew, grade 1/2 syndesmosis partial tear. No complications. Firefighter from the calendar. Injury 5 months ago. Was given 8 weeks rest in a moonboot. Didn't heal and had private surgery. 12 Weeks since surgery, at a push hard but not explosive running and has done 8 weeks of physical therapy mainly based around reformer pilates, bodyweight exercises, stretching and 4 sessions in the pool a week. Love of his life is surfing, 12 weeks since surgery and he can't get up on a board.

Played for peel, worked out he wasn't good enough for AFL but country footy plus a job paid more so went down that path.

Now if jack has just blown out even some serious ankle ligaments he will be back in 6-8 weeks but he won't be at 100%. If he's only done some minor ligament damage he'll be back running mostly on an alter-g machine within 2 weeks but still 4-5 weeks away. Unlike you i've seen the footage, this is likely the best case scenario.

Oh and just tell me when he does come back tell me how much of that straight line speed he's going to have before he can get fully match fit when his ankle is strapped hard and he won't get the push off from that ankle. Or tell me how good his lateral strength and agility is going to be straight away.

Even if it a low grade tear and ligament only, he's at the very least lost any and all gains made through the preseason and lost a significant amount of lateral strength.

So go on, tell this fully self funded retiree campaigner he doesn't know what he's talking about again.
7avnbt.jpg

What an ungrateful little campaigner

Also, the scratch match against Port was only announced a couple of weeks ago so how the * could he have put it in his diary when he arrived at the club

Would love to see Hurn run right through him

Willie needs to pull his head in.

Club bent over backwards for the bloke. And reportedly pissed off a few players because of it.

His self centred selfish side seems to be becoming the norm. Oh well at least we got a 2nd rounder for our trouble.

You said he played the position well before he was drafted.

That sounds like an endorsement.

You certainly didnt dissagree.
Am I wrong? He did.
But if we were going to we'd have to completely change the structure of our forward line, from memory he played a lot of those games for Subi one out in the forward 50. Which we probably won't do.

Am I wrong? He did.
But if we were going to we'd have to completely change the structure of our forward line, from memory he played a lot of those games for Subi one out in the forward 50. Which we probably won't do.

He could pinch hit if needed. But would need the othrr players to clear out.

Just feel that he is looking fitter than ever and would be a handful off a wing / resting forward.

Actually feel we will rotate quite a few through the wings this season even without injuries.

Clark, West, Hough, Hunt, Ryan, Sheed, Gaff, Duggan, Cripps, Petrucelle, Chesser, Burgeil and Jones could all rotate through there.

Fresh legs.

He could pinch hit if needed. But would need the othrr players to clear out.

Just feel that he is looking fitter than ever and would be a handful off a wing / resting forward.

Actually feel we will rotate quite a few through the wings this season even without injuries.

Clark, West, Hough, Hunt, Ryan, Sheed, Gaff, Duggan, Cripps, Petrucelle, Chesser, Burgeil and Jones could all rotate through there.

Fresh legs.
I feel like we're going to be very short on scoring options this year, Ryan will be a permanent forward for most of the year imo

Half Baked Boo GIF

What an ungrateful little campaigner

Also, the scratch match against Port was only announced a couple of weeks ago so how the * could he have put it in his diary when he arrived at the club

Would love to see Hurn run right through him

I dont see what Riolis problem is. Its like he blames our club for his own mistakes.

I didn't really sense any inflammatory comments in there? The article tries to drum it up a bit, and I can fully appreciate everyone's misgivings about his conduct and lack of duty to a club that looked after him, but don't reckon he's saying anything wild or ungrateful here. No doubt got asked about the fixture by some boffin at the AGM and said he reckons it's note-worthy or whatever. 🤷🏼

Ryan deep forward is one of those moves that always seems to work, and yet we don't pull it out often enough..

I'm all for giving the kent the whole forward 50 and having him outwit his defender close to goal. That's the second best option after McGovern forward IMO.

It's either that or watch some gimp like Waterman or Williams impersonate a marking target.

What club has ever played an undersized player such as Ryan at FF? Other than for short stints.

Mark LeCras
Phil Matera

I didn't really sense any inflammatory comments in there? The article tries to drum it up a bit, and I can fully appreciate everyone's misgivings about his conduct and lack of duty to a club that looked after him, but don't reckon he's saying anything wild or ungrateful here. No doubt got asked about the fixture by some boffin at the AGM and said he reckons it's note-worthy or whatever. 🤷🏼

“I’m just grateful to be here where I know I’ll get the best out of myself.”

“Coming over here, I feel like there’s great support around me and that will get the best out of me,”

“Growing up in the community, family is a big thing and culture, and I feel like this club has that in spades.”

These are all direct quotes so it’s not an interpretation of what he said

The inference, to me, is that the support for him wasn’t there at West Coast and is why he didn’t get the best out of himself.

For 2 years whilst he was banned the club supported him through his self inflicted legal issues which included him returning to live in the NT with his family (where he got himself in further trouble smuggling weed through an airport)

In return the club simply asked him to return in good physical condition to repay the faith they’d put in him. Did he do that? Maybe, maybe not. Certainly not to the extent he seems to be doing at Port

If ever there was a case of a player owing a club it was Rioli at West Coast. He turned his back on the club so as far as I’m concerned he can GAGF

Yikes. The sky has fallen in here hasn’t it?

Look, it’s probably best to just assume the worst.

He’s gone for the season.

Even if they say he’s gone for ‘8 weeks’ - they are either lying or just haven’t stuffed up the rehab yet.

Best case is they say ‘early season return’ - that means ‘after the bye’ but it’s better than the season right? 😅

Was Brad Johnson? Tony Modra? Not a standard but reckon there might be some others.

Would be interesting to see a team one day break from the norm and start recruiting just medium and small fwds or something and just go for a crazy agile and speedy line be it fwd or whatever? Just kick the ball into the fwd line along the ground or keep it low. Imagine a fwd line of 6 jai boltons or something going up against a standard 2kpd and 4 medium/small defenders.

On SM-G988B using BigFooty.com mobile app

**** Rioli. Lets pull Beau Waters from his death bed and tell run through him as he was Steven Salopek

I will forever be thankful to Willie Rioli for handing us both Ginbey & Hewett in the same draft & setting us up for possibly one of our best hauls ever. He has zero integrity, hope he sucks failure at Port.

Don’t feel that way about most, almost all defectors. Although obviously disappointing he left, Judd continued to be one of my fav players when he went to Carlton, still loved his work. On a somewhat related note I could never understand the old Chardonnay sipping bags who would always look on Cuz glowingly but paint Judd as a traitor. Both brilliant on field and legends of the game - one gave us everything & his absolute best and later left for home / family. The other very nearly wrecked the club. That was always crazy to me that some got it so twisted

Can’t believe our notoriously secretive organization hasn’t bent over backwards to get the news out as soon as humanly possible.
Can you highlight the part in my post where i called the club "notoriously secretive"? Or the part where i said they have an obligation to "bend over backwards to get the news out as soon as humanly possible"? Or any words to that effect even?

No, you can't because you just made it up.

Which is very typical of you, being the flog of a poster that you are, to make up out of wholecloth straw man comments that nobody ever made, nor said anything that even vaguely resembled, in order to be able to post a snarky reply to try and look smart.

Unfortunately for you when you have to distort somebody else's post that far and that obviously in order to create the straw man you need to enable the snarky post you look like an idiot trying desperately to impress others and sound smart.