Player Watch #14: Luke 'Gav' Urquhart - selected with Pick 57 in the ND - Welcome to North Melbourne

Yes, hence the word "role".

Which Tucker role are you referring to?

Feels like he’s been a bit of a plug and play across every position in his time at North.

Which Tucker role are you referring to?

Feels like he’s been a bit of a plug and play across every position in his time at North.
None. Not a thesis - just talking about his role in the 23 as an example of where there is room for Luke in the not too distant future.

There’s always players going in and out across every club. There’s always room for players if they are good enough.

He'll be a fan favourite I reckon. Just seems a ripping bloke.
I’d like to believe this, but there’s one thing that is sure to make a player a whipping boy, and that’s a shonky kick. Not saying he won’t fix it up, but he’s got a fair way to go in that department based on his draft vids.

I don’t mind that he’s not the best kick, as he looks like a good athlete and good size, could be a perfect tagger.

I’d like to believe this, but there’s one thing that is sure to make a player a whipping boy, and that’s a shonky kick. Not saying he won’t fix it up, but he’s got a fair way to go in that department based on his draft vids.

I don’t mind that he’s not the best kick as, he looks like a good athlete and good size, could be a perfect tagger.
Sure he can shank a few, but so does Wardlaw. The difference is they'll work hard to correct the mistake.
I don't think he'll be as a bad a kick as people think. Sounds like he's come to the game a little later, so he may not have the same ingrained kicking technique/habits of some others. It's up to the development coaches to work on it.

Sure he can shank a few, but so does Wardlaw. The difference is they'll work hard to correct the mistake.
I don't think he'll be as a bad a kick as people think. Sounds like he's come to the game a little later, so he may not have the same ingrained kicking technique/habits of some others. It's up to the development coaches to work on it.
George’s kicking is weird, it’s inconsistent more than it is bad. Haven’t seen enough of Urqs to say for sure, but didn’t look like he was kicking any bullets in the highlights vids.
But like I said, there’s more to playing football than kicking, and happy to give him the benefit of the doubt for now.

George’s kicking is weird, it’s inconsistent more than it is bad. Haven’t seen enough of Urqs to say for sure, but didn’t look like he was kicking any bullets in the highlights vids.
But like I said, there’s more to playing football than kicking, and happy to give him the benefit of the doubt for now.
Yeah it's definitely the biggest area for improvement in Urq's game. He's had some injuries and didn't know if he was any good until he starting showing some good from in the Champs. There's scope to get better for him.
If he can become a reliable kick, execute his role and look to give the ball off to Colby, Daniel, FOS or Sheez at every opportunity, then his other attributes will be so important to the team.

Looking back we had Levi Greenwood, Dumont, Ziebell, Simmo, Swallow and Jacobs types who weren't exactly great kicks but they did their roles. Luke won't just hack it straight from the centre like some of them used to lol.
I'm excited to see him develop anyway and think he'll impress whether it be VFL or AFL level.

A pick 57 won't be the most prolific footballer from the get go.

But they can be a reliable contributor and then go to another level if the development is there. History suggests this is a horrible idea but we've overhauled that segment of the footy department so let's see where this goes.

consistently inconsistent?

He'll be a fan favourite I reckon. Just seems a ripping bloke.
I am not allowed to have favourites anymore as they always end up retiring early from injury but if I was to have one, I think he would be it.

Player Watch #14: Luke 'Gav' Urquhart - selected with Pick 57 in the ND - Welcome to North Melbourne