Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

I’ve watched every game McKercher has played, he’s a very good kick, I wouldn’t say he’s elite yet but he’s very good and his footballing IQ is awesome as well.

It’s part of what makes him unique, he’s not just your average accumulator like say Parish, he’s damaging with ball in hand, can hit the scoreboard and unlike a lot of his types of midfielders, he’s fast as well, especially his first few steps.

If you have 2 and 3 on draft night, it’s a no brainer to pick McKercher.
Agree 100%, IQ is so important - its why Sheezel was so good this year.

McKercher should be a lock.

From shifters tall defender profiles

Zane Zakostelsky
Pronunciation: Zac-oh-stel-ski
State: Western Australia
State League Club: Claremont
Community Club: North Beach
Date of Birth: 14/12/05
Height: 196cm

Tall defender and ruckman who developed rapidly as the year progressed. Was selected in the final two games for Western Australia at the National Championships with his incept marking a feature. Was a consistent performer for Claremont at Colts level averaging 15.2 disposals in 13 matches and was best on ground in the club’s Grand Final win with 22 disposals and 14 hitouts. Followed up that performance by being one of the athletic stars of the National Combine. His standing vertical jump of 80cm ranked number one overall along with producing top-six times in the agility test (8.23 seconds) and 20m sprint (2.95 seconds). Potential Draft bolter who doesn’t turn 18 years until mid-December so has plenty of upside.

I knew he only played footy for 2 years from bball but I didn’t realise he is also a December bday. That’s Uber underdeveloped, matched with his Uber athletic profile and you are really looking at the POTENTIAL for something special. I haven’t seen much of him, infact I’ve only seen his best on ground WAFL colts game and the WA games. But his body work in the ruck in the final was eye catching. He really knew what he was doing in one on one body work. Bodes very well as a full back when you consider his insane leap and speed. Has to be a contender for pick 18 imo.

Wil Dawson
State: Victoria Country
State League Club: Gippsland Power
Community Club: Leongatha
Date of Birth: 20/12/05
Height: 200cm

Developed as a potential tall defender throughout the year but also played up forward and in the ruck. Still developing physically having grown 20cm in the past two years but has maintained his ability at ground level, where he is clean below the knees. Doesn’t turn 18 until late December making him only just eligible for this year’s Draft. Showed distinct promise in his 13 games for the Gippsland Power in the Coates Talent League as well as for Victoria Country, where he displayed aggression and intensity in the way he attacked the ball.

20cm in the last two years? Borderline too young for the draft? 200cm defender that also kicked 3 up forward for vic country? A very good contested mark? Aggression and intensity?

Me likey

KickItAnywhere34 has ALREADY TOLD YOU we're interested in Paul Maley's son, why are you posting this

I've watched a fair bit of footage of ZZ.

I don't really see "it" tbh.

He's played most of his footy as an undersized ruck. He moves like a mobile ruck like Bailey Williams rather than a hyper athletic KPD.

He's going to be an extremely slow burn.

I think I'd rather others with the capital it will cost. He's probably a good selection for WCE, as he can play plenty of WAFL and learn off Barrass and McGovern in his first 2 years on a list.

I didn't really like Rawlings explanations around our ruck stocks, It really seems like either Clarko or the recruiting staff have gone cold on the ruck position in general. Rawlings has seemed to indicate that he's happy with Xerri, CCJ, Free and Biggie as break glass backup.

I think that's a massive mistake. Xerri is a backup AFL ruckman, at best imo. CCJ has played maybe 6 qtrs in his entire AFL career as a first ruck and Free has never played an AFL game.

There's 3 really excellent ruck prospects that will be likely available at our last pick. All with really elite athletic profiles for their size.

Edwards is 206cm with a 94cm running vertical and a 3.00 second 20m. That means he has close to the same running vertical reach as Nic Natanui with that height and that vertical combo.

His speed is then similar to Zane Duursma and Harley Reid.

I think we are insane to pass up all of Edwards, Green or Goad.

Now none of these will make a difference next year, but they will in 3-4 years when we are finals contenders.
Agree - if we take our 5 picks then 1 should be for a future ruck. No use having a great midfield with no ruck to support.

Sure, and I assume we'd then take Harley Reid.

