Past #1: Daniel Currie - officially traded to Gold Coast in exchange for a third round selection (#53)

giphy.gif

I'm not convinced that it won't work having them both in the team. I do however believe it won't work if the MC persist in the current set up.

Over the first five rounds we have failed to use our full compliment of interchanges and considering we have run out our matches fairly well then we should use these "unused" interchanges. How? Well I'm glad you asked.

Instead of having Currie plonked at FF, have him sit on the pine and he can take the middle 7-10 minutes of each quarter while Goldy rests up and comes back on for the final 7-10 minutes. That is two interchanges a quarter, so 8 for the match for the mathematically challenged ;)

So by having the ruckman on the bench it frees up the forward line for a Daw or Tarrant. Mids can rest up forward if required and what this ultimately does is allow Goldy a genuine rest and utilises Currie where he's best, aggression at the contest and willingness to throw around his body. We look a different team when he's rucking so it would be a great variation between Goldy's skill and Currie's aggression.

I am interested in other people's thoughts less the Goldy is soft and Currie has cement hands rubbish.

As an aside, I think Daw should be our FF going forward to replace Drew so should play permanent forward from here on. He and Tarrant have to fight for that possy. And you can add in Curran if he ever gets over his injuries :(

Is there a spot for Currie in our set up?

Sent from my waffle machine using Tapatalk.

I don't see it/I don't want to see it (anymore). There aren't two sides in the comp that play a second ruckman that doesn't have a second ability to play like a midfielder or KPP.

So why follow the leader?

Goldie at his very best is enough.

I don't believe we need both as long as Majak is fit. Goldie rucks has a spell on the pine, Maj has a quick run on the ball. Then goes back to FF.

When MAj needs a break Petrie drops back into FF.

The issue apparently revolves around Majak's lack of tank, I believe he needs to control and pace himself better.

Good point. Let's keep up our groundbreaking experimental work of playing VFL grade footballers out of position.

As a ruckman, he isn't VFL grade.

Good post BE.

I seem to have become the resident apologist for Big Cuz so shoot me down as you please, but i reckon too many people have been sucked into the popular commentary without seeing the finer details of what Currie brings to the team.

I'd read with dismay all the gameday commentary & post-match reviews of Saturdays loss before actually seeing the game myself, so when i finally sat down to endure the replay last night I expected a horror show of epic proportions, particularly from big Munch. What i saw wasn't what i expected.

I saw Currie out mark Grundy. I saw him lead his opponent by 5-10m to the ball several times only to be ignored (including one of Boomer's howlers on the wing). I saw him out marked ONCE for the entire game, & square up every other marking contest he was in. He brought the ball to ground for Collingwood's smalls all day. I saw him pick up a loose ball in a pack & whisk out quick hands to Cunners, before he threw his weight around in a tackle in a way i have NEVER seen Goldy do (3rd qtr, 8:20 left on the clock - WATCH IT). Mumford like aggression. Supporters think this bloke can't cut it at AFL? FFS.

All that aside, was playing 2 rucks a crappy idea? Well if we're gonna massacre the ball like that then it doesn't matter which 2 rucks are playing - whoever cops the forward line spot is gonna look like a complete spud. I agree Maj is the better solution for now (& long term to replace Drew) but he would have been just as ineffective with the butchery we served up on Saturday.

Currie would be far more effective if he was our sole ruckman, but that ain't gonna happen whilst Goldy is in the team. Currie's ability to be an effective forward will always be reliant on quality delivery & effective structure (smalls in & around to mop up his contests), so if we can't ensure that then your suggestion is a good one to employ, assuming the mids can pick up the slack.

That's yet to be seen.

Exactly my point. There is something in Currie I see that is worth exploring in the ruck, especially against Freo.

Is there a spot for Currie in our set up?

No.

He is too slow and does not compliment Goldstein unlike other dual ruck set-ups. He can replace Goldstein if he gets injured and is clearly next best ruckman on our list and i'd be fine with that.

