Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

If we go for Watson, I just hope he doesn't have a career like Spicer where he just seemed too small for AFL football (yes, I am aware they are vastly different in talent levels), Currently listed as 1+inch shorter and lighter than Phoenix.

Anyone got any insight as to how he's gone playing against men?

Can't even compare Spicer's skillset with Watson's. Other than height that's about where it ends. Watson is also far more physical than Spicer. Across his whole junior career Watson has shown the ability to find the footy and impact the scoreboard.

Unfortunately because of his school footy commitments Watson hasn't really been exposed much to playing against men. Unlike some other draftees he didn't get any exposure at VFL level this year. The only exposure he did have was in the AFL academy game VS Port Adelaide's Reserves and he held his own. From memory he had a quiet first half but he kicked goal and had a hand in a few others in the 2nd half.

Scouting Notes: AFL Academy vs. Port Adelaide SANFL

His player review from that game below:

Ever the livewire, Watson finished arguably the strongest of any Academy player, racking up eight of his 17 disposals in the final quarter. Having started up forward, he found that success with a second-half move to defence, where he looked best when hitting the ball at speed and using his pace to spark quick transitions. He even snuck forward to snag a goal in the final term, finishing with typical aplomb. Watson also resembled a bee in a bottle up forward, proving evasive as he worked beyond the 50-metre arc and assisting Harley Reid’s goal in term two.

as has been mentioned several times the cats pick 8 is the one to target

they will likely need several picks and only have pick 8,25 and 60odd

they brought in no trade targets
That's one option but doesn't mean it's correct or the only option. Will wait to see what Brady does.

roos_fanatic08 Souup

Pick 3, or two of Watto, Curtin, Osullivan, Caddy?

3 into 6 & 11.
11 & 18 into 8.

2, 6, 8, 15, 17.
My main hesitation with any trading backwards is it's a punt......right now we have no punts or guesses on who we take. We can lock in from a long way out. I just don't think you flirt with high picks....sure trade upwards with 2 or 3, but not backwards IMO

Given nothing will happen between now and most likely, a few weeks, I'd like to propose a cathartic release.

What was the draft call you made at the time, that makes you look back and cringe?

Seeing Kade Stewart as an 16yo and thinking he would be a 200 game AFL player for me
After about 12 minutes of YouTube clips I thought Connor Blakely was on the smoothest movers out of a contest.

My main hesitation with any trading backwards is it's a punt......right now we have no punts or guesses on who we take. We can lock in from a long way out. I just don't think you flirt with high picks....sure trade upwards with 2 or 3, but not backwards IMO

Souup said you don't take Caddy once you have Duursma.

But also, come on....the talls. The cupboards bare.

Larkey and Logue soon turn 26.

The bet would be, is the difference between Duursma and Caddy greater than another top 10 pick on the list.

Same question could be asked of Reid, IF, you were able to trade up to Geelongs pick 8, is Reid worth coughing that up? Most say no.

So if you don't want to give it up for Reid, why would we not obtain it for Duursma?

Just seeing what the two tagged above think.

O'Sullivan would be a great get if he slides to pick 8 which is a realistic chance.

1. WC take Reid
2. NM take McKercher
3. NM take Duursma
4. Hawks take Watson
5. WB take Sanders
6. Melbourne take Caddy
7. GWS take Curtin
8. NM take O'Sullivan

One of the best in the draft I think. However he can just bomb long sometimes so he needs to improve his decision making.

He (Schoenmaker) can flush it 60m at speed with regularity.

Multiple goals from outside 50 (?60)

One of his kick ins after a behind goes to the wing basically :oops:

I trust you that he has his limitations but I just reckon that kind of kicking biomechanics is such a weapon in the modern game (ala Keidean Coleman this year) and those limitations will (should) be overlooked.

He does look like he can kick a short ball. Doesn't use it much in the highlights but the mechanics are sound unlike a Luke McDonald who also prefers the long (dump) kick. His long kicks have more pace and length on them too compared to McDonald.

Would definitely take him with a teens pick.

Suckling had a lot of limitations - played 178 games 2 premierships. Only thing he could do was kick the ball.