Not a bad outcome either way, but WC have significantly more heat on them in terms of managing the weight of WA expectations (which is not always the most rational type of expectations).
Yeah, WC being in the position they're in must be looking at our draft hand with envy. No doubt our hand is what they need. They know it and so does Brady and they now know we wont be giving up that hand. With Tassie team coming in, the afl will no doubt turn their attention to wce over the next couple of seasons. We won't be getting anything else from the afl and why we simply cannot make risky trades giving away a stack of picks for 1 player. Brady done extremely well to this point, even if we dont package up picks to get another top 10 pick, I think we really can't lose taking best available at 2 and 3 and address needs with the rest of our picks.

Im still confident and optimistic that we trade 2,15 and 18 for 1 and 23 to WC. As I’ve said, it makes sense. WC can land 3 of McKercher/Curtin/Tholstrup/Collard with those picks. It makes complete sense to bring 3 huge talents in instead of 1 and of course, they’re all West Australian (except McK)

Who are we even targeting at pick 8 anyway? Curtin & O’sullivan could both be gone if we are targeting a key defender. Murphy is a reach at that spot.

Taking out the academy and f/s picks

1. Reid
2. Mckercher
3. Duursma
4. Watson
5. Curtin
6. Sanders
7. O’Sullivan
8. Caddy

Is caddy still a good result? Does the talent pool drop off after Sanders? I‘ve heard a few times the talent pool is pretty even between 10 and 25. Are O’Sullivan and Caddy clearly better than the next group?
If you reckon O'sullivan gone by pick 8, I'd rather keep what we have and take Murphy, Schoenmaker plus best available ruck, Edwards perhaps?

Im still confident and optimistic that we trade 2,15 and 18 for 1 and 23 to WC. As I’ve said, it makes sense. WC can land 3 of McKercher/Curtin/Tholstrup/Collard with those picks. It makes complete sense to bring 3 huge talents in instead of 1 and of course, they’re all West Australian (except McK)
That's should be our final offer. I'd hate to give up any more than that. If it's not enough for west Coast, then it's not meant to be, and we shouldn't be overpaying, as the status quo with 5 picks in R1 is still very good for us.

Interesting that Cripps the Port List Manager, when asked the top 5, didn't say it was his order but said Reid, Walter, Duursma, Watson and McKercher. Reckoned the top 8 was elite and then drops off a bit, not as much depth as previous years, but did mention you can find the gems in the 20-40 range in hindsight like every draft.
I'm guessing he's stoked to be holding pick #73 as a Hail Mary then!

From shifters tall defender profiles

Zane Zakostelsky
Pronunciation: Zac-oh-stel-ski
State: Western Australia
State League Club: Claremont
Community Club: North Beach
Date of Birth: 14/12/05
Height: 196cm

Tall defender and ruckman who developed rapidly as the year progressed. Was selected in the final two games for Western Australia at the National Championships with his incept marking a feature. Was a consistent performer for Claremont at Colts level averaging 15.2 disposals in 13 matches and was best on ground in the club’s Grand Final win with 22 disposals and 14 hitouts. Followed up that performance by being one of the athletic stars of the National Combine. His standing vertical jump of 80cm ranked number one overall along with producing top-six times in the agility test (8.23 seconds) and 20m sprint (2.95 seconds). Potential Draft bolter who doesn’t turn 18 years until mid-December so has plenty of upside.

I knew he only played footy for 2 years from bball but I didn’t realise he is also a December bday. That’s Uber underdeveloped, matched with his Uber athletic profile and you are really looking at the POTENTIAL for something special. I haven’t seen much of him, infact I’ve only seen his best on ground WAFL colts game and the WA games. But his body work in the ruck in the final was eye catching. He really knew what he was doing in one on one body work. Bodes very well as a full back when you consider his insane leap and speed. Has to be a contender for pick 18 imo.

Wil Dawson
State: Victoria Country
State League Club: Gippsland Power
Community Club: Leongatha
Date of Birth: 20/12/05
Height: 200cm

Developed as a potential tall defender throughout the year but also played up forward and in the ruck. Still developing physically having grown 20cm in the past two years but has maintained his ability at ground level, where he is clean below the knees. Doesn’t turn 18 until late December making him only just eligible for this year’s Draft. Showed distinct promise in his 13 games for the Gippsland Power in the Coates Talent League as well as for Victoria Country, where he displayed aggression and intensity in the way he attacked the ball.

20cm in the last two years? Borderline too young for the draft? 200cm defender that also kicked 3 up forward for vic country? A very good contested mark? Aggression and intensity?

Me likey
Dawson - He’s got that desperation when ball is in dispute that really makes a great player and especially defender. I’ve only seen some short clips but Dawson looks a great prospect.

I’d much rather Dawson than Zakostelsky.

