Past #16: Scott Thompson - to retire end of 2019 season - thanks Scott

He runs straight and hard in a line so I like that alot.....BUT

I wish Brady Rawlings would stop being the last link out of defence and opting to kick rather than give off....

So many times he has opted to kick and completely missed the target.

Rawlings should have 2 kicks and 20 handballs a game....He misses the target and we get frikken burnt going back...'

Handball Brady Bloody Handball..........!!!!!!!!!!!!

SDT had a GREAT 2009 & I honestly thought he would stamp himself as an elite defender this season. Unfortunately his season has been poor & I would guess that most of the goals Fev & JB kicked last Sat nite were on SDT. He has many credits in the bank IMO & I'm confident he will turn it all around.

Leave him alone - All of you.
ALL OF YOU.
He's the best defender we've had in the past 8 years.
Grima is the icing on the top.

Scott Thompson nearly won our best and fairest last year after a stellar break out season.

He has been down on form this year, but will be part of our backline for the next five years.

He is better on a leading player, than a goalsquare gorilla, especially as it mean he can spoil on the run and then rebound.

If Scott was a fraction shorter he'd be an excellent midfielder, his evasion and lack of panic is close to the best in the side.

Josh Smith is not an AFL standard footballer. I'd sooner we wrapped a North jumper around a scarecrow and hammered it into the ground 40 metres out than wasted games on seeing if Smith can play down back.

Agree with all but the last paragraph where the usual self-triggered canned laughter track gets a hit.

Thompson has only played 39 games, once he was another 100 to it, i tell you now that he will be as good as Matthew Scarlett. These two have similar size (193 cm) and physique but most importantly, they play with similar style, i.e. carry the ball and dash out of defense like a smaller player.

Are you serious?
Scarlett is one of the best body players going around and Hunter is probably one of the worst (in terms of fullbacks).
Despite Hansen showing a bit last week, I would think that he will find his way down back again once Petrie is fit and when Tarrant,Black or OKeefe can command a regular spot.
A defence with Narni at full back, Lachie at CHB and Thompson as the 3rd tall is better than most.
However, I have always been of the opinion that with the 2 talls (Lachie and Grima are our best by a mile down there), Thompson's position will end up being week to week with the likes of Firrito,Pratt and McMahon able to cover the medium forwards better and rebound more effectively.
Sides (apart from us), rarely have anymore than 2 key forwards nowadays, rather, they go for a spread of atletic mediums who Thompson is ideally suited to playing on.

Thompson's a good footballer
I think Slider might be taking the p*ss...I mean , in another thread he suggested Gold Coast would surely give up a first round pick for D Hale.

I said a late first round pick.
There got enough of em next year so they will trade 2 or 3 first rounders to get experienced players to the club and David Hale can play ruck

Scotty is a really good player IMO but is way down on form. The reason why he is so good is because he has great skills . He can mark is a beautiful kick and makes good decisions when he has the ball.

In my opinion the ball is what he needs to focus more on.
For some reason he has got it in his head that if he niggles and bumps and elbows a forward all day that somehow it will put them off there game.:confused: Well maybe it did in the under 12's but in senior footy no one takes any notice of that crap.

Standing toe to toe with Fevola is all wrong as well. Fev is a huge unit and can hold Scotty off with 1 hand. Why not stand either a few meters in front of him or a few meters to the goal mouth side of him? That way he can head off potential leads or have a run and spoil to a stationary forward.

He looks a natural ball player to me so that is where his focus should be. Try reading the play and try and get into better positions. Standing flat footed against good full forwards is not going to work.

Fullback is a specialist position and 1 of the hardest. He's a good player but just needs to adjust his focus and positioning.

Will keep it short and snappy!

Gun! Love the way he goes about it and does anything he can to win a contest. Am i over doing it to say he could be a back pocket in the AA team?

Either way, you have a quality full back in my opinion!

If he makes the All Australian team then i'm going on Master Chef next year.:)

Scotty T has all the ingredients of being a good fullback but still has huge problems when playing on the big guys. Just doesn't position himself very well and tries to muscle them for some unknown reason. Plays his best footy when he just reads the play and attacks the ball.

Defenders are awesome this year so Scotty doesn't stand a chance.

Mate you showed bravery, courage, heart, desire, willingness, pride and a great heart to come out and play tonight. I feel for you and your family through this tough period of time but mate tonight you are now just a champion and will be for the nest 10 years at the greatest club in the land. Your a bloddy ripper mate:thumbsu:

I agree that it was a BIG thing for him to play, but that aside, he played very ordinary tonight. Didn't chase, didn't man up. Didn't do much IMO. I know he would have had a lot on his mind, but we need players who are 100% mentally, therefore he maybe should have had a week off to mourn.

cheers TT and fire almots brought a tear to my eye when i saw Thommo run out i no he didnt have the greatest of games but his dad would of wanted him to go out and play and mate you are amazing

He made some (very debateable (fu umps)) mistakes at time but you could see the passion with which he was playing, he was playing with heart and soul for his old man, and im sure his Pa was looking down from heaven with a tear of pride in his eye.

Well done Scotty your a man who we are proud to represent our great club.

Another issue is Spuds stuff ups always cost us goals.
Get ya shit together.

Also Rawlings does alot of good stuff down back but I think he has to be moved on ,as his skills are pathetic and other teams must have a plan to leave him free to get the ball.So he can butcher it or put teammates under pressure.

Well done Scotty your a man who we are proud to represent our great club.

Get ya shit together.

Also Rawlings does alot of good stuff down back but I think he has to be moved on ,as his skills are pathetic and other teams must have a plan to leave him free to get the ball.So he can butcher it or put teammates under pressure.

Put him in the forward line. His fumbles won't hurt us too much then and his unpredictability could win us a game or two.

Get ya shit together.

Spud has had a fantastic year. Has been one of our best, most consistent performers.

Right now, the bloke has credits up the wazoo.

Very ordinary post.

P.S. Well done, Hunter.

Past #16: Scott Thompson - to retire end of 2019 season - thanks Scott