No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 5

Why was he dropped though? Was kicking goals, and taking heaps of marks. Be interesting to know the reasons from a Hawks perspective. Not like they have much outside of Lewis and Breust.

Too limited imo. Doesn't tackle enough, very rarely takes a contested mark. He's like Schache, he has good leads and kicks a few goals but otherwise you may as well be playing a man down for the rest of the game. A small that can harrass adds more to the team even if they only kick a goal every second game.

So Goodwin is flogging a premiership jumper he wore in 98 and some other personal memorabilia online.
And there's various rumours about gambling and/or drug debts.
Hmmm.
Oliver allegedly in the company of our former VC when he 'hit his head'.
Smith doing lines when his partner is 8 1/2 months pregnant, leading up to a game.
May sooking at their BnF.
There's also rumours of an Oliver video doing the rounds, and the story of one of his team mates having to apologise for him bending windscreen wipers on a row of cars in East Melbourne after training, after being sprung by a resident.

HTF did we lose in 2021 to these lunatics? ☹

So Goodwin is flogging a premiership jumper he wore in 98 and some other personal memorabilia online.
Hmmm.
Smith doing lines when his partner is 8 1/2 months pregnant, leading up to a game.
There's also rumours of an Oliver video doing the rounds, and the story of one of his team mates having to apologise for him bending windscreen wipers on a row of cars in East Melbourne after training, after being sprung by a resident.

Melbourne are self destructing in a bad way

Fergus Greene delisted by Hawthorn after 1 season. I recall there were some comments earlier in the year in frustration that we didn't persist, but it's clear the right choice was made to cut him when we did. A role player with a very low ceiling who couldn't get on the park is not the type of guy you want to carry on a list for long.

That's a shame. Worked so hard to get back on an AFL list, understandable decision but was hoping he'd get more of a chance.

Why was he dropped though? Was kicking goals, and taking heaps of marks. Be interesting to know the reasons from a Hawks perspective. Not like they have much outside of Lewis and Breust.

He probably doesn't do enough defensively to nail down a spot, so when he has those off games he really isn't impacting at all. Kicked 10 goals in four weeks at the start of the year as a pseudo key forward, decent effort. Certainly looked like the year would've turned out differently than what it ended up.

Hmmm.

I had an Oliver video sent to me where he kicks a hold in a wall at a party. Idiot.

No doubt. What is in the public domain is clearly the small tip of a very large iceberg.

Have heard rumours - well until they also end up in the public domain! - from a Dees supporter who was embarrassed by Oliver's actions after training earlier this year - moreso because his kids witnessed it - nothing destructive, just acting like a total d*ick in view of young supporters.

There's a chat group of industry insiders listing a litany of his extra-curricular activities - I'm not privy to it but a mate who is said it keeps growing. He also says it isn't necessarily unusual behaviour by a 26yo cashed up player - just that it would take several other players combined to match Oliver's list!

Melbourne benefitted massively from Covid and having a stupidly lucky run with injury in 2021. Very good in 2/3 of the ground but basically have sweet FA up forward. The Deenasty talk was a tad premature.

Even this year, they shouldn’t have finished top 4, it was ours to take halfway through the season, and again they got lucky that 5-10 on the ladder were so shit.

When you’re winning these habits get overlooked. We saw that ourselves with a number of our players. When you lose 4 straight finals and become the first team to go out in back to back straight sets, the magnifying glass comes out.

I love it.

It depends what way you want to view it.

On paper, Melbourne's team IMO best any list. As messed up as Oliver is, you can't deny he is one hell of a footballer. I'd rate him top ten in the league and he's not even in Melbourne's best two players. They have the best key defensive duo in the league. One of the best medium sized fwds in the league.

Whatever they are alleged to have done off the field, it's not unreasonable to suggest it cost them this year's flag. Yes, they went out in straight sets, but anyone with half a brain can tell you they easily could have won both of those games.

My fear is all this negative talk will motivate them next year, they'll bounce back and win a flag in front of their fans. None of us want to see that.

Fix up their off field issues and the 2024 flag is theirs to lose. This is the narrative we should all use. Aim high and if they come crashing down, it will hurt more than ever.

Slide under the radar, fail, and there will be nothing to see here.

I don't buy into the stuff from some Demon fans about Hunter "leading Oliver astray". It is just their way of living in denial about one of their favorite players, and its easier to cope by blaming someone else.

"Hunter was there when he "fell", so we must put two and two together, and blame Hunter for leading our dear sweet Oliver down a dark path"

They are just waking up to the fact that Oliver has always been a flog. Just shown in more the past couple of years. Well before Hunter was there. Oliver is a grown man, who makes his own decisions. How about actually placing responsibility on him? Otherwise, how do you expect someone to change their behavior if you don't hold them accountable for it?

No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 5