List Mgmt. 2023 List Management and Trading

Newchurch's lack of consistent competitiveness will get found at AFL level big time and obviously the coaching panel see it that way too. Tariek would have been given areas of his game that he needed to work on by the coaches over the last couple of years and clearly he hasn't met those expectations.

True, coaches should know best.

But don't you want to question these coaches just a little bit. This coaching panel are the same people that chose to give Jimmy Rowe 17 games last year and delist him all whilst keeping Tariek on the list for a 3rd season with no games.

Now I know this is a tough question for you - as you are on record preferring Rowe over Rankine because he dominated at SANFL level - but wouldn't it be a good idea to give Newchurch a chance?

Our coaching staff have also selected Matt Crouch 4 separate times over the past 2 years without learning from it, so maybe they shouldn't be considered as deity's who can't be questioned.

True, coaches should know best.

But don't you want to question these coaches just a little bit. This coaching panel are the same people that chose to give Jimmy Rowe 17 games last year and delist him all whilst keeping Tariek on the list for a 3rd season with no games.

Now I know this is a tough question for you - as you are on record preferring Rowe over Rankine because he dominated at SANFL level - but wouldn't it be a good idea to give Newchurch a chance?

Our coaching staff have also selected Matt Crouch 4 separate times over the past 2 years without learning from it, so maybe they shouldn't be considered as deity's who can't be questioned.
By all means give Newchurch a game or 2 but surely even you should be able to see why the coaches haven't to this date.

You can be sure they've given him work ons to be up for AFL consideration just as you can be sure he has failed to meet their requirements.

Don't see it happening whilst the lure of playing finals is a possibility unless he lifts in the required areas he's been given.

Yeah… but none of that matters to the “newchurch is lazy” or “newchurch only gets the easy goals” brigade in here that do everything they can to write the lad off for some reason..
Newchurch to get an AFL game 🤣 .....lazy, non tackling, non pressure smalls have no chance

denied-lou.gif

And people criticise Murphy .....OMG

We have a kid with blistering pace, x-factor, mercurial goal sense, gets plenty of the ball, now lays heaps of tackles and is pretty bloody good overhead.. that we’ll probably delist at seasons end because we prefer Murphy!.. a fxxk hack that plays a good game every now and then and keays another hack that tries hard and can go into the middle (even though when he does go in there he fxxks it all up)..
Kramer omg.gif

And this Boys & Girls, is why you don't drink & post on Big Footy

How about someone like Grainger-Barrass from hawthorn?

Seems to have fallen so far down the pecking order there so could be a cheaper option for some KPD back-up/support.
Would be a good get for a third round pick

Newchurch to get an AFL game 🤣 .....lazy, non tackling, non pressure smalls have no chance

View attachment 1715720

And people criticise Murphy .....OMG
Nah… cause small forwards who barely kick goals are better..

Your idea of a good small forward is one that defends first and foremost..

Hows that been working out for us over the past couple of years..

Keays, rowe and murphy.. small forwards that kick fxxk all goals but hey, at least they put pressure on!..

Brilliant.

Look at how much better our forward line has been this year with Rankine and Pedlar in and Rachele having a full season..

3 attacking, goal scoring small forwards.

You’d still have Rowe on in the 22 if you had your way.. “he tackles, he tackles”..

Keays, rowe and murphy.. small forwards that kick fxxk all goals but hey, at least they put pressure on!..

Brilliant.

Look at how much better our forward line has been this year with Rankine and Pedlar in and Rachele having a full season..

You’d still have Rowe on in the 22 if you had your way.. “he tackles, he tackles”..
It’s not just a matter of whether ‘kicking goals’ or ‘providing pressure’ is more important. Even though Murphy’s not exactly a goal kickers, he’s got way, way more strings to his bow than Newchurch at the moment. That’s before taking into account our current forward line balance, too

Brilliant.

We have no problem kicking goals

Sometimes when we lose we have trouble tackling in forward half although it’s improved dramatically since rankine / Pedlar replaced Rowe

Brilliant.

One of Rowe’s problems … he didn’t pressure or tackle well

And when he had chance to use his skill and kick goals he couldn’t

As well as not being competitive in contests when it mattered

By all means give Newchurch a game or 2 but surely even you should be able to see why the coaches haven't to this date.

