Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Cats missing quite a few important players tonight but the tigers turning back the clock. Cotchin three goals ffs haha. And dusty doing dusty. Bit of a joke non call that last one though. 🙄
Cats are shit again. But they’ll remember how to play just in time for us to play them. And of course Richmond are winning again. We play them soon

This has to be an all time low for West Coast with Gold Coast flogging them at home, I can't remember them ever being this bad.

They are lucky they have so many supporters so they still get decent crowds but they are dropping off by the week, they are atrocious.

It used to be tough getting tickets to West Coast games when they were up and about but they would be struggling to give them away now.

Simpson's credits in the bank for the 2018 premiership win have run out, the WA media have gone soft on him but the knives will be out for him now,

Loving seeing West Coast screw with the Hawks' tanking plans, it's going to be great watching these two rabbles race to the bottom all season. We get to play the Hawks twice, so we'll do our bit to help them, but I hope the Eagles get Harley Reid. They need some major assistance and all the better for the Vic teams who want to sweet talk him back to Victoria in a few years. Also **** Hawthorn, they can stay shit, perfect for Dingley.

Yep, one is arguably a weekly footy incident turned "oopsie" with positioning, the other is straight targeted actions. Nothing comparable with them at all in intent.
Even my Swans supporting mate didn't like the look of it.
What a joke the AFL scheduling is, they scrap the Thursday night games and then have two games clashing on Friday night.

Then they have two of the best games of the round between Brisbane and Essendon and Carlton and the Dogs clashing on Saturday night.

Kayo and Foxtel have the promotion of watching every game live, how can you watch every game live when so many of them clash with each other?
I’d rather two games on Friday than a Thursday game. Also as for the clashes - they’re impossible to predict when the fixture is drawn up.

Even my Swans supporting mate didn't like the look of it.

I’d rather two games on Friday than a Thursday game. Also as for the clashes - they’re impossible to predict when the fixture is drawn up.

The AFL could avoid clashes better than they do, a lot of the clashes are due to Ch7 wanting certain start times to fit in with their news.

Like tonight the Gold Coast v West Coast game could have started later but Ch7 in Perth wanted it to start at 6.40pm after their news here.

The same thing happens on Sundays with Ch7 wanting the game they show to start at a time that will lead straight into their news at 6pm.

If the AFL coverage was left to Fox/Kayo the AFL would schedule the games so there was less clashes but they just bow down to what Ch7 want.

Like everything with the AFL it all comes down to money.

Geelong will be fine unfortunately but * it's good to watch them lose
We play them round 22 or something like that. You watch , they will have their best team in, and on a roll

This has to be an all time low for West Coast with Gold Coast flogging them at home, I can't remember them ever being this bad.

They are lucky they have so many supporters so they still get decent crowds but they are dropping off by the week, they are atrocious.

It used to be tough getting tickets to West Coast games when they were up and about but they would be struggling to give them away now.

Simpson's credits in the bank for the 2018 premiership win have run out, the WA media have gone soft on him but the knives will be out for him now,

GC are coming. They nearly got Melbourne and looked like it all clicked.

Well five games today, unfortunately two of which (possibly three) look to be very one sided. Let's face it, Port will beat Norf in Tassie and the Dees will wipe the Hawks at the 'G. So with those out of the way, the early game today is obviously very important for both Sydney and Freo. Both touted before the season began to be pushing for top four, pretty sure no one would've predicted them to be hitting round nine sitting 13th and 14th only a few percent apart. Still in touching distance to the eight however, games like this one against teams in the same part of the ladder almost become like eight point games. Take the four points and deny a close rival the four points.

Sydney's backs are all mostly injured (Tom McCartin out again this week) but do Freo have the forwards to take advantage of this? Their well known lack of a decent forward line has obviously been an issue for years, if they're now having to rely on Luke Jackson down there well they seem to be in some strife. Combine that with the painfully slow ball movement and things aren't looking good for the Dockers this year.

The Swans, despite only three wins and a decimated backline, have been pretty competitive most games against good teams bar the Geelong game. They seem to have lost that spark through the midfield which was a strength last year. Must be a confidence thing, I'm still kinda expecting them to get on a bit of a roll and be vying for the lower part of the eight.

The loser of this match will be at 3-6 all of a sudden and that means the prospect of finals is slipping away, if not already extremely unlikely. Freo right up there as the most disappointing team this year so far, just can't see them getting it done in Sydney. Swans by 29.