There has been a bit about picks moving out due to academy picks / father son. which I don’t see as an issue as they are for players we really don’t have access to anyway…I want to know more on the other end, when the pick start to move in…As this really does affect the draft hand though most likely after our first five picks…but if we combine two picks for Reid, we should try either 17 or 18 for Carlton’s two in the 20s with the later most likely coming in a bit for academy matching for the other clubs… which would still give us a strong 5 picks without need to use pick 65…

There is a few RFA talls next year that would be targets. Perhaps we’re finally gearing up to snare a big:

Darcy
Ben King
Hogan (unlikely)
Marshall
JUH
Busslinger

Can't even compare Spicer's skillset with Watson's. Other than height that's about where it ends. Watson is also far more physical than Spicer. Across his whole junior career Watson has shown the ability to find the footy and impact the scoreboard.

Unfortunately because of his school footy commitments Watson hasn't really been exposed much to playing against men. Unlike some other draftees he didn't get any exposure at VFL level this year. The only exposure he did have was in the AFL academy game VS Port Adelaide's Reserves and he held his own. From memory he had a quiet first half but he kicked goal and had a hand in a few others in the 2nd half.

Scouting Notes: AFL Academy vs. Port Adelaide SANFL

His player review from that game below:
Thanks mate, appreciate it

JUH is out of contract not a FA.

Logan McDonald will move back to WA.

Tim English as well imo.

English is a soft****, Clarko would hate him.

McDonald agreed.

JUH - presumably being out of contract means we can make an offer? Chuck him one of those ridiculous 8 year deals

11 million x 10 years is the offer in front of him from Sydney allegedly.

Okay they can take his ass. Who’s got Digby Morrell number??

At the end of the day that’s going to make the $ market for a key forward who is mature and will contribute for years to come. It’s time we pay something silly for a guy like that, particularly with the cap going up and up.

Pick 3, or two of Watto, Curtin, Osullivan, Caddy?

3 into 6 & 11.
11 & 18 into 8.

2, 6, 8, 15, 17.

Edit. Caught up on prev. Posts, SOUUP is all for Duursma.

I'd nearly do that trade. If we could somehow squeeze a F2 in there somewhere that would make it far more worthwhile.

Watson at 6 and Caddy/O'Sullivan at 8 would go a long way to fixing 2 priority areas for our list build.

Right-o, I found one of these in a shop and I looked deeply into it...
Screenshot_2023-10-19-14-08-56-36_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg
The vision was cloudy.

There was a faint glimpse of something but it faded away quickly.

Brady is giving nothing away. Not even beezlebub himself or the Lord's of the occult can give any indication of whether we really want Reid or McKercher.

He (Schoenmaker) can flush it 60m at speed with regularity.

Multiple goals from outside 50 (?60)

One of his kick ins after a behind goes to the wing basically :oops:

I trust you that he has his limitations but I just reckon that kind of kicking biomechanics is such a weapon in the modern game (ala Keidean Coleman this year) and those limitations will (should) be overlooked.

He does look like he can kick a short ball. Doesn't use it much in the highlights but the mechanics are sound unlike a Luke McDonald who also prefers the long (dump) kick. His long kicks have more pace and length on them too compared to McDonald.

Would definitely take him with a teens pick.

Suckling had a lot of limitations - played 178 games 2 premierships. Only thing he could do was kick the ball.

His limitations are all things that can be worked on. His defensive craft/one on one defending is sub standard for a guy his size, but his strengths far outweigh that. Positioning, body strength ect can all be improved especially in an AFL environment.

What you can't teach is his ability to find the ball and his ability to use it (especially for a kid who is 194cm). He is already a decent all round athlete too.

Imo if he can improve his one on one defending so that he can become a true CHB, then he has enough scope for potential to be one of the best in this draft.

Right-o, I found one of these in a shop and I looked deeply into it...
View attachment 1835439
The vision was cloudy.

There was a faint glimpse of something but it faded away quickly.

Brady is giving nothing away. Not even beezlebub himself or the Lord's of the occult can give any indication of whether we really want Reid or McKercher.

I can just make out some thick glasses.... Rohan O'Brien? You want to talk?

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]