If he could play fwd to some level of competency it could work, but he has average hands and is way (way) too slow and defensively inept to carry with Goldstein in the same team. That is the set up Scott insists upon so no point discussing otherwise.

In terms of chop out for Goldstein, if it means Petrie, Daw and/or Hansen take more responsibility just for the 10-20% gap and hope our mids can step up - i'd rather that risk than go into each week with two dinosaurs in the one forward line especially if we are pushing our flanks more defensive.

CBSlogger very well put mate.

For team balance reasons I wouldn't be against taking him out of the side for Majak this week but totally agree on Dan's physical work and positive traits.

AND I'LL SAY IT AGAIN - IN HIS 3RD GAME.

For anyone still staying "7 years on AFL lists etc". Well then list me any profession that after years of preparation you completely nail the job by your third friggin day?

Because Dan Currie has padded up and driven to his workplace and engaged in his job of being a senior AFL footballer 3 times total.

Goldstein > Currie by a long long way:thumbsu:

Currie is a backup ruck only (read 'VFL'), as he has always been:footy:

Goldie at his very best is enough.

I don't believe we need both as long as Majak is fit. Goldie rucks has a spell on the pine, Maj has a quick run on the ball. Then goes back to FF.

When MAj needs a break Petrie drops back into FF.

The issue apparently revolves around Majak's lack of tank, I believe he needs to control and pace himself better.

Given what has been highlighted in the OP (and in other threads) that we are not using our full quota of interchanges then perhaps simply use Maj as Currie has been (with extra bench time - then can go with the shorter forward line as Bigeasy is suggesting). 60% forward 20% ruck 20% bench

AND I'LL SAY IT AGAIN - IN HIS 3RD GAME.

I have no problem with that in terms of being a ruckman. If Goldstein got injured he deserves plenty of time to fill that spot beyond 3 games.

I do though as a forward and it will continue to hurt us if we play a square peg in a round hole. He is also not a junior player, he is a discard we picked up as backup ruck (as far as I know).

It's no knock on Currie to say he has been awful as a forward (all of 2014 including preseason) when he really shouldn't be playing there to start with whether 1 game or 100 KC.

Given what has been highlighted in the OP (and in other threads) that we are not using our full quota of interchanges then perhaps simply use Maj as Currie has been (with extra bench time - then can go with the shorter forward line as Bigeasy is suggesting). 60% forward 20% ruck 20% bench

Yeah not silly, but IF Daw holds down the FF/ part time ruck, we essentially swap Currie for Swallow/ Ziebell .

That's a win right there. With a full quota of players I can't see Currie/ Goldie playing together often again.

I'd read with dismay all the gameday commentary & post-match reviews of Saturdays loss before actually seeing the game myself, so when i finally sat down to endure the replay last night I expected a horror show of epic proportions, particularly from big Munch. What i saw wasn't what i expected.

I haven't watched Saturday's game yet, and I'm not sure I can put myself through it, but I had a similar experience with the Port game. I thought he must have been terrible from what I read on here and yet when I watched the game I saw a bloke who no doubt could improve, but still provided a contest and did some nice things throughout. Far from the horrorshow I expected.

Also agree with KC that the guy needs to be given some leeway and time to adjust to AFL level.

Having said all that, I think it could be wise to give him a spell in the VFL and let Maj have a crack. No doubt there are things he can work on at VFL level and when he comes back he'll have a better idea of what he's up for.

Currie wouldn't be a lock in a WRFL team let alone AFL standard. Papers are marked.

I've only ever gone hard at two North Melbourne players and put them in the 'never ever ever to be selected again' basket:

1. Luke Delaney
2. Daniel Currie.

I was even ok with Shannon Watt, Troy Makepeace, Jonathan Hay, Leigh Brown et. al. getting the occasional game, but I just can not cop Daniel Currie. Not one bit.

Man I miss Eddie Sainsbury.

If goldy had curries marking ability overhead this conversation would be dead .goldy shit overhead currie shit mobility can anyone fuse them to make a solid?

Past #1: Daniel Currie - officially traded to Gold Coast in exchange for a third round selection (#53)