You can be sure they've given him work ons to be up for AFL consideration just as you can be sure he has failed to meet their requirements.

Don't see it happening whilst the lure of playing finals is a possibility unless he lifts in the required areas he's been given.
Even though I don’t rate Newchurch at all , despite the speed and finishing

I’d be happy for him to get games before a call is made

It frustrates me when players get delisted without at least a shot … if they’ve worked on their game and have weapons

I just think his lack of ability to win the ball would be massively found out , he relies on people handing it to him on a platter which doesn’t really happen at afl level , I’d like to see how he goes however

But it would frustrate me more if Borlaise never got a shot as he’s improved dramatically

Brilliant.

Laying the boots into Murphy & Keays .....and then lauding Newchurch ...is strange hill to die on

It was amazing how easy it was for Rowe to star & kick goals at SANFL level .....and yet the extra pace & pressure of AFL, saw him without the same time & space ....it exposed his lack of pace, same as his father

It's the mistake Bearded Clam is making, equating the odd game Newchurch kicks goals at SANFL, to being able to replicate this at AFL level

The problem is, Newchurch can't even compete at a half reasonable level at SANFL level .....I suppose he couldn't do any worse at AFL level .....an inanimate object

anigif_enhanced-28915-1533853445-14.gif

He was just too small for modern football. Being that size you need to be a ferocious player or have elite speed or have elite skills.

He didn't have any of those things at AFL level.

When his skills let him down he was toast given that was only thing he might have had
Yup for sure, I think the difference is, as eluded to, you have alot more time at sanfl level. Therefore you can look amazing from a skills perspective at sanfl but that doesn't necessarily translate to AFL.

I do think elite speed translates well from sanfl to AFL though.

I’m convinced we need to go after Flanders!

With Smithers, Butts and Ned, it just makes sense! Also his VFL form is drool worthy
42 disposals and 15 clearances 2goals again today...mind you the GCS's played the Northern Bullants who are the easybeats of the VFL.

What are Gold Coast doing.. seems like a stupid non selection.
What they are doing is playing him midfield in the VFL and then bring him into the AFL and give little midfield time which I suppose it's because Rowell, Anderson, Miller, Swallow etc get the majority of on ball time.

I think his attributes would go well in our mix with his speed, agility and general footy smarts along with a decent dose of X factor

What they are doing is playing him midfield in the VFL and then bring him into the AFL and give little midfield time which I suppose it's because Rowell, Anderson, Miller, Swallow etc get the majority of on ball time.

I think his attributes would go well in our mix with his speed, agility and general footy smarts along with a decent dose of X factor
Out of contract end of the year. Reckon he’d be interested in coming to SA? Or does he have close Vic family ties ?

Sure but they've got a few out there that aren't as highly rated prospects such as Davies, Berry, Fiorini.

Same deal with those guys too, mids at VFL but when they come into the AFL team others are getting the bulk of the minutes.

Out of contract end of the year. Reckon he’d be interested in coming to SA? Or does he have close Vic family ties ?
Fish Creek is fair way away from Melbourne, that's AFC cult hero "The Weed" neck of the woods, and not a Melbourne private schoolboy either, Lowanna College Moe in Gippsland so no airs and graces there.

It was amazing how easy it was for Rowe to star & kick goals at SANFL level .....and yet the extra pace & pressure of AFL, saw him without the same time & space ....it exposed his lack of pace, same as his father

Exactly. Rowe didn't have any elite traits and lacked athleticism for AFL level. He is much better suited to the far more contested, slower, less skilled SANFL.

It's the mistake Bearded Clam is making, equating the odd game Newchurch kicks goals at SANFL, to being able to replicate this at AFL level

He has kicked multiple goals at SANFL in 19 of his 44 games at SANFL level. Thats not the odd game.

The problem is, Newchurch can't even compete at a half reasonable level at SANFL level .....I suppose he couldn't do any worse at AFL level .....an inanimate object

The question I want answered is if the AFL game is more suited to him than the SANFL. I wouldn't say he is an inanimate object at SANFL - he averages 1.7 goals per game (For reference Charlie Cameron averaged 1.6 goals at SANFL level).

Not saying he will end up being like Cameron, but do think he should be given a chance at AFL because he brings something we don't have