ZZ’s athletic profile is good, but his footy fundamentals like kicking, handballing and decision making are terrible. Yes they can improve but what you are starting with as a base is so low. When he has any pressure on him it’s just dump kicks and handballs to no one. It takes so much to unteach those sorts of things.

Dawson’s biggest asset is that he id a competitor, love seeing that in the big men. Again it’s not something that you can develop in a player, you either have it or you don’t. The fact that he is so young too, is a big selling point. Tonnes of upside and he does all the basics so well for someone his size. Could see him developing into a Harris Andrews style key defender (although I think he prefers to play forward)

I guess that all makes sense re ZZ doesn’t it given he has only recently started playing footy.

But as I said, as a full back, he has all the tools to be successful

I guess that all makes sense re ZZ doesn’t it given he has only recently started playing footy.

But as I said, as a full back, he has all the tools to be successful

It's hard to change those foundations though. Bad kicking is bad football and you could easily make an argument that ZZ is the worst kick in the draft. While he is a good athlete, I haven't seen him use his agility or his speed to his advantage. If we take him, I'll understand why, but I'd prefer Dawson or even someone like Petric on the rookie list.

I've watched a fair bit of footage of ZZ.

I don't really see "it" tbh.

He's played most of his footy as an undersized ruck. He moves like a mobile ruck like Bailey Williams rather than a hyper athletic KPD.

He's going to be an extremely slow burn.

I think I'd rather others with the capital it will cost. He's probably a good selection for WCE, as he can play plenty of WAFL and learn off Barrass and McGovern in his first 2 years on a list.

I didn't really like Rawlings explanations around our ruck stocks, It really seems like either Clarko or the recruiting staff have gone cold on the ruck position in general. Rawlings has seemed to indicate that he's happy with Xerri, CCJ, Free and Biggie as break glass backup.

I think that's a massive mistake. Xerri is a backup AFL ruckman, at best imo. CCJ has played maybe 6 qtrs in his entire AFL career as a first ruck and Free has never played an AFL game.

There's 3 really excellent ruck prospects that will be likely available at our last pick. All with really elite athletic profiles for their size.

Edwards is 206cm with a 94cm running vertical and a 3.00 second 20m. That means he has close to the same running vertical reach as Nic Natanui with that height and that vertical combo.

His speed is then similar to Zane Duursma and Harley Reid.

I think we are insane to pass up all of Edwards, Green or Goad.

Now none of these will make a difference next year, but they will in 3-4 years when we are finals contenders.
The “mail” I’ve got is Clarkson just does not value rucks that highly. He wants bulldozers that provide physical presence around the ball and a contest down the line.

Ignoring the academy and F/S prospects, I'm starting to think that Reid, McKercher, Duursma, Watson, Sanders, Curtin, O'Sullivan, Caddy, Wilson, Leake, and Windsor are the names we should not expect to be available at our later picks.

I think everyone else is a chance, but those would be the ones who'd surprise me. Recruiters would have their favourites after that group of course, but to me it does seem like the draft levels off a bit from that point. For example I don't know if there's a lot between that next group and guys like Lual and Schoenmaker, who Twomey left out of his list.

If we're at 2 & 3 then I'd be happy with McKercher and Duursma.

But if we're at 1 & 3, and Eagles take McKercher, then I'd go Reid and Watson.

I know that it doesn't make sense but 🤷

If we want McKercher, why would we trade pick 2 if we know WC will take him with that pick? In that case, we should be trading pick 3 instead.

Hey giantroo Mick Ablett was on SEN with Cal Twomey (I think between 11 and midday) and asked what he’d do if he was list manager for WC and/or North, based on his knowledge of both lists today and the junior draft prospects available.

In summary he reckons WC are a year behind on the rebuild clock and they should be targeting first round picks to increase their depth of gun kids while North are a year ahead and should be targeting the best kid out there to complement what we already have, if you can find the recording.

Ignoring the academy and F/S prospects, I'm starting to think that Reid, McKercher, Duursma, Watson, Sanders, Curtin, O'Sullivan, Caddy, Wilson, Leake, and Windsor are the names we should not expect to be available at our later picks.

I think everyone else is a chance, but those would be the ones who'd surprise me. Recruiters would have their favourites after that group of course, but to me it does seem like the draft levels off a bit from that point. For example I don't know if there's a lot between that next group and guys like Lual and Schoenmaker, who Twomey left out of his list.
Yep Schoenmaker is the one for mine at one of our teens picks

Logan Morris I want also if we don’t find a way to get caddy by bundling up

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]