No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 5

We as a society are going to get a lot more distrustful of everything online pretty soon. As if mis- and dis-information aren’t enough, now there’s AI and Chatwhatsy, along with “journos” getting more desperate for clicks, and downright lies.

There’s at least some writings out there that talk about how we “advance” so much that we hit a wall and then destroy ourselves. Or maybe if we’re being slightly positive we start to regress - technology is less trusted, we get back to more basic communication etc.

But outside of that I’m not sure how we go back. The need to be “first”, no matter how shitty the information, long ago outweighed any journalistic integrity. The only information that matters is your own - you can win elections and referendums on that basis as well evidently. That major geopolitical players are up to their armpits in this as well means we’re all basically ****ed.

And at the end of it all, ****ing Barrett will still post a stupid column - because we all know only cockroaches will survive the nuclear winter.

A player from a Melbourne-based finals team has tested positive to drugs late in the home and away season.
A urine sample taken from the player after a game in the weeks leading up to the AFL finals returned positive for a banned substance, believed to be cocaine.

It’s understood the player took the drug just days out from a home and away match.

Who says there are cultural issues at Melbourne under Simon Goodwin?

What's happened?

The alleged drug being cocaine, positive test returned on match day which means he'll have the book thrown at him like Sam Murray was a few years back.

Dees fans were very happy to laugh about allegations of cultural mismanagement in the aftermath of the premiership but perhaps no longer so cockahoot with this and the Clayton Oliver issues.

Jerry Seinfeld Popcorn GIF by Sheets & Giggles

Just a thought that a lot of ‘father sons’ or grandsons with some issues over the years. Travis Tuck, Libba, Hunter, James Hird, Krakauor, Michael Talia, now Smith. Maybe a similar percentage as rest of comp? but could be higher?

Ah tired, boring, predictable old meed-ya.

Going with the shiny 'Ginnivan's happy 'I always wanted to be here' homecoming to Hawks' story and of course burying the lead of a 20-year-old who played in a flag two weeks ago being effectively thrown out the door for not much because his coach had tired of his s***.

JHC that's a terrible song. I know we were drunk on victory n' all, but wtf were we thinking?
Lol we were all 20 once. We all did dumb stuff that we hope nobody remembers.

Thank fk they didn't have mobile phones and social media when I was that young and stupid.

Joel Smith would certainly not have been my first guess for a Demons player involved in this.

Probably no surprise when you have a team coached by Goody "good stuff" I suppose.

Reading Dees board, his child was on the verge of arriving when he was indulging himself - between that and imminent finals (after being injured in 2021), wonder WTF he was thinking.

Oh well, sure our list aren't cleanskins in that regard - just avoid consumption late in the week. 😉

Ah tired, boring, predictable old meed-ya.

Going with the shiny 'Ginnivan's happy 'I always wanted to be here' homecoming to Hawks' story and of course burying the lead of a 20-year-old who played in a flag two weeks ago being effectively thrown out the door for not much because his coach had tired of his s***.

They already had the draft saved mate. When they couldn’t get a deal for Baz, they had to change his name to Ginnivan and get it to print ASAP.

Fergus Greene delisted by Hawthorn after 1 season. I recall there were some comments earlier in the year in frustration that we didn't persist, but it's clear the right choice was made to cut him when we did. A role player with a very low ceiling who couldn't get on the park is not the type of guy you want to carry on a list for long.

Why was he dropped though? Was kicking goals, and taking heaps of marks. Be interesting to know the reasons from a Hawks perspective. Not like they have much outside of Lewis and Breust.

No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 5