Past #1: Hamish McIntosh - drafted at pick 9 in '02 ND - traded to Geelong for #36 in '12 trade period

who's the best ruckman

• D.JOLLY

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • M.CLARKE

• A.SANDILANDS

how come all the talk is that mabon is not a ruckman,refresh my memory,did we not recruit him as a project ruckman,did he not start out in the vfl 2nds,and work his way into the vfl 1sts this year,just turned 20 FFS,
as far as i am concerned he is tracking ok so far,in my opinion this project is nowhere near finished,and i would not want to see some other club pick him up,heaps of comments here about picking up 2nd string back ups for goldy,if hamish is traded,and with his injury history and lack of jumping ability that is not out of the question,if he wants a regular game in the seniors,i would be in the mc kernan camp,he is only 22 and and played 20 odd games,has shown ability in the ruck,and is KPP size,wouldnt cost the earth,and his heart would be more in it than at adelaide,

People in one thread are all for trading Pederson.

In another, want Shaun McKernan?

Shaun McKernan.

So what? His brother played for the club?

So did ****ing Shane Harvey.

You either go after elite young talent, or you grow it yourself.

McKernan talk is pretty tiring........

how come all the talk is that mabon is not a ruckman,refresh my memory,did we not recruit him as a project ruckman,did he not start out in the vfl 2nds,and work his way into the vfl 1sts this year,just turned 20 FFS,
as far as i am concerned he is tracking ok so far,in my opinion this project is nowhere near finished,and i would not want to see some other club pick him up,heaps of comments here about picking up 2nd string back ups for goldy,if hamish is traded,and with his injury history and lack of jumping ability that is not out of the question,if he wants a regular game in the seniors,i would be in the mc kernan camp,he is only 22 and and played 20 odd games,has shown ability in the ruck,and is KPP size,wouldnt cost the earth,and his heart would be more in it than at adelaide,

Mabon averaged a whopping 17 hit outs in 17 games of VFL footy mate.

2.5 marks a match.

He's not Gary Dempsey.

He's got another year. Hopefully he has a growth and improvement spurt.

Shaun McKernan.

So did ******* Shane Harvey.

Pykie who do you rate as the better No.2 ruckman, Pedo or S.Mck?

*Just to clarify im meaning if Goldy was injured for 3 weeks and Hmac was gone.

Shaun McKernan.

So did ******* Shane Harvey.

If Shane Harvey had worked half as hard as his brother he could have been a player....IMO

Mckernan is a OK option at best... but he is no bigger than Majak.... dont see too much point in it....
Trading Hmac is hard because unlike Hale he has not asked to leave(hale did so in a nice manner so he is still respected around the place) if we start trading players that want to be at the club it might start an unhealthy culture which we dont have at the club.... where players will no longer feel the loyalty that we have.... we dont really lose players that are regulars on ability.....

H is actually getting a PCL think about it he has been without one for some time..... i think the improvement will be there.....however you would hope so because his ruck work is very ordinary

I actually think its better for us to trade him going forward and picking up Martin from Melbourne i think he is an excellent replacement...... he can play forward as well.... would give us the option to move players around at will.... can send Drew and Lachie into defence at any time....

In regards to Goddard for 800K...i don't see it happening.... i don't really care how much players get paid... its output i'm concerned about how ever the club does look at money and for that amount you could bring in josh kennedy and someone else....

There is no way a trade will be worked out. Because:

1. Geelong would only be interested if the price was low. Why would you trade pick 14 for a two year rental if you are on the slide and have finished in 8th position? Mmmm ten years of a young player or a two year rental??? They are not going to give away a lot for him. They might as well put game time into Dawson Simpson and see how that goes. Chuck in his contract and you would think the only way Geelong would take him is if he were cheap.

2. North Melbourne value him highly so will want a lot in return. They might as well keep him as a back up rather than send him off to Geelong for peanuts. Hence, I don't think North really have much incentive to trade him from a football perspective. The only reason could be to dump his salary but I don't think they are that desperate for money unless they have someone big lined up. Hence, that is unlikely.

So very little chance of a trade happening.

I think Goldy was really given the short straw during the pre-season. barely played in the ruck except for the last praccy game and then started the year at CHB. We tried to have the cake and eat it too, just didn't work.

Goldy was shizen for most of the year, regardless of where he was played in the first game of the season or practice matches or Hamish's inclusion. His intensity was down and he got beaten more often than not. No excuses.

He has great talent so hopefully he will pick it up in 2013.

The Goldie apologists who yearn for Hank to be offloaded are getting tiresome.

Did anyone consider Hamish got 1st dibs in the preseason/early season (including the win over Geelong which noone acknowledges) on merits? Maybe Goldie was showing signs of shite earlier on.

Mabon averaged a whopping 17 hit outs in 17 games of VFL footy mate.

2.5 marks a match.

He's not Gary Dempsey.

He's got another year. Hopefully he has a growth and improvement spurt.

wow,someone told me big men take time,especially ruckmen

(from footywire)

name debut age kicks (av) marks (av) hit outs (av)

dean cox 20 3.6 2.2 10.8

aaron sandilands 21 3.2 3.0 18.6

darren jolly 20 1.2 0.5 3.5

shane mumford 22 1.7 1.0 10.3

Unfortunately Mabon ain't a big man.

