Autopsy Freo Lose To North at Home

Your question is a good one and I agree where was Walters all night? That’s on the coach.

But you should also know better coming in here to a losing teams board stirring the pot. What do you expect?
Honestly we all shouldn't be so sensitive...or at least have some awareness to distinguish between good faith and bad faith.

That’s why I’m out. I said it last year and they sucked me back in. This time I’m done. Will watch with some interest, but no emotional investment. Maybe I’m a fair weather supporter - but I reckon not.

See ya round peoples! Might pop in to say gday here and there, but won’t be a regular. Anyone wanna catch up for a natter, send me a DM. 👍🏼

Freo forever, eh! 💜
Don't blame you in the slightest, this team is boring as shit to watch at times, especially when we're losing.

Your question is a good one and I agree where was Walters all night? That’s on the coach.

But you should also know better coming in here to a losing teams board stirring the pot. What do you expect?
I'm not stirring the pot pal, it's derby week - it's a legitimate and valid question meant completely above board.

Kind of got the double banger with the emotions tonight. Had the catharsis of losing well before the end when I came to the realization we're a 7 goal a game team, then we go and kick 3 in 2 minutes only to kind of flail away again for the last minute. Well deserved win to North.

The centre bounces were especially awful. Not only did we give away free kicks but the tap work was read much better than their mids and our fellows in there didn't look physically up to it. Its all wrong in there at the moment. The wasn't much height in the ball bounces but Darcy didn't adjust to it and just kept hitting it down to spaces where Norths bigger bodies could shrug us off and for the 2nd week in a row we've looked undersized in there.

I know we changed personal later and in the last 5 minutes were winning everything but we have to look at something there as well as on the wings where noone hurt the opposition out wide or used the ball well enough.

Then there's the forward line. We're in a big hole because we've found out the mix for rd 1 & rd 2 was wrong but we don't know what's right.

I'm not stirring the pot pal, it's derby week - it's a legitimate and valid question meant completely above board.
You still here, campaigner? See you in your match review thread tomorrow after y'all get pumped by the Giants.

Seriously you're fine mate. You've displayed nothing but good faith in your discourse. It's just a very volatile time on here due to who and the nature of how we lost to.

Fair, then we're just back on arguing how we saw it: Did it go out before or after the siren sounded. Seemed genuinely line ball to me

Disclaimer before I get in to this ... I am glad Norths won given how poorly Freo played. Freo did not deserve to salvage that game from a Free Kick after the siren. But ...

You can watch the last 2min replay and clearly see the ball crosses the line then bounces, then the siren sounds and then the Norths players start to celebrate. You can also clearly pause the video showing the ball over the boundary line prior to hearing the siren and seeing any celebration from North players.
I truly believe anybody being objective would admit the ball crossed the boundary line prior to the siren.

1679747989131.png 1679748060557.png

Which then leads me to what I posted on the main Autoposy thread ...

It was the wrong decision by the umpires for the following reasons;
  • decisions can be made after the siren.
  • the siren went after the ball had crossed the boundary line.
  • it was clearly out of bounds intentionally.

Anybody who tries to argue that the decision must be made before the siren is wrong because if a player is having a set shot at goal after the siren and the opposition infringes on the mark, then a 50m penalty will be given ... after the siren.
The law states;
10.5 END OF QUARTER
(a) The end of a quarter occurs when any field Umpire or emergency Umpire first
hears the siren sounded by the Timekeepers to signal the end of a quarter.
The field Umpire shall acknowledge the siren and bring play to an end by blowing
a whistle and holding both arms above their head.
(b) For the avoidance of doubt, if immediately before hearing the siren to end a
quarter, a field Umpire is of the opinion that a Player should be awarded a Free
Kick or a Mark, the field Umpire shall signal that play has come to an end and then
award the Free Kick or Mark to the Player. A Free Kick will not be awarded where
the football has been kicked and, after the field Umpire has heard the siren,
lands Out of Bounds On the Full.

EDIT: personally, Freo did not deserve to win on that performance, but games should be umpired according to the rules and umpires should be aware of those rules.

The midfield on paper should beat at least 12 or so other sides fairly comfortably, for whatever reason they just can't function atm.

It'll be close and I don't think you'll find many Freo fans sharing your confidence we'll roll West Coast.
JOM doesn’t fit. That’s the problem.
North has Zuurhaar. Would love that type for Fremantle. Instead they’re all short and pushovers.
Serong, as amazing as he is, is a midget.

Why not put Jackson at centre bounces with Darcy? He creates chaos.

But we did win the ball. Inside 50s were 53-46

At half time Andrew Brayshaw had 15 possessions at 100% DE, Will Brodie finished with 94.1 DE and James Aish 86.7

That's superb delivery.

Can we please look at the obvious thing right in front of our face?

We stuffed the rebuild by spending all our capital on defenders, mids and an extraordinary amount on rucks. This was compounded by the fact that we let go too many good players who would have played in the positions we need (Cerra, Neale, Langdon, Hogan and Lobb particularly)

We don't have a good enough forward line to be a top team. It's questionable if we're even a good team. We're certainly not at the moment.
Now tell me how the centre clearances went. Please.

Seriously you're fine mate. You've displayed nothing but good faith in your discourse. It's just a very volatile time on here due to who and the nature of how we lost to.
Yeah. Laughing reactions is super good faith. I was perma banned from their board for far less.

That’s why I’m out. I said it last year and they sucked me back in. This time I’m done. Will watch with some interest, but no emotional investment. Maybe I’m a fair weather supporter - but I reckon not.

See ya round peoples! Might pop in to say gday here and there, but won’t be a regular. Anyone wanna catch up for a natter, send me a DM. 👍🏼

Freo forever, eh! 💜
Don't worry you know people like me get it even when we don't, fantastic lady.

To congratulate our win?
jim halpert GIF

From the outside looking in surely its time for Johnson, Erasmus & Sturt to get some game time. Need an injection of class and flair. Unlike my team who have bugger all in VFL to bring in & the season as good as over.
It’ll happen. 0-2 with the experienced. There’ll be changes

No he wasn’t.
Yes he was. Top 10 in average contested marks in at least four seasons. Number 1 in the AFL 2017 & 2019, 2nd behind Charlie Dixon in 2020, 7th in 2018. Not totals as he was often injured but when on the park, was clearly one of the best contested marks. Not even close to our worst tall forward.

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah. Laughing reactions is super good faith. I was perma banned from their board for far less.
You're the only one calling me a flog and etc. That is funny given I'm not stirring here.

As I have stated, I think right now you're playing terrible, as is half the AFL.
I think once you work out what you're doing up forward you'll be okay.
Starting Walters might be a first step.

I think you'll win the Derby by ~5 goals and build on it in what will be an open and close season. Everyone can beat everyone, upsets will happen.

Cheers.

In fairness: The Laugh reaction generally is the one with the most ambiguity due to the duality of how it's used both sincerely and sardonically.

Mind you, the laugh emoji below the very post I'm quoting is a good example of your point

JOM doesn’t fit. That’s the problem.
North has Zuurhaar. Would love that type for Fremantle. Instead they’re all short and pushovers.
Serong, as amazing as he is, is a midget.

Why not put Jackson at centre bounces with Darcy? He creates chaos.

Assuming the season continues to slide, one minor positive is that they might not have any choice but to give games to Johnson and Erasmus or at least try a few things like Jackson through the middle.

It's frustrating because we have so much talent across the board but it's looking like a team that was cobbled together 30 mins before the first bounce.

Autopsy Freo Lose To North at Home