Two games tonight, at the Gabba I see Brisbane bullying the bombers a bit on their way to a big win. No Parish or Ridley will hurt Essington big time, reckon this one might also be very one sided and a big percentage booster for the Lions. Brisbane by 49.

Which brings us to the fifth and final game for today, blues v dogs. Really looking forward to this one, again a lot at stake for both teams. Seventh vs eighth, half a game apart. Prior to checking just before, I was under the impression both these teams were a bit lower on the ladder. Maybe I was being somewhat subconsciously predictive, knowing Carlton have a rough month ahead, and the doggies seem a bit inconsistent. I will say I think no player has had greater impact for their team this year than the Bont, imo he really has been the difference in their victories. Looking at the teams on paper it's hard to see how Carlton lose, but as we've all enjoyed they seem to be kinda in no man's land. Another side predicted to be pushing top four, they do seem destined to miss finals again unless there's some drastic change upcoming. Don't think crazy vossy has it in him at the helm to be frank. Their season unfolding where they'll beat up on the lesser teams and fall when the pressure's on.

I see the blues getting up tonight just to continue the tease for a bit longer, but in the context of the season I see this victory as the difference between finishing say tenth and maybe twelfth. Nice.

Anyhow geez, pardon the long post, just some musings fuelled by a coupla coffees, blue skies and a morning cruiser. 😄

BruisedHandsomeLiger-max-1mb.gif

Geelong are yet to beat a current top 8 team. Feasted on Hawks and West Coast and a severely depleted Sydney in Geelong and had everyone in the media fawning over them again.

They're the reigning premiers and haven't changed that much since last year. Yeah they lost Selwood and everyone's a year older, but I won't believe they're done until they prove it.

I’m not saying they’re done. They’ll definitely be top 8. But the media carry on has been over the top, when you actually sit and look at their form line

Whatever he says, whatever waffle.....it always has more content than any of your drivel! What is it with you guys? No matter how long one stays away whenever I relent and give it another chance, you few in your group of self adulators are speaking absolute s**t......if not about something then trying to run someone down. Moderate? Mutual masturbation maybe......Give it a rest!
Oh boy. This is a epic melt

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

I’m not saying they’re done. They’ll definitely be top 8. But the media carry on has been over the top, when you actually sit and look at their form line

Yep, lost to Carlton, Collingwood, Gold Coast and Richmond. Big wins against a depleted Sydney and Hawks. Decent wins against Essendon and Adelaide are their only good wins this season. Essendon was at the MCG but I think Adelaide would have got them in SA. Playing in Geelong gives them about a 20 point head start.

They are still an excellent side with experience at winning a premiership which instils confidence but I think the Dees look the side that is hardest to beat still. Geelong look a knee to Jeremey Cameron or Hawkins away from a drop off.

Can’t agree. It was never great but he can’t even get it in the same postcode of a teammate this year.

I didn't watch last night but that was always his biggest issue, great kick on goal but his field kicking has always been below par. GWS let him and Hopper go because Tom Green was a like Hopper and Taranto combined with better kicking. I'd have gladly had him but you have to allow for about a third of his kicks turning over. A good coach would use him on the inside dishing out by hand.

Geelong still have Danger, Guthrie, Close, De Koning, Stengle, Rohan, Stanley and Henry all still out. And of course by the time we play them they’ll probably all be back but I wouldn’t be writing them off just yet.

Yeah, even before the match people were saying they were going to struggle to maintain their form with the outs but they are vulnerable to injury now. Once they seemed to be able to do the one soldier in one out and stay up.

I didn't watch last night but that was always his biggest issue, great kick on goal but his field kicking has always been below par. GWS let him and Hopper go because Tom Green was a like Hopper and Taranto combined with better kicking. I'd have gladly had him but you have to allow for about a third of his kicks turning over. A good coach would use him on the inside dishing out by hand.
I'm pretty sure they wanted to keep Hopper, but taranto they were non plussed about for the return. Not saying he's a bad player, just that Green is better

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hopefully by that time we will have a full list to chose from also - it makes a huge difference. Our list is looking quite good now with a decent coaching group in charge - hopefully we can also get our injury management sorted?

Its marvellous last night how often we Brayshaw kept suggesting how devastated Geelong are with injuries. We dont hear a whisper about ours when we lose, its always all about how good the opposition are. You need a lot of things to go right to win flags, perhaps Geelongs luck has changed.