Past #1: Majak Daw [Part II] - 54 NM games/43 NM goals - delisted end '20 - SSP selection for MFC '21 - retired mid-'22

I feel there a tenuous similarities with Jason McCartney's situation post Bali. I say tenuous because nobody yet knows the extent of Maj's physical injuries but I would assume it would be fairly likely to attach the words career threatening.

Anyway, your club could not have handled McCartney's situation any better at the time and I'm sure they will step up to the plate now.

I've said it before that McCartney's comeback is just about favourite football moment of all time, even above many of my own clubs achievements.
I look forward to seeing North and Majak writing another chapter in the history books. :praying:
Geez... could you imagine?

If he made it out for just the one game then hung up the boots, I don't think there'd be a dry eye in Australia.

I know its the last thing to think about at the moment, and his mental health is what we need to focus on right now... but maybe a year or two down the track... maybe.

If he made it out for just the one game then hung up the boots, I don't think there'd be a dry eye in Australia.

I know its the last thing to think about at the moment, and his mental health is what we need to focus on right now... but maybe a year or two down the track... maybe.
Would be fantastic , unfortunately Maj has in all probability played his last game of footy ... but if that means he is able to put all of his energy and focus into getting himself right id like to think we’d all take that in a heartbeat.

Its hard not to want to see him play again, it's just such a shame because he was really coming into his best footy he's ever played. It'll be a huge mountain to climb to get back to just living a normal life, hip surgery is no joke, my Grandpa went through it multiple times with botched surgeries and a hip replacement that was poisoning him and he had to live on crutches the rest of his life.

We'll be very very lucky if we ever see him on a footy field again, but I hope we do. It'd be quite a miracle.

Schwatta was on CH 7 Sunrise this morning.

He basically said that each Club needs its own dedicated Psychologist as opposed to a general Welfare person.

In a multi million dollar business I don't think that its unreasonable.

I agree but with just one proviso: any AFL coach who conspires with the club psychologist to do opposition research should receive a lifetime ban, especially if that coach directs players to sledge opponents in a way that could conceivably impact their mental health.

But enough about grubby tactics of other clubs, this should be all about Maj. Get well big guy.

Do you reckon the club/his family would be okay with fans sending a get well card for them to pass onto Maj?
If it feels right then go for it.
I sent get well cards to the club that my kids had made for Roughy's 2nd bout of cancer.

It’s amazing he’s alive. Forget about footy. His pelvis was probably broken in the same way as someone who has thier feet on a dashboard in a car crash.
Let people have their dreams. It's a rough time and people cope in different ways.

Yes its an injury that is hard to come back from, Yes he will likely never play again.

But imagine the roar from the crowd if he did.

It’s amazing he’s alive. Forget about footy. His pelvis was probably broken in the same way as someone who has thier feet on a dashboard in a car crash.

It will be a struggle for him to run again. His AFL career's over, but that's not even important right now..

I read somewhere footy keeps him in straight and narrow. He will now have to face life without AFL football or a players income. It’s hard but it’s the truth and it’s a challenge he will need to face head on. Won’t be easy at all.

Schwatta was on CH 7 Sunrise this morning.

He basically said that each Club needs its own dedicated Psychologist as opposed to a general Welfare person.

In a multi million dollar business I don't think that its unreasonable.

(FWIW, I believe that AFL is the hardest team sport to play in the world; outside of the Mid Field who consistently are in the game, every other player is a bit player playing their role. The Football public don't get that in a 24/7 Media Cycle especially when there are certain Shows on a Monday night that live off the crisis of the weekend whether it be on or off field.)
Only problem is that there aren’t enough psychologists. I know, because my wife is struggling to find one. Luckily we are able to use EAP through my work.

I read somewhere footy keeps him in straight and narrow. He will now have to face life without AFL football or a players income. It’s hard but it’s the truth and it’s a challenge he will need to face head on. Won’t be easy at all.

He'll find some kind of cultural work if he wants it, but that might be the last thing he needs right now..

If he was my mate, I would be taking him in to the bush. Get back to nature and slow the pace down..

He'll find some kind of cultural work if he wants it, but that might be the last thing he needs right now..

If he was my mate, I would be taking him in to the bush. Get back to nature and slow the pace down..

Yeh small country town - more sense of community.

Its going to take time and space.

As someone who felt the need to pull the pin 5 months ago after a seemingly endless battle, I'm still getting my head around what I'm even here for.

The big fella just needs space and understanding and hopefully with the passing of time, he'll find some happiness.

With that comes motivation, a sense of purposes and renewed self esteem.

I hope it happens for him, because it's truly a heartbreaking times for him and for all those who love him.

Isn’t Sam docherty a great guy

Actually, as I was typing that I got a response:

"Thank You mate. I made it about 20 messages in and started bawling. These are amazing and the support is tremendous. I will be passing all these on when he's ready. Say Thank You to all those amazing people from me him and his whole family. The love shown is just amazing".

Thanks for doing that filthy

Would be nice to do something like they did with Phil Hughes putting a bat out the front.
Even first training session in the new year - getting along to support the boys as they’d be hurting.

Not to dictate what things should or shouldn't happen, but I couldn't think of a better leader and person to help take the Huddle forward, if he was inclined to take such an offer and footy was no longer an option.

All that said though, the priority is himself and whatever makes him happy is best.

I am totally shocked and devastated by this, I’ve been moved to tears on numerous occasions. Maj has always seemed a very happy go lucky guy from what we have seen portrayed of him by the media. It’s times like these when everyone on this platform in particular need to stop and reflect on posts they may have made criticizing players. I recently re-watched Nathan Grima addressing the playing group on his retirement. It was very obvious that he and other players read comments on here and he had taken some things to heart. I’m not saying such things may have been contributing factors but criticizing players here is in no way constructive and only adds pressure they may be feeling. We are probably all guilty of it in some way big, small, intentional or not. Reminder these are young talented athletes who we put on a pedastal and rightly or wrongly place high expectations on. I have no idea what lead Maj to try to end his pain, that is not for public consumption. But I implore everyone on here to stop and think about what they post about players prior to doing so. Keep posts positive or say nothing at all. At the end of the day these guys are young men we look up to, bestow the status of role models upon regardless of their willingness to shoulder that burden, are human, vulnerable, and far from invincible.

Not to dictate what things should or shouldn't happen, but I couldn't think of a better leader and person to help take the Huddle forward, if he was inclined to take such an offer and footy was no longer an option.

All that said though, the priority is himself and whatever makes him happy is best.

Agree completely, those are thoughts for a day a long way away. End of the day, when the day comes he can think about what is in store for him and what sort of person he wants to be, he may be an ambassador for an entirely new thing he didn't expect. But yeah, today he has to think about tomorrow.

Thanks for doing that filthy

Would be nice to do something like they did with Phil Hughes putting a bat out the front.
Even first training session in the new year - getting along to support the boys as they’d be hurting.

Oh, it wasn't even a thought... the outpour of support is resounding and that I could get an opportunity to put it out there means I took it straight away. I know the Daws appreciated it, hopefully when Maj is able to think about things not so close to home this forums words can have a similar effect.

Past #1: Majak Daw [Part II] - 54 NM games/43 NM goals - delisted end '20 - SSP selection for MFC '21 - retired mid-'22