Past #16: Scott Thompson - to retire end of 2019 season - thanks Scott

Scotty T must of done some major strength work. His body on body work is now A-Grade. I haven't seen a North defender completely belittle a forward like that since Arch.

BOG by a mile last night.

I remember a few seasons ago a player mentioning him as being number 1 in the club in terms of strength, and how he had the best bench press numbers ect. I could never see it, but you are right it's as though he has gone to a whole new level of strength. To push cloke around with ease like he did was great to see

Great write up on Hunter:

Under the radar

art-353-thompson-300x0.jpg

Scott Thompson's underrated status stems from a no-frills style that is very effective.
WHEN the number crunchers at Champion Data sat down this week to identify the most underrated player at the eight finals clubs - those with overwhelming statistics but underwhelming profiles - North Melbourne was the easy one.
Scott Thompson, the Roos' gritty, no-frills backman, is No. 1 in the AFL for intercept possessions and No. 2 for intercept marks. At his club, he ranks first for spoils and rebound-50s and second for contested marks and contested possessions.
In fact, the 24 intercept possessions Thompson had against Greater Western Sydney last week was the most by any player since Champion Data introduced the statistic.

www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/under-the-radar-20120905-25exw.html#ixzz25bcTBn00

good to see thommo getting a few good raps,sadly to a lot of non north people,his main claim to fame is for
attacking barry halls choke hold arm with his throat,but his form this year has got a bit of well earned recognition,is an integral part of our backline,and love his work :thumbsu:

He is a freak. Not only should he be in the AA squad, he should be in the final side, as he probably should have been in 2009 . One day the footy world will work out what an unbelievable, unique player he is.

Even in that positive article there are a few puzzling comments. Still he is just described as a hard-working player who does the basics well. I see him as a lot more than that—plenty of "frills". I've never seen another defender who can side-step, dodge, duck, weave, break tackles as effectively as he does every time he intercepts a ground ball in a dangerous spot. It has always amazed me and made me a huge fan from the early days.

He is a freak. Not only should he be in the AA squad, he should be in the final side, as he probably should have been in 2009 . One day the footy world will work out what an unbelievable, unique player he is.

Even in that positive article there are a few puzzling comments. Still he is just described as a hard-working player who does the basics well. I see him as a lot more than that—plenty of "frills". I've never seen another defender who can side-step, dodge, duck, weave, break tackles as effectively as he does every time he intercepts a ground ball in a dangerous spot. It has always amazed me and made me a huge fan from the early days.

Or spoil with his back!

Very good call mate thought the same thing. Scott T is great at getting out of trouble and his kicking is generally first class. He's not the blue collar dullard people may assume he is. Ripper bloke as well who clearly suffers understated white line fever.

Lol they love to call our players no "frills".... Grima, Firrito and now Thompson have all been called no "frills".... if they call Thompson a No frills player i would love to see a player that "has frills" who holds down a KPD spot.... had 39 disposals on the weekend....

Best backman since Dench

Past #16: Scott Thompson - to retire end of 2019 season - thanks Scott