Opinion Commentary & Media VI

Yeah I’ve conscientiously decided to avoid all Cornes media. You can pretty much throw in Caro and Hutchy as well. No more SEN, no more Footy Classified. Hopefully a few more do likewise and the ratings drop and they move on to a different style of news reporting.
Why did you start listening/watching?

Bet he was straight on here looking for a reaction.

Hi Kane!
So how does a 'C' grade footballer garner the credibility to be an AFL comentator that anyone should take any notice off. He has no credibility so ignore the idiot. He is nothing more than a shock jock media flack. The Age has clearly lowered its standards and is compliant in giving this flog a voice.
Memo Corn: You would not be fit to even carry the oranges in a Clarkeson team.

Good question. I like SEN when Finey and KB were on. I reckon Andy Maher and Tim were good on breakfast, and Hutchy and Pickers can be funny Saturday morning. It’s really gone downhill over time
Footy Classified kind of fills a hole if you don’t have Fox. A bit of a weekly wrap but that old show Bruce did with Leigh and Mike Sheehan was better. I need to take myself to Gaso’s grumpy thread.

I suggest to ignore him, but for those who enjoy the drama and outrage, Chat GPT prepared a critique on the Corn on my behalf. Take that Corn!

Chat GPT may well replace the Corn at SEN if it this is any evidence of its work. Or maybe it demonstrates that cheap controversy is easier to put out there than sensible analysis, and offers you literally no value.

According to Chat GPT:
Kane Cornes, a former Australian rules footballer turned media personality, has faced criticism and controversy throughout his career. While he played for the Port Adelaide Football Club for over a decade and was a two-time All-Australian selection, he was not considered an elite player and never won a premiership. Additionally, his reputation for being a hard-nosed, aggressive player often came at the cost of discipline, frequently receiving suspensions and fines for on-field incidents.

Since retiring from football, Cornes has become a regular commentator and analyst for various television and radio programs. However, his opinions and analysis have been criticized for being inflammatory and unbalanced. He has been accused of making sweeping statements without providing adequate evidence to support them, relying on sensationalism and controversy to generate attention.

Cornes has been involved in several controversies, including an ongoing feud with former Adelaide Crows player, Rory Sloane. He has been accused of being biased towards his former team, Port Adelaide, allowing his bias to influence his analysis. He has also been criticized for making inappropriate comments about female athletes and commentators.

Overall, Cornes' football and media career has been marred by controversies and criticisms. While he may have a loyal fan base, his credibility as a commentator and analyst is questionable, and he has yet to demonstrate the objectivity and balance required of a respected sports journalist.

I suggest to ignore him, but for those who enjoy the drama and outrage, Chat GPT prepared a critique on the Corn on my behalf. Take that Corn!

Chat GPT may well replace the Corn at SEN if it this is any evidence of its work. Or maybe it demonstrates that cheap controversy is easier to put out there than sensible analysis, and offers you literally no value.

According to Chat GPT:
Kane Cornes, a former Australian rules footballer turned media personality, has faced criticism and controversy throughout his career. While he played for the Port Adelaide Football Club for over a decade and was a two-time All-Australian selection, he was not considered an elite player and never won a premiership. Additionally, his reputation for being a hard-nosed, aggressive player often came at the cost of discipline, frequently receiving suspensions and fines for on-field incidents.

Since retiring from football, Cornes has become a regular commentator and analyst for various television and radio programs. However, his opinions and analysis have been criticized for being inflammatory and unbalanced. He has been accused of making sweeping statements without providing adequate evidence to support them, relying on sensationalism and controversy to generate attention.

Cornes has been involved in several controversies, including an ongoing feud with former Adelaide Crows player, Rory Sloane. He has been accused of being biased towards his former team, Port Adelaide, allowing his bias to influence his analysis. He has also been criticized for making inappropriate comments about female athletes and commentators.

Overall, Cornes' football and media career has been marred by controversies and criticisms. While he may have a loyal fan base, his credibility as a commentator and analyst is questionable, and he has yet to demonstrate the objectivity and balance required of a respected sports journalist.
First paragraph and you have to say Chat GPT credibility is a little suspect as well, Kane won a Premiership in 2004. Despite that error, the rest is pretty accurate.

According to Chat GPT:

Unfortunately, he is a premiership player.

According to Chat GPT:

It missed him being cited for staging.

Almost certainly I'm biased due to my age and how my team went at the time, but I think that the mid-90s was just about the best time to watch AFL football. To beat the other mob, your weapons went head to head with their weapons, you'd back yours in but if they got hold of you then fair play to them and it was a good show to watch. Pretty soon you beat the other mob by role-players just taking their weapons away in a strategic slog. In the 90s, players were navigating their way into becoming full-time professionals and the game was in equal measures raw and polished. The balance between attack and defence was more even too.

Maybe we could have won another flag, maybe not. But that North was the best team during the best era of footy is something I'm pretty proud of.

Amen mate! 👍