• Andrew McQualter

Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

The reason it's working with Fly and Kinga, is because it's being preached to a new set of ears. A fresh playing group who haven't heard it before.

Game plans etc are copied right across the league, and at the right time/place/moment, someone will perfect it and be successful. But that same group, at some stage will become stale with the same message/gameplan, and while it may be successful at other places, once you lose it, it's time for change.

Mini can't do that, an outsider can.
Agree for the most part apart from that last sentence
Absolutely no reason why Mini can’t implement his own game plans and messages especially if we have a turnover of assistant coaches as well

If what you are saying was the case Hardwicks sides would of played the same as what Clarkson’s did when he joined us when it wasn’t the case at all until around 2015 when we started playing that short kicking style of footy that the hawks did

I have Newman as my preferred candidate but I actually have Mini as my 2nd choice

taking Newman would fell like we are back to the rubbish we were before the culture change, that whole era reeked of me attitude.
i really was never a fan and was pleased when he finished and i am not just blaming him but our whole club changed attitudes around that time.

if he gets it ill still support the club but it scares me a hell of a lot more than giving mini the job.

This x 2

I now trust the club so will go with it - but it draws on a bad time for me also C Newman ....

Agree for the most part apart from that last sentence
Absolutely no reason why Mini can’t implement his own game plans and messages especially if we have a turnover of assistant coaches as well

If what you are saying was the case Hardwicks sides would of played the same as what Clarkson’s did when he joined us when it wasn’t the case at all until around 2015 when we started playing that short kicking style of footy that the hawks did

I have Newman as my preferred candidate but I actually have Mini as my 2nd choice
not quite, because Hardwick had a fresh start at a new club... If he had of taken over Hawthorn from Clarko you may be right...

When a coach arrives at a new club, everything starts from scratch, there are no baselines for the existing players to work off.
Coaches can of course change their game styles over the tenure of their coaching life at a club, but that's not easy and usually takes 2-3 years to start working.

And that's what goes against Mini, he doesn't get the clean slate... And to be honest, it's not just for the coaches sake, it's for the players. Players like Vlas, Broad, Rioli, Bolton, Balta... All had dimma their whole career, but right along side was Mini, with the same message and voice. It's just as important for them to have the 'breath of fresh air' come through the joint to reinvigorate them.

100% right The best thing we need is someone outside the club. Once we have that we can move towards our next Premiership. Mini or Clarke no thanks

not quite, because Hardwick had a fresh start at a new club... If he had of taken over Hawthorn from Clarko you may be right...

When a coach arrives at a new club, everything starts from scratch, there are no baselines for the existing players to work off.
Coaches can of course change their game styles over the tenure of their coaching life at a club, but that's not easy and usually takes 2-3 years to start working.

And that's what goes against Mini, he doesn't get the clean slate... And to be honest, it's not just for the coaches sake, it's for the players. Players like Vlas, Broad, Rioli, Bolton, Balta... All had dimma their whole career, but right along side was Mini, with the same message and voice. It's just as important for them to have the 'breath of fresh air' come through the joint to reinvigorate them.
I don’t really buy that personally

We haven’t seen what Mini’s style is & without a pre season to acutely implement it is impossible the say so to assume it is going to be the same as Hardwicks with the same gameplan is a massive generalisation

Could it be the same or similar to Hardwicks? Maybe but to say it will be and that even if it is similar the players won’t respond to it and need something new

Fresh perspective doesn’t just need to come with the head coach either just look at the ways we played in 2016 - 2017
The exact same head coach the majority of players had seen for the past 7 years but our players did gain new insight and perspective and all that changed was a couple of assistant coaches who themselves bring in new ideas

If the only change we made was a promotion of mini and no changes to his deputies I might buy what you are selling but that wouldn’t be the case

Richmond approaches Melbourne assistant over vacant coaching position

Screenshot 2023-08-24 at 2.10.54 pm.png

Alan Richardson, in charge of the Demons’ footy department, revealed he has fielded a call from Tigers footy boss Tim Livingstone about Yze joining the coaching search.

It follows a report from SEN’s Tom Morris that stated Yze, Chris Newman (Hawthorn), Andrew McQualter (Richmond), Daniel Giansiracusa (Essendon) and Xavier Clarke (Richmond) are the leading contenders and will go through the process.

Yze was just last year in the running for the senior coaching job at GWS and Essendon and narrowly missed out. But he’s set to go around again a season later.

“Tim Livingstone gave me a call to have a chat about Yze, and my understanding is he’s in the mix and we’ll go through that process and we’re incredibly supportive of that,” Richardson told SEN’s Dwayne’s World.

View attachment 1784149

Alan Richardson, in charge of the Demons’ footy department, revealed he has fielded a call from Tigers footy boss Tim Livingstone about Yze joining the coaching search.

It follows a report from SEN’s Tom Morris that stated Yze, Chris Newman (Hawthorn), Andrew McQualter (Richmond), Daniel Giansiracusa (Essendon) and Xavier Clarke (Richmond) are the leading contenders and will go through the process.

Yze was just last year in the running for the senior coaching job at GWS and Essendon and narrowly missed out. But he’s set to go around again a season later.

“Tim Livingstone gave me a call to have a chat about Yze, and my understanding is he’s in the mix and we’ll go through that process and we’re incredibly supportive of that,” Richardson told SEN’s Dwayne’s World.
He then can bring Mark Williams back maybe.

interesting post this last bit, as what both fly and Kingsley have done seems to be working and also Hardwick says he's going to introduce the Collingwood Richmond and giants style of play at the sun's.
I am of the firm opinion that Mini is smart enough to have a fresh approach but also take a leaf out of Dimmas, Flys and Kingsley's book of evolutions and strategies of football.
Canna see why not...all this nonsense about having a fresh voice and fresh ideas is just that...nonsense!
We have just had that nonsense with Dimma...all about a 1000 ways you can cook sausages!
This is not the Bunnings book of coaching sausage strategies!
This Tiger Team is going to lose quite a few old Dimma stalwarts and their is going to be quite a few new faces in this team...hungry for sausages...and I reckon what ever Mini builds on...Dimmas, Flys and Kingsley's book of evolutions and strategies of football...will all sound very new to the young up and comers wanting to impress the new coach and sauce a place in the Team!

View attachment 1784149

Sounds like Yze is the front runner or maybe the hawks haven't leaked that we have called them as well about newman

The reason it's working with Fly and Kinga, is because it's being preached to a new set of ears. A fresh playing group who haven't heard it before.

Game plans etc are copied right across the league, and at the right time/place/moment, someone will perfect it and be successful. But that same group, at some stage will become stale with the same message/gameplan, and while it may be successful at other places, once you lose it, it's time for change.
fair point but I'll stick to my guns and say half the premiership players are now gone so there's always going to be fresh eyes and ears.

It’s a really Big decision for the club. Do you throw out the cultural fabric that the players have built by selecting a coach outside the Club with fresh ideas and approach or

I honestly think that culture that was created during 2017-2020 is over anyway. that magic is gone.

hahahaha the fact you think the club is that weak that bringing in a new coach destroy the whole fabric of the club...

Obviously Benny Gale and Peggy had nothing to do with building that culture then...

Wtf would he fly from Glenferrie to punt road?🤔
Because they train at waverley , have you ever driven out of that car park iirc they flew Peter Hudson in a helicopter , so airport is ok

Yes it's not the same well run club anymore either and I really carnt trust they will make the right decision . Just too many glaring mistakes lately.
With Gale on the panel, I still fully trust him.