Analysis Ricks Analysis (The Shinboner Blog)

Interesting to note on the table in Ricks article with the wins and losses that we have played them more than anyone other than Brisbane. (unless my Maths is as bad as teachers used to tell me). Its great being the fixture filler!

I wrote in our Group Chat half way through the second quarter “can you believe we are watching the same team as last year?”
A week is a long time in football. A month is an even longer time.

I suspect you can now believe we are watching the same team as last year.

Painful as it is.

Obviously it doesn't compare with the travel of Freo or the Weagles.
We only travel twice to Tassie twice until Rd 16 though, Rds 9 & 13
It’s a nice block of games in Melb allows us time to recover, pity it’s all against better teams & *

8C9EBB6F-E7BE-4009-9B46-0C90C00A1B42.jpeg
Lin Manuel Miranda Love GIF by Tony Awards

No it doesn’t compare. West Coast and Freo have only travelled 3 times this year including Gather Round, so we have had a worse travel schedule over the first 6 weeks. We are the only side to have 2 x back to back interstate trips.

Throw in our Tassie games and we will be close to the travel schedule of an interstate side.

Here’s an idea, let’s play all home games in Melbourne!

That would be great, but it still doesn’t change our first 6 weeks as we have only played 2 home games and both have been in Melbourne.
I hated that Clarko brought that up. Travel fatigue may be a factor late in the game but doesn't explain why we were so flat right from the start. I expected the players to come out fired up for Goldy's 300th.
Unfortunately we can't expect a decent draw as we've been shite for so long.
Please excuse a long time lurker but I'm just so pizzed off with these embarassing non competitive performances

On moto g(30) using BigFooty.com mobile app

I hated that Clarko brought that up. Travel fatigue may be a factor late in the game but doesn't explain why we were so flat right from the start. I expected the players to come out fired up for Goldy's 300th.
Unfortunately we can't expect a decent draw as we've been shite for so long.
Please excuse a long time lurker but I'm just so pizzed off with these embarassing non competitive performances

On moto g(30) using BigFooty.com mobile app
I said something similar, that performance can’t be blamed on travel.

My point was around the inequality of the fixture as we have been sent here there and everywhere in the first 6 weeks. My main gripe is the back to back travel, that we have had twice.

It isn’t the blame, but it’s not ideal from a preparation perspective being off and on planes, in hotels etc so often in a short span of time.

Post up for the Melbourne game: Round 7, 2023 v Melbourne: Time for stage two

Not much you can say about what we saw on-field because, I mean, seriously. So I thought I'd focus on a few of Clarkson's post-match quotes about how it looks like the next step of the process is about to begin, starting to introduce some more youngsters, and why there was a focus on older heads to start.

I have been hanging my North cap & Carn the Roos badge on the belief that things are not as bad as they appear. We are clearly building the foundations while playing against teams that are adding a second ensuite. Your posts allow me to understand the blueprint when all I experience is an abandoned construction site. Thanks again.

An ardent fan’s lament, do the footy heads inside the club fully appreciate how gutting this part of the journey is for us loyal supporters?

I love this and hope the changes that seem obvious are made.

I feel a bit bad for Griff given what he was promised when he came over, but desperate times.

It's a short term stop gap move. It doesn't impact the long term vision with him.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

This weeks spot on Rick18 and in particular the changes mooted. This is the way, bring in players into positions where we are already not performing. Not so much player x for player y. I think and hope we will see at least 3-4 of these over the next 2 weeks and more to come.

An ardent fan’s lament, do the footy heads inside the club fully appreciate how gutting this part of the journey is for us loyal supporters?

Yeah they do, coaches job is to stay level but the mood always fluctuates with the results.

Tbh I'd be surprised if it's more than a one-week thing. Assuming CCJ gets past the concussion in regulation time, he comes back in for Round 9 and then Logue goes back again.

Post up for the St Kilda game: Round 8, 2023 v St Kilda: Small steps

This is going to sound baffling given the final score and the general hail of sub-optimal play, but genuinely think North took a step forward. So the post is explaining where it came from on both sides of the ball, and an extra section on most of Sunday's inclusions and thoughts on their respective games.

Great analysis.

Agree with your take. It was a bit of a grind to watch at times given we torched the final delivery but we looked in control for much more of the game and to be honest if we'd taken just 2-3 of those chances St Kilda would have been vulnerable.

Edit: BTW I thought your query on Perez was interesting. Probably have a similar take to you, I'm unsure as opposed to Bergman whether he can really slice open a team and that remains an open question. He showed enough that I'm willing to give him more games to see how he settles.

One thing i noticed with Perez is one kick he made was beautiful. It was to the spot about 2m in front of a standing/flat footed North player, who, if they'd held their ground would have been able to lunge forward and take the mark low on their chest. they were in a potential wrestle at that point and could have held their ground. Instead they ran forward after he kicked it and as a result it skimmed over their head and was probably a turnover. Its the extra couple of metres on his kick that confused whoever he kicked it to imo.

Great as always. I know I felt better watching the defence and attack around the ground, even if the forward 50 was a bit of a black hole, and this explains why.

I love the “floor raiser” rather than “ceiling raiser” comment about Mahoney (and other foot soldier types).

One thing i noticed with Perez is one kick he made was beautiful. It was to the spot about 2m in front of a standing/flat footed North player, who, if they'd held their ground would have been able to lunge forward and take the mark low on their chest. they were in a potential wrestle at that point and could have held their ground. Instead they ran forward after he kicked it and as a result it skimmed over their head and was probably a turnover. Its the extra couple of metres on his kick that confused whoever he kicked it to imo.

I reckon we're thinking about the same kick which had me thinking how that one fits into instructions, whether it's supposed to be in front of the leading player, or maybe it was actually the leading player who moved the wrong way, or something else to it entirely.

Or I'm just reading too much into a single kick which is more likely.

Analysis Ricks Analysis (The Shinboner Blog)