Certified Legendary Thread đźŹ† GF = PIES WIN PREMIERSHIP #16 🏆🥇

Down in Lorne for my anniversary and I reckon the whole motel heard me scream at the end.

What a win. Such an intense game with swings and roundabouts all day.

Just so happy right now.

Now to go hang shit on the people who trolled the club so badly in the last two weeks.

Incredibly difficult post to make while it's still raw but congratulations to all of you and your club on a fantastic season and Grand Final. The best team all year for mine and I take solace in knowing we weren't too far off.

It was a cracking game and while it'll be difficult to re-watch it for me, you guys will have the pleasure of savouring it for years to come, so enjoy it. You have an amazing coach, a captain who speaks very eloquently (and seems like a great man) and a team that has an amazing culture.

Losing sucks, losing a close game sucks even more but truthfully when the opposition is as good as you guys were, it's hard to not just tip your hat in admiration. Bobby Hill was electric and a worthy Norm Smith winner, congrats to him.

Lastly, every single close GF is going to have controversy. 2002 had plenty that went the Lions way (Rocca's goal, missed hold on Tarrant then hold on Lynch). The advantage call is irrelevant to the final result for me, I felt we had our fair share of calls on the day but could never get control of the game outside of a patch in the 2nd quarter.

Deserved Premiers, congratulations and while history says rematch GF's are rare, I do hope one is on the cards for 2024. Enjoy.
Quality post mate. Your team were outstanding all year

Not going to bother with the main board, won't trifle with what Carlton supporters have to say.

No time for the negative.

This was a brilliant win by a brilliant bunch of people, in a truly great contest.

The rest is irrelevant.

I was too young for 58, then took the hits in 64, 66, the 70s and onward. 2018 brought them back. This one has buried them for good. They don’t matter any more. It’s like I’ve been cleansed. Thank you Fly, Darcy and all the rest of the coaches and players. Floreat Pica.

Incredibly difficult post to make while it's still raw but congratulations to all of you and your club on a fantastic season and Grand Final. The best team all year for mine and I take solace in knowing we weren't too far off.

It was a cracking game and while it'll be difficult to re-watch it for me, you guys will have the pleasure of savouring it for years to come, so enjoy it. You have an amazing coach, a captain who speaks very eloquently (and seems like a great man) and a team that has an amazing culture.

Losing sucks, losing a close game sucks even more but truthfully when the opposition is as good as you guys were, it's hard to not just tip your hat in admiration. Bobby Hill was electric and a worthy Norm Smith winner, congrats to him.

Lastly, every single close GF is going to have controversy. 2002 had plenty that went the Lions way (Rocca's goal, missed hold on Tarrant then hold on Lynch). The advantage call is irrelevant to the final result for me, I felt we had our fair share of calls on the day but could never get control of the game outside of a patch in the 2nd quarter.

Deserved Premiers, congratulations and while history says rematch GF's are rare, I do hope one is on the cards for 2024. Enjoy.
Classy post, Mr Lion. Kudos.

What a f****** sweet 16 this is.

We bloody did it!

It’s been a roller coaster of a ride.

I’ve never enjoyed watching footy and barracking for the Pies as much as I’ve done these last couple of years.

I can’t believe how confident I went into this game, despite the Lions record against the Pies. It’s amazing what Fly has done, for not only the players, but even us as fans. I am thoroughly entertained every time I watch the boys step out onto the field, whether we win or lose.

We’ve lived in the moment, and managed the minutes as good as we ever have. We’ve gotten better every single day, we’ve created winning habits and have acted like winners from the day dot.

It’s never easy being a Pies fan. We’ve always been marginalised, hated and disrespected. Today we proved so many doubters wrong, and have continued to put an egg on the face of those that have taken us for granted.

Today was truly redemption. What a classic Collingwood game it was. We are a champion team, not just a team of champions. It really showed today.

I’ve got lots of love and respect for this club. Thank you so much to everyone on here that has made this year such an enjoyable ride.

Every non Collingwood supporter is whinging about the Advantage, HOW about the Umpires favoring Brisbane throughout the game
Not me. Always liked Lipinski more than Dunkley anyway.

Seriously though - Initially I wrote incredible game, but then I remembered the finals series as a whole so I was going to write incredible finals series, but jesus, how about the last two years. Hard pressed to a more enjoyable 2 years. 2015/16 for us was unbelievable.

Quite a few comparisons with McRae and Bevo in terms of their first two years, both took over clubs that were really struggling (for various reasons). Both took their respective club right back up the ladder and played in finals in their first years, before saluting in their second year. Hopefully the following 7 years are an improvement for your mob.

Congratulations on number 16.

I would hardly have the grace to behave like this after any defeat, let alone in a GF. Kudos

WE DID IT! That felt bloody good! Enjoy it everyone!

My first born child was born 3 months ago. Amazing to experience this with him (even though he didn't understand why everybody was making so much noise and jumping around today). My little good luck charm!

oh and I bloody called it! (not exactly, but close enough)
1696069005531.png

Two questions about the amazing Zac Bailey goal after smothering Mason’s kick after he was called to play on:

1. Why was Cox called to play on?

2. How could Bailey possibly be close enough to smother it without giving away a protected zone free?

Exactly what I thought.

Certified Legendary Thread đźŹ† GF = PIES WIN PREMIERSHIP #16 🏆🥇