200cm my arse.

So Hamish is currently overseas with a number of the North Boys, doubt very much that any negotiations will pursued whilst the man himself is overseas so we won't know anything until he gets back or 15th of October.

If he is over 197cm I would be very surprised. He looks shorter than most of the KP's on our list.
Agree. I recall watching him walk away with Petrie at training last summer and Petrie was a bit taller than him. Maybe Dish is a bit more than the 197 being advertised, but Mabon is no more than that.

Hope he stays. Partly because I rate him.

Partly because next year's offseason wouldn't be the same without an army of pissants shopping him around on this forum.
They'll just find someone else if he goes.

The Goldie apologists who yearn for Hank to be offloaded are getting tiresome.

Did anyone consider Hamish got 1st dibs in the preseason/early season (including the win over Geelong which noone acknowledges) on merits? Maybe Goldie was showing signs of shite earlier on.
No way should Hamish be number1 ruckman over goldy.

Agree. The fact McIntosh is a terrible ruckman in the pure sense is a fact that people conveniently seem to be forgetting.

Outside that he is a nice kick, stronger mark (albeit not as good as he could be) and better around the ground than Goldstein. But when Goldstein is on song (yes, he had some shocking games this year) he sets up play far better with his tap work and that is why he deserves to be no 1 and is more important to our team.

Was Goldy ready to be an AFL ruckman the first time Hamish went down? No he wasn't.

However sometimes these blokes need to be thrown in the deep end - and they step up to the plate like Goldy did. If the decision was up to some of the blokes here Goldy probably wouldn't have been played either because he wasn't ready.

Adversity creates opportunity.

So if we get a good offer for Hamish I say we take it. With his knees it would be doubtful that he will get through all of next season (although for his sake I hope he does).

And as for Delaney - sure let him go. However I can see him as a dominating full back in a premiership side like Geelong, Collingwood or Hawthorn in the next 2 years:eek:

There is no way a trade will be worked out. Because:

1. Geelong would only be interested if the price was low. Why would you trade pick 14 for a two year rental if you are on the slide and have finished in 8th position? Mmmm ten years of a young player or a two year rental??? They are not going to give away a lot for him. They might as well put game time into Dawson Simpson and see how that goes. Chuck in his contract and you would think the only way Geelong would take him is if he were cheap.

I reckon Geelong are trying to rebuild without going to the bottom. They've already lost nine of their 2009 premiership side, and this year had something like 10 debutants. Given a choice between a few years of solid output from a quality ruckman (Brad Ottens-style, for instance) and a draftee who may or may not work out, I reckon they'd go the ready-made option.

And if you look at my avatar, it's clear they were into Hamish earlier in the season, too.

Geelong still have plenty of quality on the list. They will bottom out but it won't be 2013. Getting finals into kids is also valuable - it might just be a case of enquiring about Hamish, and if the price is too much it won't go any further than that.

Was Goldy ready to be an AFL ruckman the first time Hamish went down? No he wasn't.

However sometimes these blokes need to be thrown in the deep end - and they step up to the plate like Goldy did. If the decision was up to some of the blokes here Goldy probably wouldn't have been played either because he wasn't ready.

Adversity creates opportunity.

So if we get a good offer for Hamish I say we take it. With his knees it would be doubtful that he will get through all of next season (although for his sake I hope he does).

And as for Delaney - sure let him go. However I can see him as a dominating full back in a premiership side like Geelong, Collingwood or Hawthorn in the next 2 years:eek:
You mean the knee in which a new PCL was placed (actually two PCL's, one LARS the other a graft) to replace the one that he had been playing without for 2 years?

H had been playing sore before 2011, with bung achillies and a dodgy knee. 2013 will be the first time in years his legs will be right to go after getting both achillies attended to in 2011 and now the knee. After Goldy' year I'd be tempted to start H as the first ruck and Goldy can run around in the seconds until he shows he can get back the intensity that was missing for 2012.

I think some on here seriously under rate H's abilities when up and about. Sure, he ain't the smartest tap ruck going around, but he provides a good contest and is a very strong outlet around the ground and up forward. His skills are very good for a big man and I rate him a better all round footballer than Goldstein, with Goldy a better pure ruck. He too has made an AA squad and he has the ability to do so again.

Amen

You mean the knee in which a new PCL was placed (actually two PCL's, one LARS the other a graft) to replace the one that he had been playing without for 2 years?

H had been playing sore before 2011, with bung achillies and a dodgy knee. 2013 will be the first time in years his legs will be right to go after getting both achillies attended to in 2011 and now the knee. After Goldy' year I'd be tempted to start H as the first ruck and Goldy can run around in the seconds until he shows he can get back the intensity that was missing for 2012.

I really hope that with the operations that he has had, that he can actually get off the ****ing ground at a centre square ruck contest and not just stand there pretending to be a ****ing lamp post.

Past #1: Hamish McIntosh - drafted at pick 9 in '02 ND - traded to Geelong for #36 in '